Topic: USA ban Vegemite
do0b
heh just heard this on tv, because it contains "folic acid" which apparently most nutritionist say is part of a healthy diet.

sorry dont have a link
Don't put too much effort into your s***ty thread.
Lynx
The missing link

ps: idiot americans

last edited by Lynx at 17:29:33 22/Oct/06
Lynx
I'd also like to add this...

PRESIDENT George W Bush has signed an order asserting the United States’ right to deny adversaries access to space for hostile purposes.

Bush also said the United States would oppose the development of treaties or other restrictions that seek to prohibit or limit US access to or use of space.

America seeks to control the universe
dRanged
Out with the old vegemite, in with Chocolate chip pancakes wrapped around a sausages on a stick
dice
hahahaha oh god, this is just getting hilarious now ... much like the outlawing of cannabis due to it making a strong rope, can you get high off vegemite as well or have they no real excuse this time?

so, how long until the people uprise and go on a few killing sprees of those who think they are safe in power?
In the USA, no foods are approved to contain folate apart from breads and cereal. Hence the ban.

The ban is completely ridiculous - folate is a recommended part of the daily diet and important in pregnancy in preventing birth defects!
folate is a recommended part of the daily diet and important in pregnancy in preventing birth defects!
Which is why it has to be in breads and cereals over there?
NFI why it can't be in other stuff though.
I wonder if they will start banning foods that naturally contain folate next
masta_blasta
Free Trade Agreements kick ass.
Lynx
Next
The US government has banned apples from being sold in America because they are linked to Satan worship, and bananas because they are yellow.
We call USA on their vegemite ban and raise them a ban on all imported USA internet laws!!! ~I can only wish
Fnukle
is too much folate a badness?
either that or promite payed some high up people.
dice
hahaha lynx and alizč win

down with the bs of usa and other retarded law makers
Nope - you couldn't overdose on folate from food sources... (obviously if you overdosed on folate tablets there may be consequences but even then it's water soluble and excreted very efficiently by the body).
Lynx
Seriously, what natural foods contain folate? I figure bananas must, as they seem to contain everything.
Main source is green vegetables particularly spinich although most folate is destroyed in the cooking process. Also in liver, beans and orange juice.
I declare 'Aussie Jihad' on all non-folate eating American pigs. I will sacrafice myself in the name all that is Fair-Dinkum by strapping jars of explosive vegemite to myself and detonating it whilst singing Waltzing Matilda and driving a Holden HQ ute (with blue dog) and into the heart of the infadels.

last edited by sLaps_Forehead at 19:06:27 22/Oct/06
“This policy emphasises that the United States is committed to peaceful uses of space by all nations and that space systems enjoy the right of free passage,” National Security Council spokesperson Frederick Jones said.
Peaceful uses of space? heh... so hypocritical...
There's obviously a big opportunity now to be the first to produce bread that's already vegimited. Some way to bake it so the loaf is already vegimited, like they pre-cut paper with those little tear-along-here dots... i'm going to get in with the 'f***ing obvious' patent before someone else patents it... yeah:

The process i am patenting is a way to produce bread so that vegimite forms in thin sheets within the bread at normal slicing intervals... you can then slice the loaf through normal means and each piece of bread is already vegimited. It will be called Vegemited Bread or VB for short.
Dopefish
Why do Americans hate fellatioc acid anyway? Is it like putting chloride in the water where some scientists disagree on its safety?

just another reason not to live in america.
Xy
Most Americans hate the taste of Vegimite anyway, I can't see it making a big difference.
as a bigpond customer I'm outraged at this
I move to vote we ban all Americans from entering Australia because they contain too much America.

or not enough vegemite!
heh, i was staying with 2 americans last time i was in singapore & they hated everything about vegemite, including the way it looked. first time one saw me spreading it on toast he was like 'wtf is that? axel grease?' heh. this does seem like a silly ban but only a couple of australians living in america will care.
as for the the usa denying thier enemies the use of space... i kinda doubt north korea or iraq are about to launch sophisticated high orbit rockets any time soon so it's kind of superfluous. of course the americans are going to resist treaties that try to limit thier space exploration... & so they should!
I sent this news to my vegemite-hating American aunt and she sent this back: "I'm shocked the US has done something right for a change."
Good, more vegemite for us

great, even trog is part seppo.
recommended spread

lol i put like 3 times that on one slice
another vegemite site

the awesome power of vegemite

It was terrible! My sub-Australian constitution couldn't handle the massive nutritional assault!
Niacin! Riboflavin! Thiamine! It was like a three-pronged pitchfork of B vitamins jamming into my tongue!
I for one like lightly spread vegemite with butter on my toast in the mornings.

I also like spook's mum in the mornings.
another vegemite site

the awesome power of vegemite

Haha that was a funny read. Poor Americans
haha spock that 2nd vegemite site is classic :D
We couldn't eat all the bread that day, but the Vegemite acted as a powerful preservative. It strongly resists water and provides superior protection against rust and corrosion.
WreckTim
guy at work was telling me today about some dudes that overdosed on vegemite. some s*** about cutting there skin and putting it under the skin.

besides the loss of revenue for vegimite, who cares? if they're stupid enough to eat maccas every day and become fat pies, then they dont deserve vegimite.

poor expats tho.
i had a vegemite scroll this morning for brekky

suck on that usa
f*** I love cheesymites - had 2 over the weekend.
YoungNastyMan
Meanwhile they're eating Deep Fried Coke
My uncle in San Fran looked into this and says its shaping up to just look like it might be a rumour - see here for more info:
Update: The original article on the Herald Sun site has been removed. The article on the news.co.au site is still accessible - but does not appear on searches, or in the listing of articles published yesterday. News.com.au have published 90 comments on this article - but interestingly enough not mine is which I mentioned some of the facts mentioned above.

last edited by trog at 09:10:02 24/Oct/06
hahah f***ers

I had trouble finding it over here in Ireland. I've found a store that stocks it, 5 euro a small 235 gram (or what ever that small size is) its a bit of a rip off, but I love the stuff on toast in the morning

My ritual in Syd was turkish toast with butter and veg and a hot chocolate!
heardy, when I come over to visit you and stay with you for free, I'll bring you a jar. No, no need to thank me. I'll let you know what it costs so you can pay me back though.
after all thats what friends are for
haha yeh classy

Well I'll be back in the land of Aus for BDO, that amongst other things, 2 weeks in Syd, I will restock while I am there I rekon

But if you do make it over this way, there is a sofa bed here :)
Apparently this is just an Urban Legend
http://www.snopes.com/food/warnings/vegemite.asp

Hey, me too! Except I eat multigrain bread...and don't always have time for a hot chocolate :/
Last I heard on the news was that because folate isn't added during the production..

Edit: just read Idol's link and says that's the reason.

last edited by TicMan at 10:07:12 26/Oct/06

Hey, me too! Except I eat multigrain bread...and don't always have time for a hot chocolate :/

so basically it's not your ritual at all, considering you live in brisbane, he lived in sydney, you eat multigrain he eats turkish bread, and you don't always even have a hot chocolate and he did ?

that's like me saying
HEY ME TOO, i have peanut butter on a muffin with a can of coke, but i dont always have time for the coke.
myWhiteWolf
that is the dopest combination ever grunt, yo.
WHY WOULD THE MEDIA LIE TO US AGAIN?