Topic: Car park bingles
So I was up at North Lakes having breakfast, a lovely ham & cheese omelette, finished up and was heading off to do some shopping at Bunnings. Walked to my *2 week old* car and found a note tucked under my wind screen wiper telling me to call this dude on his mobile number.

So I call up, say who I am, say I found your note and he starts to tell me about how he was waiting at the side of the road when he saw a guy parking his car drive into my car, reverse up and drive off. As I sat stunned I asked him to repeat his story. I get out, look around and sure enough I've got scratches and paint missing from the rear quarter panel.

So what the f*** is with c***s these days just driving off after having an accident? If it wasn't for the witness who left me his details I'd have no idea what happened or who to track down, fortunately I now have his rego and after going down to the cop shop yesterday and the clerk being not so careful with the printout of the registration details I have his name and address.

I'll be going after his ass vigilante style - not because of the damage but because he just f***ed off without giving a s***. Anyone have similiar stories and how it finished up?
Hahaha that witnesss is a champion. I hope we all feel obliged to the do the same thing if we were to witness something like that.
My Cock
If I was a witness I'd do the same, but if I was the person who pranged the park car I'd skin out too! haha but I'd make sure there were no witnesses first!!!
Fik
big points go to the witness.

I would leave it in the hands of the police and insurance companies if I was you.
I would've thought a pranked on a private property (i.e. in this case Bunning's carpark) is basically park at your own risk so you can't get money from anyone if there's an accident?.

Then again I'm probably wrong.
Fizzer
Nah opec i'm pretty sure that just means that its not bunnings fault/liability if you get pranged/broken into.
I think those rules only apply to the owner of the property so they can't be held liable if someone hit your car and ran off. It'd be a matter for the two parties to sort out.
stagrrr

I like the joke where a guy who runs into a car gets out and leaves a note under the wiper of the parked car he ran into. the note reads:

"Hi, i just ran into your car and right now the people who saw what i did think i am writing you a note giving you my rego and contact details... have a nice day."

haha.. that always makes me laugh.

Opec: i think own risk just means you cant go after bunnings for not providing a safe area to park your car. not that you cant go after the driver who scraped your car.
I had a taxi try and overtake me in a shopping centre carpark access way (on the right side - IN THE WRONG LANE) as I was turning and thus ran into the side of my car resulting in the drivers side door needing replacing. Only had the car for a month and was tre disappointed.
Anyway, fingers crossed for you leaving to the insurers. Took 5 months for them to sort anything out, even with me calling every fortnight for progress updates.
Never go with Allianz, youll regret it.

Also I won!
what a stain i hope you kill him ticman
i had an awesome one in my old soarer.

i was turning into a row of carparks, and some bitch in some primpy car backed out into my car, hitting the back left of the car as i was driving forward

she claimed i saw her reversing and that i still went through (even though the point she hit me shows that i had passed most of her car when she hit me)

she tried to claim that it was my fault to her insurer, who called me up and said 'hey, this accident was her fault, so we are fixing your car free of charge' - and that took about 3 days from the accident to when they called me
Cool, thanks for clearing that up for me guys.
yes opec, you are and probably always will be wrong
We had a similar thing happen about a year ago, someone else left us a note detailing the idiot who ran into the car while in a parking lot, but the police couldn't (and still "can't") tell us squat because of "privacy laws".
this is the only bingle i want to be involved in:

http://www.adpunch.org/images/lara-bingle-zoo-weekly12.jpg
I'll be going after his ass vigilante style - not because of the damage but because he just f***ed off without giving a s***

Don't. Give the rego other details to your insurance company and have them chase him up with a letter of demand and so forth. You'll get screwed over worse if you threaten this wanker.
^ f***in do this

but still throw a brick through his window in the middle of the night for being a c*******
We had a person reverse into the front of the sillycar while we were standing there yelling at the stupid c*** to stop, he finally stopped when mel bashed on his windscreen screaming at him. Was kinda funny.
Moral of the story:

ham & cheese omelette is bad for you.
Nah, the Omelette was awesome and cheap - only $6.95 I think. It was that or the Candian Breakfast.
wasn't cheap if it came with the headache of sorting out insurance crap.

yes opec, you are and probably always will be wrong

get medieval on his ass.
after you scour the earth for that muthahfuqqah.
put a jihad on his ass
Maybe the witness guy is actually the guy who did it, and was pressured to leave a note because of other onlookers watching him, then makes up a bull story when you ring him...
I was thinking the same thing, but couldn't be assed typing it. I was fine typing this much though.
i was going to type a reply of similar length but then it seemed a bit too long.
I was going to add something more but I think it's all been covered.
i was going to contribute my own story, that was barely relevant to this thread, paying no attention to any of the posts above mine that may have covered the exact same ground.
I was going to derail the thread with a post peppered with half arsed flames which misses the point of the OP entirely.
Resonate
Just a few weeks ago i parked outside office works and ran in to get some stuff done, on my way out someone had rammed a trolley on the side of my liberty, theres a dint and scratches although not enought to remove the paint work it blemished the whole side of the door. It wasnt a stray trolley either as that carpark is on a slight slope and the side that got hit was on the underside of the slope. Needless to say i was pissed.
Exact same thing happened to me at toowong shoppin centre. 4WD reversed straight into my motorbike, dude got out looked at bike on ground, got back in car and drove off. So lucky a guy from a restaurant took the rego and wrote it all for me on my bike :) Went to cop station but they didnt seem to give a f*** or want to do anything they just gave me the guys address and name and i took it from there, fkn asian driver..
Well what happened when you took it from there?
Wrote him a letter of demand went to his house but he woudlnt open the door. Left the letter and he called back a couple days later with his insurance details
eP
Note:
You should do some detective work.. drive by the address the poh poh's gave you and if the car is out the front, try to take a photo to prove some damage man.

Don't go into their yard though, that could fark you =D
Fnukle
legally your allowed access to their front door. untill they tell you otherwise of course.
so make good use of that till it runs out.

I was going to type more, but now i need to poo
I had my car nailed in the car park a few years back. A dirty big gouge in the drivers door, no note, no nuthin'. Looked like a ute had backed into it with the tray.

About $800 to repair for memory as the whole panel had to be preplaced. I had insurance but I still had to fork out $350 excess and have all the hassle of getting it repaired.
I was borrowing my dads ford crapii for a few days many years back. I was parked at TAFE doing my thang. When I got back to the car it had a massive dint across 3 side panels and scratched along, asif someone backed out and turned the nose of their car into it as they did.

No note or anything. So rude, I have a suspision that it was on purpose too. O well.
i had an awesome one in my old soarer.
she claimed i saw her reversing and that i still went through (even though the point she hit me shows that i had passed most of her car when she hit me)

Wouldn't have mattered anyway, AFAIK you must give way at all times when reversing. If you reverse into something you are 100% boned.
Whats the rego? If I see the car I'll put dents in it for you as I live near bunnings!
where is North Lakes?
You know those lakes? well it's further north.
Rego is 714-HTB

North Lakes is up near Kallangur, it's the big estate being developed off Anzac Avenue between Kallangur & Rothwell. Has an awesome Golf course too.
that sucks
I think you should remove his rego though.. might not be the best idea

seems like people have been able to settle this kinda thing legally and sensibly
pARODY
i went to the chapel hill metrowest a year or so ago to grab some lunch from the brumbies there... open my door to get out of my car.. old woman in a nissan patrol whose steering wheel towered over her drove straight into my door crushing it and almost severing my leg in the process. needless to say i was restrained by 4 guys nearby cause i was so pissed at her for almost crippling me. her 10yo son told her to get in the car and go.. the dude from brumbies wrote down her rego and i passed it to aami who had my car fixed and back on the road in under a week from the accident.
Id leave it to the cops and insurance companies! Taking matters into your own hands may result in you not getting compensation for your car, and could result in legal s*** too.