Topic: Channel 9 can go *insert action* themselves
Rant ahead

I'm a big fan of Letterman and have been for many years (even had a letter on cbs mailbag). I turn of the tv 1am, tuesday night, letterman here we go....ARH WHAT THE f*** IS THIS s***. It is like that s*** hotdogs show..

12am – 3am
Quizmania (M)

A live interactive show offering viewers the chance to phone in and take part in fun games for big cash.

f*** channel 9 right up the ass to take a decent show off tv to make a quick buck. Im not going to call up at $953 a second to enter a draw that every other c*** is entering. Fill in the blanks and you could win money

elt_n
j_hn
(hint plays piano is gay and his name is elton john OOPS)

in other words, here is the answer everone ring up and give channel 9 and eddie maguire a fatter wallet.

Ok, maybe not a whole lot of people watch letterman, i dont know, i havent done a survey. BUT it was a known fact a lot of people watched Micallef Tonight and they still axed that

CHANNEL 9 = The FOX of australia
Can I just add obviously Hot Dogs is doing well...
FTA tv sux the big one. this just takes the cake.
i also was a massive letterman fan, i cant believe they took it off.
yeah I don't get to watch letterman much but it deserves to be on more than crazy quizzes
Matt
letterman was the only good thing on at night :(
Python
Channel 7 are going to be doing the same thing in the future aswell sadly :/
conan > letterman
get foxtel povo
letterman is horrible. he's better than leno but that's not saying much.
How long has this been happening for? Is this s*** on all the time or is Letterman on sometimes?
so what, letterman isnt on at all anymore? THIS f***ING SUCKS. I love letterman. f***en n***** c***s.
Haha

The Letterman Show lost to that dumb c*** from BB. God I love Australian tv...not!
i always thought letterman was a bit of a tard. his jokes are not very original.
Agamemnon
bleh i think letterman sucks
i have tried to watch him several times and he just isnt funny at all

in fact he is un-funny!

Mind u on the scale of what is more insulting (if i was Letterman i mean), i would prefer to get replaced by a MTV type show than some dodgy BB rip off quiz :P
Feeling on Letterman aside, Australian Tv is the suck.
that is as sure as the sun rises in the east
All I watch on TV these days is sport.
Letterman over that stupid quiz show any day.

Letterman is not about the funny, it's about being able to turn on your tv late at night and just watching some really pointless but nonetheless entertaining segments like "tonight's top ten ladies and gentlemen" *raises card*, "will it float?", throwing a giant pumpking off the roof of a building and watching rupert always pull some honey from the crowd to do some other extra lame s***.

Despite it's obvious lameness, it's just so.. "traditional" if you wanna call it that and i've learnt to like it. It's a bit like an aquired taste for that specific time of the day.

last edited by Booyah at 10:43:15 26/Jul/06
All TV stations continually f*** up their late night viewing .. why would you put Scrubs on at 11.30 at night? It's one of the goddamn best TV shows around and it's delegated to a pathetic time slot.
Despite it's obvious lameness, it's just so.. "traditional" if you wanna call it that

sorta like hey hey?
bingo

though hey hey was funny.

Rove lacks any sort of style. Peter Idiot should take over.

last edited by Booyah at 10:50:33 26/Jul/06
or rove? haha
public TV is screwing itself out of the business with useless reality TV shows. Meanwhile everyone in Australia is just getting what they want off the Internet, or if they're rich enough to spend $100 on Foxtel they just do that.

I don't watch any free to air anymore except Simpsons at 6pm (if I'm home in time, which I never am) and the occasional dose of Border Security (keeping Australia safe!) or Extreme Makeover (it sounds a little gay, but it is the only reality TV show worth watching), and sport.

I just installed a YouTube browser thing for Xbox Media Center too, giving me even more cool s*** to watch :)
border security and extreme makeover are reality tv. you are feeding the monster!

as for foxtel that is a POS too (except for the sports).
The Cock
Border Security is australias #1 show. How is that possible? Just watching the commercials for it I fall asleep!!!

Letterman was great late night tv. It was just...watchable. I dunno. It wasn't awesome, but u could just lie there watching it.

I hate those lame game shows. That hot dogs show was the worst show on television!!! He just talks s*** for 3 hours!!! Each game was worth like $100 and there was only 1 game every 45minutes or so, and he'd just waffle s*** the whole time in between?

f*** who comes up with this s***. Can't believe 9 and 7 are replicating it.
no more enterprise on tuesday either :(
foxtel is awesome lamo

soo much sport and other interesting programming (news channel, music channels, simpsons and king of the hill and american dad)

i dont have much time for watchign tele, but i coudlnt go on without foxtel

AND...

Six feet under was moved back to 12.00 AND THEN replaced by some pathetic british documentary series.

It was the last episodes of the series....do you think they could have just waited it out a few weeks?! :'(

last edited by captivate at 11:50:32 26/Jul/06
That Quizmania show is the most painful thing to watch ever.

The host lacks any kind of talent and constantly makes lame jokes. I am extremely dissapointed that they took letterman off for this POS show, even if letterman isn't that great. This quizmania show is awful.
Pingu
I have foxtel and stuff and they do show Letterman on the womens channel but thats not the point. I always looked forward to watching Letterman before I went to sleep and since I dont have pay tv in my room I would like some action taken against channel 9. Lets egg Eddie!
The Daily Show with Jon Stewart FTW!!!
An people wonder why Channel "BT" is so popular...
foxtel isn't too bad not worth the money imo though. all i ever watch are doco channels, sports and comedy channel. though i've seen everything on that channel 867421421 times now cause they never get new shows or epidoses ><
border security for the win.
since I dont have pay tv in my room

u should go purchase one of those av transmitters from dick smith

we have our foxtel box in the lounge room, but can watch foxtel in the bedroom (and even change channels)

now i dont have to talk to wifey in the bedroom at all
You're such a c*** spook :p

Gladly I don't watch fta tv after midnight much, unless it's sport.
Everyone ranting about PayTV... why the fark is there so many ads now... you're getting $100 a month off the customers and they have to watch the same s*** that FTA people get?

Oh and don't get me started on these game shows.
i dont even notice the ads on foxtel
letterman is s***.. cares
lettermen, like all talkshows of the type, is just advertising for book authors, movies and tv shows.

The only complaint i have with foxtel is the Daily Show is a week or two behind, but since i rarely watch anything live it doesn't bother me and it takes about 5 seconds to fast forward through the foxtel adverts.
Whoever made the decision to axe letterman should get axed. In the face. With an axe.

Worst decision EVAR.
I want to know how I get to be one of the people who have a ratings box in their house. I've never met anyone in my entire life who has known anyone who has participated as a ratings viewer.

I call shennanigans
old mate i work next used to have one a few years ago

they do exist!

i suspect mainly old people use them though :(
Well, technically I'm sorta old, how do I get one =)
I'll sort this rating crap out

Cya big brother an say hello to sci fi an action shows

last edited by HERMITech at 19:56:12 26/Jul/06
Let the rating box revolution begin here!!
Even if no one who had a ratings box watched big brother, they would still run it because of the sms cash cow. Like this quizmania s***, it could rate half as well as letterman, but if they get enough morons phoning in it will pay for itself. So if you ever meet someone who phones these stupid sms things, punch them in the face.
PornoPete
Letterman > Conan > Rove >= Sweaty Dogs Nuts > Peter Hellier
I wish they're hurry up and air the rest of the season of gilmore girls they just stopped in the middle of. f***ers.
I used to enjoy coast to coast or whatever is was with Graham Kennedy. He was a pisser to watch, always cracked me up. These lame arse american ones are just s***, goodbye I say.
My Cock
Peter Hellier is the only thing that makes rove almost watchable
PornoPete
The only funny thing Peter Hellier could do is get burnt in a ditch
^ tough but fair.
The only complaint i have with foxtel is the Daily Show is a week or two behind

natslovR, the episode I saw yesterday was concerning Condoleezza Rice's visit to Lebanon, so there not that far behind.
Didn't she go there like a week ago or so?
^ Booyah Beaten.
She only left there the other day, thats why Israel have stepped up the bombing.
Ok, so I just got home and this s*** is on now. It's bad enough that Letterman isn't on right now, but this chick hosting the show has all the charisma of a wet sock. Despite the fact that they're trying to give away money, I see absolutely no value to the viewer coming from this program.
letterman was on last night? maybe they axed the show :\
Nah, this crap appears to be on now with Letterman at 3.
conan > letterman

Letterman = boring old fart
Conan = funniest chook looking man alive
Leno = Try hard, not real funny, reads lines.
I think the point is that at that time of night, Letterman was the best show on...
I wish they're hurry up and air the rest of the season of gilmore girls they just stopped in the middle of. f***ers.

bahahahahaha
letterman FTW, I can't believe they would take it off!!

Atleast its still on the Comedy Channel.

But for those of you without Austar/foxtel/Optus, ya might ahve to start downloading it :/
Like AgentBackward66 said it was good for that time of the night but i wouldn't go as far as downloading it :/
That's backwards&upsidedown66 to u Booyah.
Well if you wanna get technical.....

HAHAHAHAhahahahahHAHAHA, channel 9's quiz show has just f***ed up. Their phones went down and they have been trying to buy time for about an hour. f***ing funny as.
PULLED

hahah, sucking f***ing s***. They have pulled it for tonight and put on drew carey. Yay, something good on!

Drew carey finishes

Quizmania s*** comes back on

2 calls in, phones are down again

SUCK s***

last edited by Astroboy at 02:03:46 03/Aug/06
why do they put these shows on? wouldnt it be cheaper just to air some old episodes of the simpsons and futrama(sp) then put on the info ads.
You do realise that people pay to phone these shows eighty-eight?
Theres something even worse that I have noticed:

Not only are chanel nine broadcasting this abomination in the first instance, they are actually advertising it in prime time viewing hours.
My Cock
I just can't believe that there are 3 of the exact f***ing shows on every channel at the same time.
There all just trying to cash in.
Ross
Its not BB that makes money off the pay2SMS etc... It's the people who actually process the vote (5th Finger) and telco's. BB would be lucky to see 40% of the SMS cost on an individual message. I find these shows particularly interesting because I used to run a lot of sms chat service, ringtones nudey pic commercials. The fact that they can make the show run over 2 hours and give away around 20k/episode is pretty impressive.

The networks themselves like the shows not because of the revenue off the SMS but they don't have to pay for shows to fill the timeslot and it also helps fill their quotas of Australian produced shows.
Its not BB that makes money off the pay2SMS etc
Sure..
BB would be lucky to see 40% of the SMS cost
Oh so you meant that except for that 40% they dont make any money then?
not because of the revenue off the SMS
Yeah i bet they hate getting that money.. "oh please Mr Bogan stop calling our 1900 number"
also helps fill their quotas of Australian produced shows.
No it doesnt.
I assumed that people ring up and are all held on the line for 10 minutes (depending on the length of the game) and are taken off to answer, and if it is correct or not they go on.

time (mins) x people on hold x cost per minute = good money
Its not cost per minute.
and if it is correct or not they go on.
They are more likely to go on if they get it wrong would be my guess.
Ross
Got some figures off a friend, the "up-late game show" only receives 8500 msgs/program. $0.90/txt = $7650 = f*** all

yes it does count towards homegrown content
Ross
especially when you get can a few thousand sms off a 15 sec spot.
Ross
except during shows like that :)
yes it does count towards homegrown content

I guess someone should tell the internets then
Since 1998 the transmission quota sets an overall annual minimum level of Australian programming between 6 am and midnight at 55 per cent.
http://www.afc.gov.au/gtp/wftvcbroadregulation.html

especially when you get can a few thousand sms off a 15 sec spot.
I guess late night perverts are a more profitable market than late night morons?
Ross
Shut down like windows :)
Ross
I wanted to know but I didn't want to go hunting for the link... thanks! :P
Heh c***.
and if it is correct or not they go on.

'They' being the show

You're in a real smartass c*** mood arent you? c***