Topic: road bikes whats the best out of these?
Captain America
not sure if i am just speculating here or if I will go ahead with this but over the weekend I got to ride a friends cbr600f and damnit it was nice :(

anyway I'm 190cm tall and just under 100kg, i've so far read some bikes are more comfortable than others some dont like big guys etc and I guess I wont find this out till i do some test rides but these are the bikes I've been looking at, oh and my only experience with bikes is the random motorcross riding or quad out in the bushes/dunes so I havent got a bikes learners license yet, i'd like this bike to be comfortable enough to be a daily driver yet be fun to ride

aprilia rs250 - seems to be one hell of a bike but not very comfortable and high maintenance being a 2 stroke machine

honda cbr250rr - the rr seems to be the latest model but its pretty damn confusing to me where there seems to be a crapload of imports and from the advertisments its hard to say what year model the bikes really are, as far as i know 98 is when they stopped making these ... i could be wrong, but this seems to be the 'it' bike for my size and my circumstances

kawasaki zxr250 - to me its the best looking bike out of the bunch but dont know much about that apart from the random info on it on google

suzuki rgv250 - the engine on this bike is the same as on the aprilia, but the bike itself seems a bit more comfortable than it

anyone with any experience with these bikes? anything to look out for or should i be looking at something else?

Cheers,
Yours Truly

ducati 749 ftw
Captain America
ok thats nice but I can only be looking at < 250 ml bikes since I havent got any motorbike licensing? I only have your standard open C class car license
aprilla very track oriented also expensive as - def do not get as a first bike

cbr250 rr = ripjob the prices on these are so inflated with their bling paintjobs, the bikes themselves arent bad but I'd advise against it.

zxr250/zx2r (I owned one of these) VERY agressive riding position. I am just over 6 foot and it got rather uncomfortable on rides longer than about 20 min. It has adjustable suspension where a lot of similar aged 250's don't and revs out to 20grand. One of the quickest 4 stroke 250's easily.

rgv250's are nicknamed kidkillers IIRC :P A mean 2 stroke with quite a harsh powerband where the bike will suddenly go a lot faster very quickly which gets inexperienced riders into s*** very easily.

If it is for a first bike the likelyhood of dropping it is very high, whether that is just parking it somewhere and it falling over or lowsiding. Avoid expensive bikes as repairing any bike is not cheap, but the more exxy the more you'll be up for - I know only too well from experience :(

I would go for something like a Yammy FZR250 or Honda CBR250 R, both got good get up and go and are fairly cheap. Suzuki Across is another one, not quite as sporty or fast but the riding position is good and its fully faired.

Alternatively consider a naked bike as fairings are EXPENSIVE to fix letalone replace plus they generally have a much more relaxed riding position if you plan to use the bike as a commuter.

Honda Spada
Kawasaki Balius
Suzuki Bandit

...are a few naked sports styled bikes that spring to mind.

last edited by rubba-chikin at 19:04:23 04/Jun/06

last edited by rubba-chikin at 19:05:24 04/Jun/06
wow rubba i didnt know you were into bikes.
everything you've said i totally agree with.

just remmeber you WILL drop it, so dont get something pricey etc.
Yep i highly recommend the Spada/balius as a starting bike. the others are just plastic.
Funnily enough, Iv ridden/owned all of those bikes.
I can see what sort of bike your after and would highly
recommend ANY of them for a starter rider (except maybe the CBR)

aprilia rs250 - Great if you want to sit at 10,000revs at the lights to take off.
Built for the track, not the road, definatly uncomfy

honda cbr250rr - Also known as wrist snappers. Over a 30min ride, it gets
uncomfy I wouldnt get a 250 version, 600 on the other hand.... :)

kawasaki zxr250 - Nice bike, but rubba is right, very agressive
and low. Personally for a weekend bike I reckon the are
awesome, but transit is a little sucky and the one I rode didnt
respond well enough for me

suzuki rgv250 - Hehe, Kidkiller is right, these are one of the most dangerous
250's around imo. I nearly killed myself through a corner when
the powerband kicked in, was very luck. Terrible bike for a
first time rider.

If this is a first bike for you, and your using it to commute, then look at the bikes rubba suggested, and look at the Kawasaki ZZR. I loved it for commuting, as it could almost keep up with the CBR but it has a much comfier riding position and bigger tank for commuting.

Dont go out and get yourself the fastest bike and become a statistic. You need to learn control first and then you can get a weapon ;)
ok i'm hopefully getting my learners monday or tuesday.

In my case i'm not on my open license (afaik anyways, i could be now) but for me to get a bike license (250cc only i'm guessing) how do i go about doing that? rock up to transport and ask for my motorbike license? :P
yeah man ^ its like 15 bux and a 5 question test thats piss easy. but thats for your learners and you must hold it for a year i think.

Captain America
thanks for the tips guys,

the spada looks interesting out of the nakeds, wonder what the ride is as i havent rode a lot to be honest ... the other bikes seem familiar, the group of friends i've got who've finally hyped me into this ride R1's and those type of high power bikes by now and i remember them riding cbr's and zzr's/zxr's

the only thing that looks worrying about the zzr is the age and the fact theyre usualy grey imports
The age? Whats wrong with getting a 2004 or something? they arnt old bikes :P The range between 93 and 2005 I think.

and most of them arnt imports I dont think :/ Check out bikesales and also overclockers.com.au/mc/

Oh, and I rode a friends R1 for a few hours, never ever ever again. That thing was just f***ing nuts :P
Hi, I know a few ppl who have either been horrifically maimed in motorbike accidents or have family members who have been killed whilst driving motorbikes.

I'm just reminding you.

Ahhh zzr thats what I forgot!

Fn yeah I have always liked bikes, got into it with the zxr250, binned it pretty hard broke my collarbone and earned a trip to the ER (was due to my nubeyness and older "not so good at stopping" sports bike that still went way too fast :P )

Fixed her up rode for a few more months and then the motor crapped out a cyl and I decided to get rid of it cause at the time I think 3 people over on OCAU had fatals :( and I decided everyday commuting is getting pretty dangerous especially with the s*** I see everyday.

I still miss riding and would have a fang around if someone offered a ride on their bike. Would love to get into some track riding but I don't have the money to piss away on that.

Anyway...

Pretty much all the 250 sports are grey imports, so its gonna be the same for all of em.

If I was gonna get another commuter 250 I'd probably go with a spada/balius, much more comfy than a plastic rocket and still look pretty snaz for nakeys and do have a bit of go when you need it.
BigZub, If I remember correctly Q-ride have courses that get you your bike licence in a day (or pretty darn close to it). DoT would be able to fill you in on it.

Edit -
You do not need to hold your class RE (250ml or less motorbike) learner licence for six months before obtaining a class RE (motorbike) licence. However, you must be at least 17 years of age to be issued with the class RE (motorbike) licence.

You can progress directly from your motorbike learner licence to a class R (motorbike) licence if you have held your class C (car) licence for at least three years. The three year period may be accumulated through a number of periods that you have held the class of licence, within the last five years only.

http://www.transport.qld.gov.au/qt/LTASinfo.nsf/index/learningtodrive_qride

last edited by Tanaka Khan at 03:00:09 05/Jun/06
I went and did q-ride through morgan n wacker. They do it at brookside, mitchelton, probably other places as well. Did it over 2 saturdays was easy as, went there with no bike license, my open car, and come out with open bike, was fun
Then riding off in your flash new 650cc bike you low-side it and slide right under a bus.
I'm also aprehensive of people who get on big bikes with SFA experience. I guess if people want to hurt themselves they can do it in style.

I have a CBR250, grey import. It's a bit of a toy and excellent for inner city riding, but I wouldn't take it on trips longer than 1 hour. I find I'm too big for it and I'm 180cm.
Captain America
yeah thats nice and all but what other bike do I have to choose from apart from a postie bike lol ... theyre all so small :/
Q-Ride was one of the best 2 days $400 could buy (although its now 500 something I beleive) I did mine over rocklea way I think with a guy called Warren. I very much enjoyed the whole experience and I would recommend it to anyone even if you aren't super serious about getting a bike.

I went straight onto my R's as I already held my open car license, and as a few people have hinted at already I would recommend against getting a >250cc sports bike.

You'd be fine on something like a Suzuki GS500 (that was the big bike I learnt on at Q-Ride) or similar not overly fast but has some decent tourque. But 600cc and above sporties have far too much power to tempt a beginner into big trouble IMO. Hell the first time I cracked the throttle wide open on my zxr250 I pretty much crapped my pants :P

Big sports bikes -

- go very very fast very quickly.

- have more than enough power to spin the rear wheel in dry condtions, and while cornering = why hallo thar mr highside crash!

- have enough power to easily do wheelies, with a beginner rider thats just asking for something to go wrong.

- weigh more and take more skill and knowledge to throw around without binning it. Any new rider would benefit from starting with a lighter slower bike and perfecting the basics there then take on the big guns later.

Lately I have been seeing so many squids (helmet protection only tshirt and shorts on body to get shredded... ala squid :P) on hipo sports bikes getting around every day. Really makes me cringe to think of the fun they will have if they come off.

My other piece of advice WEAR ALL OF YOUR GEAR EVERYTIME YOU RIDE NO MATTER HOW FAR OR LONG YOU ARE PLANNING ON GOING!
That would include helmet, gloves, jacket, decent jeans/draggins and good solid shoes/riding boots.

Thats pretty much my 2c having been through it. I do regret getting the zxr, not really a good learners bike. Looked hot but I think it contributed to me going down.

Ohh another cheaper fully faired 250 is the Kawasaki GPX250 check those out too.

last edited by rubba-chikin at 09:30:41 05/Jun/06
Captain America
yeah just read about them on those OCAU forums you pointed me towards, seems a cheap bike to buy out brand new if I want to , nice option cheers
i always recommend that new riders get an enduro/trail bike first up for a few good reasons. few people ever take notice though because new bike riders always want a flashy lookin' sports bike not a dorky lookin' chook-chaser! :P~
however... trailies are easier to learn to ride, they take minimal damage in the event of a crash, they are much better suited to tall riders (even 250cc)than sportsters, they are easy to fix yourself, they are easy & cheap to maintain, they can go anywhere (shortcut through the local park no probs ;), tyres are cheaper, good on feul... etc.
Fizzer
Another vote for the ol' Fizzers (FZR250). Its a bit taller than the cbr's and I found was great for my height (i'm ~190cms too).

But yeah don't get a new 250. The idea is you get a cheap 250 that goes alright drop it a few times and then sell it to fuknuckle :P Worked for me :D

As everyone has said - you're going to drop it and trust me you're going to prefer to do it on a s***ty 250 that you can just chuck a bit of plastic weld on it than on a brand new baby that you're going to want to repaint.
ive gone down on the road was.. interesting sliding down the road lookin like i was doing luge but then i hit an island so up and over that which wasnt a great deal of fun. i fixed most of it myself except for the plastic welding. but ive got a mate thats realy good at that sort of shizzal.

was lucky i didnt luge into another car/truck.
was wearing helmut, jacket, normal dress pants, dress shoes.
everything was sweet, no tears or anything which was weird, but ive always been into motocross so i spose ya tend to learn how to fall after awhile
Hi, I know a few ppl who have either been horrifically maimed in motorbike accidents or have family members who have been killed whilst driving motorbikes.

I'm just reminding you.
Oh, Okay.
Captain America
ok went around to a few dealers just to check things out ... i checked out 5 places and only one of them had one 250cc bike in stock and it was a gpx250r which was way too small for me :( the dude said a cbr or zzr250 might be better but said i'd need a lot of luck to find one of those on the coast

had even one guy talking me into a cbr600 lol! and to go straight on my R license
Fizzer
Hi, I know knew a few ppl who have either been horrifically maimed in motorbike accidents or have family members who have been killed whilst driving motorbikes.

I'm just reminding you.

Fixed.
Fizzer
Captain America I take it you went to that street (lawrence drive?) in nerang?

I think most of those clowns sell new bikes. Might be worthwhile to go the extra mile to moss st in slacks creek (bout a 45 min drive from the coast) got my yzf600 from all bikes - they're pretty good for the price.
Captain America
yeah most of them sold new bikes only, 3 of them had a few second hand ones ... wasnt going there to buy just to get a feel for the size of a 250 and damn they were small :/
I'm a crash expert. I binned my ZZR250, my first bike. I stacked my DR650 countless times. My newest is a DRZ400 which is a dirt bike and i've owned it only 4 months and crashed it so many times i've lost count :)
I do ride in rough terrain though.
My advice? Don't buy a bike with a fairing until you are completely comfortable with riding, which could take over a year.
Captain America
well i guess the vtr250 is my last chance lol, naked, under 250 and hopefully easy to find
vtr250 great choice. Spada is another good one if the budget is low. Spada is basically an older VTR250. Stick a staintune on em and the VTRs sound awesome for a 250 :)
Captain America
yeah not many choices, most of these bikes seem to be built for people around 170cm height

the other choice which probably would be suicide is do a qride and get a 600 lol
tominator
the other choice which probably would be suicide is do a qride and get a 600 lol

You have to do Q-Ride anyway to get your RE license I believe.

CBR250's are great bikes for beginners, you can find many good ones fairly cheaply through private sellers.

I guess it depends on what sort of riding you are mainly interested in? Do you want to go to the track occassionally, mountain rides, touring or commuting?

http://home.exetel.com.au/vash/wtgns3.JPG

And hit the trails, makes an awesome road bike too.
You could get a cruiser to begin with, you're not stuck into getting sports bike

250 viragos are nice n light nimble n stuff, thats what i got after my old gsx1100. So easy to ride and cheap as
cept its a chicks bike...
I'd avoid dealerships as prices are so inflated, private sales are the best place to pick up cheaper bikes.

That said you do run the risk of getting a lemon... I wasn't very happy with mine... sure it had a low km engine in there from some wreckers (that had probably been sitting around for 2 years on a crate) but it still crapped out after a pretty short period >:|

Definately test ride (or get one of your hipo sportsbike buddies to give it a flogging) before you even consider buying.
If your going to go and buy a bike, just please remember to buy something you can handle.

I don't want to read a thread in 4 months time about you stacking it on your bike and getting into a serious accident. Someone i know was in the same situation as you, chose a bike he couldn't handle, now he is dead. Just be wise in your choice.
Captain America
ah theres been a few threads about like that already so i think at least hopefully i've learnt a lesson from qgl if not from RL already
I was just going through bikesales to see what people are asking for particular bikes these days and came across this gem :P

http://i6.tinypic.com/11t7wog.jpg

I think you should get it :D

Lollerbike Link
Captain America
thats a nice looking liger haha!

also what the best place to look around for bikes in qld? i dont think ill have much of a chance on the gold coast so i might go look around brisbane if the world cup games schedule let me
Captain America
damn how hot is this!

http://www.triumph.co.uk/uk/788.aspx
I like it all bar the rear fairing, its too short and stubby IMO and just doesn't look proportional with the bike as a whole.

The single side swingarm exhaust and dual light front end look uber though
Thats a suzuki across, i use to own one. great bike, its got a boot big enough for a helmet, and has a boot light too!
Captain America
Hey Rubba, you mentioned that you got your license through Q-ride, did that mean that you straight went out and got your R class license through them without an RE license?

been reading pages as these, just wanted to make sure if thats a possible avenue
road bikes whats the best out of these?

anyway I'm 190cm tall and just under 100kg
One with pedals.
I didnt look at his height.. Definately go for a road legal dirt bike. I'm 6 ft and find most sport bikes cramped.
for nakedness i like the brutale... ;D

http://www.2ri.de/assets/big/MVA_101_2002_00_700x500_MV-AGUSTA-BRUTALE-S.jpg

p.s. not suggesting it as a possible choice coz a) it's not two-fiddy & b) it's outrageously expensive :P

try out some trail bike 250s dude... i know they look dorky compared to road bikes but you might find they are a lot better suited to your hieght.
Captain America
yeah this whole things not looking too good haha ... either a fat chopper or a 600+ cc engined bike
tominator
There is no reason not to get a 250 sports bike. I am about 187cm and rode a CBR250R for a couple of years. Aslong as you aren't over 50 with a hip replacement you should be able to tough it out if you really want a sports bike.
Captain America
yeah i havent checked out a cbr250r to be honest i've eyed one out and will check it out on the weekend
Captain America
another question, did you guys go for comprehensive insurance? i just did an online quote with nrma and the quote came out at $1200 per year ... are those the usual prices?
Hey Rubba, you mentioned that you got your license through Q-ride, did that mean that you straight went out and got your R class license through them without an RE license?

Sure did, if you have your car opens then you are elligible for your moto R license.

Basically for Q-Ride first day I rode a Honda CB250 on the first day, did all the excercises and end of day ride and he was satisfied with my skill level.

Second day I went on the Suzuki GS500E did all the same things and again he was satisfied with my progress and I got my lil slip to go down to the DOT to have R added to my license :)

The cool thing about the place I did my training at was that you pay for the 2 days only and if he thinks you should come back for more training it doesn't cost you any additional payment.

If you are seriously considering something bigger than a 250 I'd suggest the Suzuki GS500E, my zxr250 was waaaaaay faster in terms of acceleration so its not going to get you into too much trouble and that bike was a very comfy ride (I am 185 odd cm), doesn't look all that bad either.

If you are super concerned with comfort, stick with a car. Unless its a cushed out tourer, and honestly I don't see the point, riding a bike is never going to compare to sitting in a car fullstop.

last edited by rubba-chikin at 15:56:26 06/Jun/06
Captain America
ah of course, my only problem was the 600+ bikes were more comfortable than the 250's i sat on yesterday and today ... im a bike noob anyway still trying to figure it all out
Fizzer
Where abouts in the gc are you?

Just got rid of my yzf600 to pay some bills :( 3,500 i ended up parting with it for :(

http://bikesales.com.au/as/search/sd.do?recIndex=3&modelID=1686&makeID=83&page=0&selectedModelIndex=138&y=15&state=4&selectedMakeIndex=64&previousResultPerPage=20¤tPage=1&x=58
the amount of people i know that have, just recently, decided to get a bike is just crazy. I'm on the same page as you, capt. america. got my heart set on an Aprillia rs250 tho.

as for 600s, those new daytonas from triumph look f***ing awesome and they go hard. apparantly they beat pretty much any other 600 hands down. off the line, on the track, etc....

http://www.triumph.co.uk/images/tri_daytona675.jpg
Agamemnon
Was watching a show on Foxtel the other night (a funny UK car enthusiasts thing) where they road test and critique all kinds of vehicles from your bottom of the scale small 3cyl city commuters all the way up to the top of the line Sports cars

Anyway they were talking about this car (The Atom) that they had just tested and called it the MOST fun, fastest etc etc "car" ever!
The basic idea as i understood from the show was that it was a sort of motorbike replacement with out all the carnage :P

Never the less it looks cool, goes faster than most bikes even thru corners and doesnt cost an arm and a leg

Check it out

http://www.arielmotor.co.uk/

Fizzer
the amount of people i know that have, just recently, decided to get a bike is just crazy. I'm on the same page as you, capt. america. got my heart set on an Aprillia rs250 tho.

I really have a hard time justifying paying an arm and a leg for a 250. I mean it can be the best 250 in the world but at the end of the day its still a lil putt putt. Don't get me wrong they're all good to start on but its only natural that a) he is going to wreck the f*** out of it b) want to upgrade when he can.

So why not just get a cheap 250 basher for a year or so.

as for 600s, those new daytonas from triumph look f***ing awesome and they go hard. apparantly they beat pretty much any other 600 hands down. off the line, on the track, etc....

The whole "get this bike it kicks the s*** out of every other bike in speed" isn't really what would constitute as good advice for a first time rider wouldn't you agree?
yea i do see what you're sayin about the cost...

but yea, i'm not givin advice man, i don't have a bike either... :/ and there's no way i'd get a 600 for my first bike as well. I didn't mean for that to come across as a suggestion... oops if it did.

I was more just saying it's a cool looking bike... and I was really quite suprised at what I've read about it so far. I would have thought an R6 or a gsxr would be the go, but now, I'm personally prefering the Daytona. Of course I've got no idea how they would actually feel to ride, or what the sitting position would feel like... I was just saying...

The stack that made me say "Bugger fairings"

http://home.exetel.com.au/vash/wreck6.jpg
And the stack that made me say.. "dirt bikes, f*** yeah"

http://home.exetel.com.au/vash/Watagans/IMG_5413.JPG
Fizzer
I was more just saying it's a cool looking bike... and I was really quite suprised at what I've read about it so far. I would have thought an R6 or a gsxr would be the go, but now, I'm personally prefering the Daytona. Of course I've got no idea how they would actually feel to ride, or what the sitting position would feel like... I was just saying...

Fair enough. My mate sounded a lot like you when he didn't have a bike :P. He'd read in all these magazines about how f***ing awesome ninjas were and goes on for months and months about how he was going to get one. This whole time saying about how s*** gxsr's are. Every f***ing time we saw a ninja he'd go "look theres my bike".

So the time finally comes where he gets his license and we go bike hunting. He takes one look at the ninjas and is very unimpressed and goes over to the gsxr (not knowing what it was) and starts man crushing on it "omg man this bike is sweet what is it".

Long story shorter he ended up buying it. I was a bit against him getting it - i've been riding for about 3-4 years now and it scared the s*** out of me. That thing is a f***ing monster.

I guess my point is that you can't go by just numbers because you'll find that even the "slowest" bikes in the reviews will still get your heart pumping.
Fair enough. My mate sounded a lot like you when he didn't have a bike :P. He'd read in all these magazines about how f***ing awesome ninjas were and goes on for months and months about how he was going to get one. This whole time saying about how s*** gxsr's are. Every f***ing time we saw a ninja he'd go "look theres my bike".

yah this is a fairly typical attitude amongst any petrolhead be it cars or bikes eh. same as when i bought my 1986 honda vfr750 brand new... i had mates saying that i was crazy for not getting the 1986 suzi gsxr750 coz it had X horsepower & Z torque & 17" wheels yadda yadda... then as the years passed n my vfr became a reliability legend as my lates gsxr's fell by the wayside :D not to mention when we all toured to phillip island for the GP... so funny riding along in comfort with my mates on gsxr having to stop every half hour to stretch. :P

still after saying all that... that triumph 600 is HOT! :D~
blahnana
Two tips.

1) Worry about what you're going to do about your license first (q-ride, getting an RE, what learners are you getting?)

2) Don't buy the bike you really really love as your first bike. Buy something reliable and friendly to newbs (which means no fairing, it's needlessly expensive to fix when your bike falls over on its side).

Your size/weight means you should stay away from high-horsepower 250's (because they'll suck to ride in traffic and up hills for a learner (whether you do q-ride or not, you're still a learner)). I'm basically the same dimensions as you, and I've been riding constantly for 8 years so I'm not just talking out my ass.

Whatever bike you get you'll have fun on regardless.

Oh, and here's another tip, demon speaks much truth w.r.t bikes.
Motards are another option that haven't been discussed, one of my workmates just bought a ktm tard... so nice :)

However for a first bike I'd say seeing its a fairly new concept and they all cost a lot it isn't really a smart option.
yea motards rock hard.
dirtbike with road tyres on em basicly.
so hardcore in the twistys keep up with ya sporties but left for dead on the straights but with awesum dirt track loven
However for a first bike I'd say seeing its a fairly new concept and they all cost a lot it isn't really a smart option.

Disagree.
Motards have been around for awhile, and you can get one (doesnt have to have wide tyres, just sticky road tyres, such as anakees.)
For 3-4 grand. a DR350/TTR250 or DR650/TTR600. Perfect for a tall learner, light and nimble.
i would say if ur a learner ridr stick to the zxr 250 its alot more comfortable then the other bike because the handlebars are actually above the triple clamp.. meaning ur not carrying ur weight on ur wrists..

also the zxr is prol the only bike u could fit on comfortable being taller etc

also the other bikes are race bikes.. they are fast and unforgiving (cept the cbr)

if u do what thr racer type bike go for the cbr .. best of the bunch
Captain America
fizzer i'm at varsity lakes ... hmm very nice bike :(

thanks for all the incoming tips guys, all duly noted, wish i had a place i coulc check all these bikes through, the gold coast doesnt seem to keep a lot of these on stock
Motards have been around for awhile, and you can get one (doesnt have to have wide tyres, just sticky road tyres, such as anakees.)
For 3-4 grand. a DR350/TTR250 or DR650/TTR600. Perfect for a tall learner, light and nimble.

Orly... I may just have to investigate that then :D

Just out of curiosity, how hard is it to say have a non-rego'ed dirtbike you can throw a set of road rims onto to take onto the track?

Is it really that simple? Or is there certain things you need to do/have to qualify for track usage?

Sure it'd be nice to have a little sports track weapon and dirtbike but the monies oh the monies which I do not have :P

I have been interested in trying some offroad and track stuff and if it is just as easy as swapping some rims over it would definately be something I would consider looking into.

last edited by rubba-chikin at 23:35:08 07/Jun/06
Pretty straight forward. I saw recently a Honda CR500 with super motard rims on for 5 grand. those 500 2 strokes are stupid fast, twist the throttle on that thing and it accelerates faster than an R1 sport bike until a certain speed. (probably 0-60 or so)
I've never done a track day yet but i know many who have. You just pay for the track usage and the bike needs to have a few things taped up and checked over and away you go.
But you need to have a registered dirt bike to ride in the bush, unless you just want to ride on private land, bike parks ect.
Swapping between sport and dirt wheels takes less than 20 mins.
Just out of curiosity, how hard is it to say have a non-rego'ed dirtbike you can throw a set of road rims onto to take onto the track?

Is it really that simple? Or is there certain things you need to do/have to qualify for track usage?

it's been years since I used to goto track days at lakeside (so I really dunno what the go is these days... especially with the recent changes to the land around lakeside) but back when I was going you just needed a drivers licence or a club-supported racing licence & you payed $50-70 for the day. i always took my road rego'd bike to ride... but there were plenty of other ppls on unregistered machines, some of which were home made motards (mostly cr500's with road rims n tyres). then you'd usually get an hour session to do some laps, then they flag you all off & let another group go.
that was years ago though so no doubt some rules may have changed.