Topic: RC Nitro Car Question
Monaro

Hey, I just got a new nitro car, I bought a temp and fail safe unit for it. The car is still in the break-in time atm. But when i put the cover on the car and run it the temp goes up to 140 plus and it should only be running under 100 - 110. When i run with the cover off it still runs at about 120 to 110. How do i cool it down?

I think the fuel is running rich as its still been broken in. The cover does have holes in it already.
what car did you end up buying and how much? pics plz...

the air filter is on properly?
it will run hotter than usual during the break in. It also may be because its running too lean, so read up on getting your fuel mix right.
richen the mix
while running-it-in dont put the cover on it.

if its still a problem after its run-in then cut the windscreens out.
but dont pay much attention to the temp gun, use the spit test. If spit sizzles when put on the cylinder head fins, then it is too hot

edit:its either
1. an air leak somewhere.
2. Maybe the low end needle setting (if it has one) is set too lean.

hot engines are lean engines.
so check anything the might increase air (air leaks) or decrease fuel (dirty fuel, pinched air hose, weak backpressure coming from the tuned pipe)

last edited by Fn at 09:16:32 13/May/06
Monaro
Ok, ill have to have a look up in the manual about how lean it is.

I ended up getting a Thunder Tiger Ts-4n its a two speed.
Got it brand new from a shop, got a great deal, Got the car for $330.

http://img81.imageshack.us/img81/5051/3712sb4lk.jpg

last edited by Monaro at 09:36:04 13/May/06

http://img129.imageshack.us/img129/4268/8d12sb8ru.jpg

last edited by Monaro at 09:37:32 13/May/06
cut a hole in the passengers side windshield and in the rear window and put fly screen in there so rocks and crap dont get in. Running with a shell on makes it incredibly hot sometimes.

You can also tell how lean and rich by how much exhaust is coming out. Barely any its too lean, if its pouring out , then its too rich, you need to find a happy medium :)

Google for that type of thing, there is some great forums and howto sites out there.
Monaro
Hey, i just looked at the manual, it said to make the fuel rich as, for the run in stage, so i did that, turned it 2 times round, and started it up and it just spat out heaps of fuel out the exhaust and when u pushed the trigger it just put more out and didnt really move, so turned it back again so it took off, but how do i run it in, if it will not move with the rich fuel...
Dude.. you need to run it rich for the break in... as you progress the breakin period you gradually lean it out.. Don't just adjust it so you can move it straight away you will destroy the machine.. follow the instructions to the letter

There are several different break-in methods you can use but the most commonly used one is to run the engine while the car is sitting off the ground at that rich setting for a tank or two and then for the next 3 or 4 tanks to run it on the ground at a low speed and gradually speed it up while you progress through each tank and leaning the high speed needle 1/8th of a turn at a time until it runs close to peak performance. Make sure the engine stays within a reasonable temperature range and make sure you see a good amount of blue smoke coming out of the exhaust throughout the throttle range to insure you are not running the engine overly lean.

last edited by Boxhead at 12:16:27 13/May/06
Monaro
Ok thanks,
So make it rich again and just lift it off the ground and let it run, do i just sit it there to idle, or give it a bit of throttle?
Idle off the ground for a couple of tanks... then drive it around on like 1/4 throttle for a couple of tanks (letting it cool down after each one), then 1/2 throttle for a couple of tanks (only accelerate to 1/2 throttle dont hold it there... eg goto 1/2, let it roll for a bit, 1/2 again, let it roll again, 1/2 etc..) then onto a couple of tanks at 3/4 throttle, let it cool and finally full throttle for a couple of tanks..

Don't hold it at the throttle points for any great deal of time, adjust it a little bit each run, make sure there is blue smoke coming out every run and you should be ok...
my engine has thermo-reactive paint. when it's cold it's blue, when it's running properly it's a kind of purple colour, when it's too hot it's really f***ing dark purple. Then when it cools off it goes back to blue.

you should also be using a lower nitro/possibly higher oil content fuel for the breakin. Usually brand new cars from a hobby shop, the guy will give you a suitable fuel. It's just ordinary fuel I think, there's nothing really special about it but with that fuel the car won't run its best. Once I'd used the s*** up the guy gave me as "run in fuel" I went to a higher nitro content fuel and my car hauls ass.

As for the needle setting you're meant to turn it 1/8th of a turn at a time dude, 2 turns is far too much. Increase it gradually, and yes it will spit out a metric buttload of unburned fuel and smoke, that's normal and good.

edit: once I'd run mine in, I used this site as a guide on how to tune my car up myself, rather than paying some guy at a shop every time it needed to be done.

last edited by whoop at 13:22:13 13/May/06
Monaro
Thanks,

So i screw the screw clockwise 1/8 every couple of tanks? so i lessen the amount of fuel going through the pipe each time, Well while it is in the run in stage?
no, that's not what I meant. you screw the screw out until it really bogs down and doesn't move, and then screw it in gradually until it does run, but keeps on blowing smoke & unused fuel. You don't turn it 2 turns at a time.
Monaro
I took it for a run this afternoon, Still running it on about half throttle, i still spits out alot of smoke and takes a bit before it gets moving. Im letting the fuel run right out then letting it cool down before i refill. Only srewed the srew 1/8 in the clockwise direction after each tank.

Does anyone know of any good spots to run them around brisbane. Only know the big area out the back of Brookside shopping centre atm.
carparks for the winnage. best ones are the undercover ones if you can get in em, the smooth lined concrete is awesum for the noise and tyre marks.

my 4wd road car leaves all 4 tyre marks and sqeals the tyres when ripping it around corners and hitting the gas etc.
heaps of fun.
Monaro
Nice, yea took it to a undercover place at the school near me and it had the smooth concrete and it was sliding everywhere, was mad fun.
Monaro

Post some pictures of your cars here.
I got elvis a subaru for xmas one year. Electric though
Does anyone know of any good spots to run them around brisbane.

there's an indoor track near the archerfield airport, there's one up queens road in woodridge area there, there's one at wynnum somewhere. only the archerfield track is indoor btw
the indoor track has a webpage: http://hobbystation.com.au/ they're also a hobby store so if you break something you might be able to buy a spare there.

last edited by whoop at 22:12:31 13/May/06
dont have pics of my other 2 atm, might take some later
http://img126.imageshack.us/img126/4053/p10100044lz.th.jpg
that $330 was for the car, or the full working package? ie Radio controls
Monaro
For the full complete package it was $365, thats the starter kit and all the gear, spare glow plug and stuff like that.
Monaro
Another questions, got it running again, this time the temp of the engine was alot lower than it has been on other days, it stays around the 70- 80 mark. Also when i drive it about 20m away, and i put the throttle down it goes then stops then goes then stops until it comes closer then its fine again, didnt have the problem the other day when i took it out it went for ages and didnt have a problem.

Any ideas
check the batteries.
that's probably the failsafe thing you said you got. If it detects a loss of signal it'll either put the brakes on, or just lay off the throttle automagically. The failsafe is either detecting interference from another transmitter or powerlines or something, or it's not detecting much of a signal from your transmitter. Either try another location or try switching spots (stand where the car was, put the car where you were etc).

Make sure you hold the transmitter with the antenna straight up in the air too. A common thing people do is hold it at an angle or even horizontal, they work their best when vertical. Another thing some really stupid people do, which I doubt you've done, is trim off the excess wire on the car's antenna. You should NEVER cut the antenna wire on the car or alter its length.
sup

im having a slight issue with my car... the remote f***ed up but i took the spring out on the steering thing... so its loose now...

anyway

i can only turn half way ... and like... the car makes this rattling sound... it wont turn passed half way ... whats the go anyone know ?
thats definatly the batteries monaro, charge them or put new ones in, dont be cheap ass get the best you can.
alkaline rechargibles are awesum, otherwise get highest m/h ratings you can find.
there is a new kind out thats real expensive but definatly the best, forget what they're called but they need there own special charger off course and you need to put a 6v regulator in aswell.

pull the steering wheel off again and pull the rest of the plastic return to centre bits that you pulled the spring off.
Monaro
The batterys are only new, they are the venom ones, so they are pretty good. But its like its the fail safe doing it as well as it looks like they put the brakes on, cause it goes then stops real fast. I got the Volts on the fail safe set to 4.2v

Thats what it says in the book. Its a venom failsafe and temp unit with the little screen on it. How come the it works really well when it is up close it does not have any problems at all.

Thanks

last edited by Monaro at 18:32:56 14/May/06
Monaro
Monaro
Have you fixed the control and the car yet acetame?? Is it back ready to race?
hey fuknukle get on msn bro.

before i bash you.
my 2 new babies.

http://imagestore.ugbox.net/aview/Cars1_a679ef9f48680beda38a39c276

woot awesum, ive got a smartech aswell exactly the same as yours, they accually go really well for for how cheap they are. nice work
Over at brendale there is a track for roadcars as well, seeing you live near brookside its prolly the closest for you.
Monaro
Thanks!
you guys should have a nerd race day
won't you join us grunt?
i'll be there
I've been itching to play with my rc car again, a carpark war/race would be pretty awesome I reckon.
my road rc car won't start for some reason... fuel not getting to the engine?
Detatch it from the tank and blow in it to get the fuel into the engine so it starts, it will pump once its started. Be prepared for a backfire of fuel into your mouth tho :P

Got mine going when it did that.
Yeah when i prime it, it doesn't seem to have enough pressure to push it into the engine.(goes through a loop and up a little bit)

i'm just gonna take it to mr toys, mick will sort me out.
Sort you out in the back room with your pants down.
or if you don't have a primer button, press your finger on the exhaust to block it and pull the starter. easier than getting a mouth full of fuel, although it makes for some good drinkin'. If it has a primer pump and still doesn't make it to the engine it's rooted, get another tank.