Topic: Showus ya guitar!

In the spirit of the recent showing of selves and cars, I thought perhaps those of us who play guitar could do likewise!

Edit: Ok found a pic I already had... Ibanez GAX70

http://members.optusnet.com.au/johnbelle1/j0rGuitar.JPG
Voted best thread today.
PRS custom 24
http://jason.qgl.org/images/guitars/1.jpg
and a bad pic of my american deluxe strat

http://jason.qgl.org/images/guitars/strat02.jpg
My ex-guitar, a Fender Stratocaster Deluxe (Mex). Just sold it a few weeks back. Won't be getting another, except maybe a cheap acoustic one day.

http://members.iinet.net.au/~m.holmes@iinet.net.au/guitar/Guitar_Amp_front.jpg

PS. The amp is for sale if anyone's interested in it (Peavey Envoy 110 Transtube).

Thanks a lot - after seeing that PRS I'll be wiping the spooge off my monitor for hours....
heh yeah it's very nice to play and sounds nice, I run it through a marshall TSL 602 which is a really good match for it I reckon

Nice.... very nice!!

You should get your hands on a VOX AC30 - with your PRS you would get some seriously luxurious tones.
99 sg standard

http://www.gibson.com/Files/img/SGStandardLE-natburst.jpg
Closest thing I have to a guitar. Its a cd rack I made at school.
http://members.optusnet.com.au/twhite2/100_0094.jpg
i got a few :)

Left to right: Godin LGX, Schecter Omen 6, Yamaha FP310 (not pictured Ibanez SG400 Bass)
http://members.optusnet.com.au/squarkyd/guitars/guitars.jpg

Line 6 POD Pro, Line 6 MOD Pro, DBX 266XL Compressor/Gate, Randall RG100SC 2x12 amp (not pictured Randall RG75)
http://members.optusnet.com.au/squarkyd/guitars/ampfx.jpg

During the last recording when i had the studio setup at my old house
PRS Custom, Godin, Schecter, Maton MS503, Yamaha
http://members.optusnet.com.au/squarkyd/guitars/studiorack.jpg
http://members.optusnet.com.au/squarkyd/guitars/studio1.jpg

Plus a ProTools recording system with 70+ plugs give me all the tone i could ever want :) lots of fun.
soz dead camera folks!!

AXES:

1 Gibson Les Paul black Standard (bit worse for wear, in storage anywayz)
1 Fender Stratocaster Deluxe Candy Apple Red (took off the roller nut - useless)
1 Epiphone (cheapy) SG cherry-red double-necker ala Page :D)
1 Ovation roundback Custom Legend acoustic
1 random elec bass (for recording)

RIG:

JCM900 + quad
Some 100watt Laney Rig + quad (think its a bass rig, not sure)
AB switch
Original TS-9 (made in Japan) Ibanez Tube Screamer
Roger Mayer Octavia
Jim Dunlop thomas wah

TONEZ.

Geez - when I started the thread I wasn't exactly prepared for the level of hardware some of you guys have... lol good s***!
sweet. I just checked my TS-9. It is an original made in 1981. s/n 160134.

bought it at cashies 2nd hand in about 1993 for 80 bucks!

couldn't believe my luck :D

s***e... lucky bastard!
mmm TS-9's rock, i'm very attached to my amp distortion tho, 2 awesome tones built in - the POD cant touch it. Going to replace the 2x12 with a RM100 slot load valve head and a bunch of modules in the future and probably a 2x12 cab.
both my guitars live at my brother house. ill get some pics next time im there. btw some me you guys have some sweet s***
My electric is a Sheraton with a natural finish. I've taken the scratch plate off though to make it look pretty much exactly like a 335. Absolutely kick arse guitar to play and looks so hot on stage. Originally I had a heap of issues with it when I first bought it but then paid the money to get it set up right and now it's great. I run so many effects normally that I wouldn't bother upgrading the pickups, although that would be the next step before forking out $6000 (I refuse to buy another electric guitar unless it's a genuine Les Paul).
http://image.www.rakuten.co.jp/ikebe/img1029896390.jpeg
My acoustic is a Maton Heritage. It is similar to a EM325C, but has nicer binding, gold hardware, keyhole headstock and a cedar top instead of the normal kind. Looks like CW80
http://www.maton.com.au/acoustics/images/ECW80C.jpg
hey will where'd you get the setup done? I've tried a few guitar shops from time to time and can't seem to get someone to do it right there's always this annoying issue with the g string and how it's tuned in relation to the d, depending on where I am on the fretboard and it s***s me to tears
thre3dee
My dad's got one of those epiphone jazz guitars (his is the light one)
B@ssM@n
I love these threads...

Main Rig:
http://members.optushome.com.au/buttery/bassgear/Bass_Rig_20060114.jpg

Backup Rig:
http://members.optushome.com.au/buttery/bassgear/Warwick410CabFront.jpg

Axes : Warwick Thumb Bolt-on 6, Warwick FNA Jazzman 5 (frettless not pictured)
Main Rig : Ampeg SVP-CL pre -> Crown XLS 402 pweramp -> 2 x Eden 210XST [1120 Watts RMS]
Backup Rig : SWR SM400S -> Warwick 410 Quad
Effects : EBS Multicomp (best damn compression stompbox ever) & BassIQ, Boss TU-2, Dunlop 105Q
Jim - best setups i ever had done were by Darren Yoinberger(sp?) who used to work out of Guitar Central at spring hill before it went under. Be worth looking him up to see where hes at today. I got his card around here somewhere i'll have a dig and let you know if i find it.
not technically a guitar but my bass rig

Music Man Stingray 5
some manner of Trace Eliot combo amp

The bass is in this config (i don't have pics of the actual thing)

also have a mexican Fender Strat and Laney combo amp that I don't really play anymore

edit: way to link, dingus

last edited by Insom at 22:01:40 21/Apr/06
cheers squarkyd
Yeh that guy in Spring Hill was good but exy. There was another dude at Paddington who actually designed the Maton that I own... he was awesome too. Paid about 100 - 150 for the set up. I think he now works next door.

Problem for you though Jim is they will see the guitar and charge you around 600 regardless of what needs to be done.
those bastids!
doubt darren would charge that hard, cost me $165 to have a next straightned (long story but it was slightly warped), fret dress, trem serviced and a setup.
Only gripe was it took him over a week to finish but he was exceptionally busy at the time - touring band dumped 12 guitars on him to be finished by the end of the week before they left again on tour.

as for the PRS thing i've never herd of anyone being overcharged on brand?

But this isn't just brand... its PRS! P R S!!!

I'm basically judging that on my mate who went in with his Gibson Les Paul Standard, that was in great condition, and asked for a simple check up. Nothing was wrong with the guitar at all, but the guys quoted $600 for a service. Although the guitar is worth it (which is why the quoted as much) there is no way they were going to do that much work, if anything at all.

Sadly there are less and less private guitar servicers so they can charge as much as they want.

+o(
Skyhawk
Arties Music Aspley,

The dude is a bit out there, but he is great did a complete setup because my guitar was stuffed for $25.
If he's only charging that much, it's probably not a very good setup;)
that guys a farkin lunatic, they botched a pickup install on my acoustic (was a cheapy i bought of them so thats why i got them to do it, cause i didnt care) and i wasnt that happy with the workmanship. So i'd stay away from them.
B@ssM@n
Jim - best setups i ever had done were by Darren Yoinberger(sp?) who used to work out of Guitar Central at spring hill before it went under. Be worth looking him up to see where hes at today. I got his card around here somewhere i'll have a dig and let you know if i find it.
It's Darren Youngberry - I've got heaps of his cards in my bass cases (but none on me right now). I can dig one up & post his phone details if you want?

He's done all the work for me & my father (between us, something like 14 guitars) including fitting new necks etc - mention the Buttery's sent you... I take both of my babies to him ever year for a full setup (~$300 in total).

Since Guitar Central went bust, he's working out of his father's home over in Aspley. His old man is also a luthier (previously a french polisher many years ago).

He takes a long time (be prepared to bug him) but does a far better job than say Gabriel [and charges about the same].

heh I learnt to play on a Fender Mustang at age 5. Had the guitar till I hocked it when I was 19 so I could take this model out for dinner :/

Could never afford to get it back outta hock that. Dumb things we do when we're kids
sounds awesome, tah

Methinks this guy took the whole concept of an Axe just too far

http://home.att.net/~Steven.Licata/darkaxe1.jpg
Daedric Guitar.

I know what your referring to..

Kill me now!
It's almost like WoW (without Americans or cartoon graphics) that Hermits can enjoy (well, at least the ones with Electricity)

last edited by HERMITech at 20:32:23 22/Apr/06
Cam
haven't taken any photos of my own, but. . .

fender aerodyne telecaster.
all black with cream binding, p90 neck pickup, standard tele bridge pickup.

http://le-bellovaque.joueb.com/images/0256605506_xl_1_t.jpg

great mix of new and old styles, really gorgeous looking and playing guitar. the fretboard is a black-stained rosewood. kicks out a beautifully rich blues sound, but can fall back on the bridge pickup for that classic tele twang.

last edited by Cam at 00:19:11 25/Apr/06
DoGGpound
http://www.ovationguitars.com/pics/models/ACFHVkDLn.jpg
My baby....

Ovation, yes?
DoGGpound
Yeh, Elite LX 6778...
thats the pic from the website but mine is the same colour, New England Burst
autolux
that aerodyne tele is reeeally nice.
Agreed. After I got into Jeff Buckley I really wanted a tele. A great sounding guitar that's generally a bit cheaper than other distinctive guitars.
in order of appearance from left to right:
Bruce the Slayer, Artie Wonderfunkle and Old Faithful
http://img82.imageshack.us/img82/4687/guitars0im.jpg

plus about 5 accoustics laying around

last edited by d[o_0]b at 14:06:12 29/Apr/06
wow, nice collection there doob
I wouldnt piss on a killtv sticker

LTD(?), Ibanez and.... what?
hidden the brand of the strat or strat clone for any particular reason
its a POS ashton i've had since i was 15 hehe there is a volvo sticker over the brand name

and yeah the black ones an ESP

last edited by d[o_0]b at 16:02:33 29/Apr/06

Genuine ESP or an LTD model?
its an LTD i'm pretty sure, the LTD on the headstock gives it away :p

Lol....
*turns up brightness*
fuk yea nice doob

the ibanez looks sik
its a genuine ESP, ltd is the model...

http://www.espguitars.com/guitars_ex.html

last edited by d[o_0]b at 14:58:57 30/Apr/06
sacred
No pics, gibson les paul standard, squier tele and some no-name acoustic.
bonsai_boy
ESP LTD C-305
Got this for a steal when my Bro (B@ssm@n) decided to step up a notch and purchase his Warwicks:
http://img133.imageshack.us/img133/2176/326kg.th.jpg

http://img135.imageshack.us/img135/2036/1111114qh.th.jpg

and an El'Cheapo Fretless Fender Jazz Copy which was brought so we could experiment with the sounds of a Fretless:
http://img150.imageshack.us/img150/376/222223ho.th.jpg

The pictures had to be highly reduced in quality before I could use Imageshack, so dont go zooming in to much ;D

last edited by bonsai_boy at 16:32:24 30/Apr/06

its a genuine ESP, ltd is the model...

Ltd's are the cheaper version ESP's that are made outside Japan. The actual ESP guitars are made in Japan, are at least twice as expensive and have ESP in the exact place that guitar has LTD.
LTD is basically to ESP what Epiphone is to Gibson, still nothing wrong with their gear its just not the top shelf.

Yeah thats exactly my understanding.