Topic: 250cc 4 Stroke - Go Kart engine?
Grimy
Building a dirt go kart for the paddock and am after a 250cc 4 stroke motorbike engine. everythings done on the cheap and i see in the trading post you can get whole bikes (250cc's) for a few hundred bucks. Anyone know anywhere that sells 2nd hand 250 engines.

Cheers
When I went down to slacks creek the other week to get some work done on my car, I saw a place called "City Motorcycle Wreckers"...might be of help to you.
car/junk yard mebbe? I don't think you'd really find anywhere that specialises in selling 2nd hand four strokes engine so I'd say you're just gonna have to ring around.
sounds like it'd be a kick ass contraption

post pix/vids once its done :)
I concur, I'd love a kart to f*** around in, shame I don't have a paddock :(
Grimy
cheers guys. kick ass? thats the plan. Way i figure it, the pro karts at kingston are about 6.5 hp. 250cc around 20hp but with a bit more weight, extra drag of dirt tyres, but a crud load of torque, should be a machine.

p.s. although probably shown a 1000 times, this thing is wicked (1100cc)

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-3089779101221506834&q=kart
jesus f***, that thing is awesome!!
that movie is all kinds of awesome
250cc is pretty big for a gokart isn't it?

i thought the competition ones were like 80cc or something
Grimy
kinda, competition are usually 100cc, but there are superkarts n stuff in europe, not sure what they run, but yeh, 250cc is kinda big, but thats the point, rather too much power than not enough.
that 1100cc thing gets more sidwahz then maxe and nf combined!
I made a couple gokarts when i was back in NZ using bike engines, they are perfect since they have a seqential gearbox which can easily be fitted to a old handbrake lever for ownage gearshifts.

the 80cc ones are fairly tuned and they are 2stroke and on tarmac.

no way is 250 too powerfull, thats the starting point in my books for 4stroke goodness in an offroad situation.
your problem is your not heavy enough you skinny kunt! :)

any old bike thats got a ok engine in it is perfect.
If you need a hand putting it together let me know, ive got a welder and everything else needed i love putting s*** like that together
My father races karts, he races a 125cc. They range from 75cc up to 250cc. When they race, all the karts race together regardless of what size motors they have.

http://www.qldsuperkart.org/
yeh i rekn a 250cc 4stroke would be ideal for an offroader kart... i'd even consider any 4stroke trailbike engine over250ccs. the 250cc engines used in superkart racing are 2 cylinder 2 strokes from motorcycle gp racing & put out upward of 60hp! they would be too peaky for offroad action... not to mention the high level of maintenance required. the Suzuki LTA700X Quad has a 4stroke single cyl engine of ~700cc capacity! ... i have ridden the 500cc version at the beach & they fukn cain! :D

try..
Australian Dirt Bike Wreckers
4 Miller St Slacks Creek 4127 (07) 3209 1737
I kind of agree with demon.

Most 250 four strokes are pretty tame. I haven't researched into it or anything but I think 250 would be the minimum you would want.
wallacedom
250cc 4-stroke should be good, plenty of power but nothing too crazy. A good mate of mine races in a national go-kart series in 125cc 2 strokes with 6 speed sequential boxes. Make about 50hp and damn those things are FAST.
That's not a gokart, that's a superkart.

Just so you guys know, at circuits such as Phillip Island (in fact pretty much any circuit), your Superkarts will be doing roughly the same lap times as those crappy V8 Supercars.

I say 'crappy' because Formula 3 etc are still much faster.
prolly old... but here is a short clip of a 250cc superkart on a uk street circuit :P
mmm, the guy who did some work on my skyline builds prosport racers, i guess they are the next step up from go-carts (tube frame, motor bike engines)

they do some truly scary speeds

also, u cant beat the gixer cart!!!
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-5740961178911771457&q=gixxer&pl=true
spooks and grimys vids are the same cart?
yer looks it;

oh well, as you were!

i knew that cart as teh gixxer cart
gixxer! yea i remmebr that from years ago, awesum kart
Grimy
called those places in moss street and a few brissy places, no lucky, road spec full rebuilt - $1900, no thanks. One guy tried to do the dodgy when i said 4 stroke, he said na, 2 strokes fine. I said but surely you gonna need torque down low, not just a high powerband range, responce was oh, yeh, i spose.

new trading post out tomorrow, will have a squiz.

another great go kart

http://www.kartvader.com/

I watched the dvd, guys insane (insanely fun)
yea deffinatly will be cheaper to buy from ebay or trading post.
i reckon best bet is buying an old bike and using the engine from that. allows you to cut the frame up and use it for the engine mounts, so all you need to do is weld what you've cut from the bike frame to the gokart frame and bolt in the engine, easy will have mounts for airbox aswell if wanted which you will want for offroad heh

makes it so much easier and quicker and cheaper in the long run
MJ
Hi, perfect timing, my bro just sent me the thread as I was loading my ad onto tradingpost.com.au, I have a 250cc 4 stroke, electric start, Kawasaki ZZR250 motor, complete with carbies, radiator, header pipes, electrics. $400, also have a kart chassis you might be interested in for $200, looked at putting the 2 together for a bit of fun but never got to it, its been collecting dust for the last few years so I am keen to do a deal. Based in Eagle Farm, Brisvegas. E-mail me at m.jackson@sundayaustralia.com.au, Kind Regards, Matt
o send me some pics of the kart chassis dude and might as well throw in some of the engine too thanks
my email is in the mail link under my drible
Grimy
cheers MJ, sounds awesome, only problem is it will be a bit over the top for a small (standard) size go kart. engine makes 37 hp, would even consider it if the kart was track bound but dirt + 37hp = well ya see..........and thats how i broke my spine.

Thanks for the offer though.
MJ

Totally understand, I used to have a 125 2-stroke 6-speed kart (or ICC kart), engine manual claimed 42HP, felt like 600HP when driving it on a proper kart track, let alone on dirt.

Not sure if you are familiar with these websites, but these guys build and sell plans for "purpose built" offroad karts with engines ranging from 80cc up to 1300cc Hyabusa motors. would be worth looking at if you are keen on that sort of thing.

I have bought plans off desert karts (USA based) and edge (West OZ based) before, both are really good. Not sure what rorty are like, but there stuff looks really good on the website.

http://www.desertkarts.com/

http://www.edge.au.com/

http://www.rorty-design.com/content/rorty_design_home.htm
CeMaX
Got broken driveshafts?

Seen moto engines on go-karts before.