Topic: To 3 or not to 3
So,

My current mobile phone plan with optus is over. I've lost the charger to my phone so it's time to by a new phone.

I'm looking at getting a 6280 on 3

Anyone have any experience with the 3 network? I've had mixed reactions about it and their service and need a larger view.

Cheers
3 is good if you wanna pick up asians in sunnybank

it depends if you wanna use the boradband zone stuff or just normal calls i guess. check where you are within that network coverage map on the site, i could barely hear my ex when she was using her 3 phone, and it always sounded like she was doing msn voice conversation with a cheap microphone, but i guess phone quality has increased etc

im tempted to join too :(
Three is gonna go bankrupt, but it'll be good while it lasts.
3 has good urban coverage. my gf uses it and she has no problems. they will not be going bankrupt, they are owned by hutchinson.
it really depends on what you want to use your phone for.

i was looking for a 3G carrier since i got my wicked-ass sonyericsson w900i at the beginning of the year, and after checking everything out... 3 was the best for what i wanted. i use lots of the broadband 3G content and its all sweet. if you just wanted to use a phone for calls/sms then i would prolly go some other carrier though.

i also use 3's mobile broadband pcmcia card for my laptop which is f***ing awesome and allows me to work practically anywhere in bris/goldcoast (and other major city in au). i even got a good fast connection out on nudgee beach.. so yeah, i'm a fan.
I'd use it just as a normal phone at the moment, but would like to get into the whole broadband content shizzle.

Just after a decent phone really with all the features I want, which just happens to be a 3g phone.
i got the nokia 6280 on the 3 69 dollar cap

its all good so far, my only gripe is some places dont have 3 coverage so i cant do cool video calls etc

video calls are really fun, for example my mate was out fishing the other day rang me, (he has a 6280 as well, i got mine on a thursday, and my friends liked it so much, 3 other friends all had them by monday,lol) and was like check it out showed me my other mate pullin up a spotted mackeral!

the phone itself are f***ing wicked, cannot say enough good about them

not 1 bug, no random f***ing s*** happening. its sturdier then it looks, volume of ringtones is good, loudspeaker is good, camera is f***ing bulls***

if u got any questions just ask
the worst thing is 3s customer service.. i left three half way through my contract because i was so sick of their s***.. their call centres are based in india so you can't understand a f***ing word they are saying..

me say no to 3
camera is f***ing bulls***
is that a good or bad bulls***? =P
http://users.bigpond.net.au/existence/marc.jpg

thats a photo taken at like 640x480 i think, you can crank the res up to 1600x1200 on the camera, its insane when its up high, quality is so good.

also what maverik said

that is true, but when i signed up the hot chick gave me a business card with the direct number to the 3 shop

agreed the call centres are a f***ing joke, but any problem i have i just ring straight through to the shop, and its sweet

i got hte 50dollar extended warrenty as well.

also i didnt charge my battery right when i first got the phone coz im a retard, just took it back and they gave me a new battery straight away no questions asked, youv got 2 weeks to do stuff like that from when you first buy it
charging...50%

OMG I WANNA USE IT NOW NOW NOW

*uses phone*

rofl spot on persay

well actually it said the battery was full but had only charged for like 2 hrs or something, instead of the 8+ they recommend.. heh

linkified by trog

theres another photo .. doesnt really do it justice still! need something to show the finer detail

i got a random video here but its 6meg!

last edited by trog at 12:57:17 10/Apr/06
i've got a razor and it's s***.. so im going to buy oldschool 8250 or 8210 and just use that. :D
You have pretty much sold me on it existence` =)
they are all the same in terms of customer service. i.e. s***
pretty much everyone I've spoken to on 3 has whined about the coverage; I guess its better now though but I still wouldn't get it if you're moving around a lot. I've never really looked closely because I can't imagine anything I care less about than the ability to watch TV on my mobile phone

last edited by trog at 12:53:20 10/Apr/06
meh I hardly go anywhere out of the city and down to the coast, coverage should be fine
television on tiny screen = gay

last edited by infi at 12:55:52 10/Apr/06
my experience with 3: they are total c***s once you sign, and their coverage is sucky
evinco
That photo is horrible.

The 6280 seems to use a terribly blocky compression codec with badly miscoloured pixels everywhere. None of these are anything special compared to most 2+ megapixel phones.

last edited by BoBa at 12:53:50 10/Apr/06
omg OC on phone. are you serious?
No, I meant the only thing I can think of that I care about less than TV on my phone, is the OC.
evinco
Ninja edited by Boba :(
l2link =P

but yeah those pics you posted look horrible ><
Last year I worked for a company that had 3 phones as their corporate carrier and it *SUCKED*.

You couldn't even be moving when you took a call in case it dropped out - and this is just walking around, not driving. Driving from the Sunny coast back to Brisbane would see you drop out about 4-5 times and the only thing 3 Customer Service could come up with was that we should stop and be stationary while talking.

Perhaps they are better now and maybe the phones are better but from that short period of 3 months when I had to use them as a mobile carrier, they were nothing but a disappointment.
I haven't heard any good news about 3. Never used them myself but all those I know who use it, complain
Simes

Cheers

We having a drink?
oh nose, too many bad stories...I might just wait until optus has the phone then, seeming i'm already with them.
ask 3 to give you a phone to try if ur gonna go on a huge contract

or try prepaid with them for a wee bit
Poor coverage or something.
I often don't recieve calls. I later get people asking "Why the f*** is your phone always off?"
When it's not and I have receiption :/
Bad customer service from the call centers. Forcing you to go in store and ask for help sometimes. But they're really nice instore. And agree that the call centers are a joke.

Every 3 phone I've used so far suck wang. CBF waiting for a menu to load just to do something simple.
I don't use any of the 3g services either.
NFI why I'm still with them :(
wtF

you guys are trippers

iv never had NO coverage, just sometimes i cant get 3 coverage, but you can still msg / call whoever no problems....

do you ever venture outside of your bedroom tho?

Bad customer service from the call centers. Forcing you to go in store and ask for help sometimes. But they're really nice instore. And agree that the call centers are a joke.
couldn't agree more, stores are great but calling them is less fun than forcing bamboo shards under your fingernails
Wazzup Doc
I went overseas a month ago and had to activate global roaming on my 3 phone. Oh dear... So I called up India and spoke to a guy which I just couldn't understand. I ended up hoping for the best and it ended up working properly, but I would have to say that there would be no way in the world I would sign-up with them again. I fear the day my phone breaks or something else more serious goes wrong.
im thinking on going on the 3 plan - $29.95 cap, they give u a free phone on a 24 month contract

atm on on a $60 a month telstra plan

they reckon on this plan u get $120 worth of calls and 100 free mins to other 3 phones

would this be worth doing??

wat other better plans are there?
Why not buy a 6280 outright from vodafone? $500 is a bargain for the phone and you WON'T find it anywhere cheaper. Or try the Vodafone caps, my mate is on the pre paid $79 version and its great.
i put my friend on a $79 cap ($500 value) with optus after he was on the highest business plan with telstra ($300 plan), because he is a high end user.

at the end of one month with optus his bill was like $900 when they usually come in round $350.

Moral of the story: all cap plans are tricky and if you think you are getting some huge sort of discount then THINK AGAIN!
Go with Telstra - they've got better coverage than 3 and they have local callcentres.
bbbbut if 3 uses telstra's towers where they odn't have their own...... doesn't it mean that... *brain explodes*
3 uses Telstra's 2G towers where 3G coverage is not available. Telstra has access to 3's 3G towers, its own 2G towers, and its own 3G towers also. Everything's coming up Millhouse! Also, you're likely to get a good deal with Telstra 3G at the moment they're trying to push a truckload of handsets out the door right now.
the 3G data cards are pretty good. Can't talk about the phones but
my contract just finished with 3, and i'm never going back to them. they f***ed me around alot. moved over to optus, my new nokia 8800 is hot ok.

3's customer service is s***
Their reception has gotten better alongside their phones.

3 aren't gonna go bankrupt anytime soon, they're backed up by hudison.

ps. 3 are theives, customer care is s***, those indians would lie just so they can get rid of you, the f***ers don't write anything on their records, i had to speak to literally 6 different people before anyone could somewhat help me out and that was every day for 4 days.

oh they charge you 25 cents when you ring them up from your phone too.
Poor coverage or something.
I often don't recieve calls. I later get people asking "Why the f*** is your phone always off?"
When it's not and I have receiption :/

Have that same problem myself. Full 3 coverage and still people can't ring me. I actually find the roaming service more reliable than the 3 coverage at least then I get messages and phone calls. The only way I've found to fix the problem is if I turn the phone off and back on. But even then it just drops the receiving call function after a little while. There's also no way of knowing if people can't ring you unless you prank the phone yourself. It's always a big deal when somebody rings me because the phone actually receives calls.

Another problem I have is not receiving messages soon after they are sent. Worst case was when I received the message 6 hours after it was sent to me. As my friend said, I'd be great in an emergency...

I used to think it was because of my specific phone or because I transferred my number from telstra but since other people have these problems I guess it's not. I'd love to be able to fix it because I'd love to actually use my mobile to receive calls while being mobile but I think I'll just have to get off three.
NFI why I'm still with them :(
triamks and nigs what mobile phone handsets are you using? the older ones had all those problems.

Lg, Nec, Nokia 7600.
I havnt read the whole thread, but I actually work for Hutchison, so I know a fair bit about three :P

The 6280 has some issues. Existence, congradulations, you have the only one ever that doesnt randomly reboot.

New firmware is out now I think, so you should be okay with that version.

Coverage is great, anyone that says otherwise, either used it when it roamed to vodaphone, or lives further out than where I live, Northlakes.

Boba , MSN me and ill give you any real info you want and ill hook you up.

e d s @ nemius.cawwwwm
How the f*** do you people have coverage problems? granted you may not get 3 coverage everywhere, but 3 roams on to telstra. if you cant get telstra reception, maybe come up to the surface? :P

Granted, the call centers suck but they are slowly getting better. Some stuff is being moved back to AU as well! :D
ill hook you up.
nigga you ain't hooked me up!

you only hook up white fellows is that it matt!...

Bashed @ work carpark.
also sue sue, you shouldnt be badmouthing 3 customer care when your a c*** to them :P

Optus suck. 5 years I stuck it out with optus, my coverage sucks where I live, my bills never showed up, I got cut off when my bills didnt show up.

optus are aarrse. But thats imo.
I've had nothing but sweet, sweet love from Optus ever since I got my first mobile phone
Well see this is it isnt it.

Some people have had no problem while some companys do.

Simple advice for boba, if you go three, have lots of probs, go to the TIO, who will put you through to the 3 customer relations team in australia and if your nice and explain whats happening, they will help you, and eventually let you out of your contract.

Optus for me were good, but in the last 12 months iv had a heap of trouble with them :/ it was only 2 months ago I made the move to three. I have a Nokia N70, its great.
oh i was nice, but i stopped being nice cos that got me nowhere , then i cut sick at them, and that still got me nowhere, so i just got my lawer to talk to them.

lawer being me, but putting on a different accent.
muwahaha

last edited by BigZub at 21:13:16 10/Apr/06
How the f*** do you people have coverage problems?
by using a 3 phone

one of the issues is probably with the switching between networks. sometimes I find I have to reboot the phone (provided by 3) to get it to find the network, it simply refuses to connect to it after being out fo range it seems. never had that issue with optus previously

also sue sue, you shouldnt be badmouthing 3 customer care when your a c*** to them :P
I'm nothing but completely cordial to them, there'd be no point being a c*** when I'm trying to get them to resolve something for me. the simple fact of the matter is that they are plain c***s, they completely and utterly suck in the service department once you get out of the frinedly shop you signed up in and need to call them up for anything
The 6280 has some issues. Existence, congradulations, you have the only one ever that doesnt randomly reboot.

Hehehe. Best story about that.

I used to work for Hutchison also, migrating customers from Orange (their CDMA network down south) over to three. f***ing awesome callcentre, still got heaps of friends there.

One of them forwarded me a communication from the management there, saying something along the lines of "We have received reports that every 6280, at some point, will randomly shut itself down and reboot. Because every one of them is doing the same thing, this is actually a feature of the handset, and as such, does not qualify for a D.O.A replacement, because it's not a "fault"

So, take that as you will. Hutchison have their head planted firmly up their f***ing ass. But they're fun to work for for a while! :0
go 80 buck nokia and prepaid from woolies
Vorador
Another 3 owner here : When I first got my phone I had absolutely no complaints - nowadays not quite the same.. for one it seems like the areas I am chiefly in (Indooroopilly/Chapel Hill/Kenmore/Taringa/Valley) can't decide whether they want to be on the friggen 3 network or using telstra's coverage - basically it results in call dropouts.. s***s me off in a big way sometimes..

also the dodgy LG phone I have is hardly up to scratch but I'd pretty much put that blame on LG and the fact I do tend to treat it pretty poorly :P

As a side note I went in to the 3 store to ask about the dropout thing.. the guy kind of just shrugged at me.

Plenty of Pro's to having the network available etc but those have been covered already - all up imo the jury is still out on whether my switch from optarse was worth it
if you have used handsets that arnt in the latest few releases, im not surprised that your having problems :( they suck major balls.

Please dont think im defending them, they suck just as much anyone :P
A lot of the problems were the handset, and it was only recently they introduced softswitch, so that you change networks without disconnecting.

Pharcyde is right about the Nokia 6280 rebooting being a "feature" :P

The LG U880 is a pretty awesome phone and my Nokia N70 is sweet too :)

Get an earlier LG, Motorola or NEC and your boned.

If your looking at moving, the new Sony erricson with the 3.4 MP camera comes out in june :D its going to rock.

Also, MSN just got released for $5 a month on some handsets!

and if you want to whine, go to www.aussie3g.com

anyway, enough drunken ranting!
Are you talking about this phone eds?

I don't know though, there are more negative than positive comments about 3.
mine's a motorola A1000
I've had nothing but sweet, sweet love from Optus ever since I got my first mobile phone

Yeah, me too. Optus are brilliant!

lawer being me, but putting on a different accent.
muwahaha

lol, nice work.
actualy now i come to think of it, the very first day i got my 6280, when i was changing profiles frmo general to silent, as i hit activate, the phone rebooted

that was with the olds*** battery that i fked up and it hasnt done it since=/
Jim, that is surely it. Very very swah looking phone :)

Also the A1000 is a piece of crap, no wonder your having problems :(
Some new PDA phones from sony ericsson are coming soon, which look pretty amazing.

Existence, i had that exact same problem with my 6280, got a N70 instead :)
SD Gundam
So everyone should buy a new phone because the old ones 3 sold were s*** ingenious. Note 3 were more than happy to sell us s*** handsets. At least now I know why people couldn't call me on 3.
existence.. you need to understand that you've been with 3 for a very short period of time.. where as some of us vets know the real problems.. when my phone f***ed up.. they gave me no replacement phone and it took them 2 weeks too fix.. because they didn't have any replacements in stock.. so it's my fault for their f***up and i had to be uncontactable for 2 weeks.. the problem that needed to be fixed wasn't.. and i continued with the problem till it got to bad again and took it back taking them another week to fix.. got it back and it still wasn't fixed properly.. screen always flickering.. sometimes freezing and needing to be reset.. s*** like that.. i'd had enough and gave them an earful and left.

but
that being said
when i first went with three i thought the sun shone out of their behinds
Eds: N70? Ewwww! They're one step above "s***" here at work, with the Kyocera Koi (or any Sagem handset) in the "s***" pile, and the V3 Razr at one level below s***.

When are 3 getting the w900i? I heard you're getting the exclusive.
SD Gundam , thats a pretty stupid way of looking at it.

Im saying the new handsets are good, as opposed to the old handsets which sucked.

I think its dumb to blame the carrier for bad handsets, considering they dont actually make them.

maybe they should pick their handest more carefully then.. because back in the day 3 were pretty exclusively with LG and NEC

and sure even if we don't blame them, they got themselves into it.. and they should've dug themselves out by excellent customer service and return time
real story, my gf went into 3 yesterday to look for a new phone (her contract wasn't finished but she was just window shopping) and she came out with a new phone for no cost!

she didn't have to renew her contract or pay any extra, they just gave her a new phone. i didn't believe but that is what she insisted. they told her that they are upgrading their customers' phones every year of some bs.

i would love to know the full story (like they knew her existing model was POS and gave this new one to save themselves service calls etc.)
infi, heh, I'd get her to call up and check to make sure her contract is still expiring around the same time
I can't believe how excited people get over telephones.
guarantee she will be locked into another 24 months.. you don't just get the phones free. it's part of their renewal contract to keep you with them for another 2 years
SD Gundam
They selected them for sale, they are responsible for ensuring their network works with them. If 3 had a CDMA network and they sold you a GSM handset everyone would have a s*** fit. But if they sell you a dogey handset that works intermitantly then that's fine. I mean they only didn't bother to test them. I remember my Nec e808 would shut itself down once a week with my 3 sim, but with my telstra sim it was great, turned out this was a known issue with the handset and 3's sims.
yeah
i don't really agree with having to get "patches" for my fkn phone to keep it running either..
SD Gundam, that is true they did, and they f***ed up royally :P
They actually did do testing as well, so f***s me what happened :P

I was an original 3 customer when they first launched, i was with them for a month before I went back to optus. Iv gone back over and now im really happy with the reception and new N70.

My point was simply that, yeah they have some crap handsets but their new stuff and their network with telstra iv found to be good.

I know for certain customers they are handing out free handsets, but yeah, double check your gfs contract infi just in case she was given or got the wrong idea.
SD Gundam
Patches for phones wouldn't be so bad if I didn't have to pay $30 and void my warranty for them.
I can't believe how excited people get over telephones.

Me either. Really, as long as u can msg ppl, make a call, and take a decent photo with it, who cares what else the phone can do...

Ppl get so caught up in technology and out-doing one another. If u want to access the internet, go home. If u want to watch tv, go home. When ur out, u don't need those kind of functions.
um what about 3g cyber.. video calls... essential
^
Haha, soooo not essential. Nice function to have tho if you've got loved ones/ppl ur close with overseas/interstate and u can't see them for a while tho I guess :). You could always use a webcam from ur computer tho instead - I dare say it would cost u a lot less.

last edited by Agent 99 at 11:14:59 11/Apr/06
but what price is love... or cyber for that matter.
man all the problems you guys have had with these new whizbang phones has really put me off ever upgrading. My Nokia 6600 just sits there and works.
i only got a new phone cause it opened pdf doc and xls files + synced to outlook + checked my work email server + stored 1gb of files + 2mp camera + played mp3s.

otherwise i would have stayed with my other one that was 3 years old. depends on what you want your phone to do i suppose.
but what price is love... or cyber for that matter.

Hahahahahaha.

Blinded by love, that's cute :). You're still a fool boy!! Either that or you've got money u like to throw around... :P

Edit:
i only got a new phone cause it opened pdf doc and xls files + synced to outlook + checked my work email server + stored 1gb of files + 2mp camera + played mp3s.

That is sad. I know everyone likes to have different functions available to them because of their lifestyle, but leave ur work AT WORK!! Don't take it out with u :/.

last edited by Agent 99 at 11:41:14 11/Apr/06
I've just been looking at different plans cause my contract is about to run out. I was all hyped about getting a new phone, but they are all crap these days IMO. I have an iPod and a digital camera - I don't need my phone to do those things (and poorly). A new phone would have to be smaller than the one i have, NOT bigger as they all seem to be. I would also like to be able to get drunk and drop my phone a couple of times without it breaking or worrying about cracking a camera or something.

Basically, because phones are becoming so over-complicated, it is much easier for me to just keep my old phone and change plans. I will most likely go to Vodaphone pre-paid if they let me use my optus phone.

As much fun as it would be to have a new toy phone, that's all they are - toys, with very little, practical purpose for most people.
^
Nokia ftw!!! U can drop it a million times over and it still works perfectly.
According to the QGL poll its fairly obvious that 3 are s***e and your standard carriers such as Optus & Telstra are where it's at.
but leave ur work AT WORK!!

what happens when your work is 24 hours a day (i run a SME), and when you are frequently out of the office meeting other people and want to be PORTABLE. isn't technology supposed to help us with this?

9-5 is a movie from 1980, dolly.

edit: optus ftw - if you have mobile with them they give you 33% of their leet cable internet.

last edited by infi at 11:51:36 11/Apr/06
if you go with telstra you will wake up one day with a watermelon up your arse and wonder how it got there.

telstra could bankrupt microsoft.
what happens when your work is 24 hours a day (i run a SME), and when you are frequently out of the office meeting other people and want to be PORTABLE. isn't technology supposed to help us with this?

Well true - as I said, it all depends on ur lifestyle (sounds like ur's is rather hectic, so I can see where ur coming from). And if ur lifestyle is made easier through using this technology, that's excellent. I suppose my gripe is really with ppl who constantly feel a need to update their phone when they don't really need those sorts of functions.

Also, yeah - Optus is great!

last edited by Agent 99 at 11:56:07 11/Apr/06
yeah tls is in great condition:

http://img114.imageshack.us/img114/9764/telstragayshareprice4xh.gif
I think the real problem here is crappy phones.

sonyericsson s***s all over any thing else from a very high altitude. i have owned alot of phones in my time and i used to be the biggest nokia fanboi ever. me and my buddies always having pretty much the latest phones, but i can safely say i wont be getting anything other than a sonyerricson for a very long time. pure power, function, intuitive, style.

3 works great on my w900i , but because i bought the phone outright i am not locked into any contract so i can f*** them off as soon as they piss me off.
Costello slid that watermelon up a couple of million mums and dads arses, and hoped they didn't feel it. wait till the next 5 zillion shares hit the market lol

Go team Howard!!!!
I wouldn't buy TLS even if the shares were 50c and paying a 20% dividend.
if you go with telstra you will wake up one day with a watermelon up your arse and wonder how it got there.
Except for the fact that they own all the infrastructure and as long as they're owned by the government it'll get saved one way or the other
telstra may be saved but the market will decide at what price telstra is fair value.

that could be forty bucks, or forty cents......
well the only thing keeping telstra at the current share price is its reliable dividend. the board is controlled by the government so they won't be in hurry to cut the dividend. but once the business is fully privatised the dividend will plummet to enable futher investment causing a temporary crash in the TLS price.

However once TLS finally rolls out their fibreoptic network all over australia, it should again recapture market share (of broadband in particular).
I think it stands out as one of the more pathetic gifts team Howard has left us with.

If you cash those shares in Trog in about 3065AD you will make a motza.

good luck
i think i will sell mine today and buy some woodside
well hasn't the topic got a bit sidetracked
too be honest i just bought my phone cos i thought it was flashy and cool...
when i left 3 i sore to myself i wouldn't buy another flip phone and what did i do.. buy another flip phone.. when i finally get out of this contract if i ever do i will get a good old 8210 or maybe 6610 if they go down in price.. and use that for simple SMS and phone calling that's all i need it for and although i use the camera on this phone occasionally it isn't worth the extra cost..
telstra is a dud. even the fleas are checking out of this dog.

28c a share annual dividend fully franked till 2008 is some consolation.

6.4 billion shares is a lot of supply for T3 though.

I think Sol is steering towards the mineshaft. If you work for telstra just hope yours is not one of the 10000 jobs that have to go.
I think it stands out as one of the more pathetic gifts team Howard has left us with.
I don't know much about the stock market, but don't get me wrong - I agree, I don't think Telstra should have been sold. I think (basic) telecommunications is now a core service that is vital to life (like electricity and water, which I don't like seeing privatised either) and a company like Telstra that makes $2b/quarter or whatever in profit would be so much more useful to the average taxpayer if they used some of their fat profits to invest back into a) growing infrastructure and b) maintaining excellent coverage.

Competition will drive all that stuff, but imo a properly run, government owned monopoly would be even better. Of course finding scrupulous people to run it like that and not run it into the ground is a bit of a challenge.
couldn't disagree more. how can telstra compete if they cannot raise more capital?

domestic competition when telstra couldn't respond by going to the capital markets is what caused the whole problem in the first place.

the government was not concerned with revenue growth - only with the current revneue stream and regional services. true deregulated compeition would have sorted both of those issues out.
I used to think it was because of my specific phone or because I transferred my number from telstra but since other people have these problems I guess it's not.

I transfered from Telstra too. :|

It's not like we're NOT getting coverage, we're just not recieving calls. Not cool when you're expecting important calls.

I've got the Nokia N70, sucks balls. If I run the phone flat. I stick the charger in and try to turn it on. No go.
Unless I remove the battery and try again. Phone always locks up when I'm trying to get through menus quick or trying to find a number I need to call really fast.
So all in all, not the best service nor phone if you're always in a hurry.
Which is why I have a MOBILE phone, because you're on the move and only need to make short and sometimes urgent calls. -_-;
Calls don't last more than 1 minute most of the time.
interesting. i have the n70 too and it works fine. do you use two batteries, or considered trying this strategy? i got a car charger recently because i find it really handy to have it charging all the time plus cause i got a bluetooth headset i find myself charging one or the other most of the time.
Dude, if your within your 14 days, take it back and get another. N70 is one of the most reliable phones 3 have, and mine has been nothing but sechs.

Get another one
Jim, that is surely it. Very very swah looking phone :)

Also the A1000 is a piece of crap, no wonder your having problems :(
3 sold it to me, in fact it even has their logo on it from the factory as though it was produced for them by motorola.

Additionally, reception is just one problem I have with 3 - another problem I have with 3 is that they are c***s.

Why?

Because they made a huge mistake about the amount of data I had downloaded via my mobile braodband and sent my company a $1200 bill. When I phoned them to try to resolve it, I was treated like I was trying to rip them off and bounced from person to person countless times so that even with a firm resolve, it was difficult to bother making the effort to resolve it, simply because it was so time consuming, annoying, and mentally draining attempting to deal with their customer care.

Just 7 days after having signed for the phone in a 3 store (where everything was rosy and cheery and with not a difficult-to-communicate-with indian in sight), and filling out a form authorising them to bill my company credit card every month, they tried to solicit a $1000 'goodwill' payment from me due to allegedly racking up the $1200 broadband charge - they said if I didn't pay that by close of business that same day, they would disconnect the phone. I politely stated that I wouldn't make that payment because I was already attempting to resolve that mistake. Instead of even waiting until close of business that day, they disconnected the phone within minutes of ending that conversation. Incidentally that same day, they telephoned my wife at home and tried to get her to divulge her credit card number under the premise that I had ordered a phone and it was going to be delivered that day once she paid. Who knows what the f*** they were trying on there!

To this day, they refuse to provide logs which show that I downloaded $1200 worth of data.

They are complete and utter c***s, period, and I will never enter into business with them again, ever.
nasty story :(
^ Agreed.

I don't know much about the stock market...

Me either. Someone explain the basics? I'd like to start investing in something worthwhile soon.

last edited by Agent 99 at 16:25:10 11/Apr/06
my story:

i had a lot of trouble with my original handset, so i basically just got them to send me refurbished one, after my 4th one, i was still having troubles. btw i'd send these phones back whenever i'd get a new one sent by them. anyways while i was overseas in irock, came back, checked my balance it was $ -538Dr.

The c***s had taken that money out of my bank account for the 2 handsets which i've returned, the other 2 werent on their system. it took me more than 20 calls and 20 different people, and i was still having trouble getting somewhere, 1 month later i finally get a refund of my money.

They are all lying c***s, they'd lie just to get rid of you and make you deal with someone else. I'd try and ask for their supervisor they'd say she's in a meeting, hang up call again, they'd say she's on lunch.

f*** 3.
Someone explain the basics?

Thanks to the ppl that pm'd info to me, much appreciated.
TIO kids! One of the bonuses with Telstra is that eventually everybody is accountable.
SD Gundam
They wouldn't let me port my number cause I couldn't remember my account number, my pin number or my question answer off the top off my head the c***s!
haha ^^ they tried pulling that on me aswell. i had to tell them i'm not porting but just wanting to know my account number. she kept saying shooooheeb if you do disconnect your going to get a bill at the end okkkkkkkkkkk.

haha f***ed me with that one too they told me i couldnt port it and i told them to get f***ed cos i originally ported it from optus in the first place
eventually optus came and saved the day
Eds, I have the LG 8138 which is hardly the oldest phone they offered. I also live in Redcliffe which last time I checked wasn't that far away from North Lakes Eds. But basically I sit between Telstra and 3 coverage and that's another problem but what I was referring to happened like I said when I'm in perfect 3 coverage in the city. It's just not on.

After reading what EniGma and a few others have said I have to say three doesn't like people that change from other carriers. Which is clearly stupid because we have decided to change carriers and give them money not someone else.

Also, my friend who recently changed over to three and got a new number in the process also doesn't receive messages as soon as they are sent. Maybe it's just because the coverage sits between 3 and roaming but still it should work properly that is what we pay for.
the LG 8138 isnt really a recent phone and plus, again its another pile of crap. Agreed 3 shouldnt have sold these phones but, they did and burnt a lot of poor innocent customers in the process :( I would say your phone is the cause, not the network :(

If anyone is considering a 3 phone, here is the list of decent phones.

Sony Ericsson K608i
Nokia N70
Nokia 6280 (with the new firmware)
LG U880
Nokia N90 (its huge tho)

Another other than that, stay away from :P
forget stocks Agent 99.

buy real estate, and more real estate. never sell it.

then play with stocks. stocks can crash. land holds its value. Marx was right.
After hearing all of these stories I think I'll stick to two tin cans and a piece of string.
i think the final verdict is "not to 3"

and you shouldn't have too "stay away from phones" they shouldn't be brought out if they're POS's
After that story Jim I'm happy I didn't go with the 3 network. I got myself a samsung D600 and it's a very nice phone.
forget stocks Agent 99.

buy real estate, and more real estate. never sell it.

then play with stocks. stocks can crash. land holds its value. Marx was right.

Yeah, I was thinking about that too. A good friend of mine bought a place recently and it looks to be a pretty good investment; requires going to the bank and getting a loan though, which I'm not sure if I really want to do atm. Tis a maybe tho :).
It was recommended that I buy stocks so I bought a couple thousand pairs of these. They haven't appreciated much in value and I had to buy property to store it all in, but hell, my legs look good!
the real question is, are you a finger tapper or a foot tapper?
Except land costs a s*** load more to get started in and costs a s***load while you own it.

Shares, in the long run, out perform property.

and except that land goes down as well as going up too and if you had invested in shares over the last year you would have made close to 40% compared to 0% for land.
depends on the land you buy
I'll take land over shares any day, it's way less of a gambling game
and except that land goes down as well as going up too and if you had invested in shares over the last year you would have made close to 40% compared to 0% for land.
typically, land only goes down after freaky high peaks such as the one experienced in SE QLD the past couple of years. over the last year, land value didn't drop to anywhere near lower than where it was prior to that peak, or compared to markets outside the effect we experienced here in SE QLD in particular. on the whole land steadily rises, and probably at a more and more increasing rate as it becomes more of a shortage over time

eg: 5 years ago, a 35k house block on sth side with a 50k spec home on it.
~12 months ago could've sold for around 400k, now around 320k - yet still way more than it cost only 5 years prior
dno't get me wrong land is great too but it is not liquid. when real estate crashes you can be left high and dry, and the bank becomes your enemy.

shares are very liquid and for a small cap investor a far better investment because if they go south you can offload them quick.
The best investment by far is education. It will outperform stocks and/or property without fail.
qld state schools - the way of the future
Haha Stinky - pity about the investment u made in those stock(ing)s. Also, I agree with u that education is the best investment :).

Yeah, you all make some good points. Stocks look to be the best investment option for me atm.
If you seriously want to invest, I'll give you 50% shares in everything I have if you do my cleaning, cooking, ironing, and sexing.
Hahaha, it's cool - I think I'll stick with my education for now.
Jim knows the score. when I say land I mean acreage. I know guys who are in their late seventies who are multi-millionaires who basically say what I said. Heck some of them bought dirt by swapping it for an old milk truck and stuff like that.

also I take your point infi but anybody long or short term will tell you performance over one to five years means nothing when the dow could crash tommorow.

land is superior, trust me.

if jim is right, GO ME! school FTW!

wait, that just does not sound right....
it actually sounds gay Cl1nt, like your "OMG IM DA BEST COD2 PLAYA ON DA COAST' post.

beat it kiddo
do u have nothing better to do than be annoying?
if he does, should he necessarily be doing that better thing?
Superannuation is a good investment. Probably the safest and most profitable.
Superannuation sux ;P
i bought DMA shares months ago $1000 at 20cents each, yesterday they went to 30c

total speculative, total bs, but i'm $500 in front and the best COD player in the world...

i think resources are the way to go:)
In fact Superannuation isn't bad at all.

What other investment matches what money you put in (Govt. Co-Contribution) dollar for dollar* Pretty good returns I think as a money spinner on the side.

*Depends on your income level and works on sliding scale BUT you still get guaranteed ca$h.
What other investment matches what money you put in (Govt. Co-Contribution) dollar for dollar* Pretty good returns I think as a money spinner on the side.

Only for pov c***s :(

I earn more than $10 a week so the government sees fit to remove any tax incentives (inc super stuff ) from me, charge me extra medicare tax, and just generally take take take.

sony ericson k750i with orange for the win.
SD Gundam
This thread was more fun when we were bashing telcos for their s*** service.
Crusher
if you had a nokia 5110 on a treadmill, and were making a call, would the call drop or not, as 3 drops when you are moving but is ok when stationary?
under the new mobile number portability legislation, should i be able to change my number within my current prepaid deally and bring it to someone else for a plan?

cos with optus i get uber cheap calls at night, so i wanna stay with them but bring my number to 3. but they tell me if i wanna port my number i lose the prepaid deally i have with them

which i think is homo

optar$e
Optus are great! Free calls to other Optus prepaid ppl all day, everyday, is awesome!!

<3 Optus.
from 8pm-7am i get 30c for 10 min, it's cool