Topic: i need desparately (a via mobo)
a via chipset socket A mobo (a7v-266e would be nice, but ill take any mobo thats a via chipset that i can plug my athlon 2500 into)

(prefer ddr ram jobby)

looks like my mobo blew up yesterday when the northbridge fan stopped working :(

sell me your old stuff

anyone in brisbane, ill drive round and pick it up

you've never tasted desperate... your bruce wayne the prince of gotham, you'd have to travel 1000 miles to find someone that didnt know your name
i dunno, no gmail is sort of giving me the s***s

its a kind of desparate
Socket A VIA SL-75KAV VIA APOLLO KT133A + VT82C686B
whoops, should have said
needs to support ddr
I've got a Soltek DRV-5, I'm pretty sure that supported DDR ram.

Gimme a holla, u got my details.
on that, nice one nigs;
no <3 for u nigs

still lookin;
i piked :(
soz old man
shrapse
i think i have a drv-5 lying around here somewhere

edit: yep, one soltek drv-5 sitting here in perfect condition in original box

last edited by shrapse at 14:25:03 05/Mar/06
how much shrapsey? (and do you want to sell it, nigs seemed to struggle with that question)
shrapse
20 bux and its yours spooko
done, fancy a visit?
lets gmail
dave.broughton@gmail.com

shrapse
ouch, turns out mobo is no good :(

if anyone has spooks mobile email me shrapsaq@optushome.com.au

hope you havent left yet
alternatively, walk into the CA main serviceroom and yell "I need a Qgler to find me an old xxx pos AMD mobo".

unfortunately, there are at least a couple of guys there who will help you out.

f***ing Amd s***
wise up koopz

amd is the future

some of us have just known it for longer
negative.

you lack the experience and resources to prove yourself one way or the other spooky. most enthusiests do. they can prolly spell though :/

if you're really curious - go work in a pc shop for a bit on the weekends just to put some real world experience behind all that s*** you've read on the net and heard from people you think know better than yourself. take a tissue: you'll need it.
^^ someone is quite the bitter.
koopz: Thank you for your stubborn and misinformed purchase of Intel CPUs.

Please continue buying the Intel brand and keep competition alive to drive AMD processor prices down for the rest of us who actually use computers.

Thank you.

last edited by parabol at 20:14:18 05/Mar/06
koopz.. Amd are better... at everything. Live with it :) It's ok.
koopz.. Amd are better... at everything.

sorry dude. you just don't have the figures from Australia's top IT hardware providers at your fingertips to help get your point across here.

and that's a bugger...

Amd's 64-bit cpus are worthy of a great deal more attention than they're getting right now, but even warez monkeys don't give a s*** about a warez-ed version of WinXP-64. It was a great idea to go *64, but until a the giant that is Intel get their *full* resources behind it, it isn't going to go mainstream. Do ya reckon Trog and Co are busily putting together a version of Cogs and the Media Centre addons for Game Arena that'll function perfectly with x64 and Vista? They're praying on future 32-bit compatibilty methinks... of course, this all means nothing without a decent platform to plug it all into.

meh..

the only sad fact here is that Intel bowed into Microsoft's corportate pressure to produce (a 64-bit cpu and code) that the world didn't need, yet the wanker element of the industry ((we so-called 'ecducated consumers')) "demanded". It's funny how much bulls*** we pull into the industry ourselves without corporate intervention. Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't Amd's dreams and aspirations built on the now current 64-bit Windows out of box experience?

I guess one thing is good out of all of this. Intel gave up on Microsoft's bul;s*** and invested more resources into *nix.
AMD's 64bit chips run 32bit apps better than Intels 32bits CPU's.... nuff said :)

I won't let you put my AMD X2 CPU down :)
Koopzie has been at CA too long :P

At least AMD has a real 64bit chip for desktop and not some virtual one like intel.
Just because more people buy INTEL doesnt make them better, More people buy Windows than Linux and we all know nix is better :P
Do ya reckon Trog and Co are busily putting together a version of Cogs and the Media Centre addons for Game Arena that'll function perfectly with x64 and Vista?
they dont need to dude, amd's 64bit chips run 32bit code faster than 32bit chips. it wasnt going anywhere and failed before they even started work on it.

intels 64bit chips failed because they needed awhole new 64bit version of windows and therefore awhole range of software to run.
amds run 64 and 32bit software so it was accually worth building a version of windows for it since it would also run current 32bit programs and therefore people could accually use it.
technology evolves. cant expect everyone to start coding for 64bit and 32bit and for people to jump on the expensive 64bit systems when theres s***all software out for it.

I personally think it fantastic that AMD are pushing forward accually still introducing new technology Properly and not just finding ways to up their FSB which currently some might say they're doing by using bigger heatsinks.
nearly everything they've done the last number of years has been brilliant

finding other ways of increasing cpu hardcoreness other than clock cycles(life after the thunderbird)
real HT technology rather than an emulated system
brilliant 64bit/32bit work
tremendous dualcore which _from memory_ intel basicly copied right off them but somehow according to reviews doesnt perform quite aswell.

but perhaps your right afterall, maybe we shouldnt advance the innerworkings but should keep rasing clockspeeds?
we should've stuck with 8bit z80's and pump them full of volts and huge heatsinks.

btw not attacking you Koopz love you heaps :)
just putting my view on the current intel/amd situation as i see it

last edited by Fuknukle at 23:30:54 05/Mar/06
edit:
wise up koopz
amd is the future
some of us have just known it for longer
And your still using IE ;)

last edited by Fuknukle at 23:38:02 05/Mar/06
dudes this isn't helping things.

the guy who posted the topic is my age (shock) and isn't able to come up with $50 of replacement box.

btw..

At least AMD has a real 64bit chip for desktop and not some virtual one like intel.

negative. if you're a hardcore 64-bit early adopter you're into *nix atm. of you can't write your own drivers contact your local retailer.

dude.. c'mon. Opera/MS_Vi/Deb/Gate ftw :)

http://www.google.com/search?client=opera&rls=en&q=ms+virtual+pc&sourceid=opera&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8

intels 64bit chips failed because they needed awhole new 64bit version of windows and therefore awhole range of software to run.
amds run 64 and 32bit software so it was accually worth building a version of windows for it since it would also run current 32bit programs and therefore people could accually use it.

dude no one is buying x64.

I surprised to see you weren't at Hermi's lan
0z
Spook if your still depsprate i have a Via SDR mobo here and a epox 8k7a+ (with replaced caps) you can have for free message me if your instrested. 8-)

at this moment, i am using firefox (on decimates box)
i dont like it

yer, shrapse, board tried to go, but the caps were had it, got the techies at work having a look at it today

if its deemed non fixable, oz, i will be in touch!
ok, doesnt look we can repair the shrapse board (ta anyway matey)

whats the go with your epox board oz?

worth the gamble?

where abouts are you matey, i have the car today, so can come for a visit

drop me a line
dave.broughton@gmail.com
(or spook1973@gmail.com if you prefer)

last edited by Spook at 10:25:22 06/Mar/06
ok, still looking due to oz living on another planet (well, redlands bay, i dont have the cash to cover the couple of tanks worth of fuel it would require for me to drive down there)

koopz, feel free to make things all better between me and CA by helping me out here

if u do, i promise to retire my anti-CA story!!!
0z
forgot to mention spook the epox board only takes palimino cores up to 2400+ and its agp 4x only. (its hybrid amd760+via 686B)

hehe sif another planet. :D

EDIT: Typos

last edited by 0z at 12:59:41 06/Mar/06
heh, thanks anyway matey, teh effort was appreciated!
...koopz, feel free to make things all better between me and CA...

dude, I don't own CA - and I wasn't involved personally in the event that led to your perception of the company.

still, though I no longer work as a service tech, I'll gladly look into finding an old mobo for you. Hell, it's not every day ya get to swap stories with another oldschool MicroBee user :P Btw - we're kidnapping you for the company indoor cricket team if this comes off :D

and how the f*ck does the Qgl messenger thingy work?
pm away koopz old bean
much love and respect to koopz and rubba chicken

thanx very much boys, i super appreciate all your help this morning

got home, posted, windows loaded
added network card, wont boot, no power at all :(

looks like my psu has gone the way of the mobo

im tracking down a spare one and will test further

anyway, u guys are awesome
<3 for u
axtually, looks like its the mobo :(

so close

ill hit the markets tomorrow
With all this stupid backward and forward driving here and there you could have just gone and picked up Oz's free board.
thre3dee
I have a Gigabyte GA-7VAXP Ultra left over from recent a64 upgrade.
it supports all athlon xps (i had a 2500 in it)

specs

features:
VIA KT400A chipset
AGP 8x
5x PCI
2x SATA
3x DDR400 Slots up to 3gb ram
RAID 0/1 support
onboard 10/100 LAN
6x USB 2.0
3x FireWire
6 Ch AC'97 audio
Dual-BIOS

make an offer im not sure what they sell for nowadays

msn me havent_signedup@hotmail.com if u want it

And btw ive got a 400W psu as well to sell if u need it ($15??)

im pretty sure ive still got the case backplate as well

last edited by thre3dee at 10:44:16 12/Mar/06
thre3dee, a day too late

picked up a a7v8x at the markets today

thre3dee
oh ok nw
At least it will be better than that crap MSI board :D Muuuuuuuuch better!