Topic: Best co-op game ever?
Hey guyz, just wondering what you all thought was the best co-op game ever, or the co-op game you had the most fun playing. When I say co-op I mean playing the single player campaign with another human (or more), not just those modes where a map is filled with random enemies and you have to kill them.

The best I have played is Hexen, and yeh it was fun and I am about to play it again now. What I long for and think perhaps there could be a market for is a co-op game with the depth in storyline and world interaction as say morrowind or deus ex. I guess there is WoW and other MMORPGS but perhaps they are *too* indepth :P

edit: after a bit of googling it seems Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory has quite excellent co-op, anyone played that?
WoW, indepth? AAAAAAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

"Go kill 10 of these f***ing things and hope that 3 of these drop then run 13 minutes due west-north-east-north where there will be some giant gorilla, that isn't really giant and is hard to find, to give you your reward of 40s plus a blunt knife no sharper than a paddlepop stick."

EXCITEMENT.

[edit] Because Post-limiter is stupid [who thought of this stupid idea anyway?], and doesn't really stop me just editing to say it anyway:

My level 60 rogue and assortment of characters says otherwise :/
Time in my life I wish I didnt waste on WoW, it really is a useless mmorpg.

last edited by Loki at 20:29:58 30/Jan/06
You played WoW for 10 minutes, good for you :P
opflashpoint was heaps of fun coop
Lunch
WOW isnt exactly indepth for an mmo..
and raids with 40 people etc arent really about co-operating as opposed to relying on your guild not having random fckwits who dont do stupid stuff when it counts :)

I reckon the most co-op or teamwork occurs in scrims in games of cs/battlefield/DoD in lan environments. Not that I play them anymore.

if you need to play a single player scenario then I reckon system shock 2 was pretty awesome, when it worked :)

last edited by Lunch at 20:43:08 30/Jan/06
duke 3d and dungeon siege 2.
serious sam 2

nothing else COMES CLOSE.
dRanged
Quake co-op 2v2 was pretty good, and ctf on voyager.powerup
the doom purists here will cry foul of course, meh

props to the regen/us crew!

Double Dragon
Hashy
edit: after a bit of googling it seems Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory has quite excellent co-op, anyone played that?
Yes, and the co-op is decent, though the maps are limited. I don't know the current status, but for a while the official map-pack addons refused to work, so you might be stuck with the defaults. Boycott starforce, though.

WoW is the polar opposite of "indepth" for a MMORPG.
masta_blasta
Alien Swarm for UT2004. They're releasing a Source version sometime soon. I can't wait.
trillion
the most fun ive had coop was with duke3d
Nailbomb
My fondest memories of co-op games probably come from DoomII, Double Dragon 2 & Serious Sam: The First Encounter.
double dragon the first time

i had a kiddie erection and i didnt know what it was!
Moo
all versions of serious sam, dungeon siege 1, and swat 4 kicks ass too. Only 5 player, but it's intense. I just wish there were more maps/missions on the internet to download, because once you've done them all, it's rather repetitive.
Any
ravenshield is pretty good. 4 swords for gba was pretty cool too
Swat3 and battlefield2
Quake2: Co-Op springs top mind as a fav back in the day
Star Trek: Away Team had it's moments as well (nowhere near the ongoing playability of Q2 though)
Freelancer Was cool for a flight sim co-op
Battelfield 1942: Desert Combat Would have to be best fun I've had as co-op stretching over the longest period of time
Soldiers: Heroes of WW2 awesome fun albeit with just 4 people
Battelfield 2: C0-Op by our very own "CodeBasher" - admittedly I've never successfully gotten it to work however I've heard many people have done and enjoy it immensely beats me why I just can't get the damned thing to work

Can't think of any others just at the moment
rogue spear
Any
oooh x-wing vs tie fighter... forgot about that one
cs_master
dungeon siege 1 had some of the best coop ever

you had to rely on your mates to keep your character alive fighting hordes of monsters while you were off getting subway

thats real team work
battle toads
double dragon
Secret of Mana. Hands down, best console game ever made.
^^ Agreed
shrek on ps2 was heaps of fun. any other good console co-ops - they hard to find.
bung
DONKEY KONG COUNTRY 1 2 and or 3 on snes
Worms! Any version. ~ ftw
fallenmessiah
Joint operations and its expansion ftw
f***en heaps of decent coop games. Anything decent thats coop is good because coop rocks. OK
Seven
Fifa 200*, Starcraft: Broodwar, Diablo 2, Warcraft 3: TFT, WoW. All excellent to play with others cause of what ctd said. Teamwork > *
Smash TV, Gauntlet, Double Dragon
Other people only hold me back in FIFA.
Seven
Yeah always the case, but never in BeerFA. It's FIFA with Beer, makes an awesome night - everytime you score you chug and then somehow you play so much better than you ever could and the replays are that much better too!
f*** yeah !!
Forgot about X-Wing vs Tie (my most abject apologies!!!)
Now, seeing as they love to remake games an s***, why don't they redo that particular title with a choice engine of today??

That would fully f***ing ROCK !!!

I just don't understand why developers (more accurately - the project managers I guess) don't do more co-op based games????
I don't know any gamer (hard core or otherwise) that doesn't enjoy teaming up with a few mates an cutting loose
It really is a fundamental flaw in game design we see today...
DM
said said above, secret of mana. best console game ever. 3 player co-op how can you go wrong? coming up right behind it is seiken densetsu 3 (secret of mana 2). only 2 player co-op this time but its just so damn big its just as fun to play.

3 story lines each with a diffrent boss
6 characters, each a diffrent class
9 sub-classes to pick from in each character, each with diffrent special attacks and spells
around 20ish hours if you know what your doing. very long game for console days.

and all for 4mb. get it

last edited by DM at 01:33:22 31/Jan/06
Playing Doom II and f***ing up tricks and traps in co-op... fun times.
Good thread!

The most recent coop game I've enjoyed was a while back - it was one of the Rainbow 6 games, but I can't remember which one :( Unfortunately it was UT engine shlock (at least when I played it out of the box) and we had to put up with random freezes and bluescreens every hour or so, but it was still pretty good fun. Also been playing a lot of Pro Evo Soccer 5 which is aaaaaaaaaaawesome.

Back in the day, Doom games obviously were awesome.

I also had heaps of fun playing Double Dragon, Golden Axe, Rampage and Gauntlet (all on PC) with my brother and sister (throughout various games). Hella fun.
hehe Blood and Blood 2 co-op over modem was AWSOME also alien vs preditor 2 was kick ass as well =)

Quake.
System Shock 2
Anyone mention Duke 3D yet?? :)
Steele
Aliens Vs Predator arcade!!!
MrWolf
Ghost Recon and it's 2 exp packs made for GREAT Co-Op lurve. The missions were great, especially whenn you played the AI on it's hardest setting.

Trog, I remember that R6 game, it was sweet as for co-op as well. Was it Raven-Shield? I'm just hoping the new LockDown will be as good/better.

Also notable for me were BF1942 Vanilla & DC, Serious Sam 2nd Encounter (not SS2, that game was puss), Age of Empires 2 & 3 and Freelancer (played it at a lan with something like 10 teams of 8, that RAWKED!).
Oh yeh, I forgot about Ghost Recon! Man me and stagrrr had heaps of fun playing that.
Trog, I remember that R6 game, it was sweet as for co-op as well. Was it Raven-Shield? I'm just hoping the new LockDown will be as good/better.
Yeh I think it might have been. Wouldn't mind dusting that off and patching it up and trying it again at some point.
Ghost Recon rocked extremely hard indeed. Operation Flashpoint wasn't too bad either but was way too buggy.
fps: unreal
rpg: balders gate, icewind dale.
raven shield is good coop? I got a free copy of it the other month with my sound card, might check it out.
As if not Doom!
I AM THE SHADOW WARRIOR!

most fun i've had was prolly in it... Xbox Doom 3 system link was pretty fun too

Other notable mentions, any of the r6 titles on rediciously hard setting (we had a mate who just loved the mapping part of it, he was an architect and his dad was a cop so it was kinda gaming nirvana for him :p One of the most surprising games co-op was il-stumnovich.. taking down enemy squadrens with mates was pretty cool as well as being tail gunner for a mate and not shooting off your tail so you can land safely had its moments!!
Raven Shield: Lockdown looks pretty interesting. I've never played any of the others for some reason, don't quite know why actually. Ah well, another game on my list of "must try"
Dodgymon
Tower defense (azure) for WC3 FT.
And I would have to aggree with Double dragon

^^ TD f*** yes.

Raven shield was f***en awesome.

last edited by casa at 14:19:05 31/Jan/06
I believe there releasing another in the Ghost Recon series soon (I think, I hope).
Shadow Warrior was kick arse too, 4-6 mates running around, then some one would fire off the nuke!

last edited by Tanaka Khan at 14:30:27 31/Jan/06
Serious Sam 2
Sven Co-Op mod for Half-Life
BF1942 and Desert Combat
Quake 2
Raven Shield
Ghost recon
Swat 3
Or some RTS with 2 ppl verses AI
Jordan Ryan
Another one for Duke3D.
Alien Swarm assuming you are playing with people who aren't noobs.
Diablo 2
Raven Shield
Team game vs. the computer in Age of Mythology or starcraft.

2 player Arcade games like:
Bubble Bobble, Metal Slug, Alien vs Predator
Descent: Freespace and Descent: Freespace 2

The best co-op game would be Wizball (C64) followed by Bubble Bobble (arcade/C64).
I'm with demon.

UNREAL
Hashy
Snow Bros.
Captain America
duke3d
i haven't played half the things mentioned but I'll toss in another vote for duke3d
One thing I did enjoy was the Quake Done Quick team's Quake Done Double Quick run - a two-player co-op run through Quake, nightmare skill, 12 minutes 35 seconds. Pheer.
Hashy
One thing I did enjoy was the Quake Done Quick team's Quake Done Double Quick run - a two-player co-op run through Quake, nightmare skill, 12 minutes 35 seconds. Pheer.
Is there a version of that which doesn't require a 10 year old game to be still installed?
if you don't still have Quake installed, it probably won't interest you
icewyrm
What, freespace 1 and 2 were co-op? no frickin way, i never knew :(
XvT was awesome, alliance was s***e :/
And decent co-op games are few and far between. Goddamn, every mechwarrior game i've ever played would have been great for co-op but they've never included it as a multiplayer mode (you always have d******* ai squadmates who run around getting themselves and your precious hardware blown to pieces), same with lots of other games too :/
What, freespace 1 and 2 were co-op? no frickin way, i never knew :(

Many of the missions where co-opable ranging from 4-8 players.

One of the 8 player games has gone down in our lanning hall of fame.

I think my ideal game would be a space fighter game that has a deep story line and build around co-op.
Raven Shield: Lockdown looks pretty interesting

Well, that did seem like a good game until I found out that it would use StarForce
Hashy
if you don't still have Quake installed, it probably won't interest you
f***, here comes the elitism police.
Well, that did seem like a good game until I found out that it would use StarForce
I support this.
I just made a new thread on Starforce linking to some of it's infamy. Banners below are handy as well

http://www.glop.org/starforce/boycott-starforce-mario-userbar.jpg
http://www.glop.org/starforce/boycott-starforce.jpg
http://www.glop.org/starforce/boycott-starforce-davebgimp.png
how do u get the quake demo to run?
if yur talking about the qddq (quake doen double quick) that insom posted... you just create a directory inside your quake dir called 'qddq' & unzip the contents of the qddq.zip into it. then run quake with -game qddq in the command line... it has its own menu when it fires up.

if you mean an ordinary quake demo ... you type 'playdemo demo_name' in the console.

last edited by demon at 17:21:23 01/Feb/06
f***, here comes the elitism police.

If you want to put it that way - sure

They have made AVIs out of a number of their speed run projects but QDDQ is not one of them
ty demon got it

edit: qddq was awsome. loved how they showed it from both perspectives of the players.

last edited by ravn0s at 18:40:25 01/Feb/06
Double Dragon absolutely.

red alert 2 or the earlier versions of command and conquer.
mortal kombat - from 1 through to 6 7 or 8 or whatever they are up to.

command and conquer: renegade was a pretty sweet game

For homos to play!