rrrocket
http://www.parliament.qld.gov.au/EPetitions_QLD/cgi-bin/Petitions.cgi?PetNum=553
and YES I am aware it has been posted before, it's a reminder for those who don't login every day, or been away etc..... |
| #0 08:44am 23/10/05 |
peter beattie said on the news the other night that "he was aware of the petition" and that "he was not prepared to go back to the 19th centuary be re adopting daylight saving so theres no chance he will look at it".
your wasting your time, the premier knows about it and doesn't give a s*** |
| #1 09:26am 23/10/05 |
i suspect peteyboys days are numbered anyhow
| #2 09:28am 23/10/05 |
i doubt it, hes gona use labor and IR as a big issue next elections and there really is no public oppsition to the guy, even tho hes a big cockstain
i like campbell newman tho :) |
| #3 09:29am 23/10/05 |
rrrocket
is there a petition to get rid of peter beattie then :)
| #4 09:33am 23/10/05 |
qld health yo
| #5 09:34am 23/10/05 |
true, it f***ed him up in the by election but i believe that he will push to have it wrapped up long before the next qld state election is held
| #6 09:39am 23/10/05 |
What's wrong with daylight savings anyway? If everyone put their clocks forward one hour and left it there for good I can't see the problem...besides the curtains fading in the extra hour of sunlight.
| #7 10:25am 23/10/05 |
theres nothing wrong with the concept, the only thing wrong is with the premier
| #8 10:48am 23/10/05 |
Has there ever been a documented case of any law / rule / s***ty thing happening being overturned at the last minute due to the amount of e-signatures on an e-petition?
This is a serious question btw, because you always see these things everywhere and they never change s***. |
| #9 10:54am 23/10/05 |
they never change s***
| #10 11:14am 23/10/05 |
daylight saving has to be the stupidest idea i ever heard of. for half the year we keep our watches on noraml time, then all of a sudden for the other six months we all put our watches forward by an hour for no appraent reason.
if you want maximise your use of the sun durnig summer months WAKE UP EARLIER! I would like to meet the creator of daylight savings so he or she I could punch him or her in the face. |
| #11 11:51am 23/10/05 |
randy
i just like to say this in the most technologically advanced wording that is needed.
daylight savings sucks my balls. |
| #12 11:58am 23/10/05 |
randy
I would like to meet the creator of daylight savings so he or she I could punch him or her in the face. Amen. |
| #13 12:00pm 23/10/05 |
daylight savings is a very gay concept.
| #14 12:02pm 23/10/05 |
Is daylight savings necessary that close the equator? In Brisbane it might make some sense, but further up north it could be annoying.
| #15 12:22pm 23/10/05 |
evinco
Infi for premier
| #16 12:32pm 23/10/05 |
People who want DST need to die.
| #17 12:46pm 23/10/05 |
in fact i might start up an e-petition AGAINST dst. any takers?
| #18 01:10pm 23/10/05 |
masta_blasta
I'm sure it'll achieve as much as the current pro-DLS petition.
Anyway, DSL would be good (so that we're on the same timezone as the rest of the states) but it's not worth getting your panties in a bunch about. |
| #19 01:13pm 23/10/05 |
You do not need daylight saving in Brisbane. Why change, no point.
| #20 01:51pm 23/10/05 |
then all of a sudden for the other six months we all put our watches forward by an hour for no appraent reason.That fact that there's no reason apparant to you implies that you are ignorant to the matter and should not be forming an opinion, try some research before joining the lynch. |
| #21 01:59pm 23/10/05 |
A_W
You can't stop progress, DST for SE QLD is coming. and it's not six months long. |
| #22 02:02pm 23/10/05 |
step
That fact that there's no reason apparant to you implies that you are ignorant to the matter and should not be forming an opinion, try some research before joining the lynch. The only valid reason so far is to be inline with the other states. Pity for the most part of QLD daylight savings would be utterly retarded. can't stop progress, DST for SE QLD is coming. Yeah, daylight savings is really progress. And for a portion of the state, that would be even more f***ed up. |
| #23 02:30pm 23/10/05 |
implies that you are ignorant to the matter no i am not ignorant to it. this is blatant "me too"-ism to keep up with the southern states. there is no argument available to explain how DST would make queensland more economically productive. furthermore, for those businesses that need to operate on that timeframe, they can CHOOSE to. oh and by the way dan YOU tell me the reason for daylight savings. why all of a sudden is it imperative we wind our watches forward one hour? last edited by infi at 14:36:44 23/Oct/05 |
| #24 02:36pm 23/10/05 |
daylight savings is the gaybar. 1 Vote against daylight savings
| #25 02:38pm 23/10/05 |
mods can we have a qgl daylight savings poll?
| #26 02:44pm 23/10/05 |
oh and by the way dan YOU tell me the reason for daylight savings. why all of a sudden is it imperative we wind our watches forward one hour?It's not a simple matter of conformity or lesuire and I'm not doing your research for you. I'm not going to argue one way or the other on the topic, but the fact is that there are several more reasons in it's favour, whether or not they are apparant to you. Feel free to continue mouthing off in ignorance however. |
| #27 02:55pm 23/10/05 |
A_W
It's not dark at 6pm is one good reason. In tassie for example it's still daylight at 9pm. But that's mostly a location i think.
| #28 03:44pm 23/10/05 |
I'd rather shift the other way to be honest, the sooner that big yellow ball of hurt in the sky goes down the better. So damn hot in Cairns this time of year :(
| #29 04:12pm 23/10/05 |
daylight savings f***ed my sleeping patterns as a kid, now I'm permanently f***ed up. f*** you dst, f*** you to hell with fire and brimstone for your f*****ry. foadiafkthxbi.
| #30 04:48pm 23/10/05 |
daylight saving is great. the only reason its not in is because of the supreme amount of curtain fading that occured due to the extra hour of sunlight every day and the farmers complaints that the cows didnt know what time to wake up.
but seriously its great and youre all gay if you think otherwise, its great to finish work at 5 and get home and still have a few more hours of sunlight go out side and kick the footy or something, instead of it darking up in no time like it does. best case scenario split the state into 2 timezones. SEqueensland = daylight saving, up to sunnie coast everyone else can live in the archaic dark ages. |
| #31 06:01pm 23/10/05 |
lu-lu
actually cainer, that does make sense (splitting the state), because, as someonelse said, it would be akward/weird/pointless for far north queensland, but in Brisbane, and the Gold Coast, it would make sense. Afterall, it's sunlight at 5 o'clock in the morning in the middle of summer in Brisbane, why not change the clocks and have an extra hour of sunlight after work that you could actually use
| #32 06:11pm 23/10/05 |
darius
instead of daylight savings why not just rezone the whole timezone daylight savings is stupid imo
| #33 06:24pm 23/10/05 |
I'm with cainer
infi is a f***in s***c*** |
| #34 06:33pm 23/10/05 |
haha good one. non of you pro-dst zealots have given one good reason yet. just get up one hour earlier if you want to "enjoy the fruits of summer" or whatever it is you're on about.
also, mexicans are the s***kunts and you wanna be like them. what IS with that? the only true way to resolve this is with a poll. if you've got the balls that is. edit: that kick the footy argument is feeble. you do know qld is the skin cancer capital of the world. last edited by infi at 18:43:25 23/Oct/05 |
| #35 06:43pm 23/10/05 |
yo, lamo
when we need to deal with sydney offices its a pain in the arse when we lose two hours every day |
| #36 06:40pm 23/10/05 |
yeah man i wanna get up really early and go for a walk (N)
| #37 06:43pm 23/10/05 |
um in case you didn't notice gettting up an hour earlier is exactly what we are all doing during a dst regime. why should everyone have to do it when not everyone is "dealing with sydney"?
| #38 06:44pm 23/10/05 |
if i get up earlier doesn't make it any less dark when i finish work.
i like some lesiure time after work that doesn't finish at 6:30. |
| #39 06:46pm 23/10/05 |
infi am smaert
| #40 07:09pm 23/10/05 |
A_W
spidz ftw. dst is for night time, not daytime. hence why getting up an hour earlier, won't give you any longer amount of sunlight in the evening. haha.
| #41 08:03pm 23/10/05 |
rrrocket
Those of you who have experienced daylight savings, you KNOW its the only way, you used to get home from school/work, jump on qgl, check some lame threads, maybe play game for 1 hour, have dinner, then it hits you! its still friggin daylight!!!
Awesome you think to yourself, I can go kick the footy with some mates, go for a jog (no i dont like jogging in the dark)(dangerous). When daylight savings eventually does come to SEQ, you won't even care about your fav tv shows you normally watch, because you can actually go outside and play or whatever. And on the plus side it'll make some queenslanders less obese. (maybe) Those of you who don't like enjoy sitting on your fat ass on the net/tv whatever, you have to realise you can do what you normally do, but more. So stop whinging you anti daylight savings fat f***ers and see the light! |
| #42 08:21pm 23/10/05 |
haha good one. non of you pro-dst zealots have given one good reason yet. just get up one hour earlier if you want to "enjoy the fruits of summer" or whatever it is you're on about.Okay, since you're still entertaining us with your ignorance, i'll give you a hint on what to look for in your research so can actually have some semblance of clue, it involves electricity consumption. You seriously don't think that the sole reason the southern states and everywhere else in the world that employs day light savings does so for recreational purposes do you? |
| #43 09:54pm 23/10/05 |
but the electricity grid in SEQ is as reliable as our health care, so there is no worries there!
| #44 10:17pm 23/10/05 |
also infi, i think u miss the point about daylight saving in regards to your quip about skin cancer capital.
there is no extra amount of sunlight each day, its just the time is shifted foward 1 hour. whether you choose to bake in sunlight for an extra hour just because its daylight is up to you. and no you dont have to wake up earlier, u do for 1 day, but conversely you get to sleep in 1 hour as well, can you guess when ? also during the refferendum to have it enacted permanently, in numerical figures, it actually was a yes vote, but due to the way votes were collated, into electorates for/against, not population, the country bumkins voted no, the cities voted yes. so because this country is the most over governed in the world with some politicians having 30 people in their electorate, those 30 people are worth just as much as say LOGAN(sif logan counts but, its a dump). so yeah, what a great system we have here. but think about the positives infi, the extra solar energy for people with solar hot water systems, theyd be able to have at least an extra 15 minutes of hot water. |
| #45 10:21pm 23/10/05 |
nu uh. dst sux balls and can diaf. If the shops all stayed open later so I could go buy s*** then yay lets go but just for extra hours of daylight? You povo fagits, go buy some floodlights and light your yard if you wanna kick a footy, that's what I did.
| #46 10:25pm 23/10/05 |
Erik-the-Red
for anyone in business, DST is good. simply because it means, as someone stated earlier, that you don't miss out on two hours of business with sydney, etc.
| #47 11:30pm 23/10/05 |
I remember when every part of the state other than the goldcoast voted Daylight Savings out. I guess most of the state really hated hot summer afternoons reaching until 8pm.
As for "I'm too afraid to go out and jog at night, so dst is uber", man up or join a gym. |
| #48 12:28am 24/10/05 |
Global warming is coming two days before the day after tomorrow. Surely that has something to do with DST.
| #49 06:02am 24/10/05 |
icewyrm
Dst is retarded. It should be abolished everywhere, not just qld. And if it's useful to have extra sunlight for businesses on workdays, those businesses should just change their work hours.
Btw, whatever happened to i-time? I Don't even see it in online games anymore. |
| #50 09:21am 24/10/05 |
there is no extra amount of sunlight each day, its just the time is shifted foward 1 hour. whether you choose to bake in sunlight for an extra hour just because its daylight is up to you. well at least half a dozen people on this hallowed forum said they wanted the extras daylight after work so they could "kick the footy round". this would require exposure to full sunlight instead of the dwindling twilight you get from normal time zone in summer. and no you dont have to wake up earlier, u do for 1 day, but conversely you get to sleep in 1 hour as well, can you guess when ? what we are doing is forcing people to shift their natural clocks for no tangible benefit. what about people who are fraile or ill? isn't there enough (good) change in the world without introducing further (needless) change? but think about the positives infi, the extra solar energy for people with solar hot water systems, theyd be able to have at least an extra 15 minutes of hot water. i mean wtf? everyone agrees there is no extra daylight per se so how would we get extra solar power? the whole argument of DST is a fkn mirage. It is just like saying that the government should introduce a bill to move the decimal point in everyone's bank account to the right by one step and we will all magically be ten times richer. You cannot become richer, or more efficient by just deeming things to be different with a stroke of a pen. It has never worked and it never will. Times zones around the world exist due to a scientific method. Why mess with the flow? This argument about saving electricity is a furphy too. The amount which would be saved from changing our watches for half a year would be negligible (after taking into account the various start up and shut down inefficiencies of constantly f***ing with people's body clocks). Some people are early birds, some people are night owls. For one I am a night owl, hate getting up early in the mornings and I know my working patterns would stay exactly the say come winter or summer under this hairbrained proposal. Other people are early birds and get up when the sun rises (NO MATTER WHAT THE CLOCK SAYS). Times marches on irrespective of what we do to our clocks. In summary I believe I have addressed the three key arguyments FOR dst - lifestyle ("kick the footy") - business ("OMG i have to deal with Sydney") - energy efficiency ("turning my clock forward does save more energy" said while closing my eyes and clicking my shoes togther 3 times) thank you, please come again. last edited by infi at 12:32:14 24/Oct/05 |
| #51 12:32pm 24/10/05 |
ahaha
is this hunter's alt account |
| #52 12:44pm 24/10/05 |
Tuco
i think any business who can't have flexible work hours so they come in the same time as their sydney office is pretty weak.
| #53 01:30pm 24/10/05 |
simE
f*** signing that, im worried that my curtains will fade
| #54 01:36pm 24/10/05 |
This argument about saving electricity is a furphy too. The amount which would be saved from changing our watches for half a year would be negligible (after taking into account the various start up and shut down inefficiencies of constantly f***ing with people's body clocks). Some people are early birds, some people are night owls.Wow, your argument is infalible, it is immediately obvious to me that you have indeed done extensive reseach on daylight savings impact on enegery conservation and can construct in informed opinion on the subject! |
| #55 01:40pm 24/10/05 |
you haven't quoted any yet dan either. so the same goes for you!! it's the qgl way (h5)
oh and i've done my research dan. i ain't that stupid. XD e.g. There is also a question whether the savings in lighting costs justifies the increase in summertime air conditioning costs. While most people use more sunlight under DST, most people also experience more heat, which prompts many people to turn on the air conditioner during the warmer afternoon hours. When air conditioning was not widely available, the change did save energy; however, air conditioning is much more widespread now than it was several decades ago. Air conditioning often uses more energy than artificial lighting. It was for this reason that Arizona rejected DST and opted to stay on standard time all year. last edited by infi at 14:03:31 24/Oct/05 |
| #56 02:03pm 24/10/05 |
You haven't quoted any yet dan either. so the same goes for you!!I'm not the one mouthing off an opinion, just trying to point out that it's irresponsible to enter an argument so passionately without being remotely knowledgeable on the subject, I hope you've at least learnt a little more today in your attempt to regain some credibility. Also, you neglected to quote this, from the same article you linked. United States Department of Transportation studies showed that DST reduces the country's electricity usage by one percent during each day DST is in effect. |
| #57 02:21pm 24/10/05 |
wow, you linked to wikipedia - that sure is evidence of you having done your research.
Ironically, I can't see anything in that wikipedia entry that has anything to do with dst supporters in qld wanting to engage in blatent '"me-too"-ism to keep up with the southern states', or wanting to do it for 'no apparent reason' or 'tangible benefit'. Maybe you should've read that article _before_ you went off half-cocked having no clue. If you want, now claim to have done just that - it'd be even funnier than seeing your responses to being trolled. In my opinion, it all boils down to personal preference - I reckon attempting to bring statistics on anything and everything into the issue just clouds the argument, cos how do you trust the stats flying around from both sides of the argument? I don't think either adopting dst or rejecting it is stupid, although rejecting it when all those around you are adopting it may be a bit silly unless you actually have good reason to other than your own personal preference. Myself, I'll do my best to somehow manage and struggle on without dst... but I do prefer dst for two main reasons: - I don't care how light/dark it is when I wake up and I reckon it rocks getting home with that extra hour of sunlight during the summer section of the year - It's slightly more convenient to be able to still go to work 9-5 yet be in sync with major clients in other states. However this is a minor thing to me since we have clients in o/s timezones anyway, so dealing with this is part and parcel regardless |
| #58 03:02pm 24/10/05 |
Firstly, those studies are over 30 years old that is why I ignored them. Energy useage patterns have changed remarkably over the last 30 years. A/c is far more prevalent now than then (in my business over 20% of residents pay for a/c to be installed whereas 30 years ago they wouldn't have dreamt of it.
A/c would eat up all the electricity savings and more when we focus office based work during the hotest hours of the day. A typical 3.5kw (small) airconditioner running for 20 hrs a day (which if you think about the combined total usage for one person at work, home and in car is probably right) costs $27 per week. Do we ever hear of energy crises being caused by lighting congestion or overuse of DVDs and tv's? no it is generally attributed to the growth in air conditioning usage. Secondly, the research will always back the political decision-making - that is the benefit of being in government. The research in the US shows that US citizens like DST, so of course they are going to keep it and trumpet it benefits. Beattie has steered clear of conducting any research here because the people do not like it. as we move further and further into a 24/7 continuously connected world, i'm afraid shifting clocks one hour for half of the year won't make a lick of difference on energy usage cause if we ain't using it at home, we'll be using in our workplaces, schools and universities. edit: i accept there ain't no 100% correct answer. it's all about what people think in their heads so everyone will have their opinion which is good. it is better to actually care than not at all. just my POV. thanks for stirring er, contributing last edited by infi at 15:48:36 24/Oct/05 |
| #59 03:48pm 24/10/05 |
infi you dumbass, u quoted me taking the piss and gave it a serious answer. the fact you couldn't determine that puts you in the bottom 3 percentile of intelligence, therefore all of your arguments are s***.
| #60 07:26pm 24/10/05 |
Where is the petition to say we want the QLD gamers league forums to reflect QLD time?
| #61 05:44pm 31/10/05 |
A_W
Yeah trog, change it.
| #62 05:54pm 31/10/05 |
daylight savings f***ed my sleeping patterns as a kid, now I'm permanently f***ed up. f*** you dst, f*** you to hell with fire and brimstone for your f*****ry. foadiafkthxbi. yuo f***** asif an hour makes a different to your sleeping patterns try some shiftwork on for size lady man |
| #63 06:27pm 31/10/05 |
| #63 |