Just went out to jump on my ride on and the battery was sluggish, i get it out to check the fluid levels inside it and they are all fine, but the cell attached to the negative lead is reacting with itself and producing hydrogen smoke.. why would a battery react with itself apart from the cells collapsing ?
| #0 04:28pm 19/10/05 |
call ASIO. your battery is about to explode. Enjoy prison. bye now.
| #1 04:33pm 19/10/05 |
Sancho
could also be that someone hasn't put distilled water in when topping up and there is a build up of impurities which are causing an internal short through the cell
| #2 04:38pm 19/10/05 |
nah i only smell the hydrogen / acid when i place a load on the battery
| #3 04:44pm 19/10/05 |
Xy
Have you removed the caps from the battery, if so is the liquid inside the cells bubbling when load is applied?
If so the battery is f***ed replace it. if not ring a mechanic or something instead of posting on a gaming forum. Whats is the batteries cca rating and have you checked them? last edited by Xy at 16:48:31 19/Oct/05 |
| #4 04:48pm 19/10/05 |
sounds to me like a potential terrorist act. you may be imprisoned for up to 14 days or until you can explain why you would be driving near a government building with a smoking battery in your car. let us know how you go. gl
| #5 04:48pm 19/10/05 |
He said ride on, as in mower, not a car.
| #6 04:52pm 19/10/05 |
rodo|phe
i'd light a match near it just to be sure that it is hydrogen…
also, i'd be very surprised if you could smell hydrogen gas, considering it is odourless. if lead/acid cells are overcharged the acid can get hot and evaporate and then you can smell it, happened in my car once – I could smell the acid inside the car… for my car the fix was a new alternator |
| #7 04:57pm 19/10/05 |
baldrik99
although the overcharging of batteries is caused by alternator and will almost certainly result in hydrogen chrloride gas, it is rare that the smell of it would be smelt inside the vehicle...........when overcharging does occur, also get the battery check to ensure it is not f***ed, overcharging WILL cause cells to collapse
last edited by baldrik99 at 17:23:42 19/Oct/05 |
| #8 05:23pm 19/10/05 |
Tuco
too much stress
| #9 06:00pm 19/10/05 |
is this on the new gen?
| #10 06:04pm 19/10/05 |
theres probly an earth occurring id suggest you replace your battery before you have an engine fire.
| #11 06:20pm 19/10/05 |
maybe it's stressed.
| #12 06:21pm 19/10/05 |
car batteries wont get stressed if there isnt a problem, its getting stressed because there is an earth
the troubleshooting method is replace battery - if its still smoking, goto an auto electrician. otherwise dont be coming on here in a months time with a topic 'my car caught fire and now its dead' |
| #13 06:27pm 19/10/05 |
baldrik
well i never heard of a car that is a "ride on" but meh, what ever does it for ya.
well if we where talking about a car battery the "troubleshooting method" would be, remove all of the batery caps and turn on all vehicle acessories (lights a/c stereo etc etc) and then use a covered light source(not and cig lighter) ie torch (if it is dark) check to see if the holes (cells) are bubbling, if so replace battery and get auto elec to check the alternator for charge rate http://www.ausforums.com/images/icon7.gif last edited by baldrik at 18:47:02 19/Oct/05 |
| #14 06:47pm 19/10/05 |
He said ride on, as in mower, not a car. |
| #15 06:47pm 19/10/05 |
baldrik
well i never heard of a car that is a "ride on" but meh, what ever does it for ya.
well if we where talking about a car battery the "troubleshooting method" would be, remove all of the batery caps and turn on all vehicle acessories (lights a/c stereo etc etc) and the used a covered light source(not and cig lighter) ie torch (if it is dark) check to see if the holes (cells) are bubbling, if so replace battery and get auto elec to check the alternator for charge rate |
| #16 06:47pm 19/10/05 |
baldrik
duh thats what i was saying, but to be honest with you all batteries are alike in a sense, minus the caps, not all batteries have service ports where u can add dist. water(god knows why you would want to use dist water) YOUR factory dealer doesn't use it in your battery. but the process is the same in finding a collapsed cell(but not in maintainance free batteries) holden/opal are/were bad for MFB's
| #17 06:55pm 19/10/05 |
baldrik
oh s*** and i forgot the fact that you can have "dry and "wet" batteries but really i dont know a whole lot about them :)
| #18 07:00pm 19/10/05 |
actually moron, he's talking about his cox ride on mower and yes in service they do use distilled water, normal tap water can f*** a battery
| #19 07:04pm 19/10/05 |
why would a battery react with itself apart from the cells collapsing ? the battery has a mini black hole inside it and is collapsing on itself into a singularity. I suggest you get it the f*** away from the known universe as soon as possible. |
| #20 07:11pm 19/10/05 |
baldrik
well spoon i know what they are talking about, its just that some dumbasses would like to think they are talking a car... no idea why but they do...... as a mechanic in a factory dealership I KNOW FOR FACT they DO NOT use dist water in the batteries of a car. Been in the industry 12 years and never ever put dist water or seen it put in a battery...... it is too expensive for a dealership to use in a battery and will ever be used despite the fact they say they DO!!!!!
last edited by baldrik at 19:15:02 19/Oct/05 last edited by baldrik at 19:15:10 19/Oct/05 |
| #21 07:15pm 19/10/05 |
baldrik
LMAO whoop
| #22 07:16pm 19/10/05 |
Well i work for the manufacturer of the mower he owns and i can say they do in this case because i have done it on various occasions.
| #23 07:21pm 19/10/05 |
baldrik
spoon why do you think they will use TAP WATER and tell you that its dist water???????? are you the gullible?? tap water is free and dist water costs $$$$ so why not inprove profit margin that little bit and report the dealer principle(owner) of how well your doing..................lmao and thats that in a nut shell
| #24 07:22pm 19/10/05 |
baldrik
well spoon your 1 of a kind coz not many do it and i honestly encourage you to keep up the honesty, the trade gets a bad name from the "rogues"
| #25 07:24pm 19/10/05 |
I dont really give a f*** because i dont pay something to fill my battery f***wit, I'm telling you that in this case of the mower that they use distilled water ok.
| #26 07:25pm 19/10/05 |
maybe spoon distilles his own water in the same stil(sp?) he makes his moonshine in :)
| #27 07:29pm 19/10/05 |
nah i use ya mums c*** f***head, its the size of a keg anyway.
| #28 07:30pm 19/10/05 |
baldrik
ok man take a CHILL PILL but i am saying that the BATTERY is f***ED and needs replacing,,, isnt that why we are here???? and yes AUTOMOTIVE and mower mechanics are different so take your f***wit and belt it up your ass, coz at the end of the day you REALLY only fix s*** that will cut grass not get PEOPLE from A to B in
| #29 07:31pm 19/10/05 |
actually i dont fix it :)
I design and produce prototype machines, golf buggys n stuff. |
| #30 07:32pm 19/10/05 |
baldrik
hey spoon can you clap????
| #31 07:32pm 19/10/05 |
baldrik
lmao golf buggies
| #32 07:33pm 19/10/05 |
baldrik
hey spoon :)
go belt a frog up your ass coz you have nothing usefull to offer here |
| #33 07:35pm 19/10/05 |
lols, I can clap yes, I can do alot with my hands, like ram bricks up your mums arse and s***.
I mean when it comes down to it dude, you change oil and spark plugs all day, I work on lathes and mills and work with stuff with tolerances of 0.001mm. I'm an aprentice and probably take home more money than you a week LOL |
| #34 07:35pm 19/10/05 |
You know you can edit posts and group all these useless ones into 1 big useless post?
| #35 07:36pm 19/10/05 |
baldrik
OMFG you actually took an apprentaship in some sort of s*** that includeds THINKING, f*** me roman the smartest mechanic is one that gets out of it.. u dumbass i havent touched a spanner in over 12mths and i doubt your earn more per hour for what i do physically
| #36 07:39pm 19/10/05 |
rodo|phe
baldknob brings much anger to our peace loving forum
| #37 07:41pm 19/10/05 |
baldrik
sry astroboy look at how many posts i have done ..... i am new.... would have thought the other guy*points at spoon* would have known
| #38 07:41pm 19/10/05 |
baldrik
rodo you either cant read or spell so STFU
| #39 07:42pm 19/10/05 |
Dude there is no such thing as a smart mechanic, its an oxymoron.
| #40 07:42pm 19/10/05 |
baldrik
the mechanic that leaves the trade is smart coz there is no money in it and you still couldn't matah what i earn per hour
| #41 07:43pm 19/10/05 |
They pay fitter & turners truckloads out at mines and s***. Not that it bothers me much, I wont be doing it after I finish my aprenticeship, its just something to fall back on.
| #42 07:46pm 19/10/05 |
baldrik
hey spoon
how old are you? and how many years or experience in this field do you bring?? |
| #43 07:46pm 19/10/05 |
korbs
It's probably still broken from that time where you had that massive carpark mega smash you had a while back (you know, the one you toally f***ing over-exagerated)
| #44 07:48pm 19/10/05 |
baldrik
"I'm an aprentice and probably take home more money than you a week LOL"
remember saying this d******* i work 18 hrs pers week and take home over $350 sif any apprentice could match that better money working in a servo and less work last edited by baldrik at 19:51:25 19/Oct/05 |
| #45 07:51pm 19/10/05 |
What field?
I'm not a mechanic, I'm 18, dropped out of school after yr 10 to start my aprenticeship and imw ell into my third year of my aprenticeship. I take home over 550 as a third year, much more next year. Not bad hey? 38 hr week last edited by spoon at 19:51:19 19/Oct/05 |
| #46 07:51pm 19/10/05 |
This thread has been hofficially turned into horse s*** by baldrik and spoon.
HO MA KOD. |
| #47 07:52pm 19/10/05 |
sry astroboy look at how many posts i have done ..... i am new.... would have thought the other guy*points at spoon* would have known Does "being spastic" come with "being new". Just edit the post and add your pointless arguing s*** that no one cares about not even spoon. Youre having a fight with no one... You have 1 guess which on the edit post is CLUE
IT LOOKS LIKE THIS |
| #48 07:53pm 19/10/05 |
baldrik
thats woul.d make you about a third yr app. and i know for a fact that for 38hrs and 3rd yr fitter and turner DOES NOT get $550 in the hand for 38hr week
| #49 07:53pm 19/10/05 |
baldrik
lmao astroboy that reads like your pay urself out
| #50 07:55pm 19/10/05 |
I get paid well above the award newb, the perks of not being a dumbass grease monkey I guess.
| #51 07:55pm 19/10/05 |
baldrik
and so life goes on..... some dumbass wanting to be better than someone else causing them to work hard and faster the other guy sitting back watching said guy break is balls for no gain while drinking beer and earning same amount of money as said guy
piss funny silly lil' 18 yr old work smart NOT hard only ppl with an trade or near 30 need reply to this post last edited by baldrik at 20:01:34 19/Oct/05 |
| #52 08:01pm 19/10/05 |
I dont understand what you're trying to say, Ive got a cruisey job and get paid well for the position im in. From the looks of it you're just some dumb grease monkey who sells tyres for a living living in the finest trailer his s***ty pay can supply him.
Theres probably not alot of 18 yr olds earning as much as me and have gotten as far ahead in life as I have, I'm going to do my senior school and hit up uni so I can boss silly c***s such as yourself around all day. |
| #53 08:06pm 19/10/05 |
nah i use ya mums c*** f***head, its the size of a keg anyway. wtf are you firing up at me fore? lol geddit fore... shut the f*** up golf boy before I slap yo head into the pavement |
| #54 08:06pm 19/10/05 |
baldrik
smartest thing spoon has ever done
heheheh like he was ever going to win P.P.P.P.S. Your battery is f***ED |
| #55 08:07pm 19/10/05 |
Whoop, you're angry and I can understand that, if I was 28 and living at home I would be too.
BAD BOY BUBBY YOUVE GOT GREEAAT TITS |
| #56 08:08pm 19/10/05 |
hUON
why is your battery smoking?
Maybe it just got laid...? |
| #57 08:09pm 19/10/05 |
baldrik
nice way of puting it but you will never be able to handle the strss of a silly c*** like me, the only thing that would save YOUR sorry ass from A SILLY c*** like me, is the NEW industrial relation laws, learn them cawk smoker i can garendamtee you will f***ing need them, ur yonug dumb and full of CUM, I gave you the chance to better urself and YOU f***ed it...... time to go take your own life and leave us the f*** alone
sry if thats over the top but he it s***ting me (thinking he is better than me) |
| #58 08:13pm 19/10/05 |
Lol don't worry I dont just think I'm beter, I know I am.
Also you're not my life coach f***head, you'd be better off coaching rats and other animals that live in sewers. Trying to tell me you gave me a chance to better myself, what a cock smoking fag you are, I've already bettered myself, and by that I mean I chose not to become a useless bogan mechanic LOLOL |
| #59 08:17pm 19/10/05 |
baldrik
I dont know why ur looking AT BAD BOY BUBBIES tits for but i do know its wrond and a jailable offence
| #60 08:18pm 19/10/05 |
baldrik
lmao @ spoon i have a friend who just happens to be a fitter and turner and he earns just a touch over($0.15 per hour)what i did when i was still in the trade and to be honest with you, you are NOT telling me anything new about the automotive trade coz GUESS WHAT???? i got out of that s***... You See A smart mechanic (sees what is right) and being a life mechanic IS NOT RIGHT, and being corperate is JUST AS BAD
| #61 08:27pm 19/10/05 |
spoon has a small penis so has to compensate with something guys. just leave him be.
p.s. I'm not 28 gg noob \/\/\/ you could end it by not replying to him last edited by whoop at 20:31:02 19/Oct/05 |
| #62 08:31pm 19/10/05 |
baldrik
this thread should have been called the " spoon V baldrik" thread
lmao |
| #63 08:29pm 19/10/05 |
baldrik
lmao nice work WHOOP
| #64 08:30pm 19/10/05 |
baldrik
i have only been a member for hours and already 30 posts
i love this thread |
| #65 08:31pm 19/10/05 |
Denominator
wow I get paid more as an apprentice than all you nahh nahh nahh nahh nahh nahh
I can pay up to $900 a week tax and remeber allowance's are not taxed well now for a usefull part of the post I dont know if you fixed the problem but here is my IDEA of whats going on is the smoke coming from where the cable joins to the termal? if so its a high resistave joint you can grab some solder and jab heaps of it in there or get antother termanal and repair it. also take everything apart and uses sandpaper to clean and then smother vasalene from bedside table on all the termanls |
| #66 08:32pm 19/10/05 |
I'm not going into corporate, and that 15$ is the worst pay I have ever seen, the other fitters in my work shop are on 24$ an hr.
I honestly couldn't give a f*** though, I really couldnt, aslong as I dont end up like whoop I'd be doing something right in my life. and whoop just f*** up c***, no one likes you and from what ive heard from people that have met you off here they think you're a dips*** too. |
| #67 08:33pm 19/10/05 |
Man just ring up service and speak to either warren or brian and they'll tell you whats wrong and get you onto whatever parts you need.
| #68 08:35pm 19/10/05 |
baldrik
i thought it was quite obvious the the smoke was coming from the cells themselves as hes did indicate "besides collapsed cells" but good point in all
| #69 08:35pm 19/10/05 |
Denominator
I agree with spoon its not how much you get it is the quality of your personality that reflects the quality of your workmanship.
| #70 08:35pm 19/10/05 |
Denominator
nah i just skimed the post if
is it a new batt check what volts you have while it is charging prob 7-8 volts or 12.9 - 14 volts |
| #71 08:38pm 19/10/05 |
shut up c***s
| #72 08:39pm 19/10/05 |
baldrik
depends on manufacturers specs and CCA's as to what SLUGGISH means really is a cell is bubbling under load test... then the battery is f***ed and needs replacing and alternator needs checking to just to be sure
last edited by baldrik at 20:41:53 19/Oct/05 |
| #73 08:41pm 19/10/05 |
baldrik
Oh and Denominator Spoon had nothing to say about personality and reflection on workmanship he was just dribbling s*** about how much he got paid as a 3rd yr app.
| #74 08:44pm 19/10/05 |
My guess is that the regulater is f***ed and is overcharging the battery. If an alternater f***s itself in one of these then you know about it trust me
Edit:Yeah I was about to say I said nothing of the sort denom, I basically said I'm the best and i roxxxxxxx YEAH, mainly cuz it fires up baldknob last edited by spoon at 20:46:32 19/Oct/05 |
| #75 08:46pm 19/10/05 |
baldrik
FFS do a google search and find out for urself
http://autorepair.about.com/cs/electrical/a/aa121000b.htm http://www.bcae1.com/charging.htm http://www.2carpros.com/topics/charge.htm hope you find it all here |
| #76 08:50pm 19/10/05 |
Lol lowgoz.. you forgot to mention that the whole mower was on fire at the time and spouting napalm :p
| #77 09:12pm 19/10/05 |
this thread makes me feel like kathleen
i must shower, i feel unclean |
| #78 10:01pm 19/10/05 |
interesting how whoop is now the benchmark for losers
i always thought that was obes |
| #79 10:07pm 19/10/05 |
hahahahahah
This thread is f***ing brilliant. Nomination for thread of the year #1. Trog, can you please, please ban that newb... I dislike the vibes he brings to the forum. |
| #80 10:54pm 19/10/05 |
DigitaL
but qgl needs action these days
| #81 11:09pm 19/10/05 |
why would a battery be smoking? Because it's caving to peer pressure and trying to fit in. Also, Baldrik is unworthy of that name. But seeing somebody get trolled so bad is uber funny, don't ban him. |
| #82 11:58pm 19/10/05 |
I like this baldrik fellow.
and whoop just f*** up c***, no one likes you and from what ive heard from people that have met you off here they think you're a dips*** too. OH NO! a bunch of random tards from the internet hate me. just wait here while I check my schedule to see when I'm available to care. let me guess, nF has to be top of this list. |
| #83 12:18am 20/10/05 |
I like whoop.
| #84 12:29am 20/10/05 |
maybe i should buy a new battery ...
| #85 07:54am 20/10/05 |
spoon is a jew everyone.
| #86 08:56am 20/10/05 |
darius
interesting how whoop is now the benchmark for losersI thought it was you actualy with that forum hero gif in your avatar o_O |
| #87 09:47am 20/10/05 |
can't believe no one has posted this in this thread yet... gg knobjockies.
http://ib1.campusnetwork.com/lun1/exhibition_view/83/c4/ff7b4082f283f86de5b1c4651eccdfc5.jpg |
| #88 09:56am 20/10/05 |
LOL I luv u guyz
| #89 10:31am 20/10/05 |
you see, this is why i come to qgl
questions are ignored in place of name calling and nipple pinching |
| #90 11:15am 20/10/05 |
The battery just had some good sex an now it's rooted?
| #91 12:40pm 20/10/05 |
SD Gundam
rodo you either cant read or spell so STFUPot calling kettle black anyone? is the smoke coming from where the cable joins to the termal? if so its a high resistave joint you can grab some solder and jab heaps of it in there or get antother termanal and repair it. also take everything apart and uses sandpaper to clean and then smother vasalene from bedside table on all the termanlsWouldn't you just give the contacts a good scrub with a steel wire brush? I thought it was you actualy with that forum hero gif in your avatar o_OBut he's got a Skyline with a racing stripe! |
| #92 12:54pm 20/10/05 |
to clarify it is smoking from cell #1 which is connected to the negative lead.
only the one cell is reacing with itself following a full 3 mins of cranking at low speed so it could be load related as many have said. it started off cranking slowley then as time wore on it seemed as if the battery had gained more power and the cranking speed slowly increased up to about 1/2 normal cranking speed (it wasn't fast enough for it to turn over)... i find it intresting that a battery can increase its level of output while under a load to the extent that you can actually see a difference in cranking speed. last edited by Lowgoz at 13:02:02 20/Oct/05 |
| #93 01:02pm 20/10/05 |
it started off cranking slowley then as time wore on it seemed as if the battery had gained more power and the cranking speed slowly increased up to about 1/2 normal cranking speed (it wasn't fast enough for it to turn over)... i find it intresting that a battery can increase its level of output while under a load to the extent that you can actually see a difference in cranking speed. maybe the engine is starting to seize and the battery isn't stuffed but under a tremendous load trying to turn a f***ed engine over & as it starts to crank it, the engine frees up a little & cranks faster? Have you tried turning it over by hand if that's at all possible? Maybe put it in gear & roll it down a hill or something? |
| #94 07:27pm 20/10/05 |
Denominator
in that case Lowgoz jus buy a new batt becase it sounds like you have a short in one of your cells and you could burn out your starter motor then you will need a new one of them aswell
| #95 08:54am 21/10/05 |
baldrik
Nah the battery is f***ed (most likely) due to a collapsed cell and in this case the alternator will be charging it but the batt. wont be able to hold the charge, also if there is no charge in the batt. then how is it going to burn out a starter when the starter requires the charge to activate the pinion and solenoid. Replace the batt. and get the alternater checked for charge rate, if its a 12v system (which i doubt it is) it should be charging between 13.4 V and 14.4 V but you wouldnt want it to be higher than that.... if its a 6V system then you will have to refer to manufacturers handbook for charging specs. Voltage lose could be another cause of ur problem check all your earths for corrosion and tension.
| #96 10:51am 21/10/05 |
| #96 |