QGL's very own Bad managed to score a copy of Quake 4 two days in advance of the release (release dates just aren't what they cracked up to be!), and he's not only recorded some cool gameplay movies but he's taken the time to put together some impressions of what we think is the most important part of the game - the multiplayer. Check out Bad's multiplayer review for a closer look, including details about the game modes, weapons, and more. There are a couple of new screenshots as well showing off some of the visuals. Edit: Word on the street is EB are now at least calling people with pre-orders to let them know they can pick it up - if you've pre-ordered you can probably get it early, and if you're a smooth talker you might be able to nab it anyway. |
| #0 03:25pm 18/10/05 |
Nailbomb
I was in EB about an hour ago and saw people picking up their copies of the Special Edition.
| #1 03:42pm 18/10/05 |
i had to ask staff to get a copy from GameWizards, but i'm told they now have them all out on the shelves (GW Belconnen, Canberra).
| #2 03:44pm 18/10/05 |
zmickle
IMHO, the all-important thing - that reviewer Bad prolly hasn't had a chance to find out yet - is has the D3 engine netcode been fixed? If so, fab! If not, Q4 Multi is Doomed (pun intended).
| #3 03:47pm 18/10/05 |
Doom 3 has a surprisingly active multiplayer community - I don't think there are too many problems with the engine netcode wise, but I never played it myself so can't really comment - I'm always surprised though when I look on GA and see heaps of people playing Doom 3
| #4 03:51pm 18/10/05 |
trog,
can we get a normal DM server please in place of Team DM? thanks |
| #5 04:00pm 18/10/05 |
if you say please
| #6 04:46pm 18/10/05 |
Damn bastards releasing it before uni finishes.
| #7 04:49pm 18/10/05 |
PhantomLord
so are powerups in normal ctf perminant until death or are they timed as per Q3 ctf? Also, can you drop ammo in ctf?
thanks |
| #8 05:37pm 18/10/05 |
can we get a normal DM server please in place of Team DM? last edited by natslovR at 17:37:42 18/Oct/05 |
| #9 05:37pm 18/10/05 |
so are powerups in normal ctf perminant until deathYes Also, can you drop ammo in ctf?No |
| #10 05:38pm 18/10/05 |
I already put one up!
| #11 05:38pm 18/10/05 |
Boo, the game just quits to desktop for me straight after I try to launch it
| #12 06:14pm 18/10/05 |
sucks to be you!
| #13 06:18pm 18/10/05 |
We played some 4 player free for all for a couple of hours this afternoon. My generalised impression is that is has a lot of potential, but it's going to need a lot of work from the community to acheive multiplayer greatness. If the community can step up and fufill the following list, it would be an awesome game.
| #14 07:54pm 18/10/05 |
I don't like the idea of using past maps. They never work as well and u just get this "re-hashed, 2nd hand" feeling when playing them.
New maps! I look forward to playing this when uni is over. How much will Q4 be at the shops? U can buy Q4 special edition on ebay for $68-75 too btw.. |
| #15 07:59pm 18/10/05 |
Yeah not the same goddamn maps again please, defeats the whole point of having a new game. I'm kind of disappointed that they ended up including the ones they have, but at least they've moved the items around on The Edge by the look of it.
| #16 08:05pm 18/10/05 |
Jim already hates it, its got a rail gun!
| #17 08:25pm 18/10/05 |
needs new maps to breathe new life into a remake of q3, ra4 can diaf really, and the way arena ctf now is aight
| #18 08:39pm 18/10/05 |
dice
yeah i'm bored, but there's nothing else that i enjoy just droning out to
long live quake zombihood |
| #19 01:15am 19/10/05 |
If you unleash a full round into someone it will surely hurt them a lot. The Grenade Launcher does not have a very long range at all; however a direct hit from a grenade will be sure to hurt. Bringing back the Hyperblaster from Quake 2, this gun should probably just be thought of as the Plasmagun from Quake 3 as it is very much like that. lol, awesome review. |
| #20 07:56am 19/10/05 |
Okay, so question - Where on the Gold Coast could I find an EB to pick it up before I head back to Melbourne? (I'm in the Marriot at the moment - has to be within walking distance of either the Marriot or Gold Coast Convention Centre).
Surprised that it's out already - thought it wasn't out for another week. |
| #21 08:05am 19/10/05 |
nexus6, can you get the console down? try pb_cl_enable from the console maybe?
| #22 11:33am 19/10/05 |
I mean, a tank that can sidestep?! Isn't it a hover tank ? |
| #23 11:49am 19/10/05 |
The Bad How can that be bad!?! What are they going to do, re-invent the wheel? |
| #24 03:51pm 19/10/05 |
Yer, you know, put a few more spokes on it. Put those little sound maker bead thingies on the spokes. Maybe make the rim gold or something.. |
| #25 05:01pm 19/10/05 |
Gregory.Cx
screenies look good. but it needs a bit of Picmip 5 to make it look so much nicer......
| #26 06:49pm 19/10/05 |
Nailbomb
The Bad I wouldn't view it as bad myself, maybe they were expecting something more along the lines of the multiplayer modes and gameplay in UT2k4 but i think thats going to be more what Quakewars is going to cater for.... the only downfall for me with Quake 4's multiplayer modes (and im only going from what I've heard because i haven't played it yet) but the fact that theres no bots out of the box, i'd be happy if they even just used the A.I code from the bots in Q3 and stuck it in there with a few of the models out of the single player campaign but you can't have everything.... no doubt someone will get a mod or patch out soon enough to stick some bots in there. |
| #27 07:22pm 19/10/05 |
Played a few games this arvo, thumbs up
:] |
| #28 07:35pm 19/10/05 |
apparently the guy who made oak bots for q and q2 is going to make some for q4
| #29 07:37pm 19/10/05 |
Did they release the sdk and the mod tools on the cd with the game?
| #30 07:48pm 19/10/05 |
also if you want a picmip like setting and make it look like
http://www.ausimages.com/view/2005-10-19/picmip.jpg put the following in your autoexec.cfg seta image_downsizelimit "16" seta image_downsizespecularlimit "2" seta image_downsizebumplimit "16" last edited by BoBa at 20:25:24 19/Oct/05 last edited by BoBa at 20:25:48 19/Oct/05 |
| #31 08:25pm 19/10/05 |
0z
Cant see anything on the DVD-Edition in terms of SDK khel :(
Single player totaly rocks, got my copy today so much fun. Also noticed this runs lot smoother then doom3 did on my box on high details 3d engine has been optimised well.. Tryed multiplayer on node server fark it was laggy dont like the netcode >:| That could be also due to the server running out of mhz...dunno ill try GA server soonish hope to see some of ya there. :) EDIT: Boba why do that? i mean looks like Q2, sifnt have all eyecandy :P last edited by 0z at 20:40:38 19/Oct/05 |
| #32 08:40pm 19/10/05 |
0z
Just Found some graphic tweeks if anyones interested.
This one seems to work good with my x800XT PE with multiplayer. :) image_usePrecompressedTextures "1" image_useCompression "1" image_downSizeLimit "1024" image_ignoreHighQuality "1" image_downSizeBumpLimit "1024" image_downSizeSpecularLimit "256" image_downSizeBump "1" image_downSizeSpecular "1" image_downSize "1" image_forceDownSize "0" image_roundDown "1" simage_lodbias "0" image_preload "1" r_useCachedDynamicModels "1" r_skipBump "0" r_skipPostProcess "0" r_skipParticles "0" r_skipSpecular "0" r_skipNewAmbient "0" r_multiSamples "0" r_shadows "1" r_useOptimizedShadows "1" r_useTurboShadow "1" g_projectilelights "1" g_skipParticles "0" g_bloodEffects "1" g_decals "0" g_showBrass "0" g_muzzleFlash "1" g_doublevision "0" g_showPlayerShadow "0" image_anisotropy "2" image_filter "GL_LINEAR_MIPMAP_NEAREST" last edited by 0z at 22:56:28 19/Oct/05 |
| #33 10:56pm 19/10/05 |
amyescence
single player runs like ass for me *go my gf ti 4200* but multi is ok due to those small map sizes.
im pretty impressed overall, single player has been pleasing though i havent played alot of it, multiplayer has been fun and everything i expect from a quake game. i cant wait to have a minor upgrade to play the single player more indepthly |
| #34 12:15am 20/10/05 |
I'm running a duel server on a spare Athlon 2500+, 1500/256 ADSL:
dais' server of dedicated Tourney (QLD.AU) 220.253.84.237:28004 Should be up for a few days at least. |
| #35 12:34am 20/10/05 |
Don't mean to sound like a spoiler, but I reckon the game is f***ing s***. Single player is pretty cool but Multiplayer is not what it should be... It's just not as crisp and smooth gameplay like the other quakes were. Also there is soooo much eye candy in the mp maps that it all gets a bit confusing and spammy. Models are a bit more difficult to see and blend in a bit to the surroundings... Quake 4 is not a strong contender for serious MP game play.... They probably knew that and didn't release a demo, and relied on their good rep for previous versions as a selling point. I'm thinking about selling it actually.... any offers for the limited edition DVD set? I'm in Brisbane btw. |
| #36 09:39am 20/10/05 |
^^ I felt the exact same way about q3 when it first came out. People learn to adapt.
| #37 10:09am 20/10/05 |
Farseeker
I'm interested Marty. (probably shouldn't spam up this thread with offers :P)
msn: farseeker@gmail.com (same email) can't wait to get into this..uni :( |
| #38 10:25am 20/10/05 |
XandraX
too many spammy guns
| #39 10:29am 20/10/05 |
Here's footage of a whole duel from last night, tight game with BoBa :)
Q4tourney.boba.vs.dais.(dais).avi 165MB, 15:20 There is so much that still needs to be tweaked with a mod like OSP, but I think it's at least as good as Q3 was on release. |
| #40 06:24pm 20/10/05 |
any chance that can get stuck on gamearena, actually seeing a duel would be awesome.
| #41 06:29pm 20/10/05 |
Lunch
Also there is soooo much eye candy in the mp maps that it all gets a bit confusing and spammy. Models are a bit more difficult to see and blend in a bit to the surroundings...Quake 4 is not a strong contender for serious MP game play.... Was thinking the exact same thing when I saw a few of the updated cs maps like inferno and train. I think games like cs and quake remain popular over a long period of time due to their simplicity and dont really benefit to the hardware upgrade cycle the way more single player and non-competitive games do. Edit- I guess this belongs in the other thread after I read it lol. last edited by Lunch at 18:33:19 20/Oct/05 |
| #42 06:33pm 20/10/05 |
Quake 4 is not a strong contender for serious MP game playneither was q3 until the community got stuck into it and made mods such as OSP. Hopefully the same will happen to Q4 |
| #43 06:36pm 20/10/05 |
Here's footage of a whole duel from last night, tight game with BoBa :)i'll upload the netdemo when I get home (3mb) of that duel. I run around like a dork running into walls and jumping around like a f*****. The physics is so different and hard to get used to compared to q3 |
| #44 09:46pm 20/10/05 |
Hahah yeah right, meanwhile I'm like "f***ing s***, gotta control that armour!@$!"
| #45 09:54pm 20/10/05 |
Well, I bought Q4 today. Only played it for a short while though as I still have assignments due. First impressions:
- I like the movement speed. Seems faster than Q3. - Air movement (or lack of) blows. - Loving the fact that I CAN SEEEE! WHEEEHEEHEEHEENOOFLASHY... ... *ahem*. - Forward jump/speed pads look s***. - I need an upgrade. So does my brother apparently, too, because a 2.8HT w/6800+3GB RAM still shows slowdowns at 800x600. At least it runs faster than Black and White 2. - HTF do I bring up the console?! BAH! |
| #46 09:55pm 20/10/05 |
HTF do I bring up the console?! BAH!make an autoexec.cfg and put in seta com_allowconsole "1". And while your at it put seta g_fov "between 90 to 110 are the limits if you don't like default" and also put +disconnect in your q4 shortcut to get rid of the intro movies |
| #47 10:01pm 20/10/05 |
HTF do I bring up the console?! BAH!~ + ctrl + alt |
| #48 10:25pm 20/10/05 |
Phase
for those having issues with quake not loading install this
http://developer.creative.com/articles/article.asp?cat=1&sbcat=31&top=38&aid=46 worked for me. |
| #49 11:15pm 20/10/05 |
Q4tourney.boba.vs.dais.(dais).aviHere is a netdemo you can play in q4 if you have the game and don't want to download 160mb |
| #50 11:30pm 20/10/05 |
0z
^^ omfg that was 1337.
| #51 12:51am 21/10/05 |
too, because a 2.8HT w/6800+3GB RAM still shows slowdowns at 800x600.What the f***... ahahaah looks like my game playing days are over if this is the case |
| #52 01:10am 21/10/05 |
Now I am really tempted to go out and get a copy of it this weekend.
| #53 01:43am 21/10/05 |
Here's my config, I'm always mucking with it but meh,
seta image_ignoreHighQuality "1"
| #54 10:17am 21/10/05 |
seta pm_bobroll "0"pitty these are server side on settings |
| #55 10:59am 21/10/05 |
pitty these are server side on settings And no-one ever starts a server. |
| #56 11:01am 21/10/05 |
I prefer playing FPS's on a team. I don't really like free for all frag sessions much. My flatmate has the game but he's not gonna play it until he gets his video card back from the shop. I'll prolly buy q4 during the hols if it's worth it.
I miss the good old days where you had a spawn install for games like Star Craft so you could have multiplayer LAN with one version of the game. Or like in settlers you could have 1 player per CD (With settlers 3 + the expansion, that meant you could get 3 players going). That was the s***. Edit: Also, has anybody tried Q4 on an FX card, particularly a Fx5900? last edited by Crizane Tribal at 11:36:18 21/Oct/05 |
| #57 11:36am 21/10/05 |
Or the Q2 days where you'd just copy someones whole directory to your drive. Change the congif around and off you go.
8-) |
| #58 11:38am 21/10/05 |
Also, has anybody tried Q4 on an FX card, particularly a Fx5900? I run a 5200, runs fine. Or the Q2 days where you'd just copy someones whole directory to your drive. Change the congif around and off you go. Pretty sure you can still do that :-P |
| #59 11:40am 21/10/05 |
Dais, how do you record a demo like that??? not the ingame demo but the big one you play in Mediaplayer!
| #60 04:38pm 21/10/05 |
Dais, how do you record a demo like that??? not the ingame demo but the big one you play in Mediaplayer!http://www.fraps.com/ |
| #61 04:51pm 21/10/05 |
I played back my netdemo and captured with fraps once the game started, easy as. Avidemoing in the game is kinda broken and would take hours of stuffing around by comparison.
I'd post my demo but I started recording ages before that game and just let it run. Unfortunately there doesn't seem to be any way to re-record the part you want, and using timescale to fast forward is disabled in baseq4. |
| #62 04:54pm 21/10/05 |
Nexx
Simple question:
Whats the command to hide the weapon from my view? |
| #63 08:33pm 21/10/05 |
Nexx
Nevermind, it's "ui_showGun 0" :)
| #64 08:39pm 21/10/05 |
I played back my netdemo and captured with fraps once the game started, easy as. Avidemoing in the game is kinda broken and would take hours of stuffing around by comparison. How did you go about doing that, as when I use fraps, it records for about 30 seconds and automatically ends itself and the file is like 100+ MB... :( |
| #65 10:06am 22/10/05 |
Anyone feel like helping contribute to a list of local servers? (post here)
| #66 12:15pm 22/10/05 |
You can only record 30 seconds with the demo version of Fraps, as far as encoding the movie that is a whole other topic in itself. A good place to start would be reading the guides at doom9 man.
| #67 12:46pm 22/10/05 |
Will do champ thanks...
You may remember me from Qauke2. My nick was joekool.. I remember we had a few games together :) If you wanna hookup some quake4 slaw, let me know: msn: marty83@hotmail.com Cheers |
| #68 01:01pm 22/10/05 |
Jerds
I'm guessing you got it working, trog? If not, see above.
| #69 10:18pm 29/10/05 |
Or the Q2 days where you'd just copy someones whole directory to your drive. Change the congif around and off you go. or better yet, just play straight off that persons pc over the network. sup limps. |
| #70 10:21pm 29/10/05 |
heh nf, if I recall correctly, didn't we do that with the orginal Unreal as well at a LAN many many moons ago? I seem to remember we were quite chuffed that it ran over the coax network at 2-3 fps :P
| #71 12:04pm 30/10/05 |
I need an upgrade. So does my brother apparently, too, because a 2.8HT w/6800+3GB RAM still shows slowdowns at 800x600 play around with your config. the game runs fine on the P4 2gig / NVidia 5700Ultra pc next to me atm. I gotta say I'm loving the Q4x mod. I just haven't figured out how to only enable the railgun (for instagib servers) yet though. There's a forum on the dude's site - but you haveto sign up for it :/ last edited by koopz at 15:30:46 30/Oct/05 |
| #72 03:30pm 30/10/05 |
DM
ok question, anyone that has these (or close to) specs can tell me how fast Q4 runs? im getting to tonight and would like just a general idea
AMD64 3000 730mb ram (whatever that number is) Geforce 6800 ultra 256mb K8NS-Ultra 939 MoBo |
| #73 04:08pm 30/10/05 |
Sounds like I might be buying this before FEAR, gotta love MP and apparently fear got some very s***ty reviews in that regard. Plus this is Quake!!
:) |
| #74 04:18pm 30/10/05 |
DM
F.E.A.R has awesome multiplayer IMO. if you get sick of the guns, you simply hit H and go around melee only. nothing quite as satisfying when you bicycle kick someone in the head and get a "Dm killed **** with an unarmed headshot"
| #75 04:29pm 30/10/05 |
http://www.game-monitor.com/search.php?qry=&game=quake4&order=players&country=AU
good to see GM is doing well keeping upto date with Q4 online servers :D |
| #76 05:24pm 30/10/05 |
| #77 05:42pm 30/10/05 |
Koopz. is that server query program good because I heard the ingame browser was the worst design ever? d/loading it now in preparation.
I so want to give this a bash now but I cant drive at the moment, might have to get it delivered from Games market or Games wharehouse this week. See any old schoolers online at all? especially that faggy trog used who used to own bigtime with the railgun in Q2/3. :P |
| #78 07:21pm 30/10/05 |
that faggy trog used who used to own bigtime with the railgun in Q2/3.surely you jest... |
| #79 07:25pm 30/10/05 |
And I thought the Battlefield 2 game browser sucked balls...
K.I.S.S Keep It Simple Stupid |
| #80 07:43pm 30/10/05 |
get owned you mean.
| #81 07:43pm 30/10/05 |
is that server query program good because I heard the ingame browser was the worst design ever? d/loading it now in preparation. yeah it's pretty much like Nat's server query - except focussed soley on Q4 internet servers. The Quake 3 World forums have lots of good current info if yer keen :) credit where it's due - Fear MP is owning atm. I seriously don't want to goto work this week. Too many awesome games on atm. :( |
| #82 08:54pm 30/10/05 |
DM
ok i just hired this out and i gotta say wow, its so much fun! i love all the new weapons and the team AI is pretty good. as for multiplayer, *sigh* i clicked No to installing punkbuster by mistake and now i have to spend another 15 min with 4 cds just to get a 2mb file (guessing its around that much?) since it cant be installed seperatly. god that sucks.
| #83 02:02am 31/10/05 |
dice
hmm what can i say about multiplayer ...
dice > november 1997 to november 2005, 8 years and out. that should cover it. sp on the other hand, fairly cool, enjoying it ++ (reason for mp drop out: what made quake so enjoyable in the first place for me was high speed movement, well adjusted weapons, good rj'ing ability in q3, grapple and techs in q2ctf ... without them, i have no motivation to play) < /bitter > < /whinge > < /cry > last edited by dice at 02:59:23 31/Oct/05 |
| #84 02:59am 31/10/05 |
obviously your not pr0 dice if you can't adapt to a new game. Go have a cry and live in the past!
| #85 10:44am 31/10/05 |
casa-werk
Quake > *.exe |
| #86 10:51am 31/10/05 |
Interesting bug I found on the weekend in q4, if you rocket jump straight into a light on the ceiling (I mean real straight, may take 2 or 3 attempts) you get stuck to the light. I found this when rocketing up a pad in the rose (can't remember) mp level with a light directly above the pad. May have something to do with the OB they apparently tried to put in ?
| #87 11:38am 31/10/05 |
0z
to many pr0's like boba about in MP, noobs have no chance in hell for a fun game.
PS. i am noob in q4, played a bit of q3 rocket arena in its day was fun. /me looks at current aus servers atm all empty. |
| #88 12:05pm 31/10/05 |
casa-werk
Its because the population of quake players, have jobs, mostly full-time jobs, and not jobless cs kiddies who still live at home with their parents and dropped out of school. The servers were all packed last night, was awesome |
| #89 12:37pm 31/10/05 |
Q4 sucks move along.
| #90 12:56pm 31/10/05 |
your momma sucks but she sucks good so you don't see me moving on
| #91 01:44pm 31/10/05 |
casa-werk
Just cos you got slapped by Saint LOLS |
| #92 01:44pm 31/10/05 |
0z
Its because the population of quake players, have jobs, mostly full-time jobs, and not jobless cs kiddies who still live at home with their parents and dropped out of school I work from home casa,so yer get to play anytime pitty you bastards stuck in a office cubicle cant slaw at Q4 during the day. :) |
| #93 02:07pm 31/10/05 |
dice
i can't get used to new games that's why i didn't even play quake 3 boba
| #94 04:26pm 31/10/05 |
Eclipsor
Been playing the single player on a mates copy but just bought my own. Does anyone have a cd key changer they can point me to? Or is there a registry value? thanks
| #95 11:51pm 02/11/05 |
Does anyone have a cd key changer they can point me to? Go into Quake4/q4base/ and open the file quake4key in a text-editor and edit the key there. |
| #96 12:14am 03/11/05 |
Eclipsor
thanks
| #97 01:24am 03/11/05 |