Topic: Silvias
Ive been told that out of either a Eunos, Lancer, or Silvia - the best bag for your buck lies in the latter.

I know maxe is a fanboy but has anyone else had any experience with these cars? they seem mighty cheap and have many features for a small sum (~8-9k). Hows the quality, spare parts $ and fuel economy?

Cheers
RWD > FWD

The decision is easy.
Ive been told that out of either a Eunos, Lancer, or Silvia - the best bag for your buck lies in the latter.
I know maxe is a fanboy but has anyone else had any experience with these cars? they seem mighty cheap and have many features for a small sum (~8-9k). Hows the quality, spare parts $ and fuel economy?

Quality - Good cars
Spare parts - Can be Costly but decent, well it is costly compared to aussie cars.
Fuel Economy - Depends if its a turbo or not and if you're a heavy foot.

They came out in the CA18 and the SR20

SR20 > CA18.

I can probably get you a decently priced one, cos mates sell these.

if you're interested msn me.

also CA18DET manuals(turbo) are worth around the $6k mark stock

SR20 manuals are around the $8-9K for stock ones again.

and if people reckon these prices are too low, go check out the auctions, thats one of the few places.

last edited by Suhaib at 21:46:09 24/Aug/05
SR20 > CA18.

Pfft you know nothing.
Decimate
yeah, sifnt ca!
I think i have a milk bottle in the fridge that's 2.0L
Oh god...
Decimate
I have a washing machine that's 5.0L...
actually im not a fanboy

I bought it cos it had everything i wanted in a car at the time (blown, FR, cheap, driftable)

I love them cos theyre fun, fast, and i own one.
the sivlia is easily the better car (even the non turbo)

u just have to pay for the priviledge

everyting costs more with an import
servicing
insurance
maintenance

but they are better cars

its up to you josh
id personally go the silvia over the other cars listed
but if i wanted a real car id go something nice, like a 4 door skyline
I think i have a milk bottle in the fridge that's 2.0L

Its skim isn't it?
When it comes to Silvia's, you can't go past the saint model...

LightAssassin
My mother has a M500 Eunos... beautiful car.

Great to drive when it's maintained correctly, leather seats, climate control, very light on fuel (you can drive like 20km with the fuel light on as my dad found).

They appear to be auto only, but you can always change engine for a Turbo one out of a MX6 or similar with a 5 speed.

Parts, they are mostly like the Mazda 626 of the same era, so parts are generally plentiful. Slightly costly if you go straight to Mazda (as always!).

It really is beautiful luxury... And people always find it interesting as there aren't alot around.
the only s***ty thing i can see with these cars is that the plastic bit in between the headlights ages and goes yellow really quickly and makes the whole car look like ass
eunos's are incredibly slow for a 6

i wouldnt touch one

10 seconds to a hundred aint my idea of fun
not after something fast, or turbo - just want good fuel economy and a nice looking car.

I drive my mums new mazda around and im doing 100 in a 60 zone and you dont even realise. No thanks !!!
Decimate
if thats the case you should go teh lancer. i had a mirage and no problems with it and the fuel consumption was great, $30 to fill up and that would last ages. it was a 1.5 but im sure the 1.8 wouldn't be too much more...
go the lancer then
or a mirage, they look pretty spunky if u dont mind folding seats to let peeps in and out of the back

decimates mirage was mine before it was his, and it was a great little car to drive

awesome fun, high chuckability, cheap, reliable, had boomin system, looked ok

My dad used to have a Eunos 500. Great cars.

His was auto though :(

While not super fast they were a really well made and balanced package.

A manual 500 would be sweet :) (2.0 V6)

ABS, Climate control, pretty good stereo, some have leather, power windows etc, Air Bag (maybe bags in later models) probably around ~10k.

Service and parts could be exxy, though alot are shared with 626/MX6

last edited by mission at 23:10:31 24/Aug/05
http://www.boostcruising.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=89989

http://www.boostcruising.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=89728

last edited by Suhaib at 23:14:47 24/Aug/05
Decimate loses, nF wins! :)

[edit] 3" exhaust?! WHAT THE ?#!@$

That would sound like s*** on any car.

last edited by Loki at 23:20:03 24/Aug/05
Decimate
i was trying to win something?
Bah, you lose at life.
die.

last edited by Loki at 23:29:41 24/Aug/05
Decimate
oh, rightio =\
whats with the 150,000+ km's and the pre 1990's bulls*** suhaib lol
Ecstasy
GL trying to find a cheap '93 with < 100,000k's!
my 83 volvo has 180,000 so forgive me if i think that a 90 model with nearly 200,000 is a lot !
i had a 3 inch straight through exhaust on my soarer. it sounded fine. in fact, it sounded awesome. the straight 6 3 litre with a wa chooosh cha cha cha after it, mmm
also lowgoz, 92 vp commodore that i just bought, less than 200,000 on the clock. good value.

20000-25000 km per year is the general average, better than that is awesome, or the cars been off the road for long enough :p
XandraX
Whats the average fuel economy like in a turbo silvia?
quoting suhaib ... " they are s***"

something about the turbo wasting fuel
not s***, far from it
just not as good as as less powerful car

see the petrol thread for maxes fuel economy
Ecstasy
Whats the average fuel economy like in a turbo silvia?

FFS. It depends on how it's driven.
If it's being boosted all the time and driven hard then it'll drink a lot.
If it's driven lightly, and boosted rarely by keeping the revs down, then it'll be comparable to a non-turbo 4 cyl.

Driven hard = More power = more revs = more boost = more fuel
Driven lighty = less power = less revs = less boost = less fuel

As for the turbo wasting fuel, only if its not tuned properly. Turbos give more power by forcing more air into the cylinders therefore allowing more fuel as well.

last edited by Ecstasy at 08:25:00 25/Aug/05
Nah you're wrong ecstasy.

A turbo car sensibly tuned on boost runs what they call "rich and retarded". Some times thats 100% injector duty cycle, not always. Basically lots of fuel, very rich, and retarded timing. Lots of fuel leaves out the exhaust unburnt. That protects the engine from detonating and keeps exhaust gas temps low.

All turbo cars will do this. More boost means significantly more fuel is used.
What is the fuel economy when you have a racing stripe?
km's aren't everything josh.. But mainly if its been looked after and everything working. Km's just give you a slight indication. I mean say just take a turbo silvia, ones done 60000km's and has been thrashed and not looked after, while the 100000 one has been regularly serviced etc etc.

So if you get someone who knows him imports and cars he'd tell you wether its been looked after.
I look after asstroboys mum, despite the number of times she has been in offroad bush bashings
Turbo Silvias have awesome fuel economy if looked after right. I've just passed 400km on my latest tank of fuel and am still sitting on a quarter left - and that included a blast up and down Mt Tamborine the other day ;) Basically I get 500+ km of city/highway combined on a tank of 98 Octane (roughly 45L). And that's with a fair bit of "interesting" driving thrown in. And my car is a long way from stock.

Most of the Silvias that return poor fuel economy are in a poor state of tune, and have rooted O2 sensors - the O2 sensor provides the signals needed for loop-back mode to the ECU, which is responsible for controlling "lean cruise" where the air/fuel mixture is leaned out to conserve fuel.
Splash
[edit] 3" exhaust?! WHAT THE ?#!@$

That would sound like s*** on any car.

You are kidding, right?
get a silvia if u want to be like every other d******* that thinks his car is the best in the world and he is the best drive too, and u gotta have a fully sic system and a rear wing tooo.

In all honesty they are probably good cars, just been tainted by all the d*******s that drive them, probaly like commodores.

Personnaly I drive a 92eb fairmont, get crap fuel economy, but I can have 5 people in the car and still have room to spare.

If it aint got cruise control, climate control, electric windows, I dont want to drive it.

Lancers are descent cars too, had a 99vrx lancer, which yes it did have number plates vrx99, and had it from new to 150 000 k, never had any mechanical problems with it at all.
get a silvia if u want to be like every other d******* that thinks his car is the best in the world and he is the best drive too, and u gotta have a fully sic system and a rear wing tooo

heh, most of those types tend to have non-turbo Silvias. It's quite amusing.

Btw I have no rear wing, and no sik subwoofas. But I do have excellent climate control, power windows, mirrors, etc. :)

last edited by orbitor at 12:31:43 25/Aug/05
Shut up orbitor you d*******.

You make me sad Mr nF :(
Btw I have no rear wing, and no sik subwoofas. But I do have excellent climate control, power windows, mirrors, etc. :)

FTW !!
MtX
cheap and fun car, best value for money sports car around with massive potential for either drift,drag,track or 'street warrior' spec.

lots of dedicated silvia forums:(ns,silviansw,silviawa,nissansilvia.co.nz etc)

The range of aftermarket parts these days is amazing, wish I could afford them all =D

CA/SR/RB/VQ range of engines can all be used, hell ive even seen 1Js etc..

The ONLY downside imo is that you end up going too far with it and it ends up being a weekend warrior only.. coilovers/TB zaust suck for daily driving.

here's my example,
previously a 100% stock 1.8 auto Qs, now 2.0 turbo 5spd Q/K hybrid with estimated 170-180rwkw, need to get it on the dyno still.

http://home.exetel.com.au/redline/garage.jpg

last edited by MtX at 15:47:34 25/Aug/05
Thats so hot.
Very hot car MtX. And Lowgoz if you don't like the front grill going yellow, buy an after market grill and make it look sexy. I would go with the silvia only because I like them over the other cars.
god i love that car mtx

also, buy a 92eb fairmont if you want to be like every other d******* driving around with an arm out the window yelling about how everyone who drives a jap car or has less than 5000cc of displacement is a "f***** ricer plastic car lol"
spot the colour difference!

nice car none the less.
MtX
respray or new turbo,manifold,fmic & boost controller?

Il stick with my choice =P
Should have spent ya money on getting out of Wollongong.

Oh snap.
That's a nice example. I like it.
car could use some oldskool CA headlights while you're at it
That is a very hot silvia indeed. Makes me want one.
Ecstasy
Nah you're wrong ecstasy.

A turbo car sensibly tuned on boost runs what they call "rich and retarded". Some times thats 100% injector duty cycle, not always. Basically lots of fuel, very rich, and retarded timing. Lots of fuel leaves out the exhaust unburnt. That protects the engine from detonating and keeps exhaust gas temps low.

Quite correct. However I should have been more specific and said "obitor tuned™" ...'Cause 500+ km / 45L for a 13 like your's is fkn' impressive!
SD Gundam
That's a nice Silvia.
I so want a Vertex kit, but I'd never make it into my driveway with a front bar like that :( Also, there are so many goodies to buy before a bodykit!
King Of Shibby!
I currently have an NA silvia (not for long bitches) and i love it. They are awesome cars, easy to find aftermarket parts for, not too hard to work on, and they are damn sexy and can go damn fast (With the right engine, SR <3)

www.driftpig.com for deatils of my baby and some info on the build up.
If you want bang for you buck, upgrades/repairs that are readibly available then get the silvia.

People bag em out so much, but they are worth the money.
Bj

You suck German, what would you know.

Buy my GTR
applor
eunos's are incredibly slow for a 6

Erm, depends on which Eunos.
If you go the Eunos 30X, its a small 2 door coupe with a 1.8L V6.
Its quite fast stock.
Get a motorbik instead. Faster, cheaper to run.
I'd get the diesel model Silvia to save on fuel.
59fifty
What about a supercharged 1.8l Diesel silvia nigs? no really... fowles are a buncha dumbzubs..

http://www.fowles.com.au/auctions/lot.aspx?Auction=DQP7&Number=1793065
wolfieee
Bang for your buck you can't go past a silvia, but you're also in for higher insurance rates, higher prices for parts / panels in the event of an accident or mechanical failure, but then you may enjoy the car more than lets say a mitsubishi mirage because the silvia affords you a bit more performance.

With the way petrol prices are going i'd go so far as to say an excel or small car is definitely the cheaper option and will allow you to put your money elsewhere, eg. savings, computer, house, holiday....

Out of the cars you chose i can think of some other options which may interest you. Corolla GT FX - 4age motor in a 2 door import, panels, doors, parts are all interchangable with models here, but the car is lighter than a GT corolla. 4k will buy you one of these corolla's.

Older telstar 2.2L, would give a NA silvia a run for its money, cheaper on parts as well and insurance than an import.

mx5 import, nice little cars, handle like they're on rails, good power to weight, parts are easy to find even though its an import, many are interchangable here with our current models.

Definitely worth looking at some of your options :)

Cheers
i really like the look of the mx-5's with the hardtop espically - but i really cant find one for my pricerange ($10,000).. any ideas ??

Cheers for your comments wolfiee
get an mx-5 then u can drive over and cut my hair Lowgoz
applor
The only way you're getting a good MX-5 for that money is if you import. Try prestige motorsport, few ppl and myself have imported through Geoff.
http://www.prestigemotorsport.com.au/

And due to the fact the 15 year rule is out, theres a few MX-5's already in Australia and can still be bought under the rule (due to prior purchase)
Heres a few of the current availables:

http://www.prestigemotorsport.com.au/au/stock/details.asp?StockID=3214
http://www.prestigemotorsport.com.au/au/stock/details.asp?StockID=3213
http://www.prestigemotorsport.com.au/au/stock/details.asp?StockID=3136
http://www.prestigemotorsport.com.au/au/stock/details.asp?StockID=2722

The last one I linked is a hard top and is available for immediate import. This means it will take about 2 months to have it here and through customs. Its $8,100 landed so add $1000 for compliancing and then your rego and insurance means you will have it on the road for under 10k.

last edited by applor at 15:41:15 26/Aug/05
mx5 = girls car.

i don't think the fx gt's came out in auto's...

but i'll vouch for the 4age... I gave mine such a hammering... was still running perfectly until the day i sold it. Nothing like 8000rpm Clutch droppages :)
Get this one
http://www.prestigemotorsport.com.au/au/stock/details.asp?StockID=3293
S15 turbo lovin :)
Corolla GT FX - 4age motor in a 2 door import, panels, doors, parts are all interchangable with models here, but the car is lighter than a GT corolla. 4k will buy you one of these corolla's.
You wont be able to pick an fx gt for 4k, they go for at least 6 - 8 g's. Sure they're not much different than the gti/sx's except for 2 the doors, sunroof (sometimes), nova like headlights, lack of filler panel and side mirrors but they're still more expensive being an import.... here's a riced up version just fyi:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v104/zeezee/91_1_b.jpg

last edited by Booyah at 16:27:44 26/Aug/05
Red
http://projectstripe.com/red/garagelol.jpg
http://maxe.ausgamers.com/dump/cam_rblol.jpg
sigh
posting in this thread is a sign of <3 for SR's great and small
Ecstasy
Sifn't CA nubs!