Kilos
So I've become really f***ing sick of buying my meat at supermarkets. The quality is s***, and often the prices really aren't that good most of the time. I'm willing to pay a bit more for good quality meat and fish, but I don't really know of any top-draw butchers around town. I'm wanting a place to buy good quality free-range chicken, as well as good quality beef. I'm happy to pay extra, but not ridiculous prices. I'm hoping to strike a good quality:price ratio. The same goes for a good fishmonger. I live in Mitchelton, so the closer we can get to that the better. Suggestions? |
| #0 10:04am 14/04/08 |
Northsiders - Let's talk Man Meat fixed |
| #1 10:05am 14/04/08 |
dude, find your local markets and go see them on a saturday morning
we get the best meat evar from the rocklea markets (black angus steaks, pork fillets, even super nice chicken) we buy all our meat/vege and eggs form the markets on saturday mornings, works out cheaper and you get quality produce; dunno where they would be on the northside, but find em; last edited by Spook at 11:23:57 14/Apr/08 |
| #2 11:23am 14/04/08 |
do you have to get to the markets by 5am to get the best cuts etc or is it like all day? when i went to mt gravatt markets the good stuff was gone by 6am!
| #3 10:13am 14/04/08 |
BOHEMION
Could try
Rode Meats Cnr Rode & Appleby Rd Stafford Heights QLD 4053 ph: (07) 3359 7425 But if you are really keen Jack Purcell Meats at Virginia are worth the trip. I live 45mins North of Brisbane and i always head there. Edit: Oh ive been told too also recommend Keperra Meat Centre 63 Gilston St, Keperra last edited by BOHEMION at 10:19:18 14/Apr/08 |
| #4 10:19am 14/04/08 |
the markets do sell out, but our guy still has nice meat until like 9 depending on what you are after;
sometimes we miss out on the pork fillets or chicken if its a busy day if we go at our normal time between 7 and 8 we get what we need! scored some lamb shanks this saturday, cant wait to cook them up in the slowcooker! |
| #5 10:17am 14/04/08 |
Jack Purcell awesome quality, cheap maet also the amount of women that are usually there, the place is like a meat market end thread, thread over etc |
| #6 10:25am 14/04/08 |
ahh i'm only getting home at that time spooky
| #7 10:25am 14/04/08 |
WreckTim
2nd purcells, i love that place.
| #8 10:26am 14/04/08 |
Ahh yea agreed with Jack Purcells, awesome meat, couldn't remember the name before
| #9 10:29am 14/04/08 |
Herron
There are Farmer's Markets the 1st Sunday of every month in Blackwood St if you didn't know (same one as the Powerhouse markets). Rumps are usually like $11/kg. I got boneless leg of lamb for $9/kg last week and tasted awesome. They have pork and chicken too plus all the quality cuts in different price ranges. The sealed bags apparently last for ages so there is no reason you couldn't get a months worth if you have the storage.
| #10 10:33am 14/04/08 |
WreckTim
for hams cant go past gerns, never been there so i dont know what else they have.
| #11 10:33am 14/04/08 |
Kilos
Holy lord - Jack Purcells looks incredible. Problem solved I think!
Also, didn't know about the farmers markets. Just around the corner too. Thanks for the heads up. Now what about fish?... haha. |
| #12 10:36am 14/04/08 |
WreckTim
i dont like seafood that much, but my mate gets the best prawns from a place at sandgate.
| #13 11:03am 14/04/08 |
groganus
as previously mentioned markets are the best source for fish and meat, alternatively there are organic butchers located around the place but they tend to be really exspensive.
| #14 11:13am 14/04/08 |
blahnana
Which suburb is Blackwood St in?
| #15 11:28am 14/04/08 |
Herron
Mitchelton
| #16 11:36am 14/04/08 |
Anono
unlucky to be on the northside, for oh so many reasons. IF you were or are willing to do a bit of driving there are 2 awesome places almost next to each other that cater to exactly what you want.
they are in bulimba area. The fish markets just off lyton rd, open EVERYDAY, fresh fish is actually taken from the traulers into the place so its as fresh as can be and cheap as chips (though you cant buy those :( ) then just a bit further down the road off thynne is a driect to public butcher. best meat in brisbane, comes from the darling downs and is also cheap as chips. you dont always have to pay more to get the good stuff. and you also dont have to get up at the crack of dawn like at the markets on a sat/sun. tho thats were we get fruit and veg. |
| #17 11:48am 14/04/08 |
2nd vote for Rode Rd Butcher. The guy who runs it used to be an olympic boxer, and i'm pretty sure he beats the s*** out of the beasts as they come through the door. (steaks are reaaall tender)
| #18 11:52am 14/04/08 |
sLiNky
Vote one for Jack Purcell. I live about a km away. Every morning someone goes for a drive to get fresh bacon, bread and eggs. Sexiest bacon in town.
Also, buy the sausage mince from there as well. Buy the pork mince and Beef mince, mix the two together, add in your own herbs and sauces and make your own sausage rolls. You will never find a nicer sausage roll. But if you want to travel another km up the road from Jacks, you have gerns butcher on Bohot st, geebung. They don't have much of a a range but the meat you get from there is top quality. |
| #19 01:17pm 14/04/08 |
PRO--GEM
I go to the meat man @ brookside shopping center to buy eye fillet. I have found it to be very good. He sells several other decent cuts of steak as well.
| #20 01:22pm 14/04/08 |
meat man at brookside next to woolies has good stuff
| #21 01:23pm 14/04/08 |
Vote one for Jack Purcell. I live about a km away. Every morning someone goes for a drive to get fresh bacon, bread and eggs. Sexiest bacon in town. are you all really, really fat? bacon every day is bad enough but driving to 1000 meters to get it .. |
| #22 01:32pm 14/04/08 |
I like to see my beef slaughtered personally, or I buy off P&M meats @ Deception Bay, the owner sources nearly all his beef from his farms (which I've been to plenty of times) or my brothers farm.
Good peace of mind. how can you afford meat, chub?I get it free, Marko owns 6 butcher shops and has 3 cattle farms... he's a personal friend of the family FTW. My bogan brother is literally best mates with him (despite the 25 year age difference) so when he bought 900 acres out kilcoy, the butcher started slapping his own cattle on his land. Free meat FTW. last edited by CHUB at 13:40:08 14/Apr/08 |
| #23 01:40pm 14/04/08 |
how can you afford meat, chub?
| #24 01:35pm 14/04/08 |
Rode Rd (at the was Bilo is now Coles), Gern's (on a hill near Purcells) and Jack Purcells.
Personally, Rode Rd is the pick, except for Hams then Gerns is the bomb. Purcells is cheaper but I think Rode Rd is better. |
| #25 01:48pm 14/04/08 |
If I'm buying good steak, I'll usually get it across the road from work at the James St Markets butcher, and buy a nice cryovaced angus beef steak, or if I'm feeling rich a kobe wagyu number.
If I'm buying for the smoker, then I go to a cheap bulk meat place as the cheapest meats taste the best done in the smoker. |
| #26 01:59pm 14/04/08 |
I'm interested in this Jack Purcell place. What are the prices like there?
| #27 02:03pm 14/04/08 |
father buys stuff from warburtons on graham road, good if your just that bit further out like me.
| #28 02:24pm 14/04/08 |
we paid $22 for a slab of rib eye on saturday, got 5 decent steaks out of it (at jack purcell)
the meat was 11ty billion times better than any steak you'd buy from coles or woolies etc also a f*** load cheaper 2 steaks at woolies will set you back $10 or $15 |
| #29 02:25pm 14/04/08 |
Teq, you're talking about Jack Purcell, yeah? If so, I'll have to duck over there some time this week.
| #30 02:26pm 14/04/08 |
lol buying meat at a supermarket?
You got to be able to personally quiz the seller about the product, if you can't, FAIL. I find it very hard to buy meat if I don't personally know the farm or at least the location, if you're buying QLD product (which you should for obvious reasons) it's pretty easy to narrow down the quality... know where's its grown, what's (+how long) it's fed and where it's been slaughtered... also knowing when the beast has been cut up is very important, if you don't ask the butcher that personally it seems a bit silly. I would rather day old blade, before 7 day old rib eye no matter what the circumstance. Speaking of food being s*** - does anyone know how to make fruit & veg or bread last more than 2 days? Tried woolies, coles, local markets.... everything f***ing goes off... I have kind of given up on fruit and veg, because whenever I buy it, it just goes gross if you don't eat it immediately. Tell that to the f***ing government ads "go for 5 and 2" how bout f***ing go for just the 1 that isn't moldy?? can you f***ing useless farmers even do that???? I don't eat veg, but for salad I need to do 3 shops a week... salad will not last 7 days no matter what. You put in the effort and you will be rewarded, buy a small lettuce (fancy?), capsicum/mushrooms/tomato for the next 2 - 3 days... etc. It's a c***, but yeah, food is meant to be eaten off the tree/out of the ground, not stored. Nature wins. last edited by CHUB at 14:40:06 14/Apr/08 |
| #31 02:40pm 14/04/08 |
Speaking of food being s*** - does anyone know how to make fruit & veg or bread last more than 2 days? Tried woolies, coles, local markets.... everything f***ing goes off... I have kind of given up on fruit and veg, because whenever I buy it, it just goes gross if you don't eat it immediately. Tell that to the f***ing government ads "go for 5 and 2" how bout f***ing go for just the 1 that isn't moldy?? can you f***ing useless farmers even do that????
| #32 02:34pm 14/04/08 |
yeah Midda
if you spend $200 or more at jack purcell you get 5% or 10% off (not for the normal consumer obviously but still handy to know) my parents run one of those bbq's outside bunnings on the weekends and jack purcell supplies the sausage, they have have done for the past 8 years or so now they go through some 50kg of snags a weekend |
| #33 02:37pm 14/04/08 |
My fruit and veg lasts a bit longer than 2 days. Are you refrigerating?
| #34 02:38pm 14/04/08 |
no, they say not to
| #35 02:45pm 14/04/08 |
idol you should turn off your pc
and never turn it back on, ever |
| #36 02:56pm 14/04/08 |
DVE 81
youre a wanker CHUB.
| #37 03:13pm 14/04/08 |
+1 Rode Rd Butchers. +1 Purcell's. |
| #38 03:20pm 14/04/08 |
orly?
You're a wanker if you buy mystery products that you have no info about IMO. That's like noobs that buy "homebrand" products that are sourced from china, enjoy your cancer. |
| #39 03:22pm 14/04/08 |
i aqquire all my meat products at work
next to nothing (if not free) delivered straight to me ahh the life of a chef |
| #40 03:30pm 14/04/08 |
I would rather day old blade, before 7 day old rib eye no matter what the circumstance. I assume you mean day old / 7 day old as how long they've been sitting at the counter, and not how long since it got slaughtered... |
| #41 03:38pm 14/04/08 |
I assume you mean day old / 7 day old as how long they've been sitting at the counter, and not how long since it got slaughtered...Either way stinky... when they were slaughtered, when the beast was cut up in the butcher shop, how long they have been in the window. All relevant questions IMO. Something in the window for 3 days has probably been hanging out back as a carcass for a week and was probably slaughtered another week before that. I know a lot of shops like to hang their carcasses for a few weeks, but if I don't know the shop I don't really trust them. |
| #42 03:45pm 14/04/08 |
http://www.oldukphotos.com/graphics/Wales Photos/Flintshire, Mold, John Price Butcher.jpg
Harden the f*** up chub. |
| #43 04:03pm 14/04/08 |
just like a chub
| #44 04:10pm 14/04/08 |
Either way stinky... when they were slaughtered, when the beast was cut up in the butcher shop, how long they have been in the window. Definately all very relevent questions, Most meats benefit from hanging for days, sometimes weeks between slaughter and cutting up. I believe the general rule of thumb for beef is 10-14 days. This allows the enzymes released time to break down the tough tissues and make the meat more tender. It read to me like you were suggesting we should be eating the meat the day after slaughter, which would mean it would need to be chopped up before even rigor mortis passed which would make for some tough ass meat. |
| #45 04:21pm 14/04/08 |
Good place for fish i've found is the seafood shop at virginia on the corner of sandgate road and gympie st. We eat there probably once or twice a week for lunch and the quality is always good.
| #46 04:47pm 14/04/08 |
where the hell does gympie and sandgate rd intersect!?
| #47 04:53pm 14/04/08 |
that place that used to be called the mad crab or something?
| #48 04:55pm 14/04/08 |
gympie st != gympie rd gaz, its near virginia state school (and the train station)
| #49 04:56pm 14/04/08 |
| #50 04:58pm 14/04/08 |
I'm not a northsider, but I've had good experiences from warburtons as someone mentioned above
| #51 06:19pm 14/04/08 |
Sorta makes me miss the life I had as a kid (grew up on a cane farm with cattle as well). We butchered our own back (mostly Hereford/Santa Gertrudis) then I can honestly say that I miss the fresh cuts we'd have that night. I can vouch that it was quite tender. It's different getting your meat from a shop insofar as the beast was prolly stressed to all hell going into a slaughter yard.
Me Ol man would just walk into the yards after we mustered em, line up the the kill with his silenced .22 an that was it, you'd literally have to shoo the rest of the cattle away more often than not cause they didn't know one of had just been dropped. We'd bleed it out, throw it up on the joist on the back of the tractor an roll over to the shed where we had a huge cold room an butchering setup. FYI - f*** grain fed cattle.. feed em sugar cane for a week :P |
| #52 07:10pm 14/04/08 |
I kept hearing about how good Jack Purcell's was meant to be, I was sorely disappointed by it when I actually went.
The quality is far from good, they're just a bulk seller which cater's to bogans who think its good because its not in coles or woolies. I still think that butchers at clayfield markets, cnr sandgate and junction road is the best butchers in the northside at least. The rumps are as big as a baby and its the most tender beef I've had and continue to have. I reckon its more to do with how they actually let the meat hang for the right amount of time before they chop it up and sell it. Never been disappointed with the quality there. If they're a 10, jack purcells is a 5, coles is a 4 (only cos the price is so much more then jack purcells), same quality imo. |
| #53 07:28pm 14/04/08 |
Paging dangles to this thread.
| #54 07:30pm 14/04/08 |
wow, i live like 2mins from clayfield markets butcher and never bought meat from there. maybe i'll have to check it out :O
| #55 07:37pm 14/04/08 |
Pharcyde: it all tastes the same |
| #56 07:46pm 14/04/08 |
Jack Purcell, just down the road is the number one choice. Then the butcher at Farmer Joe's @ Kedron.
| #57 08:01pm 14/04/08 |
funny you should mention my name..
| #58 08:51pm 14/04/08 |
whereabouts do u live in the Nortsieeede Obes?
props to the ppls who suggested the Rode Rd Meatwerx |
| #59 10:22pm 14/04/08 |
+1 Jack Purcell's
| #60 10:41pm 14/04/08 |
Kanga-Bangers and Skippy-Steak?
| #61 11:25pm 14/04/08 |
Holy s*** it worked :P
| #62 08:46am 15/04/08 |
some classic names in that dangles thread
| #63 08:48am 15/04/08 |
It's really hard to read Einstein's old posts and not feel a sense of irony.
| #64 10:50am 15/04/08 |
Fubar
if you are willing to buy in bulk or organise a few people to buy i can get cartons of meat from my work. rumps are between 5-7 bucks a kilo and cube rolls 12 bucks.
| #65 08:39am 16/04/08 |
where do you work man?
also do they sell whole crivaxed eye fillets, say like 1-2 kg's so u can cut em extra thick urself? fpot:- ahahahah, funnier if -his- name back then was actually dangles. last edited by GaZ at 13:03:06 16/Apr/08 |
| #66 01:03pm 16/04/08 |
if you are willing to buy in bulk or organise a few people to buy i can get cartons of meat from my work. rumps are between 5-7 bucks a kilo and cube rolls 12 bucks.No amway for us thanks. |
| #67 05:54pm 16/04/08 |
flatmates parents own a beef farm, so we are pretty set :D
| #68 07:31pm 16/04/08 |
sLiNky
Nope. No one is fat. Not really big either. We are all pretty slim in this family. So no, not really. And yes, we still drive because we all have to get ready for work and don't have the time to walk/ride Bring on the bacon! |
| #69 12:44am 17/04/08 |
It's really hard to read Einstein's old posts and not feel a sense of irony. i found it hard not to add "HEY EINY, POWER IS f***ING YOUR GIRLFRIEND" |
| #70 02:47am 17/04/08 |
| #70 |