Topic: Good places to teach a n00b how to drive
Gesthemene
Hey guys, my girlfriend is looking to get her licence, but she's really nervous about driving on main roads etc at this stage.

Does anyone know of any locations (ideally around Tarragindi/Annerley) that I could take her for her first few runs etc?
shopping center car parks early in the morning
Furgle
Gateway during peak hour. Drive 5kph in a straight line for 10 seconds. stop. repeat.
i taught petal to drive in teh fairfield gardens carpark;

security rocked up once, asked what we were doing and let us keep going;

taught decimate to drive in the back carpark at mt gravatt central

Denny
Not around annerley but if you head down ipswich road and then up the western freeway and get off at Sumner Park industrial complex. On the weekends and late at night it should be pretty f***ing dead and as a bonus there's even some good places to practice hillstarts (trust me I know). After a few weekends of that she should be good to go on quieter residential streets and then from there normal driving.
ham water
brisbane entertainment centre
crazymorton
my old man taught me out at Pinkenba on sundays
very quiet
Pinkenba

heh

Toombul carpark, just across the creek. Do that for 10-15 then hit the backstreets around Nundah
mscactus
I gave Mav some lessons in the car park of the supermarket at Laidley and let him drive around some of the quiet back streets out there. VERY scary experience really.
boffiend
What Denny said.

I also clocked up a few hours out in moggil / brookfield / pullenvale areas when I was learning. During the day it's pretty quiet out there.
maxe is right

1st time i drove on the streets (had driven on large properties before) we were in wynnum (lol) and dad handed me the keys and said 'you're driving'. wynnum -> chermside over the gateway

did alright too. was pretty nervous that i'd hit someone but its pretty hard to go wrong in a camry auto.

taught my brother in my steet late one night (expect 3 non-residents cars per day) and went from there

last edited by Mr Hardware at 14:53:47 18/Mar/08
For the first few. Even a footy field will do. Wide open places, with no people or objects to hit.
I started at the industrial estate near Browns Plains... Not that that helps when you live at Tarragindi.

Try the roof at Greenslopes shopping centre, or perhaps Mt Gravatt after hours.
Gesthemene
That's awesome guys, thanks very much for the advice.

Will probably start her out around the Fairfield Gardens carpark, and then step up to the Sumner Park Industrial Complex to get her used to actual road driving etc..

See how she goes, if she's doing well, then I might get her to do some back-street driving around there.

edit: spelling

last edited by Gesthemene at 15:30:13 18/Mar/08
mt nebo any night of the week, be there or be square
(ideally around Tarragindi/Annerley)

Holland Park is full of people learning to drive these days. nice 'n' quiet area
Doesn't Yerongapilly have an industrial area near the train station?

I learnt hill starts in Westend/Hill end :D Hard core!
Around Mt Cootha is good too - Simpsons falls, etc down the bottom have some nice big carparks that you can do big loops of, etc.

Failing that the BBC ovals are always a good option if you're looking to practice your 360's
The moon.
boffiend
yeah jmr mt coottha is good for practicing cornering / control around bends etc, but I'd wait a bit before taking a learner up there :P Some of the corners around there have nothing but sheer drop-offs on the outside of them.
Griffith uni car park is where i first learnt to change gears.
I learn to change gears when I was like 8. Sif you don't sit in the front seat and change them for the driver.
I didn't know what a manual was until I was 8
nor did i know you could get cars without air conditioning
i went for a ride in my uncle's kingswood ute to the dump on a hot day
Poogay
Drive around the industrial area around Moorooka...just behind the Moorooka Pizza Hut.
Sorry, Kat, should have said got familiar with the clutch... but im sure you knew exactly what i was talking about.
forget cootha

mt nebo/glorious
Went last night to Redcliffe just at the jetty carparks & down to anzac for a first drive.
Don't ride Cootha when ur a nube... I learned the hard and painful way :(
Dodgymon
Magnesium Drive Browns Plains at around sat 11pm-midnight
some nice big carparks that you can do big loops of

more like tight, smokey loops RIGHT GUYS

;)
i went for a ride in my uncle's kingswood ute to the dump on a hot day

and? I drive a kingswood ute and in summer it's colder in there than it is in my commodore that I never drive (which has broken aircon :p).

edit:
mt nebo/glorious

f*** that noise, my car barely fit on the road up there the last time I went up there, is it still narrow/gravelly and under construction?

last edited by whoop at 23:41:57 18/Mar/08
Just hack around the backstreets for a few days, she'll be right.
it was just the first time i experienced a car without air-con, whoop.
first time in a car without LPG too I'll bet.
nope
in fact, i've only ever once driven an lpg car that wasn't a cab or ex-cab
For the first few. Even a footy field will do. Wide open places, with no people or objects to hit.
Please don't drive on footy fields; for the first time in like 2 years we've had enough rain so that sports fields aren't dry brown dirt bowls, and the longer we can keep grass on them the better
go play.. Daytoonnnaaaa, its motor racing!

That's all they need, bit of sega rally, daytona and shaaazzaamm! u have a roadworthy candidate.