Topic: Reccomend a 4wd ute
I know there are a few 4wd buffs out here, and i'm lookin for a dual cab 4wd ute type setup. Can be new, or can be maybe a yr or so old, but nothin over about 20,000km.

Atm i'm lookin at the new nissan nivara 2.5l turbo diesel, not really too fussed whether its diesel or petrol but fuel ecconomy would be useful for campin trips.

If anyone suggests the new triton they need to be sackwhacked.
http://webmaster.beverleypaine.com/images/subaru_brumby_before.jpg
hi stinkyy!!!!!!

but yea, my boss just got a new navara and it has blown me away with its build quality and awesomeness on the road as opposed to the old navara.

i think it has a 6 speed auto which is just silky smooth and you cant even feel the shifts.. also they fixed the turning circle which used to be b-double esque with the old one. and the turbo diesel has stacks of grunt.. and has a front mount intercooler woohoo.

first 4wd iv driven and not immediately wanted to spew. wd nissan

last edited by scooby at 17:38:07 28/Feb/08

last edited by scooby at 17:39:09 28/Feb/08
get a toyota hilux, they survive falling off the top of demolished skyscrapers.
Pre-2002 Hilux. Good luck finding one with less the 20,000km though. Newer ones are not built as good and cost more then they're worth.
We have the Triton's at work and i'd prefer them over the Nivara. (Though I have heard -some- good things about the New Model Nivara's)

I would suggest GU Patrol Ute if you didn't need Dual-Cab... Cut down GU Patrol Wagon anyone?
Paging Jim?
Toyota Hilux..
navara, hilux, rodeo, bt-6

not a lot of difference between them really, I doubt you'd be anything but happy no matter which one you picked.

personally I'd lean toward the navara cos I like nissan's attitude toward building 4wd's better than the other brands - at least with the patrol. with the patrol they just looked at the previous model and what broke on it, and said ok let's make the c*** bigger this time and over-engineered those components.

don't buy any of them thinking they'll be particularly tough though. hilux's were never really anywhere near as tough as people make out, and the last few models with independant front ends and weaker diffs are a lot softer than the older ones with live axles

the top gear episode with the hilux is a crock when it comes to how long the hilux you buy and use day to day will last. I can guarantee you that if those topgear guys gave me that hilux and told me to break it, I would have it done by morning tea just by driving it on some 4wd tracks I know
I don't like the 4x4 tritons. turning circle of the QEII
newer ones are not built as good and cost more then they're worth.

no no no, thats why he'll (i assume he) just decide it doesnt matter that much with older hilux's and get one anyway
I agree with Scooby!

The sad thing is, I actually recognise that exact suby! It's a guy down in NSW ( or is it Vic? ) who shoehorned in an EJ22 engine and some other cool bits, he recently sold it on ebay.

last edited by stinky at 18:25:20 28/Feb/08
+1 Hilux. Go camping in my mate's all the time, most of the time on 2 wheel drive and economy mode on the beach.
arclore
4by

Add to My Profile | More Videos
I'd be going for a navara or rodeo. f*** the new hilux' they're s***.
Heard on the news on nova this morning that Navara's are apparently the worst for having collisions in.. not sure if this is the new navara's or not tho.
yeah my uncle had a little 4wd turbo subi and the thing used to hammer hard! It needs to be kinda professional though cause its a company car to get around to construction sites.

At least i'll be able to make it over cattle grids into site now, rather than in my 200sx which is about 70mm off the ground..

edit:- me fail english? thats unpossible.
I want a big tough ute too... to replace my girly suzuki baleno lol
i'm half thinking of putting airbag suspension on it, cause it'll be novated lease.. drop it on the testicles around the city :P
get a big red landcruiser
yeah i was thinkin landy, although i dont really want something that big.. And i probly shouldnt get a bigger 4be than my bosses pathfinder.
do it. red is the colour of the people!
you will crush him
yea i heard the report the navara got was only half a star or something safety wise.. they even went as far as to recommend it being recalled
s*** hey

http://news.theage.com.au/nissan-navara-panned-in-safety-review/20080228-1vei.html

http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,23288305-13232,00.html
wow those reviews of it are really bad, only half a star for safety, i'd say steer clear of that one then gaz :P
lucky i wont be drivin a family around in it! maybe people from the family at 4am :P
I drive a Hilux at work and I can strongly recommend it UNLESS you're really tall (like over 6'2"), because you can't get far enough back from the pedals. My foot tends to cramp on long drives. I hear that's a problem in most utes though.
What year, specs? i'm kinda lookin for a turbo diesel, and something that'll look a bit tough aswell.. Jet black nivara, dark tint with chrome bull bar n roll cage + added factor of unsafety = win
a long wheel base pajero is more useful imo, can carry more gear than any ute can.

for instance 2 x 13Bs

http://images.projectstripe.com/pajero/13bplural.jpg
a ute wouldn't have engine restraint harnesses either
I'd stick with diesel as Oil just went over $100 again today.
thank god diesel doesn't come from crude oil
^ I know and I agree but any advantage in mileage is worth investing in.
thank god diesel doesn't come from crude oil

what is your answer then, LPG?

HAHAHHA
YUP

also diesel has a higher oil content per litre than petrol
i have a fuel card anyways, i'm just lazy and cant be farked fillin up so often.
lpg is so good that everyone's doing it
There was the 1998 Ford Ranger EV which was probably the worlds first Road Legal Electric Ute.

http://img341.imageshack.us/img341/3664/gsfrchargedoorquarterix0.jpg

It was identical looking to the standard Ford Ranger but it didnt use a drop of oil. Unfortunately it had a very low (but solid) mileage of 105 kilometres per charge with the now infamous NiMH battery.

http://img166.imageshack.us/img166/2705/450pxgsfravconconnectedde8.jpg

Sadly after the California ZEV mandate was overturned in 2002 the Rangers were all recalled on their lease-only agreements and were crushed/shredded with all the GM EV1's, Honda EV+'s and Ford Th!nk's. The 1997 Toyota Rav4 EV's (approx 300) were the only EV's to escape the crusher and are still driving on California roads today with the original battery packs getting 180 klms per charge.

caught an interesting show about that on cable the other week
ne1 know or heard much about the toyta surfs ?
the diseasel spewing, slow, expensive to run, decade and a half old toyota surfs?
I've heard plenty about them, but they're right outside the specs you stated earlier
It was identical looking to the standard Ford Ranger but it didnt use a drop of oil.

how does it lubricate it's drivetrain? teflon? :P
the diseasel spewing, slow, expensive to run, decade and a half old toyota surfs?

The Majority of which have been imported from Japan with their low Km's all done by running the engine for hours on end while standing still in traffic.

Those Surfs?
in fact all of which have been imported. those are the ones.
3x0dus
4runner is similar to a surf, but lacks the Turbo. (gutless) but not too bad on fuel.

I have an 07 Hilux Dual Cab, Love it =].
Can do plenty of mods to them, checkout some ride pics @ http://www.newhilux.net
The Majority of which have been imported from Japan with their low Km's all done by running the engine for hours on end while standing still in traffic.

their low km all done with a small flat head screw driver, more like.
i rate the front grill on this one - http://www.newhilux.net/rides.php?id=173

does that come as an option or mod 3x?
pyro
ne1 know or heard much about the toyta surfs ?

avoid at all costs...
i'm leaning more towards the hilux's n nivara's atm.. Wonder if my boss would care if it had 22's on it with low profile tires!

how would those tires go on the beach you reckon jim/co. ? Dont think i'd be takin it bush too much, but would be towing a pretty decent sized boat.
Wonder if my boss would care if it had 22's on it with low profile tires!

/facepalm

(Edit for clarity)

last edited by Scooter at 18:27:02 29/Feb/08
yeah probly man :P

edit:- you gotta realise its a novated lease though, so the truck is my name..
practically any tyre is fine on the beach as long as you drop the pressure down to about 18psi, low profile ones on 22" rims included. it's all about the length of the contact patch. width helps, but nowhere near as much as the length. even pizza cutters will work great on sand if you drop them to about 18psi. carry a compressor! about $200-400 for a decent 12volt one

lower profile tyres on 22" rims will be pretty crap anywhere else off road, but if you're not gonna go bush much then it's no drama

last edited by Jim at 19:23:57 29/Feb/08
3x0dus
its a mod gaz, ebay sells heaps of different styles.

i have a bushranger pro air, not bad compressor for the price (about $250).
heaps faster then the last POS supercheap one i had, never again.

Will be getting one of the new ARB compressors/tank setups in engine bay, for rear diff locks and tyres to replace the portable eventually.

last edited by 3x0dus at 00:57:18 02/Mar/08
Monaro
Some navara got recalled the other day, something to do with the safety of the airbag. I would def go desiel over petrol. Make sure its a turbo, most are these days. Just get bigger tyres on it not bigger mags, tyres look better in the end, its a 4wd not a sports car.
you gotta realise i drive around town all day.. airbag suspension and 22's = phat.
f***ing soccer mums. :p
Say no to diseasels.
from what I read, the market is waking up to things and vehicle manufacturers are now selling more and more cars with lpg, particularly in europe. even in aus there's more and more new cars showing up with an lpg engine option and in the US a bunch of new lpg engines which surpass even the US emissions laws will hit the market this year

wait, I mean diesel not lpg
if it weren't for the lower taxation laws on diseasel in europe, far less cars would be diesel.

just like if it weren't for the lower taxation laws on lpg in australia, far less cars would be on lpg.

Just like most europeans go for diesels cos the fuel is cheaper, so should more australians go for LPG cos the fuel is cheaper.
Lets let Richard Hammond explain it to you.
haha, a pro-lpg website's out of date propaganda document

actions speak louder than sponsorship deals
from what I read, the market is waking up to things and vehicle manufacturers are now selling more and more cars with lpg, particularly in europe. even in aus there's more and more new cars showing up with an lpg engine option and in the US a bunch of new lpg engines which surpass even the US emissions laws will hit the market this year

wait, I mean diesel not lpg

The only thing out of date are the prices of fuel. Everything else is accurate. Also, where's the sponsorship deals mentioned? In the cars and bikes section you linked, it mentions two Land Rovers.
they ribbed him about it on top gear and he sheepishly refrained from actually saying he didn't get paid
not to mention the feel and presentation of the document itself, I mean wake up and smell the ethyl mercaptan

The only thing out of date are the prices of fuel. Everything else is accurate. In the cars and bikes section you linked, it mentions two Land Rovers.
the point of that link was, where are the LPG cars? what happened to his lpg rangie?

and most of the rest of the document is far from accurate, particularly with regard emissions and noise

this is a pro-lpg propaganda document, printed by an organisation/s who've mistakenly chosen their means of making a living
i prefer the smell of ethyl mercaptan to the smell of petrol
i hadn't filled up a petrol car for about a year before i got my work commodore
and i filled it up with petrol for the first time, and i was like 'phoar, whats that smell' and it was the petrol.
also, what's inaccurate about the emissions and the noise? My car is quieter on LPG at idle, if only because of a lack of injector tick. I think the article is very accurate.
Even though LPG cars are greener, I dont care. My last car had no catalytic converter or pollution gear.
Also, it doesn't say that either of those Rangie's listed aren't LPG.

last edited by Mr Hardware at 12:41:41 03/Mar/08
I'm sure you do prefer the smell because you're a CRAZY MAN

his lpg rangie isn't in that list, there's just his two landies - no, it's not a blurring of models, he has an old series 1 landy and a v8 110 series and his missus has a TD5 110. his lpg rangie seems to have left his collection. undoubtedly because he realised it wasn't a very good fuel

lpg are greener than what, exactly? what's your definition of green, if it's soley based on emissions, what breakdown of emissions are you referring to? what lpg vehicles are you using as your guide for these emissions comparisons, and what vehicles are you comparing them to?
i have no real idea about LPG emissions differences because i don't care. all i know is the govt doesn't put the excise on it because it is recognised as a cleaner fuel.

the only real thing I know is if I run my motor on petrol, the oil is getting pretty black after 5000klms or so. If i run it solely on LPG, the oil is still golden after 10,000klms.
that's a problem with your piston rings/cylinder wall. your exhaust has no business getting into your oil, and the colour of the oil isn't an issue provided what's changing the colour isn't a harmful contaminant

my diesel patrol's oil is golden after 10,000k's too. the difference between you and I, is that I don't tout the engine oil colour to advocate my choice in fuel because it would make me feel silly given it's credence as an argument

how long have you had your car on lpg compared to not?
all i know is the govt doesn't put the excise on it because it is recognised as a cleaner fuel.
and lol at this
what's your source on that? additional excise on lpg is imminent and is based on energy content - not some fanciful, ignorant perception on whether it's clean
Show me any car over 100,000klms that doesn't blacken oil whilst running on petrol after 5000klms+
is that I don't tout the engine oil colour to advocate my choice in fuel because it would make me feel silly given it's credence as an argument

Neither do i. Its not why i chose LPG, merely an observation.
how long have you had your car on lpg compared to not?
Its factory dual fuel, bought it with a shagged gas converter so ran it on petrol for the first 5000klms or so.

+1 Navara

Ours made it to cape york and back on stock suspension carrying a boat
http://casa.nowuckingforries.com/capetrip/IMG_0011.jpg
http://casa.nowuckingforries.com/capetrip/IMG_0047.jpg

token pig shot, tiny little f***er, but very fast, i own the irl sniping
http://casa.nowuckingforries.com/capetrip/IMG_0049.jpg
so really, your vehicle is a very poor grounds to make the statement about oil colour in the context you're making it

I can show you some 'old tech' cars that run petrol or diesel and have upwards of 300,000 on the clock for petrol and 500,000 for diesel that don't blacken their oil after 5000k's. I've got several friends who do their own services or most of the work on their cars for that matter, we often turn it into an excuse to booze. it'd be trivial to show you if you want to see it
well im surprised by that. but that doesn't change why I use LPG. and thats cos its 65c/L
those d22 navara's are so popular that they still market them alongside the new model that is supposed to supercede them, which is pretty unusual
Toyota Landcruiser, it's all they use out west.
lookin for a dual cab 4wd ute
those d22 navara's are so popular that they still market them alongside the new model that is supposed to supercede them, which is pretty unusual
Just like a HZ?
Topic: Reccomend a 4wd ute

Put it in your topic ffs. I haven't got time to read your rambling.
yeah like the hz/vb, although in quite a different era and market place

3x0dus
i was always under the impression that for a diesel engines oil should be abit dirty, it shows that its actually working and removing the crap out of the fuel as it should.
Fnukle
the only real thing I know is if I run my motor on petrol, the oil is getting pretty black after 5000klms or so. If i run it solely on LPG, the oil is still golden after 10,000klms.
lpg turns oil yellow/golden. You should not judge service time by colour. Feel it to give you an idea of the condition if you must, colour means nothing reguarding service time.
You get blow by no matter what fuel you use or tight the engine is.
call me crazy but i'd consider valve seat erosion worse than my oil turning black
Fnukle
Straight up fo shizzle my D O double Gizzle
what the hell is going on in here! hardware stop fobbing off lpg in my thread!

edit:- infi u have permission to suck on my testciles.

last edited by GaZ at 19:20:00 03/Mar/08