I think it pretty much sucked, aside from the rain and general heat which you expect for any summer festival in QLD
there was about 200% too many people there, again, as usual etc your day starts off something like this got cash? sure move to step 2 no cash? f*** go line up for an hour and get some step 2. buy tickets, wait 45 minutes in line to buy tickets so you can then go and line up again, to buy drinks.. buying drinks, spend at least 30-45 minutes in line waiting for a drink so its now about 2 hours since you walked in, time to go see a band oh f***, im watching my favorite band but now my drink is gone so i will go back to step 2-3 I dont think i'll be going to any more bdo's, it's too commercialised and oriented towards money making rather than putting on a good show. I'd much rather pay $50-100 to see one act i really like and not have to fight through crowds that big ever again also sux2bNSW, sniffer dogs again this year discuss |
| #0 10:23pm 20/01/08 |
huh so you didn't even stay to watch ratm?
| #1 10:30pm 20/01/08 |
exactly
| #2 10:37pm 20/01/08 |
Sif drink at a festival - rip off, waste of time and you have to go to the horrible portaloos too often.
Also, preparation is the key - if you are lining up to get money out at BDO then you automatically fail. |
| #3 10:42pm 20/01/08 |
its something so simple though, it can be easily overlooked and this day in age, it should be a quick and painfree process of hitting up an actual ATM, rather than some 120 year old bitch who hates the fact she is stuck in a little box all day
hates anyone 15-25 etc, so she serves one person every 2-3 minutes i agree that the lines are unavoidable, but why do the crowds get bigger every year? you cant just squeeze more people in and hope for the best, numbers need to be limited |
| #4 10:51pm 20/01/08 |
so so happy i sold my ticket, i had an awesome weekend in brisbane and slept all day today
| #5 10:57pm 20/01/08 |
Yeah I can understand the frustration - seems like it wouldn't be so much of an issue considering it's hosted at a race track, where there should be ample facilities. However, 53000 people does test the resources.
| #6 10:58pm 20/01/08 |
lil miss
Hi all,
just got back. BDO sucked. Too many 16 year old fluro kids. Will give a miss next year I think. Seemed way more crowded than any I've ever been too. |
| #7 11:09pm 20/01/08 |
lil miss
Also, when you've just been to something as awesome as Daft, a BDO like this one just pales in comparison.
| #8 11:11pm 20/01/08 |
I'd much rather pay $50-100 to see one act i really like and not have to fight through crowds that big ever again Exactly. When people realise that, you will be better off. |
| #9 11:44pm 20/01/08 |
AvaLon
id rather save my money not gonig to the big day out and go see daft punk again overseas. i wonder if anything in my lift time will top daft punk!?
what was the cop and security presents like at bdo this year? |
| #10 11:51pm 20/01/08 |
lil miss
Cops not so much, d******* security everywhere, as per usual tho. Have gone to six BDOs, and never felt so uncomfortable being pushed around by crowds even when you're a km from the stages. And being blinded by fluro and guys without shirts!
| #11 11:57pm 20/01/08 |
Yeah I feel the same, I'm glad I sold my ticket, but I would have loved to have seen RATM and Hilltop hoods and a few other acts - but Daft Punk was amazing and I'm glad I got to go to that.
| #12 12:00am 21/01/08 |
| #13 12:05am 21/01/08 |
lil miss
Daft punk will go down as the best thing I've seen. Was s***ty half my friends got in under the fence tho!
| #14 12:12am 21/01/08 |
I haven't been to BDO since they around 2001 I'd say. Prices just kept going up and it wasn't like event was giving more and more value for your money. Ah well....Iron Maiden...money well spent. BDO...money better spent on Iron Maiden :) |
| #15 12:22am 21/01/08 |
yeah I kept saying 'this would be my last event', that was back at parklife
then i went to daft, summerfield and now bdo .. should have stopped at daft - it will go down in my history books I have tix for good vibes but I can walk there from my place and I really am hyped to see cypress hill good vibes really will be the last one I go to unless theres something super special which I can't resist |
| #16 12:23am 21/01/08 |
was 3 people back from front for RATM...
then it was like a f***ing washing machine. was pretty much being circulated in a 10 radius :S so f***ing awesome and so much fun but hot damn im way too unfit for that. watched the last 30mins from outside the d. other than that i had a good day. the ground wasnt too muddy despite the rain. anti flag and gyroscope were sick. dizzee was rad and although i dont really like them i enjoyed silverchair with daniel johns generally acting like hes off the planet. wicked guitarist tho havent jumped around like a madman for a while, too many dance festivals :p so i had a pretty awesome day |
| #17 12:49am 21/01/08 |
I'm gonna be catching the Sydney show, I can't wait. I'm also gonna check out Sound Wave in February.
| #18 01:37am 21/01/08 |
The GuVna
Although yea it wasn't the best BDO ive been to (only been to 3 I might add), it was still a fun day
By far the act of the night for me was Unkle, was very very impressed with their live performance, they did all they're best songs (apart from Rabbit In You Headlights which is understandable) But the bass sounded brilliant in the where they performed in the Boiler Room. Due to Uncle I had an 1 & a half hours to get to the D for ratm, which was just impossible. |
| #19 01:37am 21/01/08 |
Just got back. Was in the D from Grinspoon on. Sat through 2 mediocre acts (grinspoon, silverchair) to ohmygodmakeitstop acts (arcade fire, bjork) and got my moneys worth seeing rage against the machine.
Hopefully next year they get a headliner like Radiohead or someone equally as boring so I don't have to go. |
| #20 01:46am 21/01/08 |
simul
waaaaaaaaaay too many people, stupidly crowded.
and yes, beer line sucked, in the end we bought 120$ worth of drinks tickets just so we didn't have to go back to waiting in line for 30 minutes. |
| #21 01:58am 21/01/08 |
Also just got back, I had a great time. Gyroscope and Rage were pretty much it for me.
Silverchair were pretty yawn, it would have been alright if it was for their own concert but the tracks they played were pretty poor for a festival imo. Spoon and Brand New were decent as well. I don't bother drinking at these sort of things so didn't have any problems like teq, only ate once inside the venue too. Think I spent about $25 tops. |
| #22 02:24am 21/01/08 |
But how was Karnivool???
| #23 05:02am 21/01/08 |
haha i agree that its good to be prepared.. but soon to come to oz.. theres concert cash.. so you come prepared with cash and you have to line up to convert it to concert cash..
just remember when ur in line waiting please make a sound like a sheep every 30 secs ta |
| #24 06:15am 21/01/08 |
it is a sad sad day indeed when you cant drink all day at the bdo
| #25 06:55am 21/01/08 |
XandraX
I ended up watching most of RATM from the left exit. There was no one around, i could see both screens clearly, and the audio was perfect. Got in the D for Grinspoon, Arcade Fire and Silverchair tho :D
I'm glad alcohol took so long to get, but water was easy to get. Don't need drunken morons in a crowd that big. |
| #26 07:23am 21/01/08 |
HAHA, ur old!
| #27 07:34am 21/01/08 |
ok f***sticks, heres two red-hot tips on how you do a big festival like BDO and have a great time:
1: Sneak in a 200-300ml bottle of your favourite liqour down the front of your pants or in a pocket of some baggy shorts. I reccomend Smirnoff red, 275ml, its made of a durable plastic and vodka goes with pretty much everything. Now you can avoid the crazy beer lines for a couple of hours, just grab a soft drink or a slushee or a freshly squeezed OJ and your good to go. By the time the liqour runs out the beer lines are short and hassle free. 2: Avoid the big stages like the plague. Even if Jesus' second coming was on the orange stage I still wouldn't bother going to see it. The crowds are chocca block full of fluro idiots or groups of dips*** girls talking to each other and not listening to the music. The smaller stages usually have the real-deal fans, the crowds are awesome and you can usually get a pretty sweet spot. |
| #28 07:59am 21/01/08 |
Or, spend a couple more bucks and fly to Sydney or Melbourne to see whatever band you reckon makes BDO effort worth it in their own gig. Win.
| #29 08:45am 21/01/08 |
but then you only get to see one band
i like to see lots of different acts |
| #30 08:51am 21/01/08 |
Spend 7 - 20 bucks each week and go to some places in the valley :p
| #31 08:57am 21/01/08 |
wont see acts like (for example) dizee rascal, unkle, kool keith, pnau, etc in the valley billy
| #32 09:29am 21/01/08 |
| #33 09:42am 21/01/08 |
i enjoyed silverchair with daniel johns generally acting like hes off the planet. wicked guitarist tho . RATM were mad. I started off with Scooby about 10m outside the D and very quickly realised I wasn't going to last. Waded through the sea of people (For those of you who weren't there... but have been before, The crowd for RATM was standing basically standing everywhere, including on the hill). Gyroscope were cool, Grinspoon were good, Bjork was kinda boring but the Reaktable was sick to watch and as I mentioned... RATM were amazing. Killing in the name of was by far the song of the day/night for me. |
| #34 09:47am 21/01/08 |
boffiend
I decided to get out of the D after hilltop hoods. I wandered over and caught battles and karnivool - both awesome, and I stand by my decision to skip arcade fire and silverchair. Came back and spent on of the most painful hours of my life waiting for Bjork to finish, but it was all made worthwhile by RATM. Other stand-outs for me were British India, Regurgitator and Anti-Flag.
| #35 11:40am 21/01/08 |
I thought Silverchair's production was terrible. What was with the overbearing bass? It wasn't like they had electronic beats, just the kick drum and chris' guitar but it totally drowned out most of the mids and highs. Squarky?
Had me worried but ratm would be the same, but nope, they sounded perfect. |
| #36 11:52am 21/01/08 |
Deathwalker
I can't believe no one has said this yet but what about the Audio, for Rage i went in to about 10 m before the start of the D and the audio was so f***ing quite i could clearly talk to people beside me, it was a f***ing joke, everyone was like wtf.
I have been to about 7 bdo's and never experienced anything like it, it ruined the entire atmosphere, you couldnt even sing along because if you did you couldn't hear the f***ing music, its RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE for f***s sake, if i wasn't going down to their sideshow in two days i would be so unbelievably upset. Only thing that saved the day was Battle, f***ing unreal. |
| #37 12:10pm 21/01/08 |
sweet day
josh pyke was excellent.... gyroscope were awesome.. peeved that i missed hearing 'beware wolf' again because i was lining up for stupid drink tickets. 'safe forever' was awesome... the crowd went nuts. ! spoon were pretty cool but didnt really rock out. ratm were pretty incredible, i got owned in the crowd. hi5 mongie lol when they played freedom in the encore..... omgg. so intense and powerful.. song of the day. |
| #38 12:24pm 21/01/08 |
Blue King Brown and RATM were f***ing unbelieveable. |
| #39 12:51pm 21/01/08 |
blindeye2000
Hey im trying to hunt down the passout stamp that they do on the tickets for this year, does anyone know what it look liked or who could even possibly send me a pic of one. Cheers, it would be much appreciated.
| #40 01:02pm 21/01/08 |
who would bring their passport to bdo? srsly
| #41 01:11pm 21/01/08 |
leb
I think he is chasing a copy of the passout stamp they give u when u walk out persay not a passport.
blindeye i doubt the stamp would be the same for each event anyway. Even if you do get hold of one, wouldnt you need a ticket to get back in? |
| #42 01:27pm 21/01/08 |
blindeye2000
no idea all i know is my mate in melbourne is pestering me for one and says he has a plan, no idea what it is though.
| #43 01:38pm 21/01/08 |
they allow passouts? I can't remember them ever doing that in sydney. was it new for GC too?
| #44 01:42pm 21/01/08 |
Only thing that saved the day was Battle, f***ing unreal. Amen. I was pretty awestruck by Battles... easily one of the most impressive acts i've ever seen. Will prob make my way to their show at the zoo on Tuesday |
| #45 01:46pm 21/01/08 |
I was working on the essential stage so i didnt get to see any other venues unfornatually. However I mixed the nightwatchman which was awesome, got to have a chat with Tom Morello after and he's a top bloke. Karnivool were also great as usual, sarah blasko were yawn, billy bragg also, and enter shakari were pretty crap too.
| #46 01:50pm 21/01/08 |
blindeye2000
G'day just wondering if anyone has the passout stamp on there ticket from the brissy BDO and could let me know what it looks like or even possibly send me a pic of it to blindeye2000@hotmail.com. I have a mate in adelaide who is pestering me for it but i didnt get one on the day. It would be much appreciated.
| #47 01:51pm 21/01/08 |
Best. Day. Evar. Scored a ticket last minute, smacked the piss early from like 10am and hijacked a bed in the chevron towers today, f***in win!
Missed Dizzy rascal due to the beer line.. but once i had tickets it was smooth sailing for constant flow of brew. Krafty Kuts were f***in phat, even dropped in entersandman later in the set & dynamite mc didnt go over the top like shureshock does. Never seen or heard of UNKLE and they blew my head off as i'd never imagine a band could do in the boiler room.. (band in a boiler room WTF) RATM was f***in awesome! Moshed like a loon n then ran back to carl cox and managed to slot straight into the front section to rip it up for another hour. I personally didnt think there were as many people this year as compared to the last 5. |
| #48 01:55pm 21/01/08 |
gaz on fire
yer, unkle is james lavelle and tim goldsworthy and they are awesome |
| #49 02:09pm 21/01/08 |
my last memory was hilltop hoods ... then im blank until a bit of UNKLE.. then i vaguely remember watching RATM on a screen for 10 seconds
was no where near as good as last year. The audio was f***ed.. everything was so quiet especially on the main stages.. maybe the wind was blowing the wrong direction or something massive queues, overcrowded.. i think i'm retiring from BDO |
| #50 03:07pm 21/01/08 |
quiet audio? when i arrived the mainstage was hammering, essential was loud as f*** all day, same with boiler from what i herd. cant comment on the others but i'd assume green definitly was up there.
| #51 03:27pm 21/01/08 |
Hey SquarkyD what was up with the changes to programme for Nightwatchman and Billy Brag?
I got to the essential stage right on time only to be greeted by some dude on the stage. Oh and it took me about 5 minutes to figure out that sign :) |
| #52 03:34pm 21/01/08 |
the trick to it is you man the f*** up at the start of the day when most of the s*** acts are on and you wade through the line for an hour or whatever for drink tickets, buy $100 worth and you can then drink whenever you want after that
grinspoon were rad, except for that fat prick security guard spraying everyone with the hose, no one wanted to be sprayed yet we still had like 5 hours to go till rage ratm were f***ing awesome |
| #53 03:48pm 21/01/08 |
i guess all your wet dreams have come true then. pls remove it from facebook now ffs.
| #54 04:59pm 21/01/08 |
Oh can I say, the only major negative for me was the fact that they barely showed Tom Morello at all on the big screens when he was ripping his solos...They did a little bit in Freedom and Know Your Enemy...but no where near enough
| #55 05:13pm 21/01/08 |
Deathwalker
Squarky no the sound at the Green tent was fine, as i said Battles were awesome, the sound during rage on the mainstage was f***ing average, it was just so low, as i said no one was even singing along because if you tried you ouldnt hear s***.
I'm not speaking s*** either i've been studying audio for 3 years now. |
| #56 05:21pm 21/01/08 |
not saying you were DW, was just a little puzzled. And i have NFI what was up with the program change, apparently tom wanted more time free before RATM played so he swapped with billy bragg but it must have happened after the programs were printed...yet the tent was still packed out for him so obviously alot of people did know the right time, some dude raged out at me thru the fence saying he was gonna hunt me down cause i changed the program lol.
| #57 05:32pm 21/01/08 |
splendour > bdo |
| #58 05:43pm 21/01/08 |
Mr Squarky, I was standing next to the cage during the nightwatchman, and I clearly remember staring at the mixing desk while he was playing dirty deeds cause I remember thinking that it was f***ing huge.
I must have been looking directly at you and not really realised. I also noticed that there were bitches standing in the little cage thing for no apparent reason, and the dude who (I think was playing with the lights) was smoking in a non-smoking area. ALRIGHT! |
| #59 05:48pm 21/01/08 |
Squarky no the sound at the Green tent was fine, as i said Battles were awesome, the sound during rage on the mainstage was f***ing average, it was just so low, as i said no one was even singing along because if you tried you ouldnt hear s***. I've read this on the JJJ site as well. Pretty weird, considering all the closing acts I have ever seen at BDO have usually torn my ears off. |
| #60 06:11pm 21/01/08 |
probably so you could actually here each instrument and voice, rather than just a whole heap of loud
| #61 06:14pm 21/01/08 |
sound was good up front.. it was probably the ridiculous human carpet muffling it.
paul mac was bouncing like a fiend on that stool he was on. getting air also the arsehole seccy made me take my belt off (he patted me down too.. no other lines were doing that!~~) so i wore a piece of string all day :p |
| #62 06:30pm 21/01/08 |
Zaphod
I wouldn't say it was quiet, Silverchair and Bjork were LOUD, RATM were loud-ish without getting ridiculous.
Earlier acts were quieter, but that was due to the wind I think. |
| #63 06:54pm 21/01/08 |
For RATM i was standing 50 metres infront of the slingshot and the sound was terrible.. definatley the human carpet muffling it. When we walked up to the exit above everyone it was so much louder.
| #64 07:24pm 21/01/08 |
f***in awsome day, as per usual highlights for me were battles, Pnau, Gyroscope, Anti-Flag all f***ing awsome. I thought RATM sounded terrible and was dissapointed however i heard it was absolutely intense in the D which i was unable to get into. Managed to stay drunk all day have no idea what you f***in noobs are doing lol. |
| #65 09:53pm 21/01/08 |
i thought it was great. but then again i drink on the rarest of occasions and cannot for the life of me understand why anyone but an addict would spend $100+ to stay drunk for one day? as if that makes it better or something? surely not better enough for that much money.
bjork was amazing in the d (fanboy) best behaved (barely any moshing but who would for bjork) crowd around me. ratm were the loudest sound ever for me, my ears are still ringing. but i did stay around to the right of the stage and could see well for the distance. i guess it depends a LOT on where you stand cause i caught the last few songs just before the exit from the d on rage's stage and was still damn loud (no one around sept a few chumps getting kicked out for trying to dance in the exit aisle ...WOULD SOMEBODY ANSWER THAT DAMN PHONE!!!! |
| #66 11:20pm 21/01/08 |
well the bdo was average until rage for me
pnau, spoon and arcade fire being highlights but i waited in the D for 4 hours for rage, and had a sleep in bjork in there to rest up, but it was all worth it. i woulda paid $100 to see killing in the name of alone, as that was fkn unbelievable best live act i've ever seen im willing to say, and thats outta 7 bdo's and countless other splendours, livids, and 1 off concerts. Tom Morello ftw |
| #67 01:12am 22/01/08 |
aP
Lost Jabroney early in the day (as planned).
Saw Battles, was sick. PNAu surprisingly good, dizzee rascal has some solid beats. Was a bit bored during the arvo due to lack of quality acts. All disapeared with rage, was 10 metres behind the D. awesome. Just awesome. Made the rest of it worth it. It has left me trying to scheme ways to get to their side shows or other BDOs. That good. |
| #68 02:10am 22/01/08 |
Zaphod
BTW, did anyone see the guy dressed as DUFFMAN? He was even doing the pelvic thrusts..
| #69 03:14pm 22/01/08 |
nah, but saw one last year was totally ripped up like the cartoon dude too.
Duffman is thrusting in the direction of the problem! |
| #70 08:41pm 22/01/08 |
| #71 08:46pm 22/01/08 |
would one consider this internet stalking ?
kat? |
| #72 09:17pm 22/01/08 |
| #73 06:57am 23/01/08 |
aP
Went to see Battles at the Zoo last night when my housemate informed they were playing a side show from 8pm. This was at 9:22.
Called up a couple of mates and rushed there only to find it was sold out. In the next few minutes of sulking, we saw there were two dudes sitting at the 3rd story of the carpark across the road watching the show and eating pizza. So, we just went up to the carpark and cos the zoo is such a sweatbox all the windows were open and could hear them perfectly and even see them to an extent. Was a pleasant surprise |
| #74 12:27pm 23/01/08 |
^ palmer???
| #75 05:42pm 23/01/08 |