Going past the SE freeway on the bus this arvo, I noticed that traffic on the inbound side was backed up starting from Greenslopes or further in and reaching all the way back to Mt Gravatt (I couldn't see the source of the congestion from the Busway). At the Greenslopes end it was so bad that people had turned off their cars and were walking around and stuff. Anybody know what was going on?
| #0 06:49pm 16/12/07 |
welcome to Brisbane
| #1 06:56pm 16/12/07 |
Recently the ICB has been backing up all the way from coronation drive to kingsford smith drive. I got stuck in it once, unable to get off until kelvin grove road. No f***en way I am ever doing that again.
The 2nd time I got stuck, I realised you can just drive through some bendy white posts at the bend just before the tunnel dig, saved my ass. It takes about 1hr to get to kelvin grove road from the start of the ICB when it backs up like that... no radio in the under RNA tunnel either, totally f***ing sucks. edit: speaking of f***ing bulls***. Those total deads***s at the courier mail printed the backroad shortcut to the airport today as well. Pretty soon, this traffic bulls*** is gonna be out of control. last edited by qmass at 19:02:27 16/Dec/07 |
| #2 07:02pm 16/12/07 |
semi trailer jackknifed at greenslopes
| #3 07:04pm 16/12/07 |
edit: speaking of f***ing bulls***. Those total deads***s at the courier mail printed the backroad shortcut to the airport today as well. Pretty soon, this traffic bulls*** is gonna be out of control. so its not a short cut anymore, also - its already bulls*** moving to the city saves me not only an hour and a half a day (otherwise I was driving 15k's in & out of town from Boondall) but its also saving $100wk on fuel |
| #4 07:50pm 16/12/07 |
time to buy a bike
| #5 08:13pm 16/12/07 |
Or get a job that's not in the city.
| #6 08:19pm 16/12/07 |
until they bite the bullet and build a ringroad system we're f***ed. Can-do can jerk-off to as many tunnels and bypasses as he likes but until he puts his arse on the line for a ringroad, he's just a lightweight.
| #7 08:23pm 16/12/07 |
Or get a job that's not in the city. I guess this is what we're waiting for... I feel lucky that I've not had to travel the highway to earn the bucks for almost a decade now. I'm in awe when I meet people who still do live that traditional day-to-day, especially if they're in IT (at any level other than tech/hands on level). It pains me to here from IT managers that they have to be present to keep an eye on things (hello? why did you hire them if they require supervision?) Looking around at work even now, I do wonder why a thrid of people even have to show up! It's not as if broadband services are a new thing anymore :/ last edited by koopz at 21:10:13 16/Dec/07 |
| #8 09:10pm 16/12/07 |
We were meant to go on the free way. Saw the 'delays north' sign so thought we could go around. We ended up going a back way that is normally traffic free, it was backed up with cars.
then coming home it was still backed up. f*** brisbane roads suck |
| #9 09:13pm 16/12/07 |
i love my bike
| #10 09:15pm 16/12/07 |
when it comes to slinking across brissy these days you basically need to do it between 10 and 2 or you can kiss away your morning/afternoon.
| #11 09:23pm 16/12/07 |
dont get me started on the gateway.
| #12 08:36am 17/12/07 |
Oh how good public transport is.
5 minutes to Morningside 18 minutes later im at work just outside Roma St! All for $20 a week. |
| #13 08:44am 17/12/07 |
I fight the gateway twice a day and there doesn't seem to be any method to the madness
some days it can take 15 minutes even with a heavy load of traffic, other days it can take 45 minutes with what appears to be the same traffic load and then yeah, you get to the ICB and its much the same one day it will be totally blocked from the gympie road overpass and other days it will be a smooth run straight into milton ? |
| #14 08:59am 17/12/07 |
yeah i'm still trying to work out that ICB, it's f***ing odd
was an awesome run right to corro drive this morning, school holidays and what is funny, the ICB is always WORSE heading inbound during peak hour in the afternoons WTF? last edited by paveway at 09:22:21 17/Dec/07 |
| #15 09:22am 17/12/07 |
sifn't public transport if you work in/near the cbd.
tho the trains were stuffed yesterday too - got stuck at south brisbane for 35 mins at about 4pm due to "police action" at south bank. apparently someone was running around with a gun or something. |
| #16 09:36am 17/12/07 |
Public transport is totally tits if you live on the south side. <3 living in Greenslopes, 10 minute bus ride to work. I haven't even left for work yet! Busways are a public transport miracle, and I can't wait till they radiate out in all directions from the city.
| #17 09:37am 17/12/07 |
yeah i was stuck in the crawl yesterday going inbound to the city in the arvo. So much traffic, they just closed the motorway and all 3 lanes had to merge into a single lane exit.
Living out at ipswich is fail.. the ipswich motorway is a demon. |
| #18 09:42am 17/12/07 |
I don't get it, sometimes the queue is backed up from Beams Rd at Carseldine all the way back past the Strathpine off-ramp inbound.. but the next day it's only backed up to the Bunnings or how Kelvin Grove Rd from KFC to the ICB on ramp can be choked up but the next day it's free running.
I just don't geddit. |
| #19 10:50am 17/12/07 |
| #20 10:56am 17/12/07 |
i am waiting for a bus
| #21 11:19am 17/12/07 |
It use to take me ~40min to get from My Home (Logan, Daisy Hill) to the CBD.
Drive to 8-Mile Bust Park and Ride and catch the 111 into the city. Busway rocks. Except for all those people a full bus would just drive past... However if even more people were getting left, it would warrent even more Busses on the Busway. Stuff new roads/tunnels/upgrades/bridges, build more dedicated Public Transport corridors. T4 lanes, Busways, Sort out the rail lines. Remove as many cars from the roads as possible, so those that have no choice (Tradies with Ute's full of gear, Delivery Vans, People that have to drive a lot for work) can have a better ride. However, like I said before, Not working in the CBD (if you can avoid it) is great. |
| #22 11:36am 17/12/07 |
there are no decent busways on the northside so that idea is shot to hell for 50% of the Brisbane population
we get 1 lane sporadically from chermside - the RBH, even then people drive in it more often than not the highway is ridiculous, two lanes from bracken ridge all the way to the city busways aren't the answer, look at sydney public transport will never solve a traffic crisis, it will only slow it down ring roads +1 |
| #23 11:48am 17/12/07 |
Why the f*** are they not doing subways and the like. We need something bad or else we will go backwards even further. Maybe we should look at encouraging carpooling, how many cars do you see in peak hour with more then one person.
| #24 11:55am 17/12/07 |
I swear theres a website for carpooling...but sif get in the car with randoms.
| #25 12:35pm 17/12/07 |
http://www.icarpool.com.au/ - $25 rego fee, looks like utter s***
I hate driving with people I know, whom I can tell they drive like s*** let alone some random who is likely going to kill me eventually same goes with people getting in my car, im sure they wouldn't be overly happy about it not to mention you need to find someone who lives either in the same general area as you, or on your route, who goes to work every day that you go to work at the same time and leaves at the same time, who also works on your way or in the same general area what a f*** around |
| #26 12:48pm 17/12/07 |
People cry too much. Man the f*** up and live closer to town. 15 minute drive to work on the worst days ftw from Coorparoo, over the story bridge and into the valley, would take exactly the same time to get into town. People who cry cos it takes them an hour to get to work from bracken ridge or daisy hill should pull their heads in. Probably takes an hour without traffic. last edited by casa at 12:50:17 17/Dec/07 |
| #27 12:50pm 17/12/07 |
Wait till they start Hale St bridge construction :(
*CRY* |
| #28 12:49pm 17/12/07 |
Probably takes an hour without traffic. I can do 14 minutes from boondall - the valley with no traffic taking the gateway / kingsford smith not everyone can aford to live in the valley/city, not everyone wants to (but i agree, they shouldn't whinge if they chose to live out that way) |
| #29 12:52pm 17/12/07 |
sup westend, easy to get to (form the southside), easy to get to the city
plus i get to drive and not have to catch public transport with all the other stinkies |
| #30 01:02pm 17/12/07 |
drove to uni all last week and only took the usual 25 minutes, no traffic whatsoever. tried to drive friday and i sat on the one street for over an hour (couldn't even move enough to turn around and go home) brisbane traffic sucks missed my class completely - luckily it was the one day all week i didn't have an exam. (doing summer course)
| #31 01:40pm 17/12/07 |
minxy, that was because of this, but yes your point remanis valid - traffic is inconsistent
| #32 01:42pm 17/12/07 |
jet pack > you
| #33 01:59pm 17/12/07 |