Topic: Beer joke
The General Managers of Cascade Brewery (Tasmania), Tooheys (New South Wales), XXXX (Queensland), CUB (Victoria) and Coopers (South Australia) were at a national beer conference. They decide to all go to lunch together and the waitress asks what they want to drink.

The General Manager of Tooheys says without hesitation, "I'll have a Tooheys New."

The General Manager of Cascade smiles and says, "I'll have a Cascade Draught, brewed from pure mountain water."

The General Manager of Coopers proudly says, "I'll have a Coopers, the King of Beers."

The bloke from Carlton says, "I'll have a Carlton Draught, the cleanest draught on the planet."

The General Manager from XXXX glances at his lunch mates and says, "I'll have a Diet Coke."

The others look at him like he has sprouted a new head. He just shrugs and says, "Well if you poofters aren't drinking beer, then neither will I."

hahahaha owned
PS aren't tooheys and XXXX brewed by the same peeps?
In that case I've never drunk beer in my life
ahahhahaaha nice one
XXXX is owned by Castlemaine Perkins, Tooheys is owned by Lion Nathan

edit: actually read what I linked and XXXX is on Lion Nathan's list of products...wtf!

last edited by Idol at 12:02:02 25/Oct/07

edit 2: Castlemaine Perkins was acquired in 1992 by drinks conglomerate Lion Nathan. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Castlemaine_Perkins

well blow me down

last edited by Idol at 12:02:24 25/Oct/07

last edited by Idol at 12:02:37 25/Oct/07
who gives a f***?
as if you'd go a tooheys new over an extra dry anyway
As if you'd drink XXXX camel piss.
you can't got past a corona

queue spook to this thread

but i agree with nf
i'd rather a new over a ted.

but i'd rather an asahi over all of them.
Asahi are good, but Beez Neez and Peroni's are better.
...because you're cool if you put a wedge of lemon/lime in your beer, amirite?

It's not a wanker flavour thing like all you pop-collar knobs have latched onto, it's to keep flies out of your beer in the dirty Mexican climate, plus lime's grow like weeds over there... so if you use lemon you are twice the noob.

Damn I hate people that drink Corona's.
nah i don't drink them with fruit
BoDGie
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Corona_Beer

The reason for the lime is that hop compounds degrade when they come into contact with light. This causes beer in clear bottles to turn 'skunky.' The lime is used to mask this aroma.

Common myths surrounding the origin of the lime include:

1. The lime was originally to plug the neck of the bottle up to keep flies and other insects out of the beer.

2. The lime was used to clean the top of the bottle to ensure it was sanitary before drinkers would put their lips to the glass. The acidity of the lime juice was believed to kill anything that could be harmful to tourists (actually, not very likely). Over time tourists began to push the lime into the bottle, which brings us to today's common occurrence of adding lime to Corona.

3. The lime was used to clean the neck of the bottle from the rusty remains of the bottle cap. In the early days the bottle caps were made very simply and often left rust stains on the bottle neck, leading to a rather bad taste. In Korea, slices of lemon are widely used in place of lime slices because limes are not widely available and are quite expensive in East Asia.
Fair enough then, I sometimes pick up a carton when I see them for $45 on rare occasions, very bland I reckon... I think Toohey's has a better taste.

They're great on stinking hot days though because they're very light, awesome beer around the pool in summer, but drinking them on the town, meh.

edit: Wow you can use wikipedia, want a medal?

I'm just going from what my mexican mate told me, seems entirely logical to me...

last edited by CHUB at 13:11:17 25/Oct/07
first time i had one was with fruit, when i was out and it was s***

i had one ages later at a mates place without, and they are rad.
i'll agree coronas are awesome when you're drinking them icy cold on a farking hot day - but come to think of it, what icy cold beer isn't awesome on a farking hot day?
Crusty old man
Steeeellllllaaaaaa!!!!!
what icy cold beer isn't awesome on a farking hot day?
A pint of Guinness?

I can only drink stouts at night, a pool party with lots of black beer going around seems like a pretty grot concept to me.
guinness is foul at anytime, ever.
ahaha that joke is great. I cant say i like XXXX (i'm still a QLD'er fk ya) but that is win.

you f*****
queue spook to this thread

im here baby, to tell you yor a corona drinking fag, i have no idea how any australian male could resort to drinking s*** like that

i cant believe in teh joke, no one was drinking vb

perhaps if they were, it woudl have ruined the joke, coz vb is about as beer as beer gets
Putting lemon in beer is awesome because lemon is awesome and beer is also awesome, who cares why Mexicans do anything they eat bugs ffs.

Tooheys Pils is probably my favorite all round beer but James Squire Golden Ale would be the best Australian beer hands down. Too bad it costs as much as imported beers despite being local and doesn't seem to be well stocked here in Queensland.

VB is for bogans.

fudd ftw
i have no idea how any australian male could resort to drinking s*** like that

The second post ever where Spook and I agree.

i cant believe in teh joke, no one was drinking vb

I guess that's because nobody in the joke like drinking chilled pee mixed with cum.

heh, give us a hug typo, perhaps now we can be friends!

Yeh corona is a really terrible beer. I question the sexuality of anyone I see drinking it. They aren't always homosexuals though, sometimes they are poser wankers who wouldn't know a beer if it licked them in the arse so they just drink the thing the other people are drinking in an attempt to look cool. Sometimes they are both. Hi paveway.
if you put fruit in a drink its a cocktail, and only fags drink cocktails
beer sucks, strongbow ftw.
Lunch
beer sucks, strongbow ftw.

I can't tell if that's sarcasm or not. Either way it's pretty funny.
nope, no sarcasm here. strongbow is king.
http://www.star-inn.com/strongbow.jpg
Denny
Mexico bashing makes Baby jesus cry :(

Mexicans actually put lime on a heap of stuff. It's very common for street vendors selling fruit to offer lime and chili as toppings for fruit (including mango :S, though mexican mangos aren't as sweet as ours). Tacos (proper tacos not the s*** we eat hear) should always (IMHO) have some fresh lime squeezed over them.

Lime is a an incredibly common condiment in mexico (and cheap as s***). In my travels there I've gotten quite used to having it in my beer as they have many light summery beers (corona, sol, pacifico) in which lime is a nice addition. Other mexican beers don't suit lime at all, in those cases a michelada is a solid option (worcestershire sauce, tabasco, clamato and lime juice, with salt around the rim of the mug and the beer added in after creation).

Mexico rulez noobs.
Tacos (proper tacos not the s*** we eat hear) should always (IMHO) have some fresh lime squeezed over them.

The Old El Paso ads clearly show Mexicans in Mexico eating the same stuff we buy at Woolies...
Peroni ftw if I am getting my favourite. TED would be my favourite cheap beer. I'll drink whatever is on offer but (besides VB).
Denny
The Old El Paso ads clearly show Mexicans in Mexico eating the same stuff we buy at Woolies...

I know this will be hard for you teen but sometimes TV does lie to you.
the beers i drink are so awesome, they dont need anything added to them

i drink vb
oh no fpot is questioning my sexuality

there is a reason no one was drinking vb spook, you bevan
Really... if it's f***ing hot and you're thirsty... beer is beer. Get us much of it into you as you can as quickly as possible.

On other days... I go by price. I love Super Drys because of the reduced calorie content which makes a big difference when you drink 12 - 20 in one sitting :O Also they taste f***ing crisp
Actually I was questioning your taste in beer.
aren't all of our Aussie beers owned by New Zeleand now?? or do we still have a couple?
I was under the impression that Corona was for dung-punchers.

Boags Draught ftw