Topic: The Official 'Recommend Crizane Tribal a Car' Thread
So now that I'm working full time in a well payed job, I'm thinking of getting a new car (as in new to me, not brand new). What would people recommend in terms of reliability and bang for buck? I'm looking to borrow a max of $10, 000, plus I have several grand of my own money stashed away.

At the moment I'm kinda keen on getting a Silvia, as I've wanted one ever since I was about 13 and they're reasonably priced now. 180's are also awesome and under the 10k mark, but I'm just worried that most of these cars are owned by little rich kids who jerk off their 2 inch penes to Fast and the Furious and thrash the s*** out of these poor cars, then shell them off cheap because daddy is buying them a Skyline/Supra/flavour of the month rice car.

I've also been looking into Magnas. I think they're a nice looking car, have a fair bit of guts and can be had at reasonable prices. They're kinda like a 2 door Lancer.

Anyway, any constructive input is appreciated.
kind of off topic but when choosing a car you need to also factor in cost or insurance, rego and maintenance.

if you are young you will find the insurance on those typical "sporty cars" will be a kick in the guts. also maintenance and repairs will be a killer.
Bullet Rain
I've also been looking into Magnas. I think they're a nice looking car
Talk about s*** taste.

Said the guy who likes his women looking like they're wearing a stupid ghost costume.

Yeah I realise insurance is gonna be a bitch, I've factored it into my calculations. That's another thing turning me off the Silvias and 180's, insurance is gonna suck and repairs will be cripling.
MY00 WRX =D
Bullet Rain
Said the guy who likes his women looking like they're wearing a stupid ghost costume.
touche
yea go for an s13 (Y) or a subaru

mine http://scooby.mongie.net/images/car/sunny.JPG
Sigma's > Magna's > everything else.

You better believe it.
They're kinda like a 2 door Lancer

uh they don't make 2 door magnas.... and they are slow

go the s13, though the r32 is better :P flame on c***s
needs more scorpion
was thinking of buying a another car too until I moved house and now have to keep my car parked on the road near a train station. If I was still looking my choice would probably be an s14 or pre bug eye wrx. Something that was at least made in the last 10 years.
simE
Holden Camira
Comedy holden Gemini option.
Buy something really unsafe so you crash and die lols
uh they don't make 2 door magnas.... and they are slow

Sorry, I meant Magnas are kinda like a 4 door Lancer.

But yeah, thinking of getting an early 90's Silvia, but I hear they're an absolute bitch to maintain/repair because they use small obscure parts.
I ended up buying a Nissan Stagea.

Why?
* I wanted some creature comforts after driving a 1970 valiant for a few years. It's got everything but cruise control.
* Fairly unique car, not many around in Brisbane.
* Not big on holden/ford so I thought I'd give an import a go.
* I can lug heaps of s*** around, which is handy as I play hockey and a few bags of gear ends up taking up a lot of space.
* It is turbo so it has a bit of poke when you feel like it.
* Is AWD for grippy goodness.
* Cheaper insurance than all the other "sports" imports.
* They aren't really on the popo radar for random pull overs like every other import is.

I have been really impressed with the Japanese gadgets and overall quality. Had no major troubles with it at all so far.

Only cons I can see with it -
* Many people do not like the look of them. I very much do with the DAYZ factory kit so I don't care.
* Could be expensive to fix anything to do with the AWD drivetrain if it was to break.

I paid 14 for mine and its just on 1k pa full comp insurance for a 23 yo.

last edited by rubba-chikin at 16:33:41 11/Aug/07
I meant Magnas are kinda like a 4 door Lancer.
You know whats more like a 4 door lancer? A 4 door lancer.
im thinking subaru

im all into family cars, and its hard to go past the libertys, coz they are just such solid cars
fyi... I'm 22 and I pay $650 for insurance on my VY commodore...
sif buying a holden though, id rather catch public transport
Zaphod
Datsun 120Y ftw.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hnpYsozkaWI

supra ftw
Wholey f***, why the f*** do you feel the need to pimp that peice of s*** supra in every single f***ing car thread??

S13 SR20. There was a few nice examples on there last time i checked ... Around the 10k price range..
You fixed the clutch on the supra 88?
to motivate all you to get cars with balls.
yeh chub.
cya's

to motivate all you to get cars with balls.
sorry i'm not a dumbc*** like yourself who spent $16,000 on a car which you will NEVER get your money back on. I'm into buying and selling cars to dumb c***s like yourself.

want to buy a wide body s13 with r33 gtr running gear 88?

get yourself a fuel efficient car that you will be able to afford, because you seem like a tightarse with no money.

i wish I could get one of these :(

If you do get a Liberty for the love of God DO NOT GET A FWD MODEL. My parents owned one as their last car and that thing was the biggest heap of s*** in the wet.
BoDGie
180SX+++

But forget about full compo insurance :o
go the s13, though the r32 is better :P

Flags' r32 blew an engine. Nf's r32 is half dead.

The s13's keep trucking though :D

QED
In terms of insurance I'd prolly just want third party and fire+theft, I wouldn't bother with comprehensive. If I prang it I'll just pay to fix it.
FurryBear
In terms of insurance I'd prolly just want third party and fire+theft, I wouldn't bother with comprehensive. If I prang it I'll just pay to fix it.
If you are going for a car loan, then you will be required to be fully insured. If you want to avoid that, then you will have to go for a personal loan through either your bank or other financial institution, without specifying that it is for a car. There are ways around it, but if you intend on getting your finance through a car yard, then expect full insurance.

With regard to the car, just make sure that you get it checked by a mechanic, or make sure that you have a warranty before you take it off the lot. I recently blew my gearbox, but warranty covered the first $1200, so I only had to part with an extra $2200. If you intend on thrashing the car, then make sure you keep up on your services and any other requirements for the warranty, because if you don't comply then they are quite within their rights to not honour the warranty if you break the conditions.

Either way, enjoy your ride. ^_^

FB
In terms of insurance I'd prolly just want third party and fire+theft

Keep in mind most fire+theft policies cover a max of about $5K...so if your $12K car gets stolen and/or dumped and burnt, you'll get $5K - $2K excess back. So yeah, $3K for your $12K car.
orbs, do i need to post the conga-line video ? :P

nf's engine hasn't exactly had the easiest life, he's done a fair few track days which isn't exactly daily driving

why would you post about buying a fuel efficienct car blah blah blah, in a thread for a guy that is clearly looking for an import?

crizane, S13 parts are as common as commodore parts these days i wouldn't worry about that. i have more trouble trying to get parts for my car haha

last edited by paveway at 12:44:15 12/Aug/07
haha, after I posted that I remembered that defi blew the engine in his 180 and maxe's s13 is currently out of action :P
buy something faggy and extremely gay like a festiva or something so u can carry all your costumes around when u do your acting.. poofter
Suhaib, get on msn fgt
buy something faggy and extremely gay like a festiva or something so u can carry all your costumes around when u do your acting.. poofter

Hey, it's not my fault your slutty mum likes a bit of role playing.
hey crizane, i was in the same boat where I was looking for an import around 10k and was looking at soarers but didnt like the number of problems they had with radiators .... ended up chicking in another 10k and getting a euro car. Not as fast as an import but the benefits outweighed having the import imo.
AU Falcon on Gas for the win.
you might be right mr hardware but that drives like a boat
Yes, this is true. I like to think of it as my old man armchair on wheels.
Yeah, I was considering going back to having a ford. Enough guts, heaps of space, and parts are a dime a dozen. What year(s) were the AU's made in, and what kinda price range are we talking?
When i made my post, i forget the comedy option of an Au series falcon on gas.

My mate picked up a mint AUIII SR Forte with 104xxx k's on it for 7k from auctions.
I was looking for an import around 10k and was looking at soarers but didnt like the number of problems they had with radiators .... ended up chicking in another 10k and getting a euro car.

could have bought a f***ing good radiator for 10K dude
lol what comes with that kind of radiator ... also unforunately for my price range the japanese cars felt too clinical with no soul like mr rabato

last edited by Le Infidel at 22:00:42 13/Aug/07
could have bought a f***ing good radiator for 10K dude
Ask tung about bargain Soarers, and "just a few cheap parts"
I used to know these dodgy Romanian guys who'd import/buy cheap imported Toyotas and take the compliance plates from totalled complianced cars, doctor them up a bit and put them on uncomplianced cars. They'd also patch up ones with s*** engines justto sound and look good long enough to make the sale. The whole thing made me a bit cautious.