Fubar
i am craving a really good pie this weekend, and i don't know of any places that make really good ones.
don't say yatla because they have gone to s*** since they changed owners. something within say 15 20 mins of carindale cannon hill area. but i am willing to go anywhere if they are great cheers |
| #0 11:39pm 14/06/07 |
good little place at everton park.
i mean i wont rave on about them but who does rave about a pie.... near coles at everton plaza. sweetie pies or something. best ive had for a long time. |
| #1 11:45pm 14/06/07 |
Lynx
I've been dieing for a good sausage roll for years.
Everyone these days sells the s***-meat-flavoured-bread-dough-rolls. Even "up market" bakeries like Brumby's. Many I don't even finish, I just throw it to the dog they are so vile. And this is coming from someone who'd eat anything that was put in front of him. In past times I've decided to make home made Sausage rolls. Use mince or even a sausage and roll in pastry. Cook until ready. It's so friggin easy I can't understand that so many bakeries use these s*** reheat frozen factory rolls. The quality of pies and sausage rolls has plummeted. The worst are uneatable. So sad uneatable or ineatable? last edited by Lynx at 00:00:42 15/Jun/07 |
| #2 12:00am 15/06/07 |
Nakor
ive been hooked on big dads recently, not as big as the yatla ones, but just the right size that you can still eat them from the hand, and get a good feed from them
| #3 12:14am 15/06/07 |
nat
yeah im with lynx, i dont understand why someone doesnt just make great pies and sausage rolls out of REAL mince and stuff.. it seems so easy! sure it might cost a little more to make, but not THAT much more, and you'd sell em like hotcakes(/pies?!)
| #4 12:19am 15/06/07 |
There's a pie shop next to the Pinkenba Pub, I go there wheneva I can when I'm at work nearby... Fantastic pies, not very local but if your in the area, i'd definitely stop in. It's on Kingsford Smith Drive on the left hand side next to the Pinkenba Pub travelling away from the city.
| #5 12:39am 15/06/07 |
sargeants from your supermarket
| #6 12:53am 15/06/07 |
Fubar
i know what you mean. i can cook a pie easy so why is it so hard for bakerys and s*** to make good pies.
yatla pies use to be the best full of meat but now it is a single piece of meat in the whole f***ing thing. but i will admit the pastry is one of the best |
| #7 12:59am 15/06/07 |
theres some place at ormiston over the road from tomato brothers, shares the joint with a fish mob. Best pepper steak pies ever.
| #8 01:41am 15/06/07 |
Steak, bacon, and cheese pies from the night owl in Enoggera, Best Ever. |
| #9 02:00am 15/06/07 |
as sad as it is, the best sausage roll ive had in as long as I can remember came from the BP servo right near breakfast creek.
Before that, there was this french (run by vietnamese peoples, because they learnt from the french) bakery on racecourse road that basically made sausage meat inside a f***ing crazy amount of puff (like the thickness of the meat all the way around, once it was cooked) that totally owned everything but ownership changed and they got scungy :( I have come to the conclusion that good meat pies just dont exist. The meat pies you get at the aforementioned BP near breakfast creek that has one of those oven prepared semi-bakery-delivered deals are just as nice as the pie I had for dinner tonight (last night I guess) from http://www.jocelynsprovisions.com.au/Home.html - which costs way more and is in centro in the valley (so up-market I guess) |
| #10 03:21am 15/06/07 |
northmaid pies are tops
| #11 03:58am 15/06/07 |
frozen sargeants are wonderful
chop the top off, mix the meat with tomato sauce, spread evenly over the lid, allow to cool and devour with a knife and fork. yumbo. |
| #12 08:30am 15/06/07 |
mmm cow scrot
| #13 08:40am 15/06/07 |
Ray's Bakery Geebung (opposite the railway). Has won prizes for his pies.
| #14 08:45am 15/06/07 |
steak and guiness pie at new farm markets!
| #15 08:47am 15/06/07 |
I'd have to agree with the general concensus of pies being s*** these days. I just can't buy pies anywhere anymore, I can't get through one without having to spit out chunks of grisle and fat.
The only pies I'd buy are from Buck's bakery in Landsbrough. It's a little bakery just oposite the train station. Yeah, it's not local but it's handy to just make a slight detour if you're doing something on the Sunny coast. Or you could just make a $12 train ride there. Like most other places though, their quality has degraded a bit over the years, they're still good but not as good as they used to be. As for sausage rolls, the BP/IGA in Milton (the one next to Kennards and Maccas) used to sell awesome sausage rolls. The pastry was all crumbly and puffy and the meat was tasty and pretty good quality. I think they've changed companies or the company they use has changed their recipe cos they're s*** now, the pastry is like cardboard and the meat is kinda bland and crap. The best pies I've ever had are ones made by my dad, he makes the best steak pies EVAR. |
| #16 09:11am 15/06/07 |
i bought a really great pie from a place at toowoomba.
bastard gave me food poisoning. never eating pies again. |
| #17 09:11am 15/06/07 |
food poisoning then the cold is the worst (apart from things you go to a doc for)
its inedible Plus one for Big Dad's pies. |
| #18 10:16am 15/06/07 |
cat & fiddle deli on morley st toowong
lamb & rosemary pie is sex |
| #19 10:28am 15/06/07 |
yatala pies down the coast & the bakery @ dayboro ftw.
| #20 10:34am 15/06/07 |
2nd what obes said. Ray's Hot Bread across the road from the 'bung train station. Thumbs up.
| #21 10:53am 15/06/07 |
"king of cakes" at st. lucia gailey 5-ways shops is excellent.
Their sausage rolls are the best $2. Their pies are very good too $3.20. They sell out by early arvo every day though so u gotta get in quick. |
| #22 11:00am 15/06/07 |
Freedom fuels at 8 Mile Plains use to make the best sausage rolls, I'd always get them as soon as they come out of the oven (about 3am).
| #23 11:22am 15/06/07 |
big dad's ftw
| #24 11:28am 15/06/07 |
Le cock is also correct. (Its a German bakery, I believe they have another store over the other side of the river somewhere Graceville? Sherwood? ). Be warned tho I rekon its a popular place for men to take men to ... not that there is any thing wrong with that... and not that I noticed until the girlfriend pointed it out.
But I'd rate Ray's as better. On a scale Ray's | King of cakes | Big dad's The bakery at the IGA in Milton | Frozen jobbies | | s***ty ones that have been sitting in the servo pie warmer for 2 days There is another pie shop out at Kilcoy that does woodfired pies that are pretty awesome. But that doesn't help the original poster. |
| #25 11:29am 15/06/07 |
yeah I forget the name but that one at Kilcoy is pretty famous for its pies
| #26 11:35am 15/06/07 |
Big Dad's - they do this sausage roll which is like a hot dog sausage with cheese, sweet chilli sauce and some other stuff, f***in tastes great.
| #27 11:42am 15/06/07 |
yeah dayboro bakery isn't too shabby, stopped in there a number of times en route to mt mee state forest
| #28 11:45am 15/06/07 |
Most farmers markets have a pie stall... proper homemade pies from the lady of the house, can not beat it.
Homemade jam FTW also. |
| #29 11:48am 15/06/07 |
Any Big Dad's Pie shop makes a decent pie.
Around Logan I'd say Abbotts Bakery (Same road as Logan Diggers RSL) for personal Pie's. |
| #30 11:50am 15/06/07 |
I've been dieing for a good sausage roll for years. The ones at the UQ Bakery are pretty good imho. But im easy to please. |
| #31 11:51am 15/06/07 |
big dads at clayfield. but i just wish they didnt have the vegetables in the pepper steak pie.
i dont like healthy things with my offal. this thread has made me hungry. i want PIE BITCH PIE |
| #32 12:13pm 15/06/07 |
Stockman's Pies on Oxford St @ Bulimba. Same complex as Celebrations Liquor and the Bank of QLD
| #33 12:37pm 15/06/07 |
stockmans pies man lol. I went there as a kid and me mate got a paperclip in his pie. I know this was like 10 years ago but I still remember that s*** and hold it against them.
| #34 01:01pm 15/06/07 |
Tael
Any Big Dad's Pie shop makes a decent pie.That's because they all come from the same place, the pies are delivered to the stores daily. |
| #35 01:40pm 15/06/07 |
Big Dad's - they do this sausage roll which is like a hot dog sausage with cheese, sweet chilli sauce and some other stuff, f***in tastes great. Its called a smokey and its f***ing incredible :) Also big dads get the pie shells and produce delivered and actually make the pies and cook them in each store, not mass produced. At least the one at Mango Hill does it that way. Also, their apple pies are aweeesome. |
| #36 01:44pm 15/06/07 |
stockmans pies man lol. I went there as a kid and me mate got a paperclip in his pie. I know this was like 10 years ago but I still remember that s*** and hold it against them. They're under new management now, they were closed for several months and reopened about 4 months ago. |
| #37 02:23pm 15/06/07 |
At least the one at Mango Hill does it that way.Yep, that's my favourite Big Dad's store. Nice location, just pop in and out. |
| #38 02:28pm 15/06/07 |
Two&Eight
uneatable or ineatable? If you still care, the word is inedible. |
| #39 04:30pm 15/06/07 |
Denominator
another vote for big dads pies
| #40 04:43pm 15/06/07 |
caw
finnucane rd(old cleveland rd) as you come into cleveland on the left where red rooster is. mean ass sausage rolls including bacon & cheese and also spinach cheese (fetta?)
| #41 04:46pm 15/06/07 |
I still think Yatala are the bomb.
If you live near Indooroopilly or the James St Market, there's a bakery called French Twist. They do BITCHIN' sausage rolls and their meat pies are pretty good too. |
| #42 04:55pm 15/06/07 |
Good pie?
| #43 07:42pm 15/06/07 |
"French Twist" is a franchise. 2 of them in Chermside. 1 at Carindale I think ?
Their bowl of chocolate is awesome. The pies etc are decent, Big Dad's standard imo. Most of their sweet stuff looks better then it tastes. At christmas they make millions of gingerbread houses... |
| #44 09:25pm 15/06/07 |
rrrocketeer
Big Nads pies are best
even tho they're getting expensive now. pepper steak ftw |
| #45 11:55am 16/06/07 |
Also big dads get the pie shells and produce delivered and actually make the pies and cook them in each store, not mass produced. At least the one at Mango Hill does it that way. Also, their apple pies are aweeesome. Thanks Eds - I never even thought to try the Apple Pie until today and f*** me sideways with a pitchfork it's unbelievable. Bake that pie and then serve with a bit of a custard and you have a real winner on your hands. Also, no Smokeys at at Big Dad's today - not very happy :( |
| #46 07:47pm 16/06/07 |
The most important question of this thread is who has the best hair pie?
Also where is Big Dad's situated anyway? |
| #47 08:16pm 16/06/07 |
I've never heard of big dads pies either. Any on the inner-west side?
| #48 08:21pm 16/06/07 |
I drive past big dad's at mango hill on my way to work every morning and think to myself, hmm franchise, probably s*** and just keep driving.
| #49 08:25pm 16/06/07 |
I drive past big dad's at mango hill on my way to work every morning and think to myself, hmm franchise, probably s*** and just keep driving. You'd be wrong then, they are quite awesome, especially out at Mango Hill. Locations fellows: http://www.bigdadspies.com.au/locations.htm |
| #50 08:36pm 16/06/07 |
Sweet there's one near me!
| #51 08:48pm 16/06/07 |
Well I really don't care as it is because it is a pie place, and whenever I drive passed I'm on my way somewhere so I don't have time to stop. And I'm not going to go out of my way to buy a pie.
| #52 08:48pm 16/06/07 |
too many alternators to fix, so little time
| #53 08:59pm 16/06/07 |
holy s***, they're getting huge.... look how many stores they got now...
anyways back on topic... pie is s*** unfullfilling food... yeah c***s its gronk food. |
| #54 09:02pm 16/06/07 |
Don't you have a pole to run into s***c***?
| #55 09:03pm 16/06/07 |
Well I really don't care as it is because it is a pie place, and whenever I drive passed I'm on my way somewhere so I don't have time to stop. And I'm not going to go out of my way to buy a pie. Why post in a pie thread then? Yatala pies used to be good, gone way downhill. Mango Hill bp has ok pies, as well as this little bakery place at geebung. |
| #56 10:04pm 16/06/07 |
i reeled me in a big one
| #57 10:07pm 16/06/07 |
sack
big dads ftw
also sargents smotherd in sweet chili sauce go down well! |
| #58 11:12pm 16/06/07 |
I remember Yatala pies probably 6 or 7 years before they built their new large store... the cottage pie was brutal, for 50 cents extra you got like 5cm layer of REAL mash potato.
Have they gotten smaller at all? One pie on an empty stomach used to fill you up. |
| #59 11:26pm 16/06/07 |
Their bowl of chocolate is awesome. The pies etc are decent, Big Dad's standard imo. Most of their sweet stuff looks better then it tastes.their pain au chocolate sure are s*** compared to real parisien pastries. I got back from spending 6 weeks in france, bought one from there and could not even finish it. But s***, their sausage rolls are the bomb. |
| #60 01:05am 17/06/07 |
so cultured.
| #61 01:12am 17/06/07 |
The bakery at the IGA in Milton Yeah, these pies sell out pretty quick. They never used to be that great but they've gotten better in the last year or two. "king of cakes" at st. lucia gailey 5-ways shops is excellent. Hmm, I may have to go past there... |
| #62 07:21am 17/06/07 |
I once ate a pie. then I told QGL. now all I have is this s***ty thread.
| #63 09:29am 17/06/07 |
tung
Token Black Man
see im not a fan of the breakfast pies at the bakery near IGA at milton, in fact i havent been a fan of any breakfast pies apart from the ones from the 24 Hour SPAR at logan (bryants road)
| #64 01:03pm 18/06/07 |
I just noticed the other day the IGA I was refering to is infact a Spar. It's the one next to maccas and Kennard's.
That is all. |
| #65 11:47pm 19/06/07 |
see im not a fan of the breakfast pies at the bakery near IGA at milton... I don't think I've ever had a breakfast pie (never knew such a thing existed tbh) but the steak pies there are good. |
| #66 10:20am 20/06/07 |
afternoon pies are bad enough
| #67 10:27am 20/06/07 |
stop keeping this thread up top! everytime i see it it makes me wanna hit the bakery!
| #68 10:36am 20/06/07 |
tung
Token Black Man
breakfast pie is generally
steak, bacon, cheese, and a fried egg big dad puts onion through their big dads special, but what makes the logan SPAR ones so good, is the egg is the top, theres no pastry above it. just base, steak, bacon, egg, and cheese on top. zomg so good |
| #69 05:30pm 20/06/07 |
| #69 |