Topic: 60 Minutes Seeks Addicted Gamers

60 Minutes got in touch with us recently - they're trying to find some gamers who are spending too much time online:
60 Minutes is researching a story on internet addiction (be that gaming, chat room use or generally just surfing the net) and are keen to hear from anyone who thinks they spend too long online. We intend to explore this growing phenemenon both here and overseas. You can find out more about the story by contacting producer Julia Timms at jtimms |at| nine.com.au
If you think you fit the bill, shoot Julia an email.

Update: gimpy's posted this YouTube which shows a recent piece on game addiction by A Current Affair, which you can probably watch until they realise and issue a takedown notice for copyright violation.
i'm too busy playin wow 23 hours a day to bother with this

seriously.. i played wow like an adict.. and it was f***ed.. glad i got out and got my life back woot!

also who wants to go on national tv and have everyone laugh at you for being a wow nurd.. ie cameron from aca
i bet it will turn into some games are bad and kill people bulls*** segment.
i hope they include a huge payout on myspace.
i would do it just so i can have the opportunity to say "roffle", "wtfh4x" and "stfu noob" on national tv

i would like to nominate all my sadf*** mates who play wow

and then i hope 60 minutes does a TT special on wow players
I do it for a lol but I don't think I fit the bill.... yet.
We intend to explore this growing phenemenon

How the f*** is it a phenemon when it's been happning since the birth of the interwebs!@!?@

If they're interested in people who spend all day surfing for porn then I'm your man.
are there any worthwhile tv shows (lol) asking by any chance?
If they're interested in people who spend all day surfing for porn then I'm your man.

i *may* be able to help here ^^

Ah, just what we want, a story that Richard Carlton can twist to make the players or the game out to be the devil.
Man I hate that guy.

Reason: Inappropriate
Click Here to See the Profile for infi Edit This Post Click Here to send infi an email Users HomePage Message User
Someone here should definitely do it and give qgl a plug
^^

Then we'll get a repeat of the melon fiasco where inbreds from the other parts of Ausgamers came on and ruined our fun.
Ah, just what we want, a story that Richard Carlton can twist to make the players or the game out to be the devil.

Hate to be the bearer of bad news but he's dead.
Would we get paid?

Tell them I play wow for 2-4 hours every night, I think thats an addiction?
i donīt play any video games but i check qgl pretty regularly, does that count?
how regularly?
question answered
i would say: email them.

Reason: Inappropriate
Click Here to See the Profile for nF Edit This Post Click Here to send nF an email Users HomePage Message User

/wallpunch
Lol how they call it an 'illness'.

16 hrs a day every day, jesus I'd prolly be blind from that and i already have short sightedness

lol at you lol'ing at them calling it an illness
Watching that youtubes makes me want to play WoW more.

Blizzard: 1
ACA: 0
Watching that youtube makes me feel like I have a problem..

I quit WoW after watching that multiple times when it first aired, then I watched the South Park WoW episode, and I lost the urge to play.

Then TicMan forced me to buy the expansion and I got hooked again and grinded to 70.

Now they keep releasing new content and I can never get settle and be content.. I know why they are doing it, and that very reason makes me want to quit and regret playing in the first place.
get out while u still can..

i'm glad i didnt buy the expansion.. was very close.. but i went diving instead.. now i'm a divemaster
Where did you do your DMT?
Did you do the short course or stretch it over a few months on a Boat?

I got into Diving a while back (Adv. Open Waters now) While i'm not really keen on DM my sister was interested in getting hers.
im in :-)

fuk this is gonna be embarrasing
if i was going to play for 16 hours a day iīd swear at my mum till she forked out for something better than a lawnchair
Nakor
just dont you go dirtying the 6P tag -_-
i did my DM with pro dive up here in cairns
Suckah-Free
I reckon WOW was created by the freemasons to establish New World Order.
haha im prob not gonna do it, how u know about 6P
i'm glad i didnt buy the expansion.. was very close.. but i went diving instead.. now i'm a divemaster

I love a good diving..

.. not as much as gimpy's mum though.
i love how they say it's hard to walk away from online games, f*** you gotta be a weak bastard not to be able to
also how can people not walk away from wow? i played since open beta.. into expansion realised the game sucked and aint played since for like 3 months... uninstall it off your pc... and you aint gonna sit around for like the 1hr just to install the fkn thing again so it's a safe bet :D
Captain America
i just canceled my subscription of wow haha
meh, people that actually have something to live for should prolly be helped but why put all game addicts in the same basket.

I dont have a life, why the f*** should i be forced to go back to "it"
man i spend like 10hrs a day on the pc atm just doing uni work, f***ing i must be addicted to uni someone call the ACA
I play cs all night but I wouldn't say I'm addicted to it, if there's something on TV I stop & watch it, if somone wants to go to the shop I quit playing & go off to the shop. Hell, chip in & buy me a mail order bride from germany and I'll give up games and the computer all together :p
Mazza is my new favourite poster on QGL
Fubar
f*** me the mum is one fugly smack whore, f*** at least if i was going to be on national tv i would brush my teeth. you are a disgusting f*** woman.

the whole report was a crock of s***, she just wanted to get some attention cause her little redneck f*** fest stoped when her son found something better to play with that her manky old ass.

what a loser.. seriously.. take a note from the chinese kid and jump mate... tosser.

they should both f***ing jump
yeah good points. he's dropped out of school and has no job. become pro-wow. ok....
I think this applies
watching that makes me glad i don't play wow, and never have
Welp, my account just ran out of time..

http://img253.imageshack.us/img253/1010/nomorebj0.jpg

So, I'm going to stop playing.

Any other games worth playing which aren't as addictive as crack?
WTF?

Why doesn't she just harden up and take the computer away and get him to pay rent and whatnot so he cant spend all his time at an internet cafe playing? At least he would have to work.
Fubar
i don't see why people like this game so much, i think it is a raught you pay for the game and then you have to pay to play it.

f*** i wish i thought of this i would be rich as because of all the wow f*****s out there.
yer it's kinda funny how she says she doesn't know what to do when she is the 1 that bought the computer, bought the game, pays for the subscription, pays for the internet and houses him... f***n i dunno what she could do to get him to stop eyyyy
delete all his characters then cancel the account. problem solved.
yeah if i was camerons mum i would vendor all his s*** when he went out to punch a wall

If I tried to drop out of school to play WoW all day my parents would of intervened. It's that simple? Or am I missing something?

It's very easy to blame your problems on the world instead of taking responsibility for your actions. What we see here is a mother playing the victim instead of discipling her child or seeking help in doing so.

Harden the f*** up Cameron, and get your arse back to school.
Stop blaming white people for your problems and start selling crack.
i used to play bf2 and bf2:sf of an arvo like clocwork to get good rank in aus and badges
top 500 at the moment