Amazon.com
Supported by a powerful mix of archival footage, NASA shots of burning oil fields, and, often unintentionally hilarious, historical film excerpts, OilCrash guides us on an exotic, visual journey from Houston to Caracas, the Lake of Maracaibo, the Orinoco delta, Central Asia's secretive republic of Azerbaijan with its ancient capital Baku and the Caspian Sea, via London & Zürich. OilCrash visits cities around the world to learn of our future from such leading authorities as oil investment banker Matthew Simmons, former OPEC chairman Fadhil Chalabhi, Caltech's head of physics, Professor David Goodstein, Stanford University political scientist, Terry Lynn Karl, peak oil expert, Matthew Savinar and many more. Just watched this today and I can tell you this is scarier than most horror movies I've seen...and it's real. Whether you believe in peak oil or not, the statistics in this doco are pretty frightening. Most of the worlds oil fields are almost gone, well the ones that we know of anyway and with the world so dependant on oil for almost everything we use from cars to computers to the most simple of things like toothbrushes, it doesn't look good for future generations. Maybe this doco is full of s*** and we can go about our lives not worrying about this but if any of this is true the world is gonna be alot different in the next couple of decades. Not to mention wars over oil as well, which is happening now anyway in the middle east with the US making sure they have their share of the oil fields there. Anyway, if you can get a copy of this check it out. This is a must see doco. http://www.members.optushome.com.au/gpahl/crude02.jpg |
| #0 12:56am 27/05/07 |
Yeah, i'm trying to consume as much as i can before it happens. When it does, life will goto s*** anyway so better live it up now.
We're too far dependant on the s*** anyway to get out of it now. |
| #1 01:08am 27/05/07 |
$1Mill says they have about a million inventions/technology's locked away in their vaults that, with a little research/perfecting etc, would have made the petrol industry obsolete before.
some kind of crazy motors that run on air and water or some s*** :P |
| #2 01:14am 27/05/07 |
it doesn't look good for future generations. I think the future generations will be too busy cleaning up after WWIII to worry about not having any oil. I mean who cares about oil when the ground is all radioactive and no food will grow and theres debris blocking out the sun from 90% of the earth. |
| #3 02:05am 27/05/07 |
there are awesome amounts of oil in iraq that are undiscovered yet, also you have the falklands, and antartica. canada has vast reserves of shale oil, and russia's production is only just coming back on stream.
the earth ain't running out of oil any time soon, but that still does not solve the problem of it being a non-renewable resource. in summary, we haven't hit peak yet, but its coming soon. |
| #4 02:39am 27/05/07 |
the world is gonna be alot different in the next couple of decades.If that is the timeframe we are talking about then good on the US saving all that oil for us. I now fully support the war. |
| #5 07:55am 27/05/07 |
| #6 08:53am 27/05/07 |
Captain America
it came in the seventies and it will come again ^___^ its just the price of getting the oil is becoming a little higher where we need to "democratise" places to get it
| #7 09:44am 27/05/07 |
I blame all the LS1 drivers for the oil shortages
| #8 09:55am 27/05/07 |
you're just as bad spook.. hoon |
| #9 10:00am 27/05/07 |
Nice vid Chub although I didn't get thru it all. Very f***ed up indeed.
| #10 10:42am 27/05/07 |
Rev, have a look at a doco called, "The End of Suburbia", you'll be able to find it...
Same topic, perhaps more info...? plenty of experts n s***. Real eye opener also. |
| #11 11:51am 27/05/07 |
I had to turn that video off when they cut off the cattles balls.
Wont stop me eating meat though. |
| #12 11:59am 27/05/07 |
Crunch
the earth ain't running out of oil any time soon, but that still does not solve the problem of it being a non-renewable resource. I guess it depends on your definition of "soon". We have two of the most populus nations on earth going through fairly radical economic transformations empowering more and more consumers and therefore more and more users of oil. Supply is slowing, demand is growing - rapidly. There are so many things that are in our every day lives that are have some connection to oil it's amazing. It's not just a case of thinking about cars and trucks and that obvious sort of consumption. Plastics, fertilisers, paint, asphelt, etc all have some link to oil. How much will the price of oil (and therefore petrol) have to go up before it starts severely effecting people's patterns of vehicle use? Even at current levels it has already had an effect and given we are so car dependant here in Australia I think we will be one of the worst hit. |
| #13 12:00pm 27/05/07 |
Suckah-Free
Plastics, fertilisers, paint, asphelt, IRAQ, all have some link to oil.Makes sense to me. |
| #14 12:09pm 27/05/07 |
Thanx bargain, grabbing that and Darwins Nightmare atm. Look forward to watching them.
| #15 12:58pm 27/05/07 |
well when the oil runs out, I call dibs on creating the tv show "pimp my horse drawn carriage".
| #16 02:54pm 27/05/07 |
I had to turn that video off when they cut off the cattles balls.LOL, if that made you feel uncomfortable, the rest of it would of owned you. When they're in the slaughter house, the cows/bigs are hanging upside down by the feet, they slit there throat wide open... blood and guts are pissing out, the cow is fully alive and screaming and violently shaking... the worker gives it another big cut, litres are gushing out everyhwere... cow is still alive. I literally threw up in my mouth in that part, then turned it off. |
| #17 03:19pm 27/05/07 |
kr0wb4r
USA: from CIA world fact book
Oil - production: 7.61 million bbl/day Oil - consumption: 20.73 million bbl/day Oil - exports: 1.048 million bbl/day Oil - imports: 13.15 million bbl/day Oil - proved reserves: 22.45 billion bbl |
| #18 05:17pm 27/05/07 |
yeah I think actually I know that the world will stop using oil before we phyically run out of it. Reason being that it will be just too costly and energy consuming to get the stuff out of the ground.
The reality is that it's the end of 'CHEAP' and easily accessable oil. And the other fact that we're slowly cooking and choking ourselves and the planet by burning the s***. |
| #19 05:27pm 27/05/07 |
kr0wb4r
The World: from CIA World Factbook
Oil - production: 83 million bbl/day (2004 est.) Oil - consumption: 82.59 million bbl/day (2004 est.) Oil - proved reserves: 1.326 trillion bbl (1 January 2002 est.) |
| #20 05:27pm 27/05/07 |
| #21 09:31pm 27/05/07 |
more
| #22 10:46pm 27/05/07 |
LPG for the win
No more of that silly oil-based bulls*** |
| #23 01:42pm 28/05/07 |
cJay
LPG for the win Liquid Petroleum Gas Yeah for the win :p oh wait you where joking right? |
| #24 03:51pm 28/05/07 |
yes, LPG stands for Liquified Petroleum Gas. It has absolutely no oil in it whatsoever.
| #25 04:12pm 28/05/07 |
well i'm going to try to start a company to trade carbon credits.. money fo nothing.. i likey
| #26 04:28pm 28/05/07 |
LPG is manufactured during the refining of crude oil, or extracted from oil or gas streams as they emerge from the ground. link |
| #27 06:37pm 28/05/07 |
kr0wb4r
Alot of the council busses run on natural gas, so i'm sure they can use that in cars somehow, and there is waaaaaaaaaaaaay more of that than oil.
| #28 06:51pm 28/05/07 |
fully aware fpot, fully aware. Also, LPG (propane & butane) can be a by-product of the Natural Gas refining process.
Thats a good point Krowb4r, and that makes a point for all 'alternative' fuels. Biodiesel, Natural Gas, E85 etc etc etc. These fuels are brilliant (along with LPG), then why are they not in wide use on regular road-going vehicles? Two reasons: 1. Vehicles need either modifications to cope with the injection or symptoms of these fuels (hardening of fuel lines etc). 2. The fuels are just not available at your regular pump servos. I would love to run my car on Natural Gas. Its even better than LPG. Why can't i? It hasn't been proven, i can't find a conversion kit and i can't find where they sell the stuff. Unless these three things change, no-one is going to be using anything but Petrol, |
| #29 07:19pm 28/05/07 |
BP ultimate, Shell optimax or go home
| #30 07:22pm 28/05/07 |
kr0wb4r
what so you like being poor paveway?
| #31 07:24pm 28/05/07 |
i'd rather go home than spend $1.45/ltr
i pay $0.45/ltr |
| #32 07:26pm 28/05/07 |
BP ultimate, Shell optimax or go homenot like it makes a difference in your car... haha |
| #33 07:28pm 28/05/07 |
Rich nerds flog electric sportscar.
| #34 07:52pm 28/05/07 |
cJay
BP ultimate, Shell optimax or go home not so sure about that, i used opticrap for ages and found ultimate to be a much better fuel for my car, I didn't like the access blackend tailpipe look of optimax. |
| #35 08:10pm 28/05/07 |
Crunch
I would love to run my car on Natural Gas. Its even better than LPG. Why can't i? It hasn't been proven, i can't find a conversion kit and i can't find where they sell the stuff. Unless these three things change, no-one is going to be using anything but Petrol, Diesel Diseasel and LPG. Actually I saw a thing on the telly a while ago and there are places that do CNG conversions here in Australia. IIRC they were actually putting a number of large cylinders behind the cab of a truck to store the stuff in one scene. There was also another guy running it in his ute and I don't believe there is any sort of engine conversion required - minor, if at all. He also had an outlet at his house where he "filled up" from the mains line. Only problem was that it took quite a while to fill up the tank however the payoff (less than 10cents/L) was worth it. |
| #36 09:41pm 28/05/07 |
wouldn't use it if it didn't suhaib
krowbar, speak for yourself |
| #37 11:13pm 28/05/07 |
How does it make a difference?
| #38 11:40pm 28/05/07 |
I wanna know the stats for how much oil is chewed up in manufacturing and all that jazz and compare it to how much is used by cars.
| #39 09:18am 29/05/07 |
Interesting Digg article on the process of creating petrol and the costs involved.
| #40 01:49pm 30/05/07 |
Evolution will evolve if we have oil or not.
Were not just going to die. |
| #41 02:11pm 30/05/07 |
you mean evolution will continue....
| #42 06:53pm 30/05/07 |
Yeah but since oil provides mass food, when there is lack of oil, no more mass food = mass death.
We wont go extinct over it. I reckon aus will survive best from an oil crash, plenty of landscape, low population. We'll be alright. |
| #43 06:54pm 30/05/07 |
PornoPete
Anyone interested in peak oil should also take a look at this site This guy is an owner of one of the worlds largest energy investment banks. His message is basically we should start preparing now.
| #44 06:36pm 31/05/07 |
Paveway: How does it make a difference?
| #45 07:00pm 31/05/07 |
Denominator
| #46 08:08pm 31/05/07 |
I didn't like the access blackend tailpipe look of optimax.All unleaded fuels will make your tailpipe black der. Leaded fuels were the ones that made the rears shiny and clean after long drives. |
| #47 06:42pm 01/06/07 |
| #48 10:32pm 01/06/07 |