The screen version of one of my favourites novels of all time, Lord of the Rings, hit screens around Australia today. The Fellowship of the Ring, the first in the trilogy, sets the scene for an epic adventure that everyone should read. I put together a few quick impressions into a sort of a review, but to be honest I'm still quite overwhelmed by the specatcular three hour bath in awesomeness my senses just experienced. Make sure you go and see this one! In what I think is a first for the film industry, the three films making up the trilogy have already been entirely filmed - all before the first movie was released. The other two are undoubtably undergoing some post-production, but the plan is to release them one year after another, so we only have one year to wait for the next one. |
| #0 04:47pm 28/12/01 |
Now, if only we could get Peter Jackson to redo Episode 1, I might be a truly happy person. |
| #1 05:50pm 26/12/01 |
I think you need to get a grip on yourself trogy old boy after all it's just a movie. :) |
| #2 05:51pm 26/12/01 |
I wonna see that movie so bad. |
| #3 05:52pm 26/12/01 |
Murderer
Lord of rings is gay :P Fkn book readers :) |
| #4 05:55pm 26/12/01 |
its a movie which has been created from one of the best of english literature, this is what it has been classed as, i have not read the book yet, but i rightfully going to do so, so i can what they have taken and have changed for it to be adapted to the big screen. It the most anticipated movie of like all time, and its no wonder why, it would be so hard to take it from a book and turn it into a movie, everything is to be precise and 100% accurate. But i think that Peter Jackson is gonna do a marvelous job. And hopefully it will be the most grossed movie of all time aswell.. thats what i think. |
| #5 05:56pm 26/12/01 |
Your an idiot Murderer, thats how you improve your english, and change that gay name, stop trying to be hardcore. |
| #6 05:59pm 26/12/01 |
Ember
power wants to see it bad.... |
| #7 05:59pm 26/12/01 |
Einstein™
lord of the rings huh well i'm sure i'll enjoy it in GOLD CLASS SEATING WITH ALCOHOL EVERY 15 MINUTES =) See you all at garden city on new years eve in your regular faggy family cinemas =) (ta xmas present) btw ember rocks |
| #8 06:01pm 26/12/01 |
einstein im hoping u would be drinkin crownies? |
| #9 06:05pm 26/12/01 |
acrylic
i think it rocked. only 365 days till the next one YAY! |
| #10 06:28pm 26/12/01 |
next one, never knew that. |
| #11 06:30pm 26/12/01 |
Ember
there is three one every chrisse j00 gimpz0r! |
| #12 06:33pm 26/12/01 |
i could never get into those books |
| #13 06:48pm 26/12/01 |
Ember
that's 'cos ur an illiterate foo power |
| #14 06:55pm 26/12/01 |
readers ehm leaders |
| #15 06:56pm 26/12/01 |
clint BEASTwood
Hmm a 3 hour movie, and alcohol.. I hope you bring a funnel and an empty bottle :) |
| #16 07:58pm 26/12/01 |
PeaceKeeper
Besterest most awesome movie evar ive seen. I've never read the books so it was all new to me, I have read The Hobbit though, so some of it was familiar in parts. iunno what to say the movie was just so j0r, ive gotta see it again, Strathpine was packed this morning, might wait for the hype to die down a bit. |
| #17 07:58pm 26/12/01 |
I like to read, but not fantasy gay books :P But I am so gonna see the movie, though :D |
| #18 08:03pm 26/12/01 |
++RIP++
* N U K E D * By ++RIP++ |
| #19 10:45pm 26/12/01 |
TMWNN
everyone should read the books they are completely and utterly awesome in every way that it is possible to be good. I havent seen the movie yet but i still bet the books are 100X better. |
| #20 08:19pm 26/12/01 |
WaR-FaC
Damn good movie... saw it in the city today.... I must see kinda deal... although it did kind of piss me off cause it goes for 3 and a half hours and you still dont get to see much of an ending.... welll ill be seeing the next one next boxing day :D |
| #21 08:27pm 26/12/01 |
awesome, just came home from balmoral ...and i'd only like to hear from people who have read the books, not all these people caught in the hype :) i read it a while ago and they went past book 1 hey, oh well i guess they are leaving time for some of those huge j0r wars with all the main characters in it oh best bit: aragorn kicking the orc leaders arse! |
| #22 08:46pm 26/12/01 |
§tokesy
Fellowshop of the rings what can you buy there, haha, lame joke kthxbi |
| #23 09:50pm 26/12/01 |
§tokesy
i also saw it today, not a bad movie, i havent read the books tho i might now. |
| #24 09:51pm 26/12/01 |
swat0r
I just got back from seeing it. It was good. |
| #25 09:53pm 26/12/01 |
§tokesy
* N U K E D * By §tokesy, due to ppl that havent seen the film |
| #26 09:58pm 26/12/01 |
He is the agent dude from Matrix (I think) :D |
| #27 09:57pm 26/12/01 |
acrylic
nah 1 year is good. the fact they told us that they have already made them makes it feel like its gonna be ages. but its not all that long. dont forget befor the 2nd one comes out lotr will be on video, so if you feel youve forgotten anything you can still recap |
| #28 10:01pm 26/12/01 |
§tokesy
i should of waited for all of them to come out so i can see them all at once, so its like a 9 hour movie |
| #29 10:28pm 26/12/01 |
Azaria
Ive read the book, and I guess as adaptations go it was a really good movie. Some stuff was chopped another bits changed but overall they did a great job, and didnt disgrace the book at all. My Gf, and brother saw it with me, and neither have read the book before yet loved the movie which I suppose would be the hardest challenge, trying to appeal to both the readers and people just after a good movie. Phwoar at Legolas's archery!! Some excellent fighting effects too:) |
| #30 10:30pm 26/12/01 |
Nick Nack Paddy Wack
i havent seen it.. i dont intend to either.. the main guy in it pisses me off,i just don't like him. He was in Deep Impact i think i will never watch a movie with him in it again!! poojoo!! |
| #31 10:37pm 26/12/01 |
Give a dog a bone, you f*****. |
| #32 10:38pm 26/12/01 |
SD Gundam
I saw it at the Chermside Megaplex definatly a good movie. Bloody long though I was kind of pissed at some of the artistic differences and I thought the old movie had a better introduction it had the proper poem. Still I expected there to be differences so it no big deal. I can't wait to get it on DVD or to see the next two which I think will be even better. |
| #33 10:42pm 26/12/01 |
DeFCoN
i saw it today, i'd just have to say the cgi is second to none, and the theme is amazing. throughout the film theres heaps and heaps of action, so even though it goes for 3 hours and 20 minutes, its not boring. its one of the best movies i've seen, and its been a very very long time since theres been a good adventure film like this. anyway, its in my list of 'top 10 movies ever' i wanna see the second part of the trilogy pretty badly now :), it leaves you hanging, not really and anti-climax, but you just want more. When the movie finished, and the ending credits started, alot of people in the cinema said: "awwwww", all at the same time, then everyone clapped... never seen that at the movies before. truely amazing.. go see it |
| #34 10:53pm 26/12/01 |
Spectre
i thought this was a great movie, way better than i expected.. one question.. that elf with the blonde hair i think his name was legolas or something, were the hell did he keep getting arrows, i know he had them on his back but he never seemed to run out :) |
| #35 11:49pm 26/12/01 |
he is really quick at pulling them out...he only used like 10-15 each fight, then he would just pull out his two daggars an stab lots of throats how good was the aragorn orc leader fight, hardc0re |
| #36 11:53pm 26/12/01 |
sigh, you guys are talking up the movie, please stop :( |
| #37 11:53pm 26/12/01 |
Goa'uld
I won't see this movie, because I'm not into all that dungeons and dragons crap. I saw harry potter today... f*** it was the gayest. I bet lord of rings is the same. |
| #38 11:55pm 26/12/01 |
I saw harry potter today... f*** it was the gayest. I bet lord of rings is the same. Hmm, I don't think so. |
| #39 11:56pm 26/12/01 |
f*** off homo, this is the originat0r...go see it b4 you comment |
| #40 11:57pm 26/12/01 |
Goa'uld
btw, seeeef you would read books. |
| #41 11:57pm 26/12/01 |
Sif you wouldn't read books :P |
| #42 11:59pm 26/12/01 |
Goa'uld
i saw some fag doing an irish jig in the ad for the movie... wow looks like some quality entertainment.. ehehe. |
| #43 11:59pm 26/12/01 |
Rommel
It was a fantastic movie, it brought the book to life in an almost flawless way. |
| #44 12:13am 27/12/01 |
Scythe1o1
Hmm, was gonna ask you if you wanted to see it tomorrow night with some other ppl teen :P. |
| #45 12:15am 27/12/01 |
Goa'uld
hehe actually I went to see it today but it was sold out so i'm pissed off gay movie |
| #46 12:23am 27/12/01 |
Scythe1o1
Aha nice sig |
| #47 12:41am 27/12/01 |
Rommel
that better not be who i think it is |
| #48 12:58am 27/12/01 |
Nick Nack Paddy Wack
anarot if i am such a f***** come let me be the lord of your ring!! |
| #49 01:02am 27/12/01 |
hahaha... nice call :) I thought you would be busy given your bone to a dog though, Mr Paddywack... |
| #50 01:05am 27/12/01 |
dazzlarr
>i dont intend to either.. >the main guy in it pisses me off,i just don't like him. He was in Deep Impact i think i will never watch a movie with him in it again!! So if he's in the movie for 30 seconds you wont watch it, you f***ing 2 year old little fag. Can you be any more of a little girly cry baby. >I won't see this movie, because I'm not into all that dungeons and dragons crap. >I saw harry potter today... f*** it was the gayest. I bet lord of rings is the same. They are very very different you stupid tool. So your not even gonna watch it when it comes out on video or dvd? s*** theres a lot of little girls here. Harry Potter is directly aimed at little kids. Like you, so kinda surpriseing you didnt like it but hey. Lord of the rings is still a kids book/story, but it's a little bit more mature so older people could possibley get into it. A good book they are makeing a movie of, "the bourne identity" or remakeing the movie. I reckon they'll screw it up though but they usually screw it up when they turn books into movies. I'm gonna wait to watch it on DVD. Personally I think the books are overated. They are good, but they arent the best of the best ever. I hope they dont have all the gay singing in it like the books. The best cinema in Melbourne, The Astor Theatre. http://www.astor-theatre.com/ You'll see people clapping at the end of a movie there, especially if they crank up the sound and make the whole cinema shake. Unfortunately it takes them a bit longer to get the latest movies. But its worth the wait. |
| #51 09:19am 27/12/01 |
gg split personalities gg hypocrite gg gay name |
| #52 09:24am 27/12/01 |
gg hobo |
| #53 11:34am 27/12/01 |
THAUmaTURgic
You should go and see LOTR regardless. You could spend $10-15 in far worse a way :) And you may even love the movie. |
| #54 11:50am 27/12/01 |
§tokesy
i laughed when they were running through the tomb, with the wizard that has the torch, from on the the camera angles they showed it look exaclty like diablo 2, just the way the pillars cast the shadows as they were running, |
| #55 01:34pm 27/12/01 |
I was a bit disappointed by the fight between Saruman and Gandalf, it was verging on being silly. And I had to stop myself from laughing out loud when Saruman was spinning Gandalf around on the floor. It was like a crazy Middle Earth version of Homer Simpson! |
| #56 01:37pm 27/12/01 |
PeaceKeeper
oi |
| #57 01:38pm 27/12/01 |
eYe_kAnDy
Lord of rings is gay :PFor someone who most probably has never read the book or seen the movie because it must be far to advanced for your pitifully childish mind. f*** off and get some sense you retard. |
| #58 01:39pm 27/12/01 |
acrylic
in one scene you can see rail road tracks on the mountains |
| #59 01:39pm 27/12/01 |
eYe_kAnDy
Btw, have any of you read J.R.R Tolkien's son's book "The Sillmarilion" ?..i read one page of it and that was all i could read..it was just far too f***ing weird for me. |
| #60 01:41pm 27/12/01 |
Seen it, it was long but good... AnaRot, that sig of yours is a bit gay... |
| #61 01:56pm 27/12/01 |
Skurj
Mmm gold class tomorrow for me. I love walking straight past all the peasants lined up for the normal cinemas :) And no damn adds in GC too! Three hours though - methinks I'll need to go lightly on the beers :) |
| #62 04:15pm 27/12/01 |
GliTcH
saw it bout 2 hours ago IT WAS f***ING MAD. IT WAS, for lack of a better word (the 5th elemnt), PERFECT. Suspense and action throughout the entire 3 hour marvel. From German: everything is to be precise and 100% accurate. funny how the text is on the outside of the ring isn't it. In fact the only thing I can complain about this movie as that the sequel isn't comming out sooner. I so can't wait to see it. The first movie left a major cliffhanger. |
| #63 06:23pm 27/12/01 |
Toll Booth Willy
The movie was good. But it seemed to be missing something. |
| #64 07:26pm 27/12/01 |
Goa'uld
gg all the band wagon riding sheep |
| #65 07:29pm 27/12/01 |
Psycho
WARNING Review with real content WARNING :) Here's some feedback if you care - if anyone wants to reply with 'j00 have no fvcking lafe, get out and get laid j00 sad case' then I will give it the reply it deserves - none. :D Okay, let's get this straight first - if you're not a fantasy fan, if elves are not your thing, if you've never yearned to see a Palantir, or goggle at (not google :) the Numenorean monument at the falls of Rauros, then this movie is not for you. If you are a fantasy fan, or just like to see a fair amount of very well-choregraphed melee combat, this is up your alley. If you are a LOTR fan, then you will no doubt have already seen it, and like me, planning the next trip to the cinema (yes it IS that good). :P Well, I have been reading fantasy for forever, roleplayed for years, got into cool 3D advtntures (Rune, Heretic, etc), and been waiting for a 'real' fantasy movie for many many years. Fans of fantasy have approved of Conan the Barbarian (et al), been amused by 'The Sword and the Sorcerer', and disgusted by 'D&D: The Movie', but nothing to this date has ever really captured the feeling of mystery and grandeur that accompanies high fantasy, leaving movies to the 'B-grade.' LOTR:1 delivers a definative, spellbinding and superlatively tasty experience, blowing away any and all competition for the crown of this genre. Being something of a discerning reader, I watched the previews with a critical eye, everytime they gave me goosebumps. Having seen the full thing now, I can say that this movie almost perfectly captures the atmosphere of the book, distils down the essence of each scene, and recreates it in awesome detail that never dissapoints, only amazes. I was looking, and looking hard for flaws and discrepancies, but found only more Middle Earth goodness to appreciate. Charaterisation, props, animations, backdrops, dialogue, inflections, it's all there, and in quality, quantity and detail never seen before. Reality and fantasy blend together seamlessly, to create the most captivating vision of Middle Earth ever. Yes, if you are a true LOTR devotee, you will easily pick apart what was left in, what was left out and what was changed, but overall a magnificent effort has been made to represent the essential story, without getting bogged down in the details. Remember, to represent the full text of the book would easily take ten movies. :) Overall, the best fantasy move ever, IMHO. To those thinking of picking up the book and reading it, be careful. It was written decades ago, by an old guy who primarily a historian and linguist, not a novellist. Even within the fantasy community debate is still going on as to how he could have written it better, or made it more readable... it's fairly dry, hard to read (darn poetry :) and has a stilted, archaic tone in many points. Bear in mind nothing of it's kind had been done before, and this was pretty much the initial work which started the genre. You would be best off (prolly) trying the Hobbit, or contemporary fantasy and working back to LOTR. Even now I still find parts of it a bit weary to get through, and I love the series. :D Peace. |
| #66 09:48pm 27/12/01 |
Rommel
nothing of it's kind had been done before, and this was pretty much the initial work which started the genre. sorry, but i refuse to believe that |
| #67 09:56pm 27/12/01 |
Cr@ckerJ@ck
Psycho well said mate :-) LOTR is THE best fantasy movie to date! Tolkien would be proud of the movie producers/directors for not selling out and making a $600 million pile of crud like george lucas did with STARWARS EPISODE 1, speakin of which, the next starwars movie looks pretty bland too from what I saw in the latest trailer *sigh* |
| #68 10:38pm 27/12/01 |
sorry, but i refuse to believe that Well, go on then, find books of high fantasy which pre-date lord of the rings. The concept of an elf which is tall and agile, lives in tree cities and are master bowmen was created by lotr and is now pretty much the standard definition. The concept of dwarves are hairy, loud, dirty mountain dwellers wielding huge axes was created by lotr and is now pretty much the standard definition. Even things such as Mithril (which makes an appearance in pretty much nearly every fantasy game I've ever played) and, quite obviously, hobbits, owe their existance to lotr. If you fail to recognise this fact, prove otherwise and I will gladly concede the point. |
| #69 10:57pm 27/12/01 |
SD Gundam
Tolkien would be proud of the movie producers/directorsI don't know they changed some stuff in really unessary ways though I heard his family are happy with it. I've read the "The Sillmarilion" eYe_kAnDy, one of it's major critsisms is that it reads like Genesis from the Bible, which I agree with. The start took me two reads to understand but once I got into it I thought it was great. It's a lot darker and has all sorts of stuff in it, even incest. |
| #70 11:03pm 27/12/01 |
Toll Booth Willy
When did D&D come around ? cause they had Elves, Dwarf, orc and a s***load of other stuff. There where many worlds, Dragonlance. Forgotten Worlds. ... Where these before or after LOTR? |
| #71 11:03pm 27/12/01 |
power
D&D jesus christ that s*** is young compared to tolkien |
| #72 11:07pm 27/12/01 |
acrylic
my D&D dwarf costume owns j00 all |
| #73 11:16pm 27/12/01 |
Azaria
he started writing lotr in 1936, just before The Hobbit was published, and imo it set the tone for modern day fantasy. What I find amusing is tolkein said his main desire for writing it was to "write a really long story", and Im sure he didnt have the faintest of idea's the prescendence he would set from it:) |
| #74 11:33pm 27/12/01 |
SD Gundam
D&D ripps off Tolkien and mythology, as does Warhammer. |
| #75 11:39pm 27/12/01 |
AlphegA
there's a slight variation with the movie and the book. but i loved the movie it was very well made! |
| #76 11:44pm 27/12/01 |
acrylic
i thought lotr/the hobbit all started out...... (insert wave flash back memory effect) tolkien was marking exams and some kid/person handed in a blank piece of paper, and on that paper tolkien wrote, in a hole .... blah blah. |
| #77 11:48pm 27/12/01 |
Zeratul
when are they releasing the other parts? |
| #78 11:48pm 27/12/01 |
acrylic
same time next year |
| #79 11:49pm 27/12/01 |
SD Gundam
Slight my arse Arwen's character does a few things she shouldn't have. |
| #80 11:49pm 27/12/01 |
Zeratul
same time? what smart arses. with xmas and every thing they will get s*** louds of money. |
| #81 12:01am 28/12/01 |
PeaceKeeper
D&D is 70's i think |
| #82 12:12am 28/12/01 |
Cailean
Wow, I feel like I am experiencing the modern day starwars movieism. |
| #83 01:27am 28/12/01 |
Nick Nack Paddy Wack
what the f*** are you on about dazzlar? i mean why bring harry potter into this s*** conversation.. why am i a girl if i dont want to see a movie with an actor i dont like in it..? alot of people are like that. for instance julia roberts pisses me off... yet you probably have fun watching her then masturbating afterwards dont you f***wit? |
| #84 01:54am 28/12/01 |
stick
this was the first movie whose reality i was completely convinced with. it was f***in awesome. not once did i even so much as think, "pfft, as if". like star wars... i mean, its never gonna happen, but u dont think about that cause ur so caught up in its total brilliance. definately competes with my favourite movies of all time |
| #85 02:15am 28/12/01 |
Slight my arse Arwen's character does a few things she shouldn't have. See, this is the crap that annoys me. Its not a word for word copy of the book, it is a film adaptation of the book. Notice the word "adaptation". It is adapted from the book, to be more suitable to the big screen. Keep in mind, it has to appeal to everyone, not just the people who have somehow memorised every little event in the trilogy. I haven't read the books for about 5 years, so I can't remember exactly everything that happened, but everything that mattered was in the movie, the feel of the movie was perfect, the characters were portrayed perfectly, the story was told perfectly, and nothing really felt out of place or broke up the flow of the movie, so what is there really to complain about? On another forum some guy was complaining about the scene where Boromir is teaching Pippin to use a sword and they're goofing off and stuff. He was complaining because it wasn't in the book, and hence was unecessary, and that few minutes could have been used to do something more worthwhile. Its just ridiculous. Why pick apart one of the THE greatest movies of our time with anal bulls*** like that? |
| #86 03:43am 28/12/01 |
Toll Booth Willy
Nah man I rekon Aliens was better. It was a good movie. But it was missing something :/ |
| #87 08:28am 28/12/01 |
hehe anal bulls***. Toll Booth Willy will like that. |
| #88 08:52am 28/12/01 |
Yeti Skinner
They did leave out that whole part of the book with Tom Bombadil saving them. This is not huge though and doesn't really further that plot or have any real action. |
| #89 09:00am 28/12/01 |
ex0dus
i tried to book a gold class ticket but it was booked out till jan 2nd at all 3 megaplexes how gay ;(** |
| #90 09:55am 28/12/01 |
AceTAME
I hated lord of the rings... s***test movie i ever saw. It was so boring. It's just not my kinda movie, all this wizard and magic bulls***. I hate all this make believe bulls***. What a piece of s***. Such an overated movie. Biggest waste of 3 hours. The special effects was pretty poor. Special effects means nothing to me anymore. The actors we're boring. I'd rather see ALI ... that was previewed. The ending is so s***. ... What a waste of 600 Million Dollars. |
| #91 10:54am 28/12/01 |
you went for all the wrong reasons ace gg going due to hype |
| #92 10:56am 28/12/01 |
Torment
hate all this make believe bulls*** Movies have make believe bulls*** in them ????? Here I am thinking it was alll sooooo true ...... =] |
| #93 11:08am 28/12/01 |
Hast
just watched the movie yesterday the melee scenes were awesome, lots of action yet the movie felt stretched out mebe i would of had a different opinion if i had read the book before seeing the movie but i felt the movie didn't involve me with the characters |
| #94 11:19am 28/12/01 |
GliTcH
the movie is very long.. the only thing i disagree with is that after 3 hours the movie just stops. No great triamph of good over evil... no last breathtaking battle involving the good vs ultimate evil. other then that is was the best 11 dollahr i ever spent. The special effects was pretty poor. f*** NO!!!!!! |
| #95 11:27am 28/12/01 |
Scythe1o1
It's fairly obvious why they left out Tom Bombadil, that part would've taken at least an hour, and really broken the flow of the movie. I saw it last night and thought it was incredible, lived up to every expectation I had. Isengard was my favourite set :). |
| #96 11:31am 28/12/01 |
how good will the isengard v treeants be mmm big battles |
| #97 11:39am 28/12/01 |
Scythe1o1
"I can see it now" :) |
| #98 11:50am 28/12/01 |
I've always been annoyed by the Tom Bombadil bit. Putting it in the movie would have been like putting something stupid and not really plot-relevant into a movie that didn't need it (hello, can you say POD f***ING RACING) |
| #99 11:52am 28/12/01 |
acrylic
i agree aliens was the best movie of our time |
| #100 12:03pm 28/12/01 |
Scythe1o1
My only gripe with FotR was that Boromir's horn sounded crap, and wasn't shown chopped in half or anything. |
| #101 12:07pm 28/12/01 |
Goa'uld
The movie reminded me a lot of star wars. - some kid on a journy to fight evil - part of a trilogy - the movie ends on a non-interesting part - lots of focus on special effects there was other stuff too but I just woke up :D |
| #102 12:41pm 28/12/01 |
AceTAME
Special effects are boring. I could easily pick the s*** that was fake. Movies too me have to have a true meaning. I don't like fantasy s***. I like real life true stories. Movies that smash Lord of the rings any day are Dragon the Bruce Lee Story, The Hurricane and Remember the Titans. And i bet this ALI movie will be in that list when i see it. |
| #103 12:55pm 28/12/01 |
Goa'uld
well I don't enjoy fantasy that much... but movie about people aren't all that great either. |
| #104 01:00pm 28/12/01 |
My only gripe with FotR was that Boromir's horn sounded crapyeh, I agree :| Movies too me have to have a true meaning. I don't like fantasy s***. I like real life true stories.booooooooriiiiiiiing I get enough of real life in real life. Do you watch soap operas as well? |
| #105 01:04pm 28/12/01 |
Scythe1o1
Soap Operas are not real life. :P |
| #106 01:40pm 28/12/01 |
acrylic
did they tell everyone that starwars was going to be a trilogy when they made it? |
| #107 02:34pm 28/12/01 |
Do people not realise this is only the first movie out of the trilogy, and that there is going to be two more yet? Comments like this after 3 hours the movie just stops. No great triamph of good over evil... no last breathtaking battle involving the good vs ultimate evil and this The ending is so s*** Make me think that they dont. |
| #108 04:16pm 28/12/01 |
GliTcH
i know it is but if you look at movies like starwars... each part of the trilogy had a major triamph of good over evil and a final onslaught. Ep 1 : End of darth Maul Ep 4 or 5 can't remember : death star Ep 6 : death star again each had a final battle and showed a major turning point in the fight of good vs evil. All that happend in LOTR was they killed that big guy, but the movie on the whole isn't about that guy it is about a ring. In starwars ep4 the whole movie was about the deathstar and it blew up in the end. In ep 1 although darth maul wasn't the big cheese till about 3/4 way through he was still running the whole show and was the reason that they all got stuck on that useless planet and had to do that POD race :) but then again starwars wasn't bound by a book to which it must follow. I can't wait to see froddo though that ring in the mountain in later eps. (correct me if i'm wrong i havn't read the books yet) |
| #109 04:29pm 28/12/01 |
LaCHiE
omg that movie is soo good... i loved it!! -saw it yesti- |
| #110 04:37pm 28/12/01 |
eYe_kAnDy
Ya, for those of you who haven't read the book's or are just starting there are 3. Part 1: The Fellowship of the Ring Part 2: The Two Tower's Part 3: The Return of the King These three book's make up "The Lord of the Rings"..if you think there is no ending or good defeating evil, wait till the third movie in two year's time..we'll see what happen's then ay? |
| #111 04:45pm 28/12/01 |
Rubba-Chikin
I saw it last night, "crap special effects" my arse!! it was all awesome, that Balron looked mad! but i must agree the wizard figth was rather funny, i was almost laughing at him doin headspins on the floor and where Bilbo wants to touch the ring again and his face goes all weird scared the f*** out of me, i didnt expect that at all! :D It was well worth the $10 i spent on it, the wait is so long till the next one, i might read the trilogy, cause i cant wait a year :) |
| #112 04:48pm 28/12/01 |
acrylic
yeah the head spins were a lil strange, but what else can a wizard do |
| #113 04:51pm 28/12/01 |
GliTcH
well the evil one did a good job mutilating that mountain from miles away. Why didn't he just send a strike of lightning after the good one when he was riding that big arse bird. but that would have been too easy |
| #114 06:06pm 28/12/01 |
yeah, but see how long it actually took to f*** that mountain up? I'm thinking its probably not something you just pull out your arse on a moments notice. And also, getting down to the logistics of the thing, hitting a guy on a moving bird is probably a lot harder than hitting a mountain. |
| #115 06:28pm 28/12/01 |
Scythe1o1
Khel is smaaret. |
| #116 06:33pm 28/12/01 |
Skurj
I can say 'pod racing'. I can also say 'JAR JAR f***ING BINKS' even louder :) JAR JAR : "Yousah meeaan people are gunna die??!!" OBI WAN: "Yes, right now!!" .... zzzwwwiinnng..... lightsaber cuts off head of a certain comic-relief character. Now that would have made EP1 worth watching. Back on topic - I saw FOTR today - damn fine movie and only slightly "hollywoodised". Thanks CHRIST they didn't use a bigtime yank director to do it - that would've probably completely fubared it. Looks like a definite buy on DVD - the extras will be interesting. |
| #117 11:31pm 28/12/01 |
Yeti Skinner
Extras will definitely be one of the highlights. |
| #118 11:38pm 28/12/01 |
acrylic
id rather wait to all 3 are on dvd cause there bound to do a special box set |
| #119 11:41pm 28/12/01 |
Skurj
True, but I don't have the uber willpower to wait another 2+ years for all three :( I'll just buy em up as they come, then sell 'em to my pov friend when the box set comes out :) |
| #120 11:49pm 28/12/01 |
SD Gundam
See, this is the crap that annoys me. Its not a word for word copy of the book, it is a film adaptation of the book. Notice the word "adaptation". It is adapted from the book, to be more suitable to the big screen. Keep in mind, it has to appeal to everyone, not just the people who have somehow memorised every little event in the trilogy.I was stating that the movie had been changed more than slightly. For the record I haven't read the book in seven years so my memory of it isn't really that fresh. But I certainly don't remember Arwen meeting Aragorn and the Hobbits after Weather Top I'm pretty dam sure it was Legolass, and I'm pretty damn sure Frodo was alone on LEGOLASS' horse when he was racing from the nine towards Rivendel. If you'd read my past posts you'd know that I liked the movie, I even like the slightly crap cartoon movie which did the aformentined scene better, it was more dramatic. The cartoon goes all the way to Helms Deep or was it Dike? and it only went for 3 hours? Anyway f*** you Khel! I've always been annoyed by the Tom Bombadil bit. Putting it in the movie would have been like putting something stupid and not really plot-relevant into a movie that didn't need it (hello, can you say POD f***ING RACING)I liked it there's bits like how one of them gets caught by the tree (Pippin I think or was it Merry?), if they chopped it up a bit and made it quicker it be more interesting. |
| #121 12:09am 29/12/01 |
Yeti Skinner
It was Merry that got caught in the tree |
| #122 12:11am 29/12/01 |
++RIP++
The LOTR is arquably the best story ever written. By producing a series of movies that closely resemble's the novel(s) they were on a sure bet to have also arquably one of the best series of film's (if not the best) ever made. They did put in the effort to adhere as closely as possible to the 3 novels and it looks like (judging from the 1st ) that so far it has paid of and given movie go'ers (especially that portion that shy away from reading) access to 1 of the great tail's of out time. It does justice to the novels to produce 3 x 3hr movies rather than try to stuff it all into 1 x 3hr session. Hopefully they do The Hobbit down the track as a prequel (simialer to Star Wars: Episode 1), just to round it all out. P.S Quote from previous post: "And also, getting down to the logistics of the thing, hitting a guy on a moving bird is probably a lot harder than hitting a mountain." Answer: Saruman with a zoomed AWP from the top of Saruman's place at Isengard may just about have had a chance at popping Gandalf of that eagle with a BS headshot, rather than some BS lightning bolt skulldugery. Personally I F@#%ing hate the AWP and wouldv'e tried for a BS 3 burst AK shot and failing that, gone full auto and tried spamming him with the AK, but that's only me. |
| #123 12:30am 29/12/01 |
SD Gundam
Yeah then to get merry out they tried setting it on fire, then Merry screamed about the tree saying it would squeeze him to death if they didn't stop. Then Tom Bombadil came along and sorted it out. |
| #124 12:32am 29/12/01 |
Kvastr
Glorfindel or something like that (not Legolas) was the elf that found Strider and the hobbits and Frodo was alone on his horse racing to Rivendel. Despite the changes, I still loved the movie. |
| #125 03:14am 29/12/01 |
PeaceKeeper
and the hobbits and Frodo was alone on his horse racing to Rivendel. True eh? The movie "version" seems to make more sense, Frodo was kind of stabbed by some freaky undead weapon. But oh well. I'm scho tempted to read the other 2 books, but watching FOTR without knowing the storyline rawked. |
| #126 05:31am 29/12/01 |
GliTcH
It does justice to the novels to produce 3 x 3hr movies rather than try to stuff it all into 1 x 3hr session I agree, but the only thing I hate is when the 3 x 3 hour movies are 3 years apart... They've apparently finished filming and are in post production stage of movie 2. So do we really have to wait another year. I hate reading but the anticipation might just be enought to make me read the trillogy |
| #127 10:56am 29/12/01 |
shogun
That film kicks some serious ass. |
| #128 05:18pm 29/12/01 |
Cailean
They may have filmed a classic, but rmember they are still ultiamtely there to make money. I would be extremely gracious that they are released a year apart. Remember filming is only half of it. There is marketing, not to mention all teh CG s*** you gotta put in, in the end I'd say regardless of anything it is completely unreasonable to expect it in less then a year. |
| #129 08:40pm 29/12/01 |
SD Gundam
Least their making the next two the cartoon version didn't get past The battle at Helms Dike. |
| #130 09:27pm 29/12/01 |
dazzlarr
>what the f*** are you on about dazzlar? >i mean why bring harry potter into this s*** conversation.. didnt you see the quote? I didnt bring it up someone else did dumbass I'll put it here again so maybe this time you'll pay f***in attention >I won't see this movie, because I'm not into all that dungeons and dragons crap. >I saw harry potter today... f*** it was the gayest. I bet lord of rings is the same. Which i pointed out that they are quite different. >why am i a girl if i dont want to see a movie with an actor i dont >like in it..? >alot of people are like that. >for instance julia roberts pisses me off... >yet you probably have fun watching her then masturbating >afterwards dont you f***wit? ummm how is masturbating over julia roberts an insult? I hope that aint the best insult you can come up with. So I should masturbate over animals or something like you do? Simple, it may be the best movie ever made, and your not going to see it cause some moron is in it? that's just childish. Maybe the movie you saw the person in was just a bad movie and not an indication of how good an actor they actually are. And they guy might not even be in the film for more then 10 minutes. |
| #131 04:50pm 30/12/01 |
Top moofie imo. |
| #132 05:30pm 30/12/01 |
indeed |
| #133 05:35pm 30/12/01 |
Nick Nack Paddy Wack
dazzlar always brings things in that are totally irellevent to the topic.. |
| #134 05:53pm 30/12/01 |
dazzlarr
>dazzlar always brings things in that are totally irellevent to the topic.. right... so what i did was reply to stuff posted by you, so what you are saying is that your posts are irrelevent. you havent been taking your pills again have you? |
| #135 07:38pm 30/12/01 |
Nick Nack Paddy Wack
settle pettle, you just started going on about kids movies and mature movies bla bla and all i said was that i didnt want to see it because i didnt like the lead actor. |
| #136 07:57pm 30/12/01 |
SpecGen
Boromir's horn did sound pretty crap, I thought it was going to be some huge booming thing.. I mean you could hear it anywhere in Gondor. Also, you did see it split in half. I was waiting for that, as I thought they would leave that out, but if you look closely, it was indeed split, or at least thats what my eyes told me. Great movie, I'm currently trying to figure out who i'll see it with now.. once wasn't enough :) |
| #137 02:28am 31/12/01 |
SD Gundam
There's another movie set in Middle Earth being devloped here. It's coming out next year it's not by Peter Jackson so it won't be like the first movie but it's interesting not sure what the plot is though. |
| #138 03:25am 31/12/01 |
First of all I loved the movie, saw it twice in the first 2 days it was out. Bitches: Aragon not wielding Isildurs sword (that sword is damned important). As I recall it was neither legolas nor Arwen that met Aragon and Frodo when Frodo had been stabbed. It was one of Elronds sons who found him, Elrond had dispatched all of them to go searching for the hobbits. And the reason that it wasn't farfetched for the horse to only be carrying the wounded Frodo was because it was an elf horse and had been given orders to return him safely to rivendell. Another bitch, which one of u retards called Ents "Treeants??" |
| #139 09:11am 31/12/01 |
.druid.
* N U K E D * By Khel |
| #140 06:11pm 01/01/02 |
Scythe1o1
Bitches: Aragon not wielding Isildurs sword (that sword is damned important) I thought it was reforged later on...... |
| #141 08:59pm 31/12/01 |
.druid.
as raraku pointed out, i apparently said it in a non-civil fashion. i presume it was the "that's my opinion, and that's all that matters". for anyone who disliked the comment, read the thread first. i was quoting acrylic on that, and i did not mean it myself. |
| #142 05:07pm 01/01/02 |
go on khel, nuke me again for stating an opinion Ok |
| #143 06:11pm 01/01/02 |
.druid.
yeah. exactly. if i told you to jump off a bridge, khel, would you? |
| #144 08:56pm 01/01/02 |
eYe_kAnDy
I would if fpot was there to catch me. |
| #145 09:15pm 01/01/02 |
.druid.
er... i asked khel directly. but anyone else is welcome to try it - but only do it once! (and make a damn good splat that one time too) if you're going to go out, go out with style. |
| #146 09:18pm 01/01/02 |
druid just roll with the puches man...f*** em, f*** it |
| #147 10:05pm 01/01/02 |
.druid.
sounds good taco. wait - assuming you are on the "other" side, how can i trust you? ;) ok i give up. my only remaining loathing is for khel's nukage, which i'm sure i've explained enough so i'll spare you the dets. |
| #148 11:17pm 01/01/02 |
eYe_kAnDy
Here son, have a lolly-pop! |
| #149 11:21pm 01/01/02 |
I can't even remember why I nuked your post in the other thread, you were probably being a tard or something (if the rest of your posts are any indication, I'd say thats the most likely story). That one above I nuked just because I knew you'd bite. |
| #150 12:05am 02/01/02 |
.druid.
*bite* i thought admin were meant to be like policeman - no corruption or abuse of power (which is corruption i suppose)... you nuked the post because you loved and adored the movie. there was no other reason. everyone can be a tard in posts at times, khel, and so have i. i have also been quite alright in posts as well. |
| #151 12:10am 02/01/02 |
c0rr
they need a lotr mod for daoc, now that would f***in be cool |
| #152 12:25pm 02/01/02 |
eYe_kAnDy
Or a game that is lotr |
| #153 12:50pm 02/01/02 |
Rukh
FotR was a great movie imo. There were of course plot changes between the book and the movie but as the movie when taken by itself rocked, it's still ok :) One thing though that I felt changed things for maybe the worse was how in the movie Gandalf was the one saying the party should go via the pass rather than the Mines of Moria and Gimli was saying they should go via the Mines. In the book, Aragorn prefers to take the pass and Gandalf is the one that is suggesting going via Moria *even though he knew that it would be dangerous for him personally*. The movie in that scene made Gandalf out to be scared of going via Moria as he knew he might be killed whereas in the book he's the one pushing to going that way despite the danger to himself. Still, the movie did rock :) |
| #154 01:04pm 02/01/02 |
they need a lotr mod for daoc, now that would f***in be cool A Massively Multiplayer RPG set in Middle Earth is actually being worked on by Sierra at the moment. It got shelved for a bit in the big reshuffle that happened at Sierra a while back, but its being worked on again now. No real details yet though. |
| #155 01:57pm 02/01/02 |
i saw it last night and it was awesome... i cant wait for the next 2 although i hated how it just ended.. oh well... suspense :) |
| #156 01:59pm 02/01/02 |
Astaroth
Grrr...still too far away oh well, have been rereading the series again (for the umpteenth) time - a bit miffed at the movie people for the number of exclusions they made the the transfer from text to screen |
| #157 05:46pm 04/01/02 |
| #157 |