Topic: Finished building my house ...

But now I gotta sell it :( I spent the last 4 f***ing years of my life putting all my time and effort into restoring this thing. When I got got it, it was a pile of s*** so I gutted it and rebuilt the inside and extented out the back with a new kitchen, deck bathroom and a 3rd bedroom. Anything thats polished in the house we made up at work (doors, bed, arches).

I'm pissed that I gotta sell it but from what the real estate guys told us we should get some serious cash for it.

http://www.eac.com.au/photos350/1110834.jpg
http://www.eac.com.au/photos/34/1110834_2.jpg

http://www.remax.com.au/display.aspx?ln=1110834

Start bidding, I need that cash !!!
Nice work Snakeman. Dosnt look like anyplace in Germany I know though :p
Ha, thanx dude... Nah Stones Corner :D
Slydog
omg stay away from that real estate agent. He stuffed around myself who was interested in a place, and the vendor, to the point where he never told the vendor what was going on, even though we had put a contract in - In the end because of all the crap, and it all fell through, the vendor ended up ringing me directly, we talked about what happened, and we struck a deal ourselves...

HEY!!! That's my cook top and mortar & pestle.. GIVE EM BACK NOW!!!
Looks awesome - I wish I had the motivation to do renovations on my house to make it look half as good as that.
wow nice looking place, well done. Hope you get heaps for it.
omg stay away from that real estate agent. He stuffed around myself who was interested in a place, and the vendor, to the point where he never told the vendor what was going on, even though we had put a contract in - In the end because of all the crap, and it all fell through, the vendor ended up ringing me directly, we talked about what happened, and we struck a deal ourselves...

We checked out 5 agents through 5 places, and in the end these guys seemed to be the only guys to push it rather than come to a leveled out price. And they have a good rep for selling Queenslanders.
dude, that looks awesome (even more so after i checked all the pix, that kitchen is unreal, wifey is gonna cream when i show her)

good area too!

i hope you clean up, although then what?

u have to spend it all to get another place . .. . .

last edited by Spook at 18:36:24 13/Mar/07
can't say I like the blue but the kitchen and bathroom are awesome!
wow nice place man, looks like the upstairs is exactly the same design as the house i'm renting (downstairs isnt fully built in like yours). Makes me realise how good this place could look with some work. Hope you get a smooth sale with it.
that house is f***ING MAD

give us some figures !

Dunno dude, they real estate guys told us anywhere between 550 to 600k
Holy crap man, well done! That looks unreal. That's pretty much the kind of place I would want to buy...

That agent used to come into Vid Sleazy all the time, seems like a reasonable fella. Good luck with it, hopefully you get much more than what you are asking.
yeah I would have thought you'd get more than that
mscactus
From a womans point of view (and from someone who has been looking at hundreds of houses for sale) its one of THE nicest and most functional houses I have seen. Great job and you should get a really good price for it.
nat
i've seen this place and it does indeed kick ass

snakeman mate that place is a credit to ya. f***ing amazing work... i'd love to have the skillz to do something like that

can we have a gathering of sorts there before you sell the place? :)

nice place

last edited by spidz at 20:04:18 13/Mar/07
nice pad, shame about the buzz lightyear bed spread.
nice one mate. looks nice. does that couch get wet when it rains??

i would have thought you would get more that 600k for it too.
stones corner can be xy and the place is imaculate. 750k would be a starting point maybe more mate. i dont know the market obviously as well as the real estates but unless you are in a major hurry to sell it i bet you someone will fall in love with it and just "have to have it"
Good job on the reno.

Is downstairs legal head height? It looks kinda low and how do you walk around the main bedroom bed - looks like it's almost against the built-ins in the pic.

Hopefully our house will get renovated one day......

BTW I think it's a Simpsons bedspread.

While I'm no price knowing guy I think 550-600 sounds about right. Although it's all nicely done and in a great spot it isn't that big overall to warrant much more.

last edited by mission at 22:11:59 13/Mar/07
mate for a 3 bedder in such a crispy crunchy condition, close to the city, you should be getting close to a milly i reckon.
Tell him he's dreamin'
i'm actually quite interested in that place, mine has to sell first though :(
nightstalker
where are the before pics?
holy sheet! Whats the land size?

Also what the fook do you do for a dollar? Are you a chippy/builder?
^^^ I'm a joiner by trade.
where are the before pics?

I'll dig some up when I get home from work.

Is downstairs legal head height?

Nah dude its not so we turned it into a media room.
Whiplash
Nice work dude, looks great! My wife and I are actually renovating our unit atm so I can partially appreciate how much effort that must have required :) (I say partially because obviously in comparison units are a piece of piss).

Good luck with the $$$ acquisition :P
nice dude, did you fix that loose poles under the hose? :) I'm guessing it doesn't have the huge area underneath for lans anymore?
how big is the deck, snake? 3x5?
cute place. very homely, shame u have to sell it after putting so much into it
I like it, you've done a great job. We thought about buying a renovator for a while, then realised we have absolutely no spare time thanks to long working hours :(
yer, i couldnt face working all day, and then spending the rest of my free time working on the house

we are doing a little bit of stuff ourselves, but mainly going to get professionals in to do our place (well, if i did it, it would turn out s*** anyway)

Deathwalker
f*** Stace i remember what that place looked like years ago, awesome job you have done on it man, you have some good taste. Are you going to get back a lot more than you spent on it ?
^^^ Yeh dude I should walk away with a fair bit of cash. But I have no regrets. Doing this taught me heaps of stuff. Most of it was done at mates rates like having an awsome sparky to wire the entire place and having a tiler and painter to get the hard work out of the way.
Nicely done. It would break my heart to then sell :(

How can you get past the bed in thefirst bedroom? It looks mighty closs to the wardrobe!

Yeh its about 3 feel away from the sliding doors. Its just the shot he took, the other pic shows how far away they are from the bed.
what a s*** box.
when i asked figures i meant how much you spent on like.. each part of the house

paint, wiring, plumbing etc.

reason is 90% of all of my friends are apprentices / tradeys, we have serious intentions of doing something like this asap.

aka buying a s***box and doing it up, working our ass off on it, then selling it for mega $$$$.

i myself am sparky, mates = 3 other sparkies, 2 chippies, 3 plumbers, a roofer, 2 tilers, 2 painters, 2 plasterers / sheeters, my old man is concreter + more friends.... we talk about it alot.. hopefully words will turn to actions.
wtb: snakeman's house
i myself am sparky, mates = 3 other sparkies, 2 chippies, 3 plumbers, a roofer, 2 tilers, 2 painters, 2 plasterers / sheeters, my old man is concreter + more friends.... we talk about it alot.. hopefully words will turn to actions.

u should make it your quest

hell yea. awesome work stace
whoa ur a sparky... how long ? who with ?
yeah I thought you were a concreter too
Wow dude, seriously nice reno
I've said it once, and i'll say it again. Awesome place dude!
that's some fine work there Snakeman..

props to ya :)
haha ace yeah i got a job a while ago dude.. gave up the creting..

im with fitz eletrix atm hes a subby for usher constructions.. mainly s***box unit sites with 80 or so units there, but sometimes we do nicer houses down at hope island and stuff...

turn second year in like may..
when i asked figures i meant how much you spent on like.. each part of the house

Everything timber in the house we got for pretty much nothing from work. Doors, windows, arc, flooring, hardware. I've been working for the same company for 15 years so our boss looks after us when it comes to stuff like this. All the other s*** like roofing, tiling and painting we swapped for doors and windows with our tradey mates who are also building houses.
ruben
ill second that comment about the remax agent, hes a douchebag.

did you get an appraisal from e-place? the company i used to work for sold a fair amount of product through them, they seem to be quite strong in regards to selling new or renovated homes. Their pure spivs so their yuppie client list is really strong, though i guess to be honest ive also spoken to people who've had bad experiences with them.

real estate agents:|

Snakeman, did you do all the capentry/timber work or someone else?? Also do they do stuff on commission...I would be interetsed if they did as I will be commissioning someone to do purpose built dressing room cabinets, media wall outfitting, floor to ceiling display cabinets etc..etc..

cheers

very nice work mate

trillion
hey snakey, Ill take the bonsai if you're selling those ;-)

trillion
Nice work on the house too. Last time I spoke to you, you were knee deep in gutting the place for the big reno job ahead. Fantastic to see how nicely its turned out for you.

^^^ Yeh dude the bonsai's are for sale. A mate of mine does them as a hobby.