Topic: buying absinthe in brissy
sup lads

I remember reading on here a while ago that there were a few places around brissy that sell absinthe, I know that you cant get teh real s*** over here (legitimately) but my mate is after the imitation stuff.

So if anyone can help me out it would be great. cheers.
Alot of Bottleshops stock it. Usually places like liqourland and BWS don't stock it due to the size of there stores, They tend to steer clear of high cost/low turnover items.

The bottlemart at the brackenridge tavern stocks it. You can pick it up there.
Try any larger bottleshop, also the liqour superstore at lutwyche will stock it as well.

last edited by Tiny at 03:48:20 25/Jan/07
Apparently someone feels a need to f*** themself up...
First choice ftw

Awesome prices!
It's pretty easy to find these days, but yeah Dan Murphy's or First Choice will stock a few each.
Uncle Dan's is in Brisbane now?? Sweet!
box of goon is much cheaper and end result = same
Uncle Dan's is in Brisbane now?? Sweet!

He is indeed. Middle Park, Woolloongabba, Wynnum, and soon Springwood, Albany Creek & Holland Park.
That's oarsome! Man I blew so much money in that place, but the prices were very good on quantity.

BevMo! here is similar...but they are filled with awful American Wine. The funny part is that the small collection of Aussie imported stuff is way way cheaper, and tastes better to boot!

I swear the alcohol content in spirits is weaker. :(

Oh and Smirnoff Black ICE is a joke - fkn classed as Malt Liquor, with no vodka in it!

haha yes it does

i reckon it's good to have a shot of when you're out etc don't really feel the need to buy a bottle of it
Oh man it burns.
Had trouble keeping it down but taste awesome.

Anyway, had some the other week and was told they bought it from a BWS. =\
I brought some absinthe back from Austria

they give it to you with a certificate from some Austrian gov't health body telling any customs officials that it is safe to drink and lists all the chemicals and stuff in the drink... still wouldn't want to try it on with Brisbane customs... luckily it didn't come up

what's the deal anyway, it's meant to make you go loco or something
PHATm
man, Dan Murphys at Noosa is f***ing huge :). Every time I go back home theres new stuff at Noosa. It's larger than Indooroopilly Coles I reckon.

And cheap.

Xmas eve in there was insane.

like 6 or 7 lanes 20m long, half hour wait, and a security guard to control the amount of people into the store as the queue outside was huge.
inso, the real deal is meant to have a hallucinogen innit
jesu
I beleive that Wormwood is the active ingredient and the french used to drink it becuase of the high hallucinogenic factor.

If you want to get f***ed on it, look for a brand i think is called the Green Fairy, or maybe it has a green fairy as some artwork.

It has a 63% label on it, but most of the time it covers a label behind that is about 73% alco vol.

By the way, how's it going dude? How's the youngin?
the amount of wormwood in even the czech variants of absinthe are not altogether that much. to get enough wormwood for actual hallucinations you'd need to be drinking enough 60%-70% alcohol that you'd be hallucinating anyway.

plus it tastes like s***.
i thought it was because they had THC in them??

anyway thanks dudes.
tung
Token Black Man
yeah the dan murph at noosa is crazy sized!
mate brought some back from prague and it was very nasty stuff indeed. Everyone got very wasted on it though.
One of my mates brought some sort of rum back from some Russian/German/Ukrainian sorta nation. They had to change the labels apparently to get it through customs. It was 80% and man... it was the f***in wierdest stuff to get drunk on. Tasted soooo bad so we'd have a few beers first then just have one glass, and it would just make you so out of it straight away.
it is wormwood that is the hallucinogen in Absynthe
you should only really shot it, or i think there are a couple of cocktales that use it

sipping the s*** from a glass is just torture
You're meant to get those metal spoons that are shaped like leaves, then put sugar cubes on it, and pour the absynthe over it and into the glass..

apparently.
you can smoke wormwood
You're meant to get those metal spoons that are shaped like leaves, then put sugar cubes on it, and pour the absynthe over it and into the glass..
Yep... get yourself an absinthe spoon and some sugar cubes.

Best way to drink it and you get the added yuppie factor too.
yeah one time i ordered it at the GPO and the chick did that, cept she set the absinthe and sugar on the spoon on fire and melted it into like caramel, and put it in with the shot

f*** it hammers you and give you a little upper from the sugar

i reckon it has some funky s*** in it anyway, it's not like a normal shot thats for sure
where do u buy the stuff that gets ur mind flowing?
in mother russia
Book shops?
wikipedia says the hallucination stuff is bulls***.
haha, absnyth. the absnyth factory is cool. when we where in moscow, some crazy bar owner invented all these drinks. "carr" - champage with a shot of absnyth floated on it. skull that, most disgusting drink ever, but gets you going for the night.
if wikipedia told you to jump off a cliffe fpot, would you?
a guy on our footy trip never drank caffieen. first night he had about 6 red bulls and haluicinated that he killed someone. see if thats in wikipidea?
Vodka + green food colouring + microdots

Home made absinthe, viola :D

wow there is a word i haven't heard for a while, microdots

are they around atm?

they seem to be an on and off kinda thing
yeah one time i ordered it at the GPO and the chick did that, cept she set the absinthe and sugar on the spoon on fire and melted it into like caramel, and put it in with the shot

haha, reminds me of a party at a mates palce ages ago and he was melting sugar and some spirit (may well have been absinthe) and he was so blind, he took a big mouthful straight out of the spoon just after it had burnt

melted most of his mouth and he was in pain for weeks after it

ouch. thats pretty fcuked.
You can purchase wormwood to make absinthe here: http://www.happyhighherbs.com/
heh
Happy high herbs is the sickest shop ever.
Goto west end and check out their store, it's awesome!

You can buy some interesting things there.

That's putting it lightly...

What a night!
That herbal s*** sucks... I've smoked that Wild Lettuce before though at a festival.

Gave me some really farked up dreams.
For those who want more info...

I know for a fact that the big BWS at Sunnybank (behind the Sunnybank Hotel) sells absinthe. Last time I saw it there was a free absinthe spoon bundled with it. When I asked the staff there about it they were very informative and helpfull. Oh and it wasn't in the wiki, but I heard that some regional variants of the stuff have opium in them.

On the topic of getting f***ed up, somebody told me recently that if you soak marajuana buds in a strong, clear alcoholic liquid (like vodka or stronger) and leave it in the dark for a few days, the resulting fluid will mess you up pretty hard. Anybody know about this?
don't even bother with the crap in australia overpriced mouthwash get some bacardi 151 or chatruese(sp) up ya

crizane its called Green Dragon

last edited by d[o_0]b at 00:11:44 26/Jan/07
On the topic of getting f***ed up, somebody told me recently that if you soak marajuana buds in a strong, clear alcoholic liquid (like vodka or stronger) and leave it in the dark for a few days, the resulting fluid will mess you up pretty hard. Anybody know about this?
Had a few mates that did that a lot, but they used the s***ty leftover bits (leaves, stems, unmature buds) and REALLY high strength liquor.

I never had any, but they claimed it was brutal.

Ah cool thanks for the link. It just sounded kinda made up to me, almost like urban legend material.
great stuff if you want to chop your ear off and top yerself.
"Well, see you guys tomorrow." *drinks*