first one is rofl lol in my books, second one is meh
*PoP PrInCeSs*
Hehehehehe, first is funny :p:p
FUK !

They cheated in that 2nd one, the wipers are on :p

I'll be happy just taking my Jeep on the beach and s***, you can keep the extreme stuff.
hahaha both of those videos remind me of 4x4'ing with Jim.

I was thinking that stuff is pretty tame compared to what Jim makes us do to fulfil his un-quenchable 4x4 cravings.

I'll be happy just taking my Jeep on the beach and s***, you can keep the extreme stuff.

You s*** on the beach? Dirty f***er, the least you could do is s*** in the sand dunes.
You s*** on the beach? Dirty f***er

You never wondered how sand-castles stay intact for so long?
Thats pretty awsome parabol. Steep sand is usually very bad news.

My Jeep last Weekend at Rover 4x4 Park;

http://www.monster4x4.com.au/gallery2/d/4467-1/DSCF4468.JPG

more;
http://www.monster4x4.com.au/gallery2/v/AUS4WDPhotos/Roverpark+181206/
heh yeah that first one always has me boggled, why didn't he just press the clutch in?

that second one is pretty cool

the one parabol linked made my jaw drop the first time I saw it, the sheer grunt of that motor, f***ing unreal

haha nice cocking of the jeep leg scooter :) I bet that was sphincter-licious

and I have to post this:
http://blahnana.qgl.org/pics/misc/porblem.jpg
Here's a really old one of my friend, there's no sound so don't try getting sound to work :)
http://home.iprimus.com.au/whoop/oshi-1.wmv
gotta love independant suspension on a fourby
BiKESEAT
lol get a real fourby boys.

http://members.optusnet.com.au/georgec82/beal1.jpg
http://members.optusnet.com.au/georgec82/beal2.jpg
http://members.optusnet.com.au/georgec82/beal3.jpg
http://members.optusnet.com.au/georgec82/beal4.jpg

Not mine, but a mate of mine, he's taking it in the outback challenge next year.

9" 5 link lift
35's with beadlocks
LS1 chipped to 300kw
double transfer cases
full custom roll cage, tray etc.

It used to be a wagon.
That first video looks expensive :/

That machine aboce looks pretty serious.
I must say, 4 x 4 is one of the best activities of all time (only done it a few times).

My ex's stepdad used to have one of those little Suzuki sierra's modified a bit, damn those little things are beastly.

Non-noob people, is that typically a good 4wd car? He was doing some epic things in it.
Simes

I love it. Get a real $100k car!!!11

Meanwhile, this is my mates car, and I drive a charade.
BiKESEAT

what can i say... i was pissed.
i watched some 4x4 show on discovery the other day, where they go on a trail drive for 20 days

there was a disclaimer saying "body work will be damaged, dont come unless you are prepared for it" and there were all these funny looking mini monster trucks

strangely though, non reported quartermile times, and they certainly didnt look very fast, and there were no hektik skidz

so i lost interest
Wheres the excitement in a 4wd exactly? can someone explain to me.. Your sitting there and getting bounced around.
Riding a dirt bike in technical terrain is far more exciting.
And whats annoying is when you come up a trail and see a 4WD stuck / rolling backwards towards you..

http://home.exetel.com.au/vash/2006-09-16/watties06.jpg

http://home.exetel.com.au/vash/2006-08-06/IMG_5819.JPG

http://home.exetel.com.au/vash/2006-08-06/IMG_5883.JPG

Mate trying to get up.. that was one narly hill. It was abit damp too.. He came off here :P

last edited by Vash at 11:04:44 22/Dec/06
Boofe
Vash really everyone to their own. I don't like bikes and prefer the safety and comfort of my Pajero. Not to mention i can get home and not need to have a shower because im covered in mud. When 4wd'ing there is skill and experience need in negoiating different terrians. Something you can't experience on a bike... That's where is it fun!
bikeseat, that's a not a bad lookin GQ but it's a bit of a show pony in those pics

how come he doesn't mount the lightforce's on the rear bar so they can fold down backwards when it's not a night stage? that's 1k worth of lights if he tips over or has to squeeze under a branch, or more like 4k if they're HID

front bar? highmount? rock sliders?

asif there's 9" of lift there, more like 4" suspension + 2" body. 9" would be totally stupid for a comp truck anyway

where's the 5 link? the front looks 3 link to me, and the rear is 5 link from the factory anyway

chub: I've got a few friends with modified sierra's, they do pretty well but love to cock a leg and tip :)

vash: it's a personal preference like most things. those bike pics are snooze-worthy to me, cos my fourby would just idle up that terrain in low range. I can see how it'd be fun on a bike tho

here's my fourby, it's set up more for touring than anything else, family and I do big trips in it

http://www.monster4x4.com.au/gallery2/d/4076-1/DSC03243 _Medium_.JPG
http://www.monster4x4.com.au/gallery2/d/4087-1/DSC03248 _Medium_.JPG

Wtf, do the wheels bend Jim?

I'm completely noob to 4wd.

Also vash, I will be joining in on the bike fun very soon... like you, offroad biking appeals to me 110% more... seems like you have a lot more control (direct vision ftw).

last edited by CHUB at 12:27:11 22/Dec/06
nah the axles tilt

I've got 6" coils with matched shocks, and have removed the swaybars so there's a fair bit of suspension travel
Also vash, I will be joining in on the bike fun very soon... like you, offroad biking appeals to me 110% more... seems like you have a lot more control (direct vision ftw).

Yeah, as you go flying into the rocks you have complete control over which body part you want embedded with stones the size of your cock first.
Fnukle
Personally im into both dirtbikes, roadbikes and 4wds
have a xr250 atm, lil fzr250, range rover and a lil asia rocsta

I dont see why people bag one or the other, they are all awesum

Snoozy ? haha.. your idling up a hill going walking pace. talk about snooze worthy.

Also trail riding isnt that dangerous unless youre a bogan going flat out everywhere. I'd say hardcore mountain biking is far more dangerous. The technical terrain requires alot of skill, all about line choice and momentum. I suppose its similar to 4WDs.
I prefer the real technical terrain over open fast flowing trails.
And a dirt bike will get up anything a 4WD will.. and more :)

last edited by Vash at 13:06:55 22/Dec/06

last edited by Vash at 13:08:09 22/Dec/06

I hear jims cock is as floppy as his suspension...
Video of one of our rides a few months ago. Mate is videoing.
If this is snooze-worthy then nothing is fun :P
http://video.google.com.au/videoplay?docid=-5024293993646714411&hl=en-AU

Wasnt any tough stuff since we had quite a few numbers.
Jim was refering tot he Hill itself, not the Bikes going up it.
He would idle up it, he likes something a little more challanging.

Also, unless you have one of those sport step-up bikes, a 4wd could go places reg offroad bikes couldn't.

<3 Off Road bikes myself, but i'm not very good :( and I cant afford both :o
jim, there is a perfectly flat patch of ground right next to where your 4x4 is in that pic.....

who needs to go offroad to find a challenge to climb :P
heh paveway

vash don't get all narky bloke, you've busted in on a 4wd thread criticising it and posting stuff about how bikes are more exciting, I'm just responding to that with exactly what I thought when I looked at those pics of a bike going up a really tame hill.

Like I said I can see why people like bikes, they're just not my cup of tea. I like the challenge of trying to get a fat-assed vehicle over gnarly terrain. It's not exciting in terms of speed like a bike, but it's fun.

At any rate, there's not really that much difference between those slow bits in your vid there and say my 4by going up this hill which I was using to test new suspension I'd bolted up the night before:

people who enter comps with utes similar to that one bikeseat posted earlier do difficult terrain but are also racing a clock so they tend to do it as fast as possible instead of slow and controlled, I guess that'd be a lot closer to exciting
i agrees with fuknukle :D i'm more of a trailbiker but i dont mind some cool 4wd action... just can't afford one myself :P i had a phat time at fraser (inland) years ago in a mate's nissan patrol... still... had even more fun on my xr600 :D
Dunno.. just doesnt look like skill is needed. Who ever has the biggest tyres/wheels/suspension.
That hill looks abit like the ones in the watties locally, tho more tame. video/pics really can't show how steep a hill is.
isn't that akin to me saying there's no skill in riding a dirtbike on dirt tracks, whoever has the thickest barkbusters or most mosquito-like sounding 2-stroke?
Nah, how do barkbusters help you get up a hill? How would a 2 stroke help you get up a hill?
With bikes its 90% rider.

While ground clearence and bigger wheels / more suspension travel is the only way to get you up tougher hills in a 4WD (in my limited experience)
Any bike can get up any hill provided its ridden by an experienced rider.
Correct me if i'm wrong..
Oh and 4WDs have no access to the many awesome networks of single track trails :D
hehe... skills. neither take huge skills to do average stuff... both take huge skills to do difficult stuff... like, c'mon... heaps of ppl do both trail riding & 4wd'ing to enjoy themselves & there'd be a wide range of 'skills' amongst both groups imo.
Any bike can get up any hill provided its ridden by an experienced rider.
Correct me if i'm wrong..

well that is wrong :D i doubt that anyone could ride a grand prix bike up to the top of mt.crookneck :P
if it was down to ground clearance and bigger wheels, we'd be driving mining trucks

ground clearance helps you more easily get over some obstacles and mainly helps you stop bashing your underside, but it also means higher centre of gravity which is bad cos you tip the car over much easier. so no, you can't just make your car have the highest ground clearance

bigger wheels help lift your axles higher off the ground unlike suspension/body lift, and they fill wheel ruts better, and they make it easier to roll over larger chunks of rock, but go too big and you ruin your low range gearing making it impossible to drive over some obstacles, and you incur excessive stress on drivetrain components and rip pieces out of your guards and panels out when the wheel travels upward into the wheel arches. so no, you can't just make your car have the biggest wheels

more suspension travel definitely helps keep tyres on the ground which gives you more traction. there's not a lot of downside to more suspension travel really, other than drastically changing the geometry of your vehicle's steering and handling when you drive it on bitumen which a lot of us do. so no, you can't just make your car have more suspension travel.

4wd's have access to many private 4wd parks and other areas where bikes are forbidden, so not being able to access bike tracks doesn't seem to bother anyone with a 4wd
Boofe
4wd's have access to many private 4wd parks and other areas where bikes are forbidden

Yeah. I've found that alot of 4wd park don't want bikes because firstly they're too noisy and more importantly they rip the tracks up too much. More then what 4wd's do. (This is information coming from the mouth of the owner of a 4wd park.)
In NSW this is a problem. Because the EPA does 6 monthly or yearly can't remember, audits on 4wd parks to check on the tracks for errosion etc... The parks can face fines if the tracks are ripped up to much. Even though this is done on private property. The EPA have the power to make the owner grade the tracks etc...
I've herd a rumour that this practice will be coming to QLD in the not to distant future. Which i wouldn't doubt!
Fnukle
Dunno.. just doesnt look like skill is needed. Who ever has the biggest tyres/wheels/suspension.
thats just plain wrong. sure any random can do the easy stuff but for what we call 4x4ing(hardcore radius arm bending, sidewall popping, axle snapping, stargear shattering, driveshaft corkscrewing, balljoint smashing action) theres deffinate skill needed to do the stuff i consider worth doing.

bigger tyres and lift helps but if the driver doesnt know what he/she is doing can end up being really dangerous
more importantly they rip the tracks up too much

Complete bollocks. I've been on many trails in my time and the damage 4WDs cause to trails far outweighs any bike. THey are heavy and sink into the terrain and cause alot of erosion.
We only got 1 wheel drive and its a very skinny tyre..
I'd say they must of had alot of bike visitors which outweighed the amount of 4WDs. Or the idiot bikers were cutting new tracks or just spinning the wheels whilst stuck, digging ruts..

The same excuse was used in tasmania when i was travelling we wanted to explore one of the mountains next to hobart and it was shut to trail bikes. Still, thats the only place i've been that wouldnt let us in.

The noise issue is real, those bloody bogans putting straight through pipes on have caused alot of closures.

last edited by Vash at 18:38:00 22/Dec/06
Complete bollocks.

obviously u have ur eyes closed while riding. when ive been out 4x4ing with my bro and dad most of the s*** the trailbike riders were doing was rediculous. speeding down trails at 100kmh almost crashing into vehicles etc. ripping the s*** outta trails was their speciality.

last edited by ravn0s at 18:41:39 22/Dec/06
Besides, everybody knows that people who ride motorcycles are no skill wankers.
While ground clearence and bigger wheels / more suspension travel is the only way to get you up tougher hills in a 4WD (in my limited experience)

Absolutely bollocks, I've got naff all ground clearance, tiny wheel, and the suspension travel of a wet sausage. I still get around okay. It's just like riding a bike, you find the best line over an obstacle and go for it. The better the driver/rider the better you are at finding that perfect line.

Last time I was up at DIP, we had two near instances where bikes nearly smashed into the lead cars bullbar. One guy actually had to stop his bike and have a breather he came so close. The cars were doing about 20km/h ... the bikes were flying in the opposite direction. Worse yet, they didn't even have radios to warn eachother of obstacles ( like big f*** off 4x4's )

Oh and the time before we watched two bikes go up a hill side-by-side, one of them ( stubbies and a singlet ) lost it, almost hit his buddy, corrected and debarked a tree with the side of his bike.

All we see around the place are the hooligans being d*******s, whereas you see plenty of good sensible 4x4 drivers ( oh, and hooligans too, but doesn't seem to have the same percentage ).

it's my opinion that bikes tend to rip up tracks more on the whole, but again it comes down to the driver/rider. cars have the ability to tear the place up just as much as bikes probably, if the driver has aggressive tread and a heavy right boot.

We only got 1 wheel drive and its a very skinny tyre
that's the whole point - you're applying all your drive through the one skinny tyre, which is like me running skinny tyres and leaving it in 2 wheel drive - but I don't, I have all 4 of my wheels spreading the load between them, that youtube video I linked is a prime example, you see very little slippage of my wheels there which means barely any impact on the track.

One of the 'tread lightly' suggestions for having less of an impact on the bush in your fourby is to put it in 4wd even before you need to as with the 4 wheels doing the work instead of just 2, there's less loss of traction, and it's loss of traction that causes the carnage. So basically as soon as you hit the dirt you shift it into high 4 to minimise track damage.

I'm not making out I don't do any damage by the way, I'm just arguing that point.
heh yeah stinky is the perfect example of it not even close to just being down to the vehicle
I'm not making out I don't do any damage by the way, I'm just arguing that point.

Jim's so mindful of track damage sometimes he'll put his 4by on it's roof so as to maximise surface area. He's good like that.

Oh and the time before we watched two bikes go up a hill side-by-side, one of them ( stubbies and a singlet ) lost it, almost hit his buddy, corrected and debarked a tree with the side of his bike.

Normal behaviour.. Lots of fun racing your mate up a hill. I've hit many trees with my bike, its no problem..
You can't look like a hoon in a 4x4 since they crawl at running pace in the rough stuff. You could outrun one on a bloody mountain bike.

it is annoying seeing a 4WD not even moving in the middle of a trail. or sliding backwards with the brakes locked up heading towards ya..

I dont see how 1 wheel from a 40HP motorcycle that weighs 120kg is going to cause more damage than a 1800kg 4WD with whatever power they make?
That hill you were climbing was rather rocky which is already eroded to s***. Your 4WD would of had the same wheelspin at the hill in my video..

last edited by Vash at 19:12:42 22/Dec/06
But destroying Trees, and getting into dangerious situations, as "normal behaviour" is so much better.
Normal behaviour.. Lots of fun racing your mate up a hill. I've hit many trees with my bike, its no problem..
You can't look like a hoon in a 4x4 since they crawl at running pace in the rough stuff. You could outrun one on a bloody mountain bike.

just shows what complete tools u are ur mates are. wd.

hahahaha your joking. There's definately hoons out there in 4x4's who go at everything Full Throttle.
yeah but full throttle in a 4wd isnt exactly flying..
Fnukle
every comment you make Vash shows you have no idea about the 4x4ing
mmmmm steep rocky hillclimbs
I dont know about you but last time we went 4wd'ing we got mud everywhere and we were in the car as well :) So either way you are going to get dirty!
nice vids Jim :)
No way am I going to those places man , far out.

I'm happy to just take the family up the beach in my Jeep.
Resonate
lol nice vid jim, s*** that looks like so much fun =)
hehe that last vid is damn cool
yeah was good fun, taken on friday at ormeau
jims nissan is the most reassuring thing to have in your convoy :]
heh cheers scoobs
jim, rocky hillclimbs aren't the same without a tyre bouncing out of the tray and angry wife abuse
haha so true
don't think we got that on video did we?
nah, it wouldn't be as funny youtubed though