Dear UQ Sport Management, Here's the reply. You'll notice she doesn't address anything specifically. Clearly a stock standard email. I've gone to the website as suggested and can't see any "refurbishment plans and purchases" as mentioned, but I'll keep looking. SPOILT FOR CHOICE! |
| #0 10:15am 22/12/06 |
Token Black Man
what price have they gone up to for a year membership?
| #1 01:24pm 14/12/06 |
Is this as far as you're going to go with this letter or are you actually going to send it to them?
| #2 01:25pm 14/12/06 |
Thats quite emotional.
| #3 01:25pm 14/12/06 |
he's actually going to send it, i think you're being far to nice about the equipment, the few times i've been with you the weights i wanted were taken by others and it wasnt very busy.. they're old and crappy and not in a hardcore kinda way... paying for parking is a joke, and i know from my goodlife days its $495 upfront 12mths student, don't have to pay for parking, free classes and pool, can use the other goodlifes...etc..
| #4 01:33pm 14/12/06 |
that reminds me of my dear gmail letter:
hi Gmail, |
| #5 01:35pm 14/12/06 |
that reminds me of my dear gmail letter: Yep, i can see the similarities. |
| #6 01:39pm 14/12/06 |
That reminds me of Saint's "Dear Sherrif" letter, I'll let him tell you all about that one.
| #7 02:36pm 14/12/06 |
The benches are satisfactory, but again, old and sometimes difficult to adjust. There is also no air conditioning. Where does the membership money go? You should also ask where the millions of dollars of student fee’s have been going. I wonder what the extra fees are contributing to? The loss of millions of dollars of student fee’s each year. |
| #8 02:54pm 14/12/06 |
Yeah I sent a short email to them a week or 2 ago...one of their surveys or whatever. Told them to install aircon but they wont. It's a f***ing joke it gets so hot in there over summer. Downstairs actually has a/c machines which they used a few years ago, but now they never turn em on. Not that there's anything worth going downstairs for anyway...
The machines are all ass. The left and right sides of them arent even even ffs. And yes a lot of the benches are s***. Some of them are friggin slanty to one side it's rediculous and unsafe. Parking fees are also a joke. I'm gonna email them again and tell em I'm ditching their asses for the above reasons. |
| #9 03:05pm 14/12/06 |
Oi billy - post the email address u sent that to and i'll email em too. Maybe we can get everyone to flood em with complaints
| #10 03:06pm 14/12/06 |
And yes, year long membership holders should get a parking pass. Would be a good incentive to get more members too.
| #11 03:08pm 14/12/06 |
the few times i've been with you the weights i wanted were taken by others and it wasnt very busy.. they're old and crappy and not in a hardcore kinda way... That's just cause you're so massive and lift the big boy weights. The bars and weights are old, but who cares - they're weights. I wonder what the extra fees are contributing to? If that's the case, they shouldn't be charging extra for UQ Sport membership. Fees are ridiculously expensive if you're not a member, and to be a member it's $50. They can't raise the price AND charge for membership all with the excuse of VSU. Le Cock, I sent it to reception@uqsport.uq.edu.au - it was the most fitting address I could find. I'm sure it will be forwarded to the right person. |
| #12 03:29pm 14/12/06 |
It costs me like $120 to become a UQ sport member because i go to QUT. So then i pay for gym membership on top of that.
All UQ students used to be UQ Sport members for free, i guess that's changed now too. f***ers. |
| #13 03:39pm 14/12/06 |
These kind of services use to be subsidised by union fees and now that compulsory student unionism has been removed and they are planning for it by adjusting their fees. What the fees actually go towards is anyones guess. Maybe towards sports scholarships or uni sporting teams but by the sounds if it, they aren't getting spent on the services that they are collected for. |
| #14 03:39pm 14/12/06 |
I sent them an email about six months ago when they raised their fees. That time I complained about the fees and they said it's to adjust for VSU, and they won't change in the near future. Unfortunately I sent it from my work account which I can't get to right now so I can't use it to make them eat their own words.
| #15 03:42pm 14/12/06 |
Dear UQ Sport Management,
I am writing to you inform you my postcount has been incremented. Sincerely, |
| #16 03:53pm 14/12/06 |
cry more n00b
| #17 04:26pm 14/12/06 |
put it in livejournal
also VSU FTW!!! |
| #18 04:41pm 14/12/06 |
I liked your letter, but I doubt it will help.
I reckon you should look around for another gym with air-con. FitnessFirst ones are good if you can get a student or discount rate. A little crowded at peak times though.. |
| #19 06:09pm 14/12/06 |
TBH, I really don't care about all the flaws of UQ gym. I do care that they are putting their rates up though.
| #20 10:53pm 14/12/06 |
One of the reason's they brought in VSU was because a lot of students were being unfairly charged to subsidise services such as sport, clubs, etc. From what I understand, up to half of previous union fees used to be allocated to UQ Sport and its associated clubs. Hence why it was a lot cheaper a few years ago. Now they aren't getting that massive influx of cash (say $60-$70 per student twice a year, across say 40,000 students) then naturally they won't be able to afford to maintain the equipment upkeep. And yes, the parking situation has always sucked at UQ.
You may as well find a commercial gym, you will probably get better value for money. |
| #21 06:37am 15/12/06 |
If that's the case, they shouldn't be charging extra for UQ Sport membership. Fees are ridiculously expensive if you're not a member, and to be a member it's $50. They can't raise the price AND charge for membership all with the excuse of VSU. They have lost thousands of un-willing members because of VSU. I have this number ringing in my head that UQ had 26,000 full time students, UQ sport got paid 120 dollars a year from each of those full time students (per year) to do whatever UQ sports decided was a great idea. That equates to $3,120,000 annually that they didn’t have to work for, they just magically got. All UQ sports did to plan for VSU was cry. Personally, I say go to a good gym and let UQ Sports DIAF. |
| #22 07:34am 15/12/06 |
Splat
VSU idiots
| #23 08:35am 15/12/06 |
bjp
Dear Coca-Cola,
I paid 50c for a can of coke 10 years ago you are c***s for putting up the price. I'm sure your staff are happy to remain on the same wages for ever and that your manufacturing costs will remain the same even though inflation forces everything else associated with your business up. While you're still cheaper than everyone else by heaps I'm still going to write you a letter and sound like a sandy vagina. Yours sincerely, |
| #24 09:47am 15/12/06 |
VSU idiots I'm confused, are you pro or con VSU? |
| #25 10:06am 15/12/06 |
Well apparently before VSU, UQSport was run by monkies. They always lost money, and money would just "dissapear". This is what one of the coordinators told me. So now with VSU there's all this new management trying to turn the place into an actual viable business but they've been handicapped by the previous c***s not keeping the place up to date I guess. Still, we shouldnt have to wait another 5 years until we actually get a value for money service.
If there was another decent option for a gym in the western suburbs I'd take it, but there isn't. Don't even get me started on Fitness First. |
| #26 12:23pm 15/12/06 |
man, that was always the problem with the student unions
i remember back in the early 90s when a bros mates ran the student union at UQ it was a total rort they just totally abused all the money they had partys, alcohol, pizza all paid for with union fees compulsory fees were always a bad idea |
| #27 12:56pm 15/12/06 |
Yeh I've heard some shocking stories. A mate's girlfriend knew one of the union reps. The union rep offered to fly my mate's g/f down to sydney and put her up for a night so they could "attend a protest", all paid for with student money.
| #28 01:01pm 15/12/06 |
Yep. Those organisations like SECS and so forth are all rorts too. All the people on team just spend the money on booze every time they go out every week. f***ers.
| #29 01:27pm 15/12/06 |
Coochie
VSU idiots Please explain. Here's my situation: I've been going to QUT since 2001 (first year full-time, part-time thereafter). For the first year I attended classes and used the gym at Carseldine. I did not care about having to pay union fee's because I was getting something out of it (wouldn't have paid if they were voluntary because I was a full-time student aka leech with no money). But nowadays I rarely step foot on campus unless it is to hand in an assignent or do an exam (don't use QUT gym, Queer Club or anything else)...why should I still have to pay union fee's? |
| #30 02:39pm 15/12/06 |
Yeah I like VSU.
I don't use anything at my uni (QUT). And it pisses me off that i had to fund the "queer club". Get f***ed. I like the user-pay system. The issue here is that at uq gym we are now paying for a substandard service. I would have no problem paying the increased fees and parking cost if we got a service that was value for money. |
| #31 03:00pm 15/12/06 |
Yo billy, at the openning of the green bridge they were handing out UQ Sport voucher pages (a page full of uq sport vouchers). One of the vouchers is "20% off 12month membership".
Try and get your hands on one of these to save yoself $100+ or whatever it is |
| #32 01:02pm 18/12/06 |
What sort of bitch needs air con to work out?
You're meant to be uncomfortable. |
| #33 01:06pm 18/12/06 |
yer, there was uq sport peeps everywhere on both sides of the bridge
| #34 01:10pm 18/12/06 |
Antisane
What sort of bitch needs air con to work out?I'd rather be uncomfortable from the weights not the heat. There's a crazy old guy at my gym who insists on turning off all the fans in the middle of summer. f*** him. I'd argue you can get more out of a weight training session if you're not dying from dehydration and heat stroke. |
| #35 03:29pm 18/12/06 |
this reminds me of my dear die hard movie letter
| #36 06:08pm 18/12/06 |
Reason: Inappropriate |
#37 06:15pm 18/12/06
dear diary..
WHY WONT HE CALL?!!!!!!!!!!! lol |
| #38 06:41pm 18/12/06 |
I spoke to a girl I know at UQ sport today. She said there's zero chance of getting aircon, but if enough people fill out those survey's they have online and also in the gym complaining about parking fees, they might be able to sort something out. But they need heaps of people to complain first so they can take it to UQ. So get whinging!
| #39 08:18pm 18/12/06 |
I spoke to a girl I know at UQ sport today. She said there's zero chance of getting aircon, but if enough people fill out those survey's they have online and also in the gym complaining about parking fees, they might be able to sort something out. But they need heaps of people to complain first so they can take it to UQ. So get whinging! They'd need a fantastical sum of people to complain, to make UQ stand up and listen. UQ's defence, and rightfully so, will be "Maybe you should have thought of that when you were swimming in students money". |
| #40 07:09am 19/12/06 |
Could we take it to the Union? Is that something they can help out on?
| #41 11:10am 19/12/06 |
Take your $$'s to fitness first - that'll show em.
| #42 11:55am 19/12/06 |
Could we take it to the Union? Is that something they can help out on? UQ Union and UQ Sports are two different entities. They also lost millions of dollars worth of revenue because they spent the last 2 years running around screaming "DOOMED! WE'RE ALL DOOMMMMMMMED! YOU ARE GOING TO LOSE THE ONLY PROFITABLE ASPECTS OF UQ UNION SO WE CAN KEEP THE QUEER CLUB OPEN!!!!!! DOOOMMMMMMMMMED" instead of planning ahead and working out how to combat the losses. Of course, that assumes that UQ Union really did *anything* worthwhile. You'd be better off writing to Chancellors office and tell them that UQ Sports used to be a prized asset of UQ but now it is a second rate gym and you'd rather go to a PCYC because it is as good quality but much cheaper. Really push that you, and a whole bunch of people feel that it really effects the image of UQ locally. |
| #43 12:05pm 19/12/06 |
Yeah the union and UQ Sport are now completely seperate as I understand it. I think the only way to have a chance at changing things is via the senate and they're the ones that want to stop UQ Sport running at a loss.... so good luck.
| #44 12:25pm 19/12/06 |
But isn't the Union meant to represent students on all issues, not just the ones they run?
| #45 02:18pm 19/12/06 |
The gym will be more profitable if they give free parking because it will entice more people to join
| #46 02:21pm 19/12/06 |
| #47 02:23pm 19/12/06 |
But isn't the Union meant to represent students on all issues, not just the ones they run? How keen do you think they'll be to represent a bunch of gym junkies that aren't currently giving them any money? I'd suggest a half arsed effort is the best you can hope for. Even if they were to support you what could they do other than complain? The gym will be more profitable if they give free parking because it will entice more people to join But the uni expects that money via UQ Traffic and Parking so who pays for it? UQ Sport via memberships? Remember 6 or 7 years ago parking was $60 for the whole year. Now that's gone up exponentially so the uni giving out free parking would really be going against the trend. |
| #48 02:32pm 19/12/06 |
What if I join the union first:O
| #49 02:39pm 19/12/06 |
thats just crazy talk billy
| #50 03:01pm 19/12/06 |
I just read in "the Clothesline" ( http://www.uqsport.uq.edu.au/index.html?page=54878&pid=7100 ) that they have budgeted to replace some benches and bars...
| #51 10:19am 22/12/06 |
2007 will be the first year where we operate under the full impact of VSU (Voluntary Student Unionism), meaning that UQ Students no longer pay a Student Services Charge. This funding was previously used to build and maintain our wide range of sporting infrastructure while subsidising services traditionally aimed at the UQ student community. That's not entirely correct. As I mentioned earlier, they put their prices up at the START of 2006, despite VSU not starting till halfway through. |
| #52 10:21am 22/12/06 |
I thought student unions were for squandering money and giving tiny minorities like the "Disabled Black Jewish Aryan Single Mothers for the Protection of the Cane Toad" Club a couple of kegs, not for representing the majority of students real wants and needs ?
| #53 10:33am 22/12/06 |
Who cares about the benches and olympic bars. The current benches to the job except the shaped one that inclines is all slanty so u don't use it. I think there's 2 of them actually.
Hopefully they don't bring in some gayed up "ergonomic" benches like at FF indro which are complete s***. They should be spending the money on getting rid of all the s*** useless outdated busted machines. Whoever is in charge of running purchases at UQ sport is a knob. I mean look at that monstrosity of a cable machine they recently installed upstairs. U can bet your ass it cost a fortune by the size of it, and the money could have been better spent on more useful/needed machines. |
| #54 11:38am 22/12/06 |
Yeh those benches are crap because of the wide seat, rather than the tapered end I find. Their shape is quite good for incline bench/shoulder press, but the seat makes them pretty gay.
I went to do cable x-over on the new machine yesterday but it was in use, so I used the old one near the leg weights area. One of the cables had the inner metal exposed in two places (which I'm pretty sure means it shouldn't be getting used at all) and as you pull the cables the resistance increases... |
| #55 11:42am 22/12/06 |
The only thing bad about VSU is that it didn't come in when I was at Uni.
UQ Sports sounds like a regular business now Billy, and if you're not getting value from a business then you're a consumer, shop elsewhere. If the people running it really want to be competitive they might make a good case for capital expenditures from whoever now owns it (the University itself?). That's assuming that the goal isn't to prove that UQ Sports just isn't salvageable and to run it into the ground. |
| #56 11:55am 22/12/06 |
UQ Sports sounds like a regular business now Billy, and if you're not getting value from a business then you're a consumer, shop elsewhere.Thumbs up icon |
| #57 12:16pm 22/12/06 |
The only thing bad about VSU is that it didn't come in when I was at Uni. I didn't really mind paying student fee's until I found out how my fee's where spent. I mean, I really don't care if "Homo's with Hearts" has a private room on campus to jerk off in, GO HOME YOU DIRTY POOFTERS!; or if the "s***tiest Actors at UQ Socity" needs money because people don't go to their presentations - TRY NOT BEING s***!. I activily laughed when UQ Union reps held their "RIP UQ Union" day. I think I made some hippie slut cry. If the people running it really want to be competitive they might make a good case for capital expenditures from whoever now owns it (the University itself?). That's assuming that the goal isn't to prove that UQ Sports just isn't salvageable and to run it into the ground. The university doesn't run it, they just own the land (and possibly the buildings) that it's in. |
| #58 12:41pm 22/12/06 |
Oh yeah I forgot to mention, they're getting rid of the powerlifter's club and knocking that wall down downstairs to join it up to the main gym.
| #59 12:42pm 22/12/06 |
| #59 |