Topic: Mi Goreng instant noodles
I'm eating a bowl at the moment, just thought I would pull a Rev and say... EVERYBODY must try these. If you're still eating maggi/fantastic 2 minute noodles, you're a absolute drop kick, these things are cheaper and taste 100x better.

Get the original flavour, comes with the noodles + 5 sachets (soy sauce, chilli sauce, special oil, seasoning and fried onion) for under 50 cents a packet.

So if anyone eats instant noodles, these will absolutely pwn you, they're so leet they have there own wikipedia article.
Welcome to 6 years ago.
Glad you could join the rest of us in the present traditions of mi goreng consumption =]
I know that, I've been eating them for about 2 years now... but I'm still suprised at the amount of people that eat 2 minute noodles still.

So even if 1 person on QGL is converted, the thread was worth it :D
Holy s*** CHUB im having a bowl right now as well haha! are you sure you're not eating from mine?

It's definately the tastiest noodles ever.

Plus they are halal bro halal. Saves me from going down to indo tucker nears garbs.

I highly indorse this thread and it's noodley content.
Just don't eat them too often otherwise you'll get sick of them real quick, I remember eating them for breakfast and lunch and schoolies every day....didn't touch them again for about 9 months :p
Ok CHUB just finished my bowl of mi goreng, so what do you want to eat now? anything else you want to do in sync?
i'm going to supermarket to get some now for lunch - you better not be f***ing wit me
massive fan
balli
jerks.. you made me want some.. so i 'borrowed' some of my flatmates hehe.. He he yells i'm blaming you guys..

anything else you want to do in sync?

You could both "manstrafe"
Muthaf***in noodles in my muthaf***in bowl.
i never tried em. ill tyry.
I buy them by the box load, $8 a box at Mango Mango, just around teh corner from me!
I've been looking at buying them by the box.

I eat 3 packets at once with a chopped up omlette in it... what about everyone else?

Also different flavours, the only one better I've found then the original flavour is Super Mi Fried Chicken (I think)... all the others are pretty disgusting (Curry made me spew).
Where do u get em? woolies/coles? or do u have to go to some crazy chinese corner store
Someone post the nutritional content plz.
You really don't want to know
woolies and coles both stock them, coles stocks them in the azn aisle.

i lived off these in 2004 when i had no monies, twas the win.

we still keep 10 in our cupboard for those days that we just cant be arsed cooking a proper meal.

plus the multiple flavour sachets = teh win
I got put onto these a few years ago, the 5 flavour sachet ones definately pwn every other instant noodle I have ever tried.

Le Cock - Woolies stock em, I can't remember if they are in the asian food section or with the other noodles tho. Look for the fried egg on the packet they be the 5 flav ones. The ones I have atm come in 5 packs.
yeah, they used to be 25c each from china town, which meant i got fed for 50 cents per meal

coles sells them around 40c each, or 2.something for a pack of 5

i've tried the other mi goreng flavours but nothing beats the original red and white packet
k i am srsly going to get them now. muthafkn phone
Chicken falvour aint bad actually, but the original flavour all the way. When i'm having 2 packets i mix in both the packet's sachets (total of 10) and feel the chillie sauce hit you in the face.

100000% MSG
0.1% other stuff
mmmm...geekfood
i do 1 - 1.5 chilli packets per 2 servings

AWESOME

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IndoMie_Mi_Goreng

Dietary Information

Nutritional Information

Indomie 'Original' Mi Goreng (as printed)
Servings per package: 1

Serving size: Approx. 170g when prepared according to directions.

Average quantities per serving

Energy: 1620kJ (390Cal)
Protein: 8g
Fat, total: 17g
Saturated Fat: 11g
Carbohydrate: 52g
Sugars: 8g
Sodium: 830mg

Dietary Restrictions

Muslims
Indomie Mi Goreng is certified Halal, though no certifying body is explicitly indicated.

Vegans and Vegetarians
Though not explicitly stated on the packet, the seasoning powder contains traces of chicken stock (listed ambiguously as 'flavouring'), hence making the product unsuitable for vegans and vegetarians.

Other Dietary Restrictions
Indomie Mi Goreng contains phenylalanine, so individuals suffering from phenylketonuria should also steer clear.
pARODY
they rock... but the real stuff is so much better.. lived in jakarta for almost 6 years.. getting it made fresh for under a dollar aussie was so good.

if only they did nasi goreng in 2minute packets i'd be in heaven.. man now i want all the cool indo food i used to eat when i lived there... lumpia... rendang.. omg.. bastards now i'm hungry
i want to experience the american student phenomenon of ramen noodles.
that wiki entry is awesome

Curing
It has been reputed that allowing cooked Mi Goreng to 'cure' in the refrigerator overnight allows the fats to solidify and absorb greater amounts of taste. On reheating, the flavours combine completely resulting in a flavour explosion. It is suggested that leaving the noodles to cure uncovered allows some dehydration to occur which further concentrates the taste. This phenomenon is rare, as most are predisposed to consume their Mi Goreng as soon as it is prepared

also, i am so adding a fried egg next time
They serve the proper stuff at Indonesian Tucker - opposite to garden city. Good food, good service and indo TV :/ Gotta love their Satay Ayams dipped in peanut sauce *drool*

mmmm...gookfeed
Fixed
Mulims
Indomie Mi Goreng is certified Halal, though no certifying body is explicitly indicated.

watch out booyah, better get onto their case for a certifying body :o

been eating mi goreng since 2001
ps lol booyah
pps so curing some mi goreng tonight!
watch out booyah, better get onto their case for a certifying body :o
Yeah I'll be sacrificing their body in a minute... but as long as it says halal on the packet then it's more muthafukkin noodles in my muthafukkin bowl.
Also Trident Spicy Thai are awesome. Come with the oil sachet, seasoning and chilli powder - so hot right now!
too many rabbits in china.
need a link to that thread on handing back engagements rings. i have a fiance but i want to marry my Mi Goreng noodles
infi? First time hey? I told you this thread was worth it.

Mi Gorengs own :)

all those flavours make me feel ill for some reason
f*** you a******s, I'm gonna go eat my last 2 packs of Mi Goreng.

Some good additions are:

A leftover hotdog or sausage from a BBQ sliced up and added
Egg
Sliced chicken
Bacon
Smoked salmon
Mushroom, can't forget good old mushrooms!
Prawns, if you happen to have some around

last edited by Crizane Tribal at 17:04:00 28/Nov/06

if only they did nasi goreng

too many rabbits in china.

i've thrown sliced sausage in before, my pick is chevup skinless sausages ftw
all those flavours make me feel ill for some reason
try halving it and mix it with a bit of the boiled water from the noodles.

no i mean just thinking about them lol
hah 1 packet that is about 10grams of actual substance not counting the water weight when you cook them, it contains more then half the recommended sodium intake. nasty stuff instant noodles. full of fat and salt.
just remember these noodles are pre fried. has anyone ever thought about going out and buying a bottle of chilli sauce, soy sauce, oyster sauce, sesame oil, some onions and then getting some ramen noodles and making your own healthy variety of this snack. it would hardly cost any more and would taste better. maybe about $10 in base ingredient but it would pay for itself if you love these so much.

edit: and some sort of stock base, more then likely chicken.
Dude, it's mi goreng. You can't beat it.

After boiling the noodles, add them to a stir fry with some veggies and meat (bean sprouts & beef are the easiest options). Then add the contents of packets.
If you like you can add extras like oyster sauce and some REAL chilli sauce of your liking.
Serve with a fried egg on top.

MSG in a bowl, oh yer!
yeah i know i used to live on them when i was poor. now that i'm not poor i wouldnt touch them with a 10ft pole.

Picked some up today. 53 cents a pack :)
Rips#
Heh, I always have a stock of these in the cupboard, they're awesome :)
wow i didn't think that they were this popular...
Never heard of them. I try to avoid pre-packaged foods like that tho for the obvious reasons...

Remember: 2 fruit and 5 veges a day kids.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IndoMie_Mi_Goreng

I don't know why I didn't expect it, but I actually lolled when I saw that.

do you guys drain em cos when i have instant noodles my fav bit is the juice
nightstalker
imo the nong shim hot and spicy shin ram yun noodles are the best.

the ones in the red packets, heaps of korean writing on it. only down side is they are about $1.30 a packet.

total victory imo

daang.
I love a cock, my fav bit is the juice
imo the nong shim hot and spicy shin ram yun noodles are the best.

the ones in the red packets, heaps of korean writing on it. only down side is they are about $1.30 a packet.

total victory imo

QFT.
do you guys drain em cos when i have instant noodles my fav bit is the juice

WTF, they're a dry noodle last I checked.
Yeah you drain em, they come with an oil based sachet thingy.

When I make em I mix up all the flavour sachets in the bottom of a bowl into an oily brown sludge then dump in the drained noodles, then stir together.

The oil stuff wouldn't work with liquid.
yeah every now and then I come across someone that either never read the bit on the back or is just a mong and tries to convince me that you eat mi goreng with the juice. lol nubs
Kharak
When I make em I mix up all the flavour sachets in the bottom of a bowl into an oily brown sludge then dump in the drained noodles, then stir together.

This is how I also make mine. My mates say it's a s*** way, but if you mix the noodles around properly, you get a much more stronger flavour than what you would just pouring all the s*** on top of the noodles.
palekid
NOOO!!! kharak is a n00b if you spread out the ingredeints before you mix, then mix it isnt it obvious that the flavour will be more evenly spread then the big brown blob???? thats what i reckon
Tuco
Noodles

Wheat flour (62%), refined palm oil (contains antioxidant 319), tapioca starch, salt, mineral salts (501, 500), vegetable gum (412), colour (101).

Seasoning powder

Salt, sugar, flavour enhancers (621, 631, 627), garlic power, onion power, yeast extract, flavours, pepper, anti caking agent (551).

Seasoning oil

Refined palm oil (contains antioxidant 319), onion.

Sweet soy sauce

Sugar, water, salt, wheat, soy bean, spices, sesame oil.

Chilli sauce

Chilli, water, sugar, salt, tapioca starch, food acids (260, 330), flavour enhancers (621, 631, 627), garlic flavour, preservatives (211, 223).

but wait, there's more cancer:

Other Dietary Restrictions

Indomie Mi Goreng contains phenylalanine, so individuals suffering from phenylketonuria should also steer clear.
I've seen soo many people mess up Mi Goreng prep... the only way is to boil the noodles while you mix the 4 flavours (minus the fried onion) into a dirty s*** liquid in your bowl, strain, then flip the noodles around till they're all evenly covered... then garnish with fried onion.

Anyone else is a noob and doesn't deserve to eat them.
I disolve the powder in boiling watter and add the fried onion and cook the noodles in that. I then put half the soy sauce, chilli and oil in teh bottom of my bowl. I place the drained noodles in the bowl, put the other half of the flavourings on top, then mix it through good. A large portion of the onion sticks to the noodles when you drain, and they're nice and soft from the cooking.
palekid
thats good thinking because those onions hard taste like dirt
Oh I may just be a simple linguamagician, but I'm a thinker :D
I got a shaker of that onion stuff from an asian grocer... I love it, the little sachets aren't enough.
cook noodles.

meanwhile mix everything into sludge

drain noodles and put into bowl where sludge is

the slight moisture still on the noodles allows it to be evenly coated as you mix the noodles through the sludge

onion on top with a final toss through to get some special bits down the bottom.

one time, i sacrificed one pack to make an uber concentrate mix, it wasnt the best idea in the world :(

Tung knows what he's talking about. Go out and buy some now, prepare them as instructed above and enjoy the experience.
one time, i sacrificed one pack to make an uber concentrate mix, it wasnt the best idea in the world :(
I used to make mine stronger in general by adding some Nando's Peri Peri sauce :) tasted quite good actually.

i have kecap manis at home anyway, so i should just add a bit of that next time i want a bit more of the sweet soy flavour
I couldn't stand to just pour the powder over the top...

one forkload = oily
the next = powder bomb

yuck :S

Then if you aren't careful you'll inhale some powder then choke and die :P Sludge is definately superior!

today's migers
http://img145.imageshack.us/img145/7650/migersdm5.jpg
pwnt my omelette but the extra chili nicely compensates :)

everyone post the sexiest looking bowl of noodles you can make.
:( I didn't have beauty in mind when I made this however so I think I lose

you just made me throw up, thx.
looks like the dodgest s*** you can buy

and sounds just as dodge from whoever quoted the ingredients
That bowl looks like mav's movit.

even my vomit looks tastier.
So would you eat your own vomit?
but wait, there's more cancer:
Yeh because just because it is a big word it must cause cancer.
looks like the dodgest s*** you can buy
Actually it's not, it's about on the same level as maggi noodles for me, which is much better than some of the other homebrand 2 min noodles.
Energy: 1620kJ (390Cal)
Protein: 8g
Carbohydrate: 52g
Sugars: 8g
Sodium: 830mg

WOAH HOLY s***. Is it a full meal or just a snack???
not only do they contain a s***load of fat, sugar and salt, they are full of empty carbs. there is no way anyone would feel like theyve actually eaten anything after a bowl of noodles. that type of food is reason 1/2 of you are tubby bitches.
WTF. One bowl of these and im full, they mix with whatever youve been drinking and puff up even more in your stomach. The s*** fills you TOO much.

Ok I tried these suckers today. They're ok. Pretty foul nutritional breakdown tho. I think I'd need to eat like 4 packs for a meal. But too much s*** in them to even think about doing that.
I bought 10 packets while at work today and I'm eating them for the first time right now. Took me a while to get them tasting right, which meant opening every f***ing sachet thing and using them all. They're not too bad actually, prolly better than the Magi 2 minute ones anyway.
I dont eat them as the main meal but more as a side dish cause i'd need to eat about 3 packets to get filled up.
WTF. One bowl of these and im full, they mix with whatever youve been drinking and puff up even more in your stomach. The s*** fills you TOO much.

Yeah, it'll fill u up for like half an hour and then u'll be hungry again...

This is the sort of s*** which causes obesity, leads to diabetes and which affects nutritional intake. Seriously guys, go eat an apple! It's low GI which means it'll fill u up for a longer period with a steadier release of energy + it's full of nutrients and vitamins essential for good health. Plus it doesn't take any preparation time when u just want a snack or something for just on the run...
No.
I wasn't talking to u.

last edited by Agent 99 at 09:45:15 30/Nov/06
This is the sort of s*** which causes obesity, leads to diabetes and which affects nutritional intake. Seriously guys, go eat an apple! It's low GI which means it'll fill u up for a longer period with a steadier release of energy + it's full of nutrients and vitamins essential for good health. Plus it doesn't take any preparation time when u just want a snack or something for just on the run...

And full of sugar!
But simple sugars which break down easily and are good for the body...
So you're saying if all i ate was fruit i would be healthy.. cos any type of sugar will have to process through the liver and helps cancers grow.
Nope. I'm saying if u want a SNACK it's better for u to eat a piece of fruit than fatty processed foods.
Also, w/o any true understanding of cancer and how it develops/progresses through the body, i'd imagine anything which provides energy i.e. fats, sugars, carbs, would all feed the cancer as it would the rest of ur body. Though I thought vascularity through the cancer was the main cause of cancer spread/growth?
No you didn't. You were telling us all to eat fruit only for the rest of our lives and if we didn't you'd give us what for!
How did a thread about noodles get to 95 posts?
I wasn't talking to u.

Ouch, my pride.

Also, w/o any true understanding of cancer and how it develops/progresses through the body

You can stop there then. :)
Ouch, my pride.

u better believe it, noodle boy.
Yeah Mav. You're a noob when it comes to cancer.

100th post in an epic thread about the best instant noodles in the world.
How did a thread about noodles get to 95 posts?
Seconded... I guess noodles are an important part of the staple diet of the gaming geek...

imagine a thread on SOFT DRINK!?!
Ok so i made my 2nd packet, but this time i did em QGL Stylez.

Definately the way to go.

However.

The nutritional breakdown on the pack is for when u follow the instructions right? ie. mixing in the water then throwing the water out, which would surely contain a lot of the ingredients. Doing it QGL style would probably have even more fat and s*** in it haha

These are good, but I wouldnt wanna eat more than like 1 pack a month.

but you've just had two packs in the last few days?

makes sense.

Well i bought 2 packs and the 1st time i made them noob-style.

Now they're all gone there's nothing in the cupboard to tempt me again.

p.s ur a jackass :O
the instructions on the packet are exactly the same as qgl style..
it says to drain all water before adding flav0ur
No they don't.

They say add all the s***e to the pot.

Woops ignore that. Just checked that pack and ur right. My bad
OMG you girls, sif even read the nutritional content panels on foods... that's what people at Jenny Craig do.

Mi gorengs own, I eat 3 packets at once... it's 1200 calories but meh, who cares, they taste nice :)
i don't think people necessarily give a s*** about putting on weight, it's more how it effects your health i think
benneth
So even if 1 person on QGL is converted, the thread was worth it :D

Well, I just tried these about 30 minutes ago and well they're pretty nice, much better than those maggi 2 minute noodles. Will I have these again: Yeh for sure, all the time... NO!

Although I used two packets and it still wasn't enough for me.
go cook a steak
or make some pasta
fresh food tastes and is better for you

any of you who eat this and wonder why you're so tubby?
zeldashadow
Mi gorengs own, I eat 3 packets at once... it's 1200 calories but meh, who cares, they taste nice :)

That explains why your name is Chub
i agree with you cainer, but you're preaching to the choir, these guys just want something simple
And full of sugar!

Natural sugar >>> processed sugars.
What's the difference between 'natural' sugar and processed sugar?
It's all pretty complex because u also have different types of 'natural' sugars (which invariably are broken down by the body at different rates to be used as an energy source), but basically, processed sugars take longer for the body to break down and use as energy and therefore, often end up as stored energy in the body (or weight gain).
It's not that complex is it? Natural sugar in fruit is fructose and refined sugar is refined sugar.
This thread reminded me I had a pack in the back of the cupboard. Cooked them up but added half a tin of peas and a tin of stir-fry veges. Also soft-poached an egg in the water ( using the old gladwrap trick ). Added some extra soy to the mix to make up for the extra bulk ... damn good! and not so unfilling thanks to the extra stuff.
thanks agent ninety-noob.

plus anything processed is bad.
beaten by zeldashadow

fat c***s
hey agent 99 ... do me a favour and f*** up
Refined sugar is brown sugar that has been bleached.
thanks agent ninety-noob.

plus anything processed is bad.

s*** a brick why don't u - what's ur problem?! i was only answering a question.
our problem is that you're getting in our face about nutrition and getting to technical... stand down!
http://img148.imageshack.us/img148/5349/dsc00256wv4.jpg
damn these noodles are good. you noodle haters can f*** off in the same corner as that titty hater, dice.
Thanks Crizane I wasnt sure what noodles look like
Pad Thai ftw
I just had a triple serving after work today...

Got to love Mi Gorengs :D

For any newcomers, give the "Satay" flavour a try, pretty good... all the other flavours (bar SuperMi Fried chicken) absolutely suck.