I am going to London on Thurs for 5 days.
Aside from the normal 'tourist' things (Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, London Tower & Crown Jewles etc) what are the 'must see' things. Going over to see Tool at Wembley which will be awesome. I know it sounds gay, but I am thinking of going to the theatre to see something I'll be located in Canary Wharf - staying with a mate and will have at least a couple of days free to do s***. Was tempted to go shopping at Saville Rowe and get a kick arse suit... not sure. |
| #0 09:25pm 20/11/06 |
we saw cats when we were in london years ago
dunno if id do that with my own money though (oldies paid) |
| #1 09:31pm 20/11/06 |
dont forget madame tussauds. the church is pretty good i hear.
last edited by ravn0s at 21:33:23 20/Nov/06 |
| #2 09:33pm 20/11/06 |
you can see cats in aus fyi my cousin has one named sooty.
$2 per viewing of pussy |
| #3 09:46pm 20/11/06 |
Ok I've only been here for 2 weeks so by no means am I any sort of expert. And I haven't even seen some of the things you have listed so far - spent most of the time looking for a job and somewhere to live...
Anyways, Canary Wharf is pretty nice and a good place to be based so nothing should be hard to get to. From the looks of it there is only one tube line running through it, but you can catch it for a few stops in either direction and link up with another line or overland train station. Just remember TFL is your friend. There is heaps of cool stuff to do, just depends on your budget really. We were down near the eye yesterday, but the line ups on clear days/weekends is ridiculous so we didn't go on. Went to the National Gallery at Charing Cross which is pretty cool. Other things we have done so far: - Shopping at Oxford Cirus/Piccadilly Circus - Camden Markets - massive and fairly cheap. And open every day. - Dinner at Brick Lane - one really long street just lined with Indian Restaurants. It was like being in Thailand all over again - guys just hanging out the front of their shops spruiking and offering free drinks/discounts in order to get you in. Works out to be a pretty cheap meal. - Sport. You would be hard pressed to get tickets to anything in the Premier League but you could probably see a Championship game (maybe Queens Park Rangers or something?). Failing that, Rugby League/Union. We saw the Harlequinns the other night - pretty good night out. - There are a couple of good bars around near you, but failing that you could always head a bit further into town. Or you could go to the Walkabout and run in to 20 people you know from back in Australia. - There are heaps of galleries and museums to go to, a lot of which are free or don't cost much at all. - TOP PICK AT THE MOMENT: The science museum has an exhibit on at the moment dedicated to the history of computer games. From what I am told it has a lot of really cool and interesting info and artwork, but the best part is they have heaps of old school arcade machines that you can play as long as you want. I'd recommend going during the week if possible. I've been trying to get around to it but we have been a bit busy of late, and I just got sick so don't know if I'll get to do it this week either. But definately go to this even if you are the slightest bit geeky. - There are a couple of cool shows on in the theatres at the moment. Just depending on what you like you will no doubt find something good. I really want to see Spamalot, which is the Monty Python musical. There is also another one called Avenue Q, which looks a bit like a twisted Sesame Street for adults. It uses puppets and from the sounds of it is quite disturbing. If you like more traditional stuff, the Sound of Music just opened last week; Patrick Swayze is currently doing Guys & Dolls; and of course obligatory stuff like Les Miserables, The Producers, We Will Rock You, etc. That's all I can think of at the moment. There is so much to do here you can't go wrong really. |
| #4 09:46pm 20/11/06 |
Get a "London Pass" - it'll discount/pay for lots of tourist stuff, and also jump queues in a number of popular spots too.
| #5 08:29am 21/11/06 |
Going over to see Tool at Wembley which will be awesome.you bastard As Zak said Brick Lane is worth a crack definitely. IMPERIAL WAR MUSEUM is freakin' awesome too. Definitely worth a look. |
| #6 09:27am 21/11/06 |
Simes
Brick lane for sure. If you can get a car, I also suggest Bath and Brighton, although this time of the year, Brighton would be miserable and s***-house. Stone-Henge is also cool, but just drive past it on your way to bath, you can see it from any of the 2 highways running around it. Also, catch a train to Paris for a day, I did the entire paris site seeing job in a full day, and was f***en buggered by the end of it. Went from the train station, to the eiffle tower, notre dame, that big shopping street thingy, the arc-de-triumph or whatever its called... sacre curr?? then back on a train to london. paris > london |
| #7 09:44am 21/11/06 |
sacre coeur
f*** yeh, Paris rules. You can smash through heaps of it in a day; the metro is awesome to get around on. Also it has by farrrr the hottest wimmen. |
| #8 09:53am 21/11/06 |
nar I'll spend a weekend in Paris, I am over here for a year or two - depending on work... don't need to cram it all into one weekend. Want to take in London this weekend.
Thanks for the tips - there is heaps to see Also, I know it sounds LAME - but I am tempted to do a monopoly board pub crawl haha how tops would that be |
| #9 09:54am 21/11/06 |
Simes
ummm thats what? 40 pubs? you'd be f***ed up by the end of it :P |
| #10 09:58am 21/11/06 |
hmm good point, it'd make it interesting though :P anyways I have studio 60 to watch now |
| #11 10:05am 21/11/06 |
Manu vs Chelsea at old trafford this weekend - get a ticket to Manchester it will be massive!
| #12 11:39am 21/11/06 |
Go to Abbey Road and have a picture similar to the one taken on... Abbey Road.
| #13 12:25pm 21/11/06 |
Two&Eight
Go to Fabric, most excellent trance / drum and bass club. Honestly, all that touristy s*** is boring. Get out to the surrounding area and go for a walk in the good old british countryside. Surrey's nice.
| #14 01:14pm 21/11/06 |
Manu vs Chelsea at old trafford this weekend - get a ticket to Manchester it will be massive! If you arranged your ticket a year or two ago this wouldn't be a problem. But unless you know someone, or are a Russian Billionaire, you have 0% chance. |
| #15 08:38pm 21/11/06 |
hehe I was going to say the same thing Zak.
those games are sold out aaaaaaaaaaaages in advance. Most clubs have more MEMBERS then seats available in their stadiums, tickets NEVER go onsale to the general public... There is ways of getting them through 'travel' companies, who do packages and s*** - still trying to get one of those to an Everton match to see Cahil play, wanted Everton V Liverpool next year, but it's sold out ... might start looking at the 2007-08 season :p Also two&eight, you can go 'clubbing/pill popping' anywhere and also get drunk anywhere, don't need to go to London to do that... i intend on seeing some of the historic / touristy things.. That being said, I've been on the piss alot since I've been over here :p |
| #16 09:11pm 21/11/06 |
| #16 |