Hiyas
I'm gunna get straight to the point. I have recently been diagnosed with Dysthimia, it is basically a milder form of Bi-Polar disorder, the depression is generally less severe, allthough it has its moments. Recent events in my personal life have left me stranded in a nice little rut. I've got my studies and physical health and soon a part-time job. I however have little in the way of friends. So I turn to you, my dear QGL. I'm needing social contact, there are a very diverse range of people on this forum and any suggestions of social activities would be most excellent. I really think joining up with a sports team would be very benificial for me, so if anyone has a need for another player I'm keen. I'm fit enought to keep up with most sports :D Feel free to spam, insult or whatever, it is QGL forums. It's a start tho :D |
| #0 11:41am 23/10/06 |
Reason: Inappropriate |
#1 12:01pm 23/10/06
Vorador
sup Toll, been a while
pm sent |
| #2 12:02pm 23/10/06 |
soccer is obviously the superior sport - you've just missed the UQ social season but there's jillions of clubs. Indoor in the Valley and out at Toombul is really good; both have good mixed competitions that are great fun and (generally) not too full of wankers. I'd be tempted to play in a team if someone wanted to put one together but I've got a few injuries from this semester's UQ comp (we're in the Grand Final this coming Saturday!@#!@#) and I want to take at least a couple weeks off to try to recover.
| #3 12:04pm 23/10/06 |
yep i've played at kedron and also the valley, indoor soccer kicks ass. Netball is also fun or if your to man for that try basketball. What side of town are you on?
| #4 12:11pm 23/10/06 |
Soccer is indeed a game for winnah`s! I'll have to look into that, cheers.
EDIT: I represent North Side! I live about 2 min walk from a train station. Public transport wooo! last edited by Tollaz0r! at 12:14:19 23/Oct/06 |
| #5 12:14pm 23/10/06 |
Vorador
Ever done indoor soccer before Trog?
Been looking for places around the taringa/toowong/indro area that play mixed but have only just started looking -- I've been looking for a couple of ways to vary the activities I get in my week so still on the lookout but myself and gf both are interested in picking up something several times a week. Current frontrunner is karate at UQ given pricing and enjoyment and whatnot Edit: I'm a deads*** - have you done indoor soccer in the local area? |
| #6 12:14pm 23/10/06 |
good start
me and wifey have more friends than we can point a stick at coz of sport i dunno about soccer, not using your hands seems silly, also not many womenz play id go netty fun, good work out, uses your hands, great fun, FEMALE CONTACT LOTS OF IT, its not soccer, all good reasons plenty of places to play, teams always need players in the valley, you can just rock up and register at the desk that you are looking for a team |
| #7 12:23pm 23/10/06 |
People speak of playing these sports in the Vally. Where abouts? Is their some sort of magical indoor sporting place?
| #8 12:25pm 23/10/06 |
just up from the valley pool, valley indoor sports
soccer, netty, cricket, beach volley ball |
| #9 12:28pm 23/10/06 |
Cool, I just found it on ourbrisbane.com. Might give em a call and see what happens. Ta.
| #10 12:30pm 23/10/06 |
Edit: I'm a deads*** - have you done indoor soccer in the local area?Nah, don't know of any clubs - except the UQ social comp, which I play in. I'm pretty sure they're open to anyone, but cheaper if you have students (maybe - not 100% sure). Check out www.uqsport.uq.edu.au for more info though. The valley comp is sort of close, but yeh, be nice if there was something even closer! |
| #11 12:34pm 23/10/06 |
Want something really challenging? I took up ice hockey at the start of this year, played through one full season and totally loving it :) Having never played any form of hockey before theres so much to learn, plus the fact you have to learn to skate well first.
Im a southsider but there is a team at Boondall we play against. Only downside is that its pretty pricey so If you can't spare ~1.5-2k for gear + season fees soccer would probably be a better choice :) |
| #12 12:38pm 23/10/06 |
I play indoor soccer at acacia ridge.
Last time i played though was about a month ago(damn uni and work) and we won 12 nil. My foot hurts not from kicking the ball but kicking so much ass. |
| #13 12:41pm 23/10/06 |
lots of cool people on wow.
| #14 12:46pm 23/10/06 |
pleanty of chicks do soccer, if you play mixed the team have to have a certain amount of vagina's to even take the field!
definately netball to meet chicks tho because you really get the whole unco-ordinated cute thing going on |
| #15 01:03pm 23/10/06 |
i love netty chix
keen to play against maxes missus and say "wassup baby" |
| #16 01:18pm 23/10/06 |
I used to play Futsal and Touch. Both of them were through work and when I left the place of employment I stopped the sport.
It was great and I recommend it :) |
| #17 01:21pm 23/10/06 |
I however have little in the way of friends That's sad. 8-( Once you start working you'll meet heaps of people. Unless it's something like a graveyard shift at a servo. |
| #18 01:30pm 23/10/06 |
Good responses, yay!
I'm not after chickies, just social stuff heh. I put a call to the vally sports centre for netball and indoor soccer and my names on a list of lamers looking for a team :D U lot have been most helpful. |
| #19 01:54pm 23/10/06 |
Kedron Indoor Sports Centre runs mixed netball teams, mixed soccer teams (and unmixed). They also run indoor cricket for men only. There not to expensive and they have decent facilities. Give them a call.
| #20 02:03pm 23/10/06 |
Trog, you live frickin 5 minutes from the valley you lazy prick! :P
| #21 02:39pm 23/10/06 |
I like to tease the homeless with food and cash.
| #22 02:40pm 23/10/06 |
there are a very diverse range of people on this forum and any suggestions of social activities would be most excellent I run a mutual masturbation clinic out of my garage.. It's a fun, safe, and generally a good time. Great way to make new friends and release the tension of a hard day at the office. Best of all, it's free. |
| #23 04:48pm 23/10/06 |
Best of all, it's free. is it free of disease? |
| #24 04:53pm 23/10/06 |
i too would be up for some form of indoor soccer if organised
mixed social comp at uq was the shiz, i played against trog and his homies in bball, and played with them in indoor soccer - apart from the dirty frenchies who were a bit rough and ready, the teams were generally fun to play with and against |
| #25 05:05pm 23/10/06 |
be a man and play a rugby code.
| #26 05:26pm 23/10/06 |
| #27 05:58pm 23/10/06 |
Skyhawk
Who are the two next to Milos?
| #28 06:14pm 23/10/06 |
WreckTim
Toombul soccer oh yea. tho i havent played in 6 weeks.
| #29 06:16pm 23/10/06 |
troy alves and dennis james
| #30 06:37pm 23/10/06 |
me and my gf play squash a bit (Y)
| #31 06:43pm 23/10/06 |
I've got my studies and physical health and soon a part-time job. I however have little in the way of friends. wow, sounds like me :) I don't play any sports but if I did it would probably be golf. Mildly physical, unless you're a lazy ass who drives a golf cart, and gives you a chance to talk to the other people/make friends with them. Loser buys the drinks would also be a crowd pleaser/friends maker :p Does it have to be a sport? Maybe you could just join a book club or you said you study so you could start some kind of study group to get together, study, hang out, eat, drink, whatever. last edited by whoop at 18:54:00 23/Oct/06 |
| #32 06:54pm 23/10/06 |
squash is an awesome work out, but not real flash for meeting people
i also play squash every week! (along with outdoor cricket on sundays) sport sure is awesome joining a cricket team is a good way to get mates but all day sunday every second weekend, or every saturday arvo can be tough |
| #33 06:54pm 23/10/06 |
join army reserves = instate DIGGER MATE DIGGER MAAAAAAAAAAAAAATES
| #34 07:00pm 23/10/06 |
join myspace. |
| #35 07:03pm 23/10/06 |
Or go to a QGL LAN :D
| #36 07:08pm 23/10/06 |
Monaro
Play touch footy. Its about $70 a season, normally a bit cheaper. Its everywhere www.premiertouch.com.au
| #37 07:26pm 23/10/06 |
Im putting together a Netty Team for the Valley competition right now, i Used to play when i was younger, it was hella fun.
new season satrts Nov 6 From NaBel. |
| #38 07:47pm 23/10/06 |
come play wednesday or thursday nites so i can spank you
| #39 09:09pm 23/10/06 |
join a theatre group
| #40 09:19pm 23/10/06 |
No that Uni is just about over I am looking for some indoor soccer action for over the summer.
Are there any teams going? |
| #41 09:34pm 23/10/06 |
I tried to play some social sport, but I wasn't very good and my team kept yelling at me.
| #42 09:57pm 23/10/06 |
It seems that there is a fair bit of interest in a soccer team.
Perhaps we can gather many people together and make a team, or at least a partial team and fill in the rest :/ |
| #43 10:12pm 23/10/06 |
I have one for you..
I bought a pool cue, and went to a local pool comp every week, by myself. Soon enough, I knew everyone in the comp, and used to play alright too from all the time I spent on the table and all the beers I drank to lubricate my social interaction/game play. Made heaps of friends, had heaps of good nights. Even got laid a few times. Then work got in the way.. lol Point is, life is s***. Enjoy the good times, cause most of the time, life is s***. That's why there is alcohol and drugs and dips*** psychologists who will label you as quick as blink at you. |
| #44 11:08pm 23/10/06 |
I think I'm going to go buy another pool cue and get back into it.
Mispent youth? Playing WoW is the new mispent youth. What the f*** is mispent youth? I remember me and a friend completely f***ed up talking in a bar about mispent youth, saying, if playing pool is mispent youth, then so be it. I will never forget the night I potted out off the break. Best feeling in the f***ing world. Better than sex. Well... bad sex anyway. |
| #45 11:31pm 23/10/06 |
Fireman Sam
I'll be in a soccer team depending on the night, I already play thursday nights.
I also might be able to get a decent keeper too if you can't get one last edited by Fireman Sam at 09:06:27 24/Oct/06 |
| #46 09:06am 24/10/06 |
soccer soccer soccer woooooo
also golf ftw |
| #47 09:03am 24/10/06 |