Topic: Bards 400ci v8 n stuff.
So he completed it and got it working and stuff, it's loud, it has a streamroller amount of balls towing a freight train towing a small flatbed truck with a skyline on top.
(I mean, the car it's in is a heavyweight champion at around 2+ Tonne :P)

Vrroom Vrroom n s***

He asked me to post it, so gtfo if you don't like it:

... bardo ... says:
man i cant remember my login details
blah blah blah my car is fat and heavy but it's got balls.

Varooom, and stuff.
loki thread about v8s

imagine my surprise
heh
my car is fat and heavy at around 4tonne, but only has a little 4-banger diesel to push it
loki thread about v8s

imagine my surprise
I know... But you should imagine my surprise when I read your post that proved your incompetance at reading!!!!
I Lie, I wasn't surprised.

Not my thread you fagbag, l2read.
Fnukle
nice work looking good, love V8's
Im about to do a full rebuild on a spare v8 for straight swap into my rangerover
currently working out how im gonna work it, which cam, stroke it or not etc etc.
sounds phat, love the v8 sound

although good luck not going drop with the petrol it'll chew, that is if it is a day to day car, if it's only a weekend car he should be sweet

3gp for the lose. call me when you get a real video format kthx.
Sounds excellent Brad (if you'r reading this), should pop around some time for a spin :D
bard
farkin i finally worked out my username and password.. thanks for postin loki.. yeah shes sounding mean as atm purrin like a pussy cat. sure thing ek, mark has already signed up for a ride. almost need to get a f***in book to write down and make appointments with all the people signing on for a ride... :)

as for petrol.. dont even mention it! its a stroked 360 hemi v8 extremely tough engines they are and its been built like an absolute brick s***house. figure wise it was built to make about 500hp or arounds, quite big money involved too obviously. but its worth it :)

but yeah, she needs a real good clean up and polish and itd look a million times better.. all she needs now is the freakin tailshaft but its difficult trying to get around when you dont have a spare car coz the damn thing died too!

i shall keep this updated if ppl are interested in hearing whats been done to it just add me at msn jimbobardy at hotmail

cheers, bard.
shrapse
v8 thread go
farkin i finally worked out my username and password

dont lie to us, we arent stupid
hey sorry to burst your bubble but that is NO HEMI. simply a chrysler v8. still gotta love the chrysler motors over ford/holden, i got a 318 being stroked to 390 soon.

last edited by 122 at 23:17:40 15/Oct/06

last edited by 122 at 23:17:43 15/Oct/06
It does sound good man.
Just needs an exhaust now Varooooooooooom.

Get a louder setup than I went with :) f*** the dB limit :D

Also, Signup +1.

simply a chrysler v8.
You do know that [some] mopar's have hemi v8's right O.o

He could post engine numbers to clarify it and you could find out but who cares, it sounds tough!

anyone know what car it is??
It's a valiant.
f***s me what model.

I'm going to take my credit there for putting the short donk in and now leave =]
Bardo did the rest, keep up the good work dude =]

last edited by Loki at 23:13:52 15/Oct/06
anyone know what car it is??
yes but not all 'mopar' engines are all hemi's, seriously do some research so you can back yourself up next time.

the 'HEMI' v8 engine only came out in the states previously before all the new 300c, jeep, etc. range came to aussie.

the only aussie hemi is a 215, 245 & 265ci. and they are not a v8. lol.

im really not trying to disrespect here becuase i fukin love mopar's and have 3 of my own

some interesting reading for all you mopar noobs
http://www.allpar.com/mopar/hemi/hemi.html

last edited by 122 at 23:20:44 15/Oct/06
bard
well its all good.. im just used to calling it a hemi because i had the 245 in it for ages.. ive got an intercooled blower coming thru soon and will be runnin 12 psi thru it with 8.1 compression. instant easy 650hp at the wheels ive been guaranteed, especially with the engine build ive got.. but for the moment or the next 6 months or even a tad longer im gonna get used to driving with 500hp or so, plenty of ponies to chew threw a set of tyres in no time at all :) and its def tough enough..

its in a 4 door sedan ranger. its had a lot of work done to it and everyone reckons its starting to come along rather nice.. rough estimate of money worth of the engine is prolly about 15grand now.. pretty crazy but thats what ya pay to get the huge horses i guess :) im just lucky coz i only paid less than half for that. tis fantastic having a lot of rich friends who own their own businesses :)

chargers are boring now too many of them still, ive got one of the lesser popular/seen models and its f***in awesome... nothin like being unique

last edited by bard at 23:46:03 15/Oct/06

last edited by bard at 23:47:17 15/Oct/06
122 = nF?

Apparently they both have dyslexia.
was the top of the combustion chamber more 'hemispherical' in shape than flat? if so it was a hemi, otherwise it wasn't
post up some pics :)
bard
sure.. i'll get some pics up if i can work out how to post them properly! i always f*** up the html or whatever...
(img src="URL")

< and > instead of ( and )

last edited by d[o_0]b at 10:00:07 16/Oct/06
bard
http://mrbard.googlepages.com/v8conversion007Large.jpg/v8conversion007Large-full.jpg

http://mrbard.googlepages.com/IMG_3303Large.jpg/IMG_3303Large-full.jpg

http://mrbard.googlepages.com/v8conversion031Large.jpg/v8conversion031Large-full.jpg

http://mrbard.googlepages.com/v8conversion020Large.jpg/v8conversion020Large-full.jpg

http://mrbard.googlepages.com/v8conversion021Large.jpg/v8conversion021Large-full.jpg

heres starters.. i'll chuck some more up soon

love the dash! looks good so far, chuck up a pic of the whole car if ya got it :)
bard
http://img150.imageshack.us/img150/7430/dsc00054largeel4.jpg

http://img241.imageshack.us/img241/5921/dsc00082xy4.jpg

http://img91.imageshack.us/img91/5001/dsc00084xk3.jpg

http://img153.imageshack.us/img153/1934/dsc00085jc9.jpg

http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/136/dsc00086jo7.jpg

warning these pics are 500k or so each...

last edited by bard at 10:38:08 20/Oct/06
bit late to put a warning at the bottom of all the pics don't you think?
http://www.imagesocket.com/ <- stick them up there, it automagically thumbnails them and gives you the code to paste, just make sure you select the "html" code and not one of the "forum" codes. Dirty UBB.
so much engine bay, so little engine

i'm upgrading to 2 litre and it's bigger than my 3 litre :p
simE
nice motor, car is ugly as sin though
^^ I don't really mind the car but what is that awful velvet stuff on the dashboard? Honestly the car isn't pimp enough (read cadillac) to have velvet/velour all over the dash. I'd have gone vinyl if I was going to re-cover it.

Let's turn this thread into a post your car thread!
http://users.bigpond.net.au/ritsuko/kingswood/side.jpg
http://users.bigpond.net.au/ritsuko/kingswood/radio.jpg
last, and certainly least, good old 202
http://users.bigpond.net.au/ritsuko/kingswood/engine.jpg
Can't really get a good shot of the inside :(

It's not exactly my car but I'm the one who pays for rego/fuel and the only one who drives it so it's more mine than it is the person who it's registered to.
my statesman. one day she'll be on the road

http://img133.imageshack.us/img133/6647/trinshqoz3.jpg
also, more posts of the purple gemini bard :)
bard
ahh it aint velvet its suede.. and its wicked stuff.. everyone who sees it loves it coz its somethin different. damn cool stuff to play around with.. car might be a while to get resprayed but its a mighty sleeper at the moment...
hemi/val crew signing in :D

http://members.optusnet.com.au/bensoncj/VG/DSC04740.JPG

http://members.optusnet.com.au/bensoncj/VG/DSC04743.JPG

http://members.optusnet.com.au/bensoncj/VG/DSC04749.JPG

I need to take some more recent pics... it now runs white text Bridgestone Eager s340 - 235s tyres all round rather than the crappy bald 195s in the pics.
http://i115.photobucket.com/albums/n286/bm122/770.jpg

the 770 - just taken it off the road to begin the resto

426 'hemi' v8
http://i115.photobucket.com/albums/n286/bm122/68hdart132.jpg

last edited by 122 at 22:47:52 16/Oct/06
Cr@ckerJ@ck

Now thats a nice lookin Val rubba!

Anyone got a Charger? Fark I wanted one of those back then before I realsied Jap cars where/are far superior.
I also originally wanted a charger, VH in particular... they aren't that easy to come across these days without parting with a lot of cash. I originally never knew the VG hardtop existed, saw plenty of the sedans which I don't really dig but when I saw the hardtop coupe I fell in love with the big cruiser shape.

It needs a fair bit of work, but she has potential :) I'm about to buy a daily and start some form of resto on it soon.

do you have a car that goes sidwahz?

http://images.projectstripe.com/images/vorador/410 (Custom).jpg

hahahha @ paveway.

for one yours isn't even going sideways in that picture. your r31 is a family 4 door car, non turbo, slow as s***.

Its funny how you make it to be a sports car when its not.

putting aftermarket suspension doesn't make you a member of D1 pavegay
The sad thing is that an RB30 has as much power as a Camry 4-cyl.

That's sad.

RB30 = 13-14L/100klms for 4-cyl power. Sounds s*** to me!

still quicker than a camel
try taking your camel to the desert.

next thing you'll see paveway taking his pintara to the desert thinking its a 4wd.

LOLZ
yeah it my have the same power, but lets take a look, you're comparing it to 2005 model car... lets compare it to the 4 cyl camry of it's time, i think thats like 90kw at the fly wheel innit?

hey why don't we compare the power of a base model 2002 GTT skyline and.... oh wait any camy you want haha

and i still have 3 litres of torque and .3 of a tonne less that i'm carrying around

last edited by paveway at 11:54:43 17/Oct/06
It's a 2.4L 4cyl. They are not 1.6t.

Quoted from redbook

2002 Toyota Camry 4cyl 112kw 1415kg
1988 Nissan Skyline RB30 114kw 1380kg

I would take a camry any day. Old age would negate the 2kw gain.

Check your facts fool.
i looked at the 2005 model camry

either way tool you're still comparing my 1988 car to a 2000+ model

and i'd still chop those camry's anwyay

last edited by paveway at 11:57:53 17/Oct/06
Ooh change your post cos you're wrong. Manly.

Also, 247nm of torque is pitiful out of a SOHC 3L jap motor.

That is not 3L of torque. That is like 2.7L of torque.

My 4L six produces 362nm of torque. Now thats torque worth having.
yes it is sideways suhaib, and it wasn't on purpose but still a good photo.

whats your problem suhaib? get the f*** off my case
hahahahahaha how the f*** do you figure that one out

and yeah you have an extra litre and again a newer car

why don't you compare your cars with skylines of the same age?

go on mr facts on paper

whatever s***ty falcon you have and compare it to the skyline of the same year

and i already know the camry of the same year as my car has like 90kw at the fly if it's luck

f*** i don't even know why i'm defending this engine i'm not even keeping it and i agree the rb30e is a piece of s***, it has no top end power because it's sohc and just has s*** flow, but f*** they can still be fun on a track

last edited by paveway at 12:18:41 17/Oct/06
You're telling me to compare cars of the same age, yes?

Well why did you try to compare your 'sidewahz' (out of control) pintara against a tough old 70's Valo?

Anyway, i know the capabilites of the RB30E perfectly. My brother has an 88 VL exec. I drove it lots when i was between cars. They feel like they lack torque, especially in the mid-range punch area, or lackthereof.
All im saying is, don't make a bland ageing mummys car sound like some awesome purpose-built dorifto special. I don't make my fat old man LPG falcon sound like a hot rod cos it aint. Its a fat old man barge and i like it for being a fat old man barge.
flagger
paveways car isnt going sideways, its going around at warped speed
Except for the lack of curves, and that it contains paveway lolol
don't make a bland ageing mummys car sound like some awesome purpose-built dorifto special

when did i do that tool? i was mucking around in a car thread, sorry my car isn't as cool as your ford falcon or as fuel effiecient as a gay camry.

i'd still prefer my car over both of them.

You're telling me to compare cars of the same age, yes?

you're the one that start comparing my car to 2002 year camy's and BA or whatever ford falcons

you can't have it both ways, you've dodged everything i've said about actually doing a fair comparison you just sit back 'lol my year 2002 falcon has real torque compared to your 1988 skyline'

yeah you're so cool

last edited by paveway at 13:09:41 17/Oct/06

last edited by paveway at 13:13:19 17/Oct/06
bard
borrrrrrring chargers are everywhere as if get something that plenty of other valiant people do up... they are still nice when done up i admit but they are still the most popular model of the valiant.. im lovin this model, will look way different when its finished

i will admit that when i first bought i thought i might just sell it once i cleaned it up a bit and grab a charger but then it started growin on me havin it sittin on its tits with big rims and huge big phat v8 and blower :) especially goin for a cruise and havin it sittin even lower when its full with 5 ppl sittin comfortably in it :)

but as always not everyone is made of money.. so it takes time :)

last edited by bard at 13:32:40 17/Oct/06
Who cares, when it comes down to it, it usually comes down to who gets the best launch and there's really not that much difference.

Even though losing by 3 entire car lengths SEEMS like alot (and on the street most people would call that getting chopped), but on the 1/4 mile that wouldn't even equate to 0.5sec's.

Streetwise - it's not about how fast you get from point A to B but how much of WHAT KIND of style YOU want to do it in.

Sure it's 'fun' to give it some stick against something else, but it doesn't really matter who beats who, as long as you can beat a bloody typical non-modified factory 'family' car such as a camry (and I can assure you Pave's R31 definately could) then who gives a f***.

Once you start comparing Pave's R31 skyline to something with what, 20 years of tech on it you're getting a bit unfair.

The fact that it can still keep up with cars that are 20+ years younger with better technology just shows that it was a reasonable performance vehicle for it's era.

If Pave's R31 was to go up against a TwinTurbo Supra (stock), I would put money down that it would be nearly dead even.

last edited by Loki at 13:32:50 17/Oct/06
mm, point taken
borrrrrrring chargers are everywhere as if get something that plenty of other valiant people do up...

Where you hangin to see all these chargers?! Just around the burbs I have only seen like 3 or 4 in 6 months!

I know theres another white VG/VF hardtop coupe around this area too which I have seen a few times. Seen plenty of sedans but they are far from rare :)
bard
oh in the car club... im the only one with my model car in the whole queensland club... theres somthin like 140 chargers in the 2 clubs and about 3 models of mine...
I guess they are garage cars that don't see the light of day other than club events :(
bard
actually most of them are daily drivers... some of them are weekend drivers.. if you went along to harrys i bet youd see a bucket load of chargers.. they are the most popular choice of valiant to do up :) im happy with mine, shes still pretty schmick and different..
Last time I went to Harry's I think I saw 5 VG/VF hardtops more than than chargers that night. Some very very nice cars there. Few XL Chargers and an R/T Charger possible clone, but I could care less - matching numbers/geniune model means absolutely zip to me. If it looks right and goes just as well its good enough for me! (plus you save a bucketload of cash buying a clone)

My VG is too ratty to grace Harrys atm :( Maybe after I get the body back in decent shape and the new motor/box in it will make an appearance.
If Pave's R31 was to go up against a TwinTurbo Supra (stock), I would put money down that it would be nearly dead even.

lol are we talking late 80's TT supra ? :P
whaaaaaaat

even a late 80s TT supra i think would pip paveways car easily...

what quarter do you run out of interest pave?
TT Supra's (stock factory) only run around high 14's? Seems a reasonable figure given their weight and [factory power restriction?]
ah man mine is like mid 16 if i'm luck heh, well thats stock

no idea how quick mine would be after any mods i've done. which is only pod + cai and exhaust + extractors
the stock vls run 16 as well so i guessed it would be around the same

the vp commodores ran 15.5 and the vs commodores 15.9 (stupid extra weight)

the 87 soarer turbo ran a 15 flat quarter, and i think the stock TTs of the time were a little quicker (mine was modded to 13.4)

nothing bagging on pave, but as he said its doubtful that hed pip a tt supra, of any era :/
Tung speaks the truth.
charger rule, as if you wouldnt want a charger over a 4 door val.
I dunno, whilst Chargers look good, i got a lotta respect for the old 4-door Valo's. I tell you, i'd prefer a 4-door over a charger for everyday running. Everyone will want to race a charger and expect it to be fast, whilst everyone will expect and old 4-door Valo to be a grandpa car and be slow as. Then you smoke them at the traffic light grand prix and they realise the Valo is an awesome sleeper.
yeah man thats like a 2.5 twin turbo heh, bit more power than n/a 3litre gay sohc
bard
hell id take a 4 door val over a charger any day these days... especially seeing all the other variety out there... but if i was to be given a charger id say id prolly keep it :)
true true mr hardware, i would rather a 4-door for a daily driver but dam, those e49 chargers are sexy and have power/speed to back themselves up too.
bard
oh i agree with you mr hardware... thats my reasoning too. it looks even more like a sleeper being a 4 door old sedan... and especially being a valo its even more different.. but as i said i still do damn like the chargers, they are nice but they are more a race looking car and ppl expect them to be fast and nice and what not... :)
bard
oh an e49 charger would be nice :) only if your loaded... any charger would be pretty cool tho.. im just sticking with something a bit more sleeper looking because this will be my daily :) and once it gets a new sprayjob and the interior finished up it will be quite a nice comfortable daily driver at that :)

last edited by bard at 17:08:24 17/Oct/06
you might wanna take them stickers off if your going for the sleeper look.
bard
yeah.. dunno yet.. depends how crazy a sleeper i wanna make it look
[edit - this amount of info is enough to avoid nF style bs.]
If stock VL ran 16's then the figures [Pave running Low-to-mid 15's] don't seem all unreasonable either.

If the TT supra does run faster than High 14's, let's even say it is 14.
And Pave's is aroudn the low 15, I don't see that as a huge defeat, again given you're talkinga bout a twin turbo younger car vs a N/A Older one.
Which was the point to begin with - That it's still respectable for the time it came from!

Slouches from that age would be more like 18secs at least I imagine.

last edited by Loki at 17:31:31 17/Oct/06
charger rule, as if you wouldnt want a charger over a 4 door val.

Agreed :) Just personal preference, I like 2 door coupe styled cars waaaaaaaaaaaay more than any 4 door. Exceptions come into play with pillarless 4 doors though, they can be very pimpin' :D

Although this engine in a grandpa exterior spec'd val would be kinda fun, you'd suprise the hell out of all the import kids thats for sure :P
http://moparmarket.com/readersrides_view.php?user=Ray_440

Good ol 225 slant with some go faster bits, namely EFI and a snail :) 355rwhp sure aint to shabby for ye old val eh.
yeah i think r31's were like .1 faster than vl's haha
a tired rb30 coupled with a manual won't break into the 15s at all, let alone low 15s

(even with a flat shift)

last edited by nF at 17:32:54 17/Oct/06
yeah i think r31's were like .1 faster than vl's haha

O RLY? VLs were 130kgs lighter than R31s.
oh yeh rubba, dont mind that pacer at all, although it could have gone without the VIP grile & lights, much prefer the vf pacer grille/lights.

also,
paveway please give up.
VLs eat balls... I know cause I had the unpleasant experience of owning one :P
lol, i wouldnt drive a vl unless it was running a worked rb26. and it would have to be a calais, cant stand those fugly headlights the stock vl's come with
Yeah stock.
But even a small amount of mods would help push it down (difference between 15.9 and 15.5 aint much).

It -really- doesn't seem all that unreasonable to me..
Ok, I'm going to actually say it because it's the only reeal reference I have.

My car was running like crap when we had a run, and a stock 5.0L LX on Road Tests ran 14.9 - 15.4 for the 1/4 (varying between testers etc.)
I'm going to go with somewhere inbetween and call it 15.2.

Quad Barrel, Mech. Sec's/Extractors/Exhaust/Filter/Overbore 60 thou.
I'd say that would push mine to high 14's (not really all that quick, heh)

Poor traction for a decent launch + running like s*** at the time = come back down to say stock speed, marginally slower at worst?

I was what, maybe 3-4 lengths in front of you pave?
Maxe got about 0.5 - 1 on top of me which at well over 100, wouldn't even be a tenth of a second, on his winning run. (do we know his time?)

So yeah, it seems very reasonable to me that Pave would be breaking into the 15's!

I reckon we take the Pavemobile to the strip and find out once and for all =]

last edited by Loki at 17:58:41 17/Oct/06
yeah maybe

i wouldn't go as far as 4 lengths :p

2 or 3 at best, i was pretty surprised
maxe got 15.2 or so on his best run

so if hes beaten you convincingly it'd be obviously more than that

save up $35 and go out on a wednesday
0.5 - 1 isn't really convincingly as far as times are concerned and maybe a tenth of a sec at best, so then my estimates are about right.

I was running 92Ron, pinging, screwed points + wrong gaps and a rooted coil <-> distrib. lead.

Fixing that made a noticeable difference, so I still dont think high 14's is an unreasonable estimate

Which brings my point that going by Maxe-Loki-Pave differences, that Pave's car is still at least around low to mid 15's?@#$!

[edit] I'm not entirely sure what your point here is nF.
If you're trying to say my car is slow, what do you want me to say? Start an argument? Congratulations, I already know it's not as fast as I thought/hoped it would be before I saw it in practice.
(I was udner some misconceptions of how much work has been done to it that only turned out to be 1/8th true), and that's fine by me.
However fast it is now is fine and will stay like that till the day we are driving hydrogen power flying vehicles.
I don't mind comparing it to get an idea on what's its close to, it's part of the fun, same as giving it stick against a skyline when I know I'll always lose.

I enjoy driving it how it is, for what it is and knowing I can afford to drive it [hi nF].

last edited by Loki at 18:35:14 17/Oct/06
my point is your spinning a whole lot of hope and guesses into what you think your car can do, which is fair enough

but for $35 you can actually run a 1/4 and stop talking out your arse
b00n
page 2 4th picture kaoscarclub sticker lol on window
I don't really 'hope' it can do more than what it does.
Guesses into what it is that it does which in turn gives us an idea of what the R31 is doing seems real-world-relevant to me?

Assuming maxe ran a 15.2 and I was a generous 0.1 behind that; at 15.3 that still means the R31 was at least doing 15.6 - 15.7.

Which is still alot quicker than 16.5 --> 17 that he and others were underestimating...
Who knows what time Pave's car would run, for all we know it might be 40 degrees outside and he might run a high 17...unfortunately I agree with neff, you can't really get a gauge on how fast a car will be until you actually run it...I mean Maxe might have dramatically improved since he went last time, or maybe his tyres have significantly decresed in tread and he might run a 15.9 or 16...
shrapse
qgl test 'n tune meet, lets do it
Only if we can ride in your tray on the way down there.
Put some kitty litter at the end of the track and i reckon maxe would run 11's.
bard
oh lol b00n that was quite some time ago.. those stickers are long gone, all that is left is the stickers that came in the mail from the states with all me go fast bits... and some of them are on the car now...

i wouldnt be up for test'n'tune for quite some time.. brand spanking new engine and gearbox... be a few thousand kms before i dyno it or run it down the 1/4
You c***s need to watch more Batman Begins. f*** what you drive, its what you do with it that defines you.

Why do we buy R31's? To learn how to buy something decent next time (sup pave dude)

Put some kitty litter at the end of the track and i reckon maxe would run 11's.

hahaha f*** off you old c***
b00n
glad those stickers are gone cause kaos car club are scum and retarts, god dam hate those guys

careful now, you dont want to risk a forum invasion!
ohh noes e-drama !!
retarts,

I'm not sure who I hate more, retards, or people who can't spell retard.

test & tune sounds like fun, lets meet out there tonight. I have a kingswood that I'm pretty sure would take about 2 minutes to get to the 1/4 mile mark and I'm itching to see if I'm right :p
bard
well as i said id def be up for testntune one day....