LightAssassin
Looks like they are instating new laws as of July 1 2007.
"Who will vehicle power restrictions apply to? From 1 July 2007, provisional licence holders under 25 years of age must adhere to vehicle power restrictions." http://www.transport.qld.gov.au/youngdrivers for linky Heaps of new laws... check them out and see how you're effected. Looks like I miss all of them as I will have my opens and already have my bike license. Sucks to be the younger guys... though I wonder how it will really effect the death tolls and the late night hoons. Expect more v6 bogans near you! |
| #0 06:53pm 15/08/06 |
Huggs 12 point open license
| #1 07:04pm 15/08/06 |
step
lowering the minimum learner age to 16 and extending the licence period to 12 months Retarded. gaining 100 hours of certified supervised on-road driving experience for learners under 25s Definitely a step in the right direction, pity noone will do it. Some much needed improvements, but alot of it is useless. |
| #2 07:05pm 15/08/06 |
All the laws are awesome, except getting the learners earlier. thats just dumb
| #3 07:13pm 15/08/06 |
yer, im for all the new rules
starting younger is a good idea also should have been in place years ago young people are always going to kill themselves in cars its the governments job to make it harder |
| #4 07:15pm 15/08/06 |
Also this only applys for people who get there licence after mid next year! YAY no plates for me.
| #5 07:24pm 15/08/06 |
step
Reading into it, if you do 10hrs of driving with an instructor it counts a 3x the amount, anything more is counted normally. The union definitely earnt their money, now all they need to do is filter out the useless instructors.
30 hours under an instructor, 20hrs (if that) of driving with a parent/relative, the rest will most likely be forged. Looking at it, I doubt anything really changes in the end. I just hope that some of the 100hrs is spent on teaching people how to freakin merge and to park. |
| #6 07:29pm 15/08/06 |
Training please to stop people from slowing down near an accident just to see what happened. Had to put that up with that on the Ipswhich motorway recently. Mind you the traffic jam wasn't even on the side of the road that the accident happened, everyone slowed down to see what was happeing on the other side.
| #7 07:38pm 15/08/06 |
Licenses should be Hp / Kw restricted
Also, along with the basic drivers test, which really only demonstrates a very limited understanding of the traffic code, a defensive driving test shoud also be compulsory and you must PASS before you are able to drive a car. This would pretty quickly clean up the dips*** accidents and the subsequent f***ing congestion on our roads in peak hour let me tell ya... |
| #8 07:46pm 15/08/06 |
i doubt any of these infringements of personal freedoms will do anything to lower youth road tolls. it looks like driving instructers are gonna get more of that phat disposable youth cash though.
over regulation for the sake of it. |
| #9 07:47pm 15/08/06 |
these new laws are sure to stop those pesky youths stealing high powered cars and driving around un-licenced, leading police on high speed chases that end in deaths and the cops blamed. Yep.
| #10 07:51pm 15/08/06 |
damn now i have to get my license before july...
| #11 08:13pm 15/08/06 |
Would be interesting to see what the restrictions of power will be.
| #12 08:43pm 15/08/06 |
Matt
Haha luckily they aren't restricting motorbike power for P platers! :D
I like the new laws but it's still a good incentive for me to get my car P's before I go overseas next year. Would be a lot of fuss when I'd rarely be driving anyway. |
| #13 08:53pm 15/08/06 |
eP
Huggs 12 point open license booyah if ya under 25.. some of those rules still apply, such as V8 ban etc. |
| #14 09:17pm 15/08/06 |
LightAssassin
mmm... if you read the pdf it actually states otherwise if you have a open license, it only applies to p platers under 25. Sucks to be them!
| #15 09:21pm 15/08/06 |
booyah if ya under 25.. some of those rules still apply, such as V8 ban etcYeah but that's the only law from that list that applies to me, since the others refer to those who are/will be P1/P2 AND under 25 etc etc. Besides 25 is 18 months away and i can live til then without owning a v8, if i really wanted one that is, which i dont. last edited by Booyah at 21:26:55 15/Aug/06 |
| #16 09:26pm 15/08/06 |
lol sif anyone can afford to fill a V8 nowerdays anyway. Especially some snot nosed lil' punk ass trying to get laid.
| #17 12:06am 16/08/06 |
Resonate
Im only 20 and ive had my opens for 3 years.
Grabbing one overseas and coming back and exchanging it ftw! |
| #18 12:16am 16/08/06 |
V8 ban is s***e
turbo ban is s***e That's why it should be based on the power of the vehicle and a test be conducted that proves you can contain the vehicle BEFORE your are allowed to drive one on the road. Also 4WD drivers should also have to do a decent vehicle awareness course before they're allowed to drive them. f***it, bring workplace Safety and Awareness out of the workplace and put it on the road The mates and their wives who own 4wd's as a recreational vehicle who drive them on road (and actually know to look around outside of the normal mirror area) as well already do this. It's generally the soccer mums an dads (for want of a better term) who say s*** like "I have to bend down to lift the pram out of an ordinary car" who have no clue about blindspots or thoses who wait just long enough at an intersection for the lights to turn red again before they take off leaving 4 or 6 cars behind them (which of course they didn't see as they never check their mirrors). Actual proficiency tests on a vehicle that an individual uses isn't a bad idea last edited by HERMITech at 00:28:26 16/Aug/06 |
| #19 12:28am 16/08/06 |
Grabbing one overseas and coming back and exchanging it ftw! why the f*** would you exchange it back?!! i cant wait to come back on a british drivers licence. send those speeding fines to london boys! |
| #20 12:39am 16/08/06 |
Who really gives a rats ass? My stock TD gemini did 150kph, most s***ty 4cyl corolas can do that too. You can still kill yourselves via power poles/fences/bedazzled onlookers. Don't get your manties in a bunch.
| #21 01:27am 16/08/06 |
it's all revenue raising bs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1111111111
| #22 10:31am 16/08/06 |
peer passenger restrictions (only carrying one passenger aged under 21) from 11pm to 5am for P1 under 25 I would have thought that would have f***ed with the concept of the designated driver on big nights out which can't be a good thing. |
| #23 10:44am 16/08/06 |
Fizzer
The not being able to get your bike learners before you've got your car license is a f***ing joke. Some people don't want a car license. I know plenty of avid bike riders that have never had their car license cause all they care about is bikes.
In saying that it don't apply to me i just think its bs. |
| #24 11:56am 16/08/06 |
The not being able to get your bike learners before you've got your car license is a f***ing joke.I dont think it's a bad idea. You want the learners to get their car licenses first so they can get used to the road in something slow and not in a bike that will allow them to flogg it and kill themselves from day one. Forcing them to get their car provisional license is another way of power restricting bike riders for 12 months, though they could have restricted them to say 250cc bikes instead of 750cc etc.. but the whole idea is to get them to ride a s***box car, slow them down and get them used to the road and road signs where you are able to see the signs, and not in something that enables you to fly 200km/h, and dont try and deny that a lot of those young fellas on bikes wont try and rev the tits of their bikes sooner or later. Besides, those avid bike riders cant forever rely on their bike licenses will most likely resort to using their car licesnes one day. That being said i can see the massive inconvienience that it will cause for those just wanting to get their bike licenses straight up. But hey. last edited by Booyah at 13:36:21 16/Aug/06 |
| #25 01:36pm 16/08/06 |
Getting your L's at 16 is fine - I did being in NSW.
Also, they should all have the plates - whats the point in speed restrictions etc if theres visible/logical way to monitor it. Also P plates are a great way to cruise for hotties. I felt all neglected when I went on my opens :( Anyway, I did a defensive driving course with the holder precision driving team out at Jacobs Well and I think that should be compulsary. As a new driver it teaches you so much valuable information, from where the seat and mirrors should be for your size/height etc and how to brake with abs vs standard, skid pans etc etc etc. |
| #26 01:52pm 16/08/06 |
WhiteWolf
Afaik, there is no speed restrictions to P platers in QLD, so there is no need for the p plates.
L plates where a good idea. P plates aren't the best idea in the world. but its not that big of a deal. |
| #27 05:44pm 16/08/06 |
Erik-the-Red
actually, if u read the website it only applies to people on their P plates who are under 25. so myself, i could get a V8 under these new laws, even though i'm 23, because i'm on my opens.Huggs 12 point open licensebooyah if ya under 25.. some of those rules still apply, such as V8 ban etc. high-powered vehicle restrictions for provisional drivers under 25 |
| #28 07:33pm 16/08/06 |
I say ban all 6 cylinder cars.
| #29 07:36pm 16/08/06 |
why
| #30 07:38pm 16/08/06 |
What use to they serve for inner city driving? Same applies to 4WD's. Unless you do long drives or work out west where you need the power it is purely show off material and that leads to danger on our roads
| #31 07:41pm 16/08/06 |
StopShootingMe
The power system should be based on BHP or kx at the wheels. You can have a huge engine in a car without it being particularly fast, and a small engine in a light frame that is.
Still, I wholeheartedly support the idea of power restrictions. They always did it with bikes, and a car is a lot more likely to kill bystanders or other motorists than a bike is. |
| #32 07:46pm 16/08/06 |
but it doesn't matter what type of car people drive because everyone has to obey the law and if they don't then they face the consequences...
| #33 07:59pm 16/08/06 |
taggs: you're a pissa. Tell us another corker!!!!
| #34 08:00pm 16/08/06 |
intrik
I say ban all 6 cylinder cars. What use to they serve for inner city driving? Same applies to 4WD's. Unless you do long drives or work out west where you need the power it is purely show off material and that leads to danger on our roads f*** me you're dumb. 6 cylinder who gives a toss. What's danger on the roads got to do with anything? It's the people that drive em, not the car that's dangerous. My 4 cylinder is twice as fast as a 6 cylinder bogan door. So you're sayin' the slower car is more dangerous? Right... What you meant to say is "I say ban all dumb people, what use are they for inner city? Same applies to dumb people in 4WD's. Unless you're a long haired git and work out west where there's no power lines, then dumb people are surely only for show off material and the dumb people lead to danger on the roads. Oh wait.. YOU'RE A DUMB PERSON. Must be fully sick show off material. :P |
| #35 08:11pm 16/08/06 |
basically what you're saying is that people shouldn't be allowed to drive cars with large engines or fast cars because they can potentially put themselves and other people in danger, right?
that's retarded, we live in a free country and people have the right to choose how they live their lives. if people want to own fast cars why the hell shouldn't they be allowed to. fast cars don't kill people, stupid actions do. it's not your place or anyone elses to protect people from thier own stupidity. |
| #36 08:13pm 16/08/06 |
intrik: I am fully aware that 4 cylinder cars can be modified to be more powerful than 6 cylinder ones. The issue of power restrictions seems to be something the government dont' give a s*** about (big woop, p drivers....ALL drivers)
edit: fopr the record, I wish we could ban dumb people - that would rock. And I don't just mean people who are crap at putting their ideas down on paper/website either :P
If t was only themselves the injured I wouldn't care last edited by Kat at 20:18:29 16/Aug/06 |
| #37 08:18pm 16/08/06 |
ok kat, you win. let's ban everything with the potential to cause others harm.
| #38 08:22pm 16/08/06 |
intrik
Bottom line - people are responsible for their own actions, I was caught doing 134km/hour and everyones like "dude, just get a slower car". But the end of the story is that I'm in control of my actions, I chose to speed. It's the actions that people take is what causes dangerous situations.
Granted restricted younger drivers to a slower car will limit the chances of dangerous situations occuring, but you can do 140km hour in a fast car in 6 seconds. But you can do 140km in your grandma's car as well.... it just takes you longer to get there, and longer to get there means you're speeding at a higher speed for longer = higher chance of dying :D lol.. |
| #39 08:28pm 16/08/06 |
shrapse
just to clear a lot of things up
"From 1 July 2007 changes will be implemented for provisional license holders who obtain their licence from this date." |
| #40 08:34pm 16/08/06 |
monkeymajik
Displaying of P plates! What a good idea, it has really worked in NSW. (no) Though the rest of the laws sound okay. |
| #41 10:19pm 16/08/06 |
Matt
perv plates!!
| #42 10:20pm 16/08/06 |
That's what they are called in NSW and VIC.
P plate + Female Driver = Chick between 18 and 21/3 (or whatever it is) |
| #43 10:22pm 16/08/06 |
Erik-the-Red
apparently laurence springborg has said that if elected these laws won't go into action as he doesn't think they will work.
so easy, don't vote beattie |
| #44 11:00pm 16/08/06 |
My 4 cylinder beast s***s all over 6 cylinder holden whoradores and the best bit about it is the look on their faces.
I do not condone speeding. |
| #45 11:24pm 16/08/06 |
If you s*** over them so much... how come you are close enough to see their faces?
| #46 11:26pm 16/08/06 |
Bah 1
Booyah 0 |
| #47 11:29pm 16/08/06 |
intrik
lol my penis is bigger than your penis.
| #48 12:51am 17/08/06 |
WhiteWolf
that's retarded, we live in a free country and people have the right to choose how they live their lives. if people want to own fast cars why the hell shouldn't they be allowed to. fast cars don't kill people, stupid actions do.change cars to guns? |
| #49 01:51pm 17/08/06 |
how do you get a fast guns?
| #50 02:31pm 17/08/06 |
it's pretty easy to justify the ownership of a fast car. it's pretty hard to justify the ownership of a gun. you fail at trolling.
| #51 05:13pm 17/08/06 |
WhiteWolf
justify a fast car then?
what can a fast car do for you that a slower car can't? how do you get fast guns seen that video of the guy with a 9mm? if people want to own fast cars why the hell shouldn't they be allowed to. fast cars don't kill people, stupid actions do.if people want to own a gun why the hell shouldn't they be allowed to. guns don't kill people, stupid actions do. |
| #52 07:42pm 17/08/06 |
what can a fast car do for you that a slower car can't?I've just lost faith in humanity holy bullf*** you can't be serious. |
| #53 07:55pm 17/08/06 |
Hashy
A better question would be what can you do in a fast car while obeying road rules in normal traffic conditions while not being a reckless impatient f***
| #54 08:02pm 17/08/06 |
A powerful car can get you out of dangerous situations that weren't created by the driver of the powerful car.
| #55 08:22pm 17/08/06 |
a car is a mode of transport. lots of people use their cars for transport and leisure and they do it legally. see any of the track threads here for an example.
guns are weapons. they have no other purpose than to kill. there is no possible justification to own a gun unless you're a farmer or something. i've got no problems with people using them at ranges etc for recreation but no one needs a gun in their house. |
| #56 08:23pm 17/08/06 |
Hashy
A powerful car can get you out of dangerous situations that weren't created by the driver of the powerful car.Very true, but also analogous to ownership of guns The only time I've ever really personally seen overly powerful cars put to use on the road are gunning it to overtake me while I'm right on the limit and ocassionally spinning their tyres as they take off while they stick their head out the window to make sure no girls have taken their tops off and want to jump in the back. I don't really support whitewolf's arguement but stop s***ting all over it unless you're willing to make a point. Edit: Ignore my tendancy to not read Kat's posts last edited by Hashy at 20:44:43 17/Aug/06 |
| #57 08:44pm 17/08/06 |
A powerful car can get you out of dangerous situations that weren't created by the driver of the powerful car. That was my point Try this scenario then Your moving through the green light, some idiot whose not paying attention runs the red, driver of the car with grunt realises this, plants it an manoeuvres his car out of danger. Something that you wouldn't be able to do in a s***box car that has little power. I know cause I've had to do it once to avoid the exact situation |
| #58 08:38pm 17/08/06 |
Edit: Taggs, are you clincally retarded? The comparison is between the unneccessary extra power of the banned cars and guns. I don't think track days count as hunting and range shooting are equally justifiable. no if you read the thread the argument came out of kats comment that no one needs more than 4 cylinders. you are the first to mention banned cars. |
| #59 08:42pm 17/08/06 |
That was my point haha. very random situation. id had my liecence for a few years (prolly 18 at the tim) and a mate worked at a car yard. one day he brought home this old skool gt falcon. i went for a drive in it, not thrashing it or anything, comming out of a corner i gave it a little squirt and spun round 180deg. after this i had much more respects for 8's. i think its a good law. same theory applies to bikes so whats the big deal? |
| #60 08:46pm 17/08/06 |
no one needs a gun in their house.Unless you're in iraq since every habib, omar and mahmood is out to get you. |
| #61 08:47pm 17/08/06 |
WhiteWolf
alright, obviously the guns thing was overboard, there is a very very good reason we can't just get guns when we want them ect. but the fact that it was stated something along the lines of "it's not your place or anyone elses to protect people from thier own stupidity." no, but its everyones place to protect others from your stupidity.
That is my main point. |
| #62 10:32pm 17/08/06 |
Erik-the-Red
anyone who says that powerful cars should be banned needs to consider that they actually have legitimate uses.
family cars are large 4's or 6's, because they need to be able to be drivable with a full car. anyone who's ever driven a barina or the like with 4 people in it knows what i'm talking about. also, towing. people own boats, caravans, trailers, etc, and a more powerful engine is needed |
| #63 11:00pm 17/08/06 |
Erik, I agree with you 100%
The right tool for the right job On a side note, if you ask me, there should be licenses for towing as well. If you can't reverse a trailer, then you can't tow one either. You wouldn't probably believe me if I told you about being overtaken by someone once who had a trailer on doing > 120 an the trailer (empty) was bouncing only to see it rip the ass off the car about a km down the road an flip him. It's just one of those things you have to see to believe... Same with reverse parking. If you can't park a car in reverse, you shouldn't be allowed to drive one forward ~ do they even test that these days? |
| #64 11:52pm 17/08/06 |
no, but its everyones place to protect others from your stupidity not sure what your saying there but if its this then i agree with you: it's my place to protect others from my stupidity, and vice versa. |
| #65 09:38am 18/08/06 |
| #65 |