Topic: I am off to Ireland to live and work!!

yeah baby!!

Getting a transfer with the place I work with, airfare and accom etc are paid for :D

any 'pro tips' for packing my s*** up and moving to another country? All those QGL'ers who are o/s - any places in euro that are 'must see' places?

I don't leave till August, as s*** takes time to get all orgainised, but it's all happening!!

woot
also who did you people use to ship your stuff over with?
Merlyn
Well, we have already discussed a lot on IRC.
But to answer your last question, i used unaccompanied baggage to get my more breakable stuff sent over when i moved to Sweden.
It arrived a few days after i did, all i had to do was go down to the shipping department of SAS and sign it out through customs, no problem.
If you are shipping large stuff over, you can send it by sea, but i am not sure what you would want to send.
Merlyn
Places to visit.
#1. Prague - Cheap booze, great sights and pretty nice women.
#2. Copenhagen - The best place to visit for Scandanavian sights. Beautiful old city with a vibrant nightlife.
#3. Vatican City - See where the church has stored all the $$$ they have ripped off suckers for 100's of years. Really eye opening.
Honourable mentions - Rome and Paris of course.
peacekeeper
Have fun, dont get blowed up
All those QGL'ers who are o/s - any places in euro that are 'must see' places?
from the bits that I have seen - all of it
also who did you people use to ship your stuff over with?
friend of mine that moved to amsterdam got her stuff shipped by sea. She should be getting it any day now, which is comforting - except it was sent in february.
Merlyn
a nice trick i found on my last trip to australia.
I wanted to bring a lot of cricket equipment back with me, and after a few phone calls it seems most airlines will give you a free increase to your luggage limit if it is for sporting gear. I got an extra 10kg, all helps.
Simes

All those QGL'ers who are o/s - any places in euro that are 'must see' places?

Italy? I could be wrong, but I heard they beat Australia in the world cup finals.

Seriously though, Scotland during the winter-time, hosts some of the most beautiful scenery I have seen in the world. Hell, I got moist just over the train ride from london to edinburgh.

last edited by casa at 04:21:19 27/Jun/06
TufNuT
HeardY if you are going to ship your stuff there by sea, make sure you ship it about a month before you leave that way it arrives about the same time you do. we did this when we moved here from kuwait, but you best ask the shipping company how long it takes to get your items there so you know when to best send them..

also another way to save money is if you dont have enough items to fill a container just book 1/2 container that way you obviously only pay for 1/2 of it and it gets shared...downside is there is a high posiblity that some of you expensive stuff 'going missing'..get insurance i hate to say it but i can almost garentee if you ship by sea full contianer or 1/2 something is gonna get stolen...

we had stuff stolen when we left here and when we came back its pathetic..

last edited by TufNuT at 05:44:14 27/Jun/06
dont go heardy
don't let the door hit your ass on the way out! ^_^
Captain America
make sure you dont get onto the irish ladies too much as there are quite a few large breasted mustache toting womenz :S
I am going to the UK for 4 weeks at Christmas and then moving there in April. Anyone got some tips on the Nightlife, just how much better is it than Brisvegas. I cannot wait to get there, so much more to do and see than here.
Simes

It s***s on brisvegas. However I dont know where to go, I think the 'suburb' or whatever they are my sister took me to was called Soho, and we went to quite a few bars and clubs there, all were decked out and always had the perfect amount of people.

Also 'r'Ape, I suggest taking a f***-tonne of warmies.
drugs are cheap :]
Cheers dude, I can't wait to have a christmas without sweat pouring off my balls. They may freeze, but it is easier to warm up than to cool down.
Cya over there heardy.. i fly out on the 4th of August...
buy a delorean
Captain America
where exactly are you going to in ireland by teh way ?
Merlyn
I am heading over to London on Friday for a weekend, might even catch up with Mööby. He can tell you all the places to see in London.
Soho is the place where all the nightlife and cafes are, also the more "seedier" parts. Although a lot of cameras and patrols can be found there, be a bit careful walking down side alleys, even during the daytime.
ToOLx
Yeah we had the same problem when we shipped our belongings over from Sydney to Auckland. We used Crown in that instance and we had alot of things missing/stolen its like the underworld black
market they just flog what they want, it just happens and you cant do much about it unless you make a claim. That takes a fairwhile to go through
since they deny it all. Good luck with your move to HeardY, i'll be coming back to brissie at the end of this month but wont be shipping my expensive goods on a boat :)

last edited by ToOLx at 18:28:01 27/Jun/06
if you can't carry it on your back you are taking too much! WTF are you gonna ship over?

Stop in Thailand/Malaysia/Singapore on the way over, get some suits made, you are set. You'll probably find any place you rent is fully furnished anyway.
Going to Dublin, going to live inner city I rekon.

I was going to just ship over extra clothes and shoes and s***, no furniture or anything like that...

Can't wait to start looking around Europe, it's going to be tops :D
Irish pussy tastes like Guiness
i dont really like dublin.. so my tip is make sure you get away from there.
I was going to just ship over extra clothes and shoes and s***, no furniture or anything like that...

most places will be furnished anyway so theres no need to ship furn. also, id just take a backpack with some clothes. youll get over missing your wardrobe pretty quick, and it makes it a s*** load easier while you doss / live in hostels / live with mates ect till you find your own pad.
ohh i've got temp accom all sorted, with work paying etc until I get a place of my own.

I'll be based in Dublin for a little while, but we have an office in Kilkenny as well, so I'll probably spend some time there as well

it's going to be a s*** few weeks before I get there though, just getting home at 11pm :/