Topic: I was thinking of making a tv show...
Ryan Jordan Troppo

well not making, more writing.

Based on my life at work in the IT dept at the council.

pretty funny stuff happens there, and i reckon it could be written even funnier.
icewyrm
Writing is fun... as long as you aren't being forced to do it ;p
You should give it a try
Ryan Jordan Troppo
seriously though........

Its based here in australia.
It won't contain g'day and all that crap, just the actual way we behave at work.

It'll have to be filmed in the US because I hate those cameras that neighbours use, they look crap.

I want it to look like scrubs or something similar
Ryan Jordan Troppo
icewyrm, i've never written before..........

where would be a good place to start?

I am pretty imaginative I reckon
Jordan Ryan
3 things I wanna say:

1) don't steal my name, punk. even if you are my friend and write it backwards.

2) i wanna star in the movie.

3) it's already been done to a degree. (new british sitcom.)

Hashy
You didn't leave much room for input.

Write a script for a pilot and we'll tell you if it's worth persuing I guess.

E: IT crowd is more of a generic office situation with the occassional "did you try turning it on and off? is it plugged in?" joke thrown in.

A more IT centered one could probably be done.

last edited by Hashy at 22:16:49 19/Feb/06
Ryan Jordan Troppo
Those 3 things are very very immature.

a) you cannot copyright your birthname

b) You can't act.

c) It hasn't been done here, and aussies are always the flavour of the month.
icewyrm
To start with? Hmm, I'd say write down a whole bunch of stuff that you've seen and witnessed, characters involved, backstory, etc. You can't really write a story until you have the data you need to create it.
I haven't done any writing in a long time, so I can't be too specific with advice unfortunately.
Main thing I can think of, if you think its not turning out the way you want, or you think it sounds cheesy/corny or something, get someone else to look at it before you scrap your progess, because sometimes it might be better than it seems.
seriously, I reckon you could right the most piss funny movie screenplay based soley on quotes from bash.org, just filter them into some IT dudes everyday conversations

and if you use that idea, let me be in it :)
Jordan Ryan
I think it would be crazy hard to write a movie, even if you experience what you are writing.

For example, once I had a mate asking me to drive him to pick up another friend so that he could go and get a pound of weed for another friend. I said yeah, no prob, as I was a weed newbie and had never seen so much weed in the one place. . .

Turned out the guy he was picking it up from / selling it to was the same drug f***ed dude. . . (They had confused the f*** out of each other with their weed code phone talk and ended up with everyone being f***ed around. . .)

Was funny s*** at the time, but do you think I could tell the story as funny as it was at the time?? Perhaps one of those 'you had to be there' kinda things.
Go read Bastard Operator From Hell's early stuff. If you are even 10% as funny as that, then go write a pilot, if not stick to working in IT.
I say g'day and I work in IT
Will it be about asking people about the hair on your penis? (my god you've scared me for life with that I swear!!)
A TV show based on what life is like in an IT department at the council?

Jesus dude, I'd get more fun out of watching Ready, Steady, Cook.
I say g'day and work in IT aswell.

Of course I also say crikey!
didn't the yanks call this 'The Dilbert Principle' ?
bloody nora
Tim Tibbetts
I was planning to write a TV show with 2 of my friends. It would be a show about an office, but trying not to copy "The Office"...it stated off pretty good, but we just gave up one day..hopefully we'll start it again.

At the moment my latest obsesion is podcasts - I'll probably be making one within the next few weeks - hurrah!
You can get some pretty nice screen play writing software these days. Google it. Its much better than just using word as it prompts you along the way with the formatting specific to screen plays.

I think the subject matter has scope, but your challenge will be in giving depth. Ie, There’s no point in having a series which is only 3 shows long. Jot down as many plots for different shows as you can. Filling in the bits in the middle of each shows comes later.

Good luck !
his podcast is in 2 tuesdays
I will select your sleepwear for you, and you will find it under your pillow if there is none then you are to be naked.

zing!