Topic: Double Standards for police
link

I think this is bulls***,police arnt above the law and should be setting examples instead of getting away with stuff like this.
The only person above the law is Niko.
coming back from xmas lunch i was passed by a police motorcycle doing 120-130km/h on the gateway motorway. No lights or sirens and he was tailgaiting cars trying to overtake. couldn't f***ing believe it .
I once saw a cop car speeding down the highway no lights so I just sat behind them doing the same speed. true story
Xy
The only time i've seen people given grief over drinking in public is when rowdy teenagers are walking the street and most times they were underaged anyway and thats what I thought it was for.

Did I miss something here? Is it illegal to drink in public or something?
I just find it funny that you act as if this is something new.
WhiteWolf
Cops aren't allowed to speed!

(ever watched cops? they don't always put on there sirens straight away, i mean hell.. why give the perps a warning?)

cops are the law. get use to it.
Is it illegal to drink in public or something?

Yes it is.

I too saw a police car speeding along logan road once,so i decided to follow them (no lights flashing) straight into the mcdonalds drive through.
I once saw a cop arrest someone for killing a girl.

oh s***, we're meant to be bagging them right?
Having the police arrest someone for murder is differant to having them drinking in a public place where other people were charged for drinking in public,read the article.
A_W

He who enforces law makes the law. It's pretty simple. And yes it is quite wrong, but what are ya ganna do.
I too saw a police car speeding along logan road once,so i decided to follow them (no lights flashing) straight into the mcdonalds drive through.

Obviously hypoglycemic and was an emergency.
I dont really care what the article says, theres always gonna be a few bad apples.
Xy
"In some areas local by-laws make it illegal to drink alcohol in public places (such as beaches, parks or streets). Check with the local council about the by-laws in your area."

http://www.mydr.com.au/default.asp?article=2898
s*** hey, I didn't know that.
Or even better...
"It is illegal to give alcohol to someone under 18, unless given by a parent, guardian, husband or wife.

So as long as you follow these 2 rules (giving alcahol to a minor on private property) you should be right.
"Here my 12 year old son have 2 bottles of rum" lol!

last edited by Xy at 01:10:20 27/Dec/05
The lunch was hosted by the police inspector in charge of Operation Track, which targeted unruly behaviour among teens attending "pre-schoolies" camping trips

And one of those bad apples happens to be a higher ranking officer.

Two weeks ago a Bowen police officer was placed on leave with full pay after crashing a police vehicle while driving home drunk.

Yet another "Bad apple"

Im not criticizing the entire police force,but having these kind of offenses happening this time of year by people who are supose to enforce the laws and prevent these types of things happening doesnt make a good example for anyone,and having them get away with it just inflames it even more.

last edited by Tanaka Khan at 01:13:42 27/Dec/05
Murderer
$100 on spot fine for drinking in public.

I think there's exceptions for NYE, because people drink/smoke on buses n s*** anyway.

Cops are f***ed, I got picked up one night by them because of some crazy ass fight at some dudes place (got a broken nose) they were doing 90/kmh on main road (which was 50kmh limit) no cars etc, but they were just cruising.

Cops are f***s, within 5 minutes of me being at my mums I got a $110 for no seatbelt, all because i took it off to grab something from the back lol.

BASTARDS!!

Which means I can't reach the wasted level i wanted to on nye.

=[

f*** the cops though, i'm more worried about the f***s who are always getting in s*** by the cops (bogans etc).

~! - Power hunger isn't a good thing to have.
they *are* the law, deal with it!
police are exempt from road rules.
Dodgymon
ROFL. I personally know the sargent over at straddie and this does not surpised me one bit. He's as dodgy as they come!
cs_master
police are exempt from road rules.

thats right, fences should yield.
The same politions that are all for the do-other-things-rather-then-drink were also getting pissed in this public place that apparently was mistaken for a place with a mining lease.
LoneWolf

Yes, because as we all know, once you put on a police uniform you are no longer human, and any flaws that the rest of the species have, does not affect you once you become a police officer.

Be real. Police are human, just like the rest of us. (with the execption of a few people on here). Fair enough, that clown that crashed the patrol car while driving it drunk should not have been suspended with full pay, he should have been booted off the force. But drinking in a public place? Jesus, cut the guy some slack.
hUON
As for police speeding, apparently all they need do to be allowed to speed is to justify that the speed they were doing helped them do whatever job they were doing more effectively than a lower speed.

So the argument is that if you are a cop out on general patrol duties, you can justify that travelling a little faster than the general traffic lets you get a look at more than just the car in front and the car behind. Even if you don't have anywhere in particular to get to urgently. Even if you are planning on stopping at Macca's.

Or that is the argument all the cops I know use when I ask them about this. Right or wrong, up to you.
Jesus, cut the guy some slack.

Did you even read the artical? It was a party involving police and government workers in an area where teenages had been booked for doing the exact same thing by those very same officers.Now tell me why they should be cut some slack? The law isnt for one person and not another,and wearing a uniform shouldnt exempt you from those laws,if anything they should be setting an example for everyone else.Again im not criticizing the entire police force,in my job i meet alot of police officers all the time and think there a great bunch (except some of the younger officers who come arcoss as cowboys) but these people mentioned were caught commiting an offense and as such should be treated as every other person.
In the end, everybody forgets and no longer cares.

The moral of the story is....
"Here my 12 year old son have 2 bottles of rum" lol!

Other laws cover why you can't do this.
WhiteWolf
Did you even read the artical? It was a party involving police and government workers in an area where teenages had been booked for doing the exact same thing by those very same officers.Now tell me why they should be cut some slack?
i wonder how old the teenagers were?

Age doesnt come into it,the teenagers were fined for drinking in a public place,and afterwards,the same police who booked them commited the very same offence.

But teenagers holidaying on the island at the same time were slapped with more than $10,000 in fines for drinking in public - the same offence committed by the same police officers who issued the tickets.

last edited by Tanaka Khan at 00:20:53 28/Dec/05
Now now Tanaka, trying to teach some people that two plus two actually does equal four is impossible.
Amaya
I am the law!
palekid
hmm yeah i reckon the cops should get fined just like the teens but not kicked off the force i agree cut them some slack they arnt robots and have flaws even wearing a police uniform.

anyway i gotta good story since were on the subject. my roomate is an alcoholic and he went to the muddy farmer and had a few and decided to drive home (he was over the limit). he was driving down a one way street and a cop car came up the wrong way and taped his side mirror very close to an accident so the cop pulls him over and trys to give him a ticket for something i dunno. my roomate decides to call the policemans boss and get a third party down there to sort it out. they both got breath tested and the police driving the wrong way up the one way street was apparently over the limit aswell so they made a deal to let him off and i think the policeman got fired.

so yeah in the end the cop was trying to ticket my mate and get away with it but he was smart and made sure they were both tested and yeah etc.

cool story but my roomate was drunk so who knows if it happend this way he trys to sound like a hero alot.
Metrix
It's not like these people where siting in a circle passing a bottle of vodka around.. it was a bar-b-q at the end of an operation. The location selected was meant to be private property (or so they thought) so I can't see the issue here.

A member of the public having a bar-b-q on private property would not be fined for drinking in public.

The police officers thought it was private property. They were wrong, and accept this(they really can't deny it now they know) so the real question is, what is a valid punishment?

As for the fines given out over the operation, I can only assume the teenagers in the story were fined for drinking in obviously public locations, like on a beach, park, shopping center, etc...

If we can't trust the police service, then who can we trust... I choose to trust the police did not activly make the dicesion "Lets go get drunk in a public place because hey!, where cops and we can do any thing! bwahahahaha!"
Ignorance is no excuse for the law,try telling a police officer you didnt know it was a 50k zone while doing 65 and see what he says.If anything those officers and government officials should be fined just as the teenagers were.
Two years ago, there was a big Police party going on at Rainbow Bay while we were staying in a unit block across the road.

The next day there were dozens of empty beer bottles and stacks of other rubbish left by the police and their families/friends right there in the park next to the beach.

Absolutely disgraceful.

Police are human sure, but by becoming police officers, they are effectively agreeing to at least try to be examples to the rest of the community.
DeathSyndrome
In a unit where I used to live, the unit above us was owned by a brissie cop (seen his badge) who only came for holidays. Anyway, the way we started talking to him was cause he was passing us down beer bongs from the veranda! (We where 16/17 at the time) He also showed us "the river chalange" (throwing beer bottles over the road from the veranda to see if you could make the river.... and then he ended up comming down to party with us, and got with one of the chicks, i think she was 17. He was ovbously off duty, but he didnt care there was drugs there or nothing.... Crazy cops... at least he was nice, thats more then I can say for most of em :(