Topic: Giving up food
Well, the time has come for me to do something about being overweight.

Last week I weighed myself at 133kg, and it kinda freaked me out. Today is the begining of my diet with QLD health, basicly for breakfast and lunch, I get meal suppliment shakes, and healthy s*** for dinner (from a provided list)

Apparently the hunger pains will go away after a few days :P

Anyway, in a couple of months ill show you some before and after shots.

There is no real point to this thread, except im bored and hungry :P

Carry on.
I got had a tonsilectomy 3 weeks ago. Thats working for me.
masta_blasta
Dude, just smoke cigs. They'll take those hunger pains away.

gl tho
I do smoke as well, but ill be damned if im quiting smoking at the same time! :P
I wish you luck on your endeavour!

How about regular exercise, is that part of the diet?
korbs
good luck eds. As a former fatty, i know it's not easy facing the facts, but i'm glad you have and you are now on the way to a healthier life.

Are you going on an exercise program as well, or is this just a food diet ?

There was a dude on the SA forums that went on one of these milkshake type diets. Worked really well for him.

The biggest issue with weightloss is support.

Do you have someone who can do it with you?
Irhabi
my sister was on some diet where she had to eat alot of bacon/meat/fat and drink alot of grape fruit juice..the funny thing is is actually worked..she lost weight, i was amazed.

cant remember the name of the diet though

last edited by Irhabi at 13:30:30 28/Oct/05
A_W
Agreed. and also a diet alone won't do much. Must be a reputable sound diet AND exercise program, not just diet. Go to a gym, turn that flab into ab.
Ahhh, the joys of a high metabolism.
I should have mentioned that yes I will be exercising. At this stage I got myself a exersice machine/bike thing and put it in front of the computer, so I can watch eps while I do it.

30 - 45 mins a day, 7 days a week.
not to be rude eds, but have you considered entering www.thebiggestloser.com.au ?

you get on TV, you get expert personal training and a diet tailored to your needs and they probably pay you handsomly while on the show also.
Thats not being rude :) Actually I did because two ladies at work have applied, but this is something id rather not do on TV, im used to being behind the cameras, I dont like being in front of them :P
you're probably not emo enough anyway!
I've lost almost 4 kilos in the last month, just eating "better" than I did and occasionally going for a walk. I feel a bit better too :)

Good luck and etc.
Dopefish
Nice work. I've lost about 9kg now. 98kg to about 89kg and i'm gonna keep going until I"m about 80-85 depending on how i look at the weight.

It's pretty easy just excercise and keep unhealthy food out of the house.
Do the right thing 95% of the time and then occasionally you can eat something bad as long as you dont BINDGE or do anything f***ing stupid.

eds, link to diet? im thinking about joining you - im 80kg which is right on the edge of being to heavy
GL eds it will take ages.
ie. 1kg a week. and if you are aroudn 6 foot you probably are looking to drop 30 to 40 kg.

When I dropped from 127kg. (almost 133)
I found some things good

Weigh in once a week at the same time each week (no more then that, becuase weight can bounce up and down from day to day and going up can make you go why am I bothering). But over a week you will notice some drop even if it is only a small one (and since your a nerd graph it and put it in excel)

Find something active you enjoy and do that. Cos if you don't enjoy it you won't do it. Wether its fencing, cycling watching movies, boxing, paddling out in the ocean ... anything

DO NOT RELY ON ANYONE ELSE FOR ANYTHING! (food or activity ... people are not reliable, they will break your routines)

Draw up a routine and stick to it, once you are on the routine it will actually feel bad to break with the routine. Aparently you have to do something 20 times before its a routine.

Avoid fads. To lose weight energy in must be less then energy out, and exercise honestly doesn't use as much energy as you'd think it should. Eg. Cycling (at 20k/h) for 30 mins will use about 300 calories. Thats about 4 slices of white bread.

Also to avoid the hunger pains, drink lots of water and or find a tea that actually tastes ok. Or munch on celery its actually one of the few foods in the world that uses more calories to digest then it contains (shame it tastes like balls).

Also wouldn't be a bad idea to go see a doctor and get a quick medical and tell them your plan to lose the weight, make sure you don't have any other secondary concerns you need to be careful with (blood pressure, iron levels, diabetes, liver function etc etc).
Awww how sweet. You can abuse people and then use the fat card.. and yet you don't bother changing your behaviour at any stage
GL Eds
Aparently you have to do something 20 times before its a routine

I think that is by far the dumbest thing I've ever read on the interweb.

I suggest you read up on how Neurons work.
Its actually through a doctor, so Im already getting checked by one :)

If your interested, there is a clinic at the Prince Charles or the Mt Gravatt Clinic, same staff and doctors, they just go to differant buildings on differant days

PC - 3212 5100
MG - 3219 4300

What inspired me was my brother doing it. he wasnt really big but he wanted to trim down. Following the program I am doing he lost 6 kgs in the first week and is doing 2 -3kg a week, which isnt unhealthy.

My mother is also a Weight Loss consoltant for a large womens gym in brisbane, so its helpful that she is preparing my meals :P

^^^
Good luck Eds! It may take a little bit of time but I'm sure the long-running benefits of taking the time to lose some weight and really keep an eye on your health (which after all, is the most important thing) will be worthwhile :).

last edited by Agent 99 at 15:01:15 28/Oct/05
I didn't know you were overweight Eds. That's disgusting!

Hehe, just joshin' ya!

If you're game you should put a "before" shot up and compare it to your end result. Also, good luck with it all.

Ill do the before and after shots after I lose some weight :)
^^ pls make sure your wearing clothes =)
My diet consists of a footlong sub for breakfast, 4 wholemeal rolls for lunch and a large pizza from Dominos for dinner.

I'm prolly gonna die of high colesterol or something but I haven't put on any weight and I've stayed around 95kg for years. Also have two 600ml Iced Coffee Breakas nearly every day and normally get thru 4l of soda water as well. Maybe this will work for you, maybe it will kill you. Only time will tell.
Eds: is there any online info about the diet? I wanna look my best for Agent_99! ;)
^
Stinky,

Agent 99 likes all men...

...but her true interests are for men you are good people and can play an instrument ;P.

P.S. What does the sign language thing on the bottom of all of your posts mean?

last edited by Agent 99 at 15:16:03 28/Oct/05

would you like to play with my flute Agent 99?
FlyingLlama
I can't seem to push myself over that 75kg barrier,.. damn junk food not working as advertised..
^^
Well, what can I say...that's a very kind offer rolo_tomasi...

but no thankyou.

last edited by Agent 99 at 15:06:41 28/Oct/05
133kg? how tall are you?
garn
yea ive been jogging and doing weights sessions 5 days a week
3k run and then 30 mins of weights etc

im 100kg and 6'4ft.. solid build to so i have something good to work on and i can feel myself haveing more energy and yea the jogs slowly getting easyer and what not
Amaya
Good luck, it's always worth it in the end... what's the phrase "nothing tastes as good as being thin"? I'm not quite fond of that but certainly nothing tastes as good as being healty.

Don't forget to include some light exercise as well.
Stinky's sign language means "suck my cock" ... he got it off the signed version of team america ... f*** yeah ...
It says OMGSTFU.

Agent_99: I don't play a musical instrument so I guess I'm out of the running :(

Stinky: Never mind, I'll still talk to you ;).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Also, I don't know if anyone here losing weight already has this info, but I thought it might be handy (learnt it from one of the RBH doctor's who lectured my cardiovascular science class last semester):

1. Obesity is defined by body mass index (BMI) -
BMI = weight (kg) / height (m) squared

How to interpret a BMI reading -
Caucasian persons - Underweight <18.5, Normal 18.5-24.9, Overweight 25.0-29.9, Obese Class One 30.0-34.9, Obese Class Two 35.0-39.9, Obese Class Three >40.

Asian persons - Underweight <18.5, Normal 18.5-22.9, Obese Class One 23-24.9, Obese Class Two 25.0-29.9, Obese Class Three >30.

2. Obesity - Definition -

Greater than or equal to more than 25% of body fat for men
Greater than or equal to more than 35% of body fat for women

Or

Waist circumference greater than or equal to 102cm for men
greater than or equal to 88cm for women

3. Also, something else I came across...

http://money.cnn.com/2005/07/01/pf/eating_to_live/

Apparently it's the thinner contestants who are actually winning!! So if you're looking for a career change, it would seem losing a little weight (and gaining a whole lot more of health!) could be a way to make some fast cash...

How's that for incentive!
I'm not fat ( nor skinny ) but I reckon I'd kick ass at an eating comp. I can just keep eating and eating and eating, I don't get a "You're Full" message from my tummy until I've way over-eaten, luckily I seem to have a fast metabolism or I would be a fatty.
thats pretty bad eds
im 6ft 4 and got up to 120kg and it was disgusting
i hated how i looked so much i did something about it;

im constantly fighting to drop weight and i weigh round 100/105 atm;

i exercise s*** loads, but i love food and alcohol too much and completely over do them;

right now, im trying to get in shape for summer (so i can wear the purple thong on the beach) so im hardcore exercising (skipping, running, situps for 20-30 minutes every weekday morning)
then i play netty 2 nites a week, indoor 1, squash 1, cricket every second sunday and extra sport whenever i can
also just trying to not eat bad food (going well) and just trying to cut back on eating in general (no brekky, yes, i know its bad), 1 can of pasta for lunch and dinner at nite, which i sometimes skip anyway;
my only vice is drinking
if only i could stop
this is a bit norty as well, but meh, i find a big weekend out on amphetamines makes a world of difference, coz i wont eat for days
healthy? probably not (moderation yo)
gets results though;

im making progress, slowly, down to 102 today (from approx 105)

i find hating how i look good motivation
^
I'd be careful on that kind of diet Spook. I don't want to tell you how to live your life and I'm no doctor, but you're really screwing around with your metabolism (esp by not eating breakfast and doing all those amphetamines and stuff). Take it easy :).
I'm not fat ( nor skinny ) but I reckon I'd kick ass at an eating comp. I can just keep eating and eating and eating, I don't get a "You're Full" message from my tummy until I've way over-eaten, luckily I seem to have a fast metabolism or I would be a fatty.
I'm the exact opposite, I can barely eat a 6" subway without getting full
yar, i know my methods arent what a doc would prescribe, but i used to weigh 120
now i weigh just over a 100kg;

ive been as low as 95 kilos but had an injury and couldnt play sport for like 3 months (worst 3 months of my life)

im sure i would weigh significantly less if i just gave up drinking, but wheres the fun in that?

I'm the same trog
I just put it down to the fact theat we have superior metabolisms and don't require as much food to produce the same effect =)

<- 6'2" and around 85kg
^^ (Spook)
Yeah, I totally agree with you - quality of life is far more important than quantity of life. Still, your quality of life will likely be significantly altered in the future if you don't take the proper steps to make a change now.
Either way, I'm sure you've got everything under control :). Best wishes!

Stinky: I'm not fat ( nor skinny ) but I reckon I'd kick ass at an eating comp. I can just keep eating and eating and eating, I don't get a "You're Full" message from my tummy until I've way over-eaten, luckily I seem to have a fast metabolism or I would be a fatty.

Sounds like you're the ideal candidate for the comp! ;)

last edited by Agent 99 at 16:14:05 28/Oct/05
Can you keep buying that food and give it to me eds?
I'm 6'3" and weight 100 on the dot. Play heaps of sport but booze and eating are my vices. I can eat and eat and eat. When i lived with mates it wouldn't be unusual for me to have 2 footlongs and the majority of a large pizza for dinner.

These days I've cut back on eating but I'm eternally hungry!
A_W
I could eat a two foot sub no problem. can also eat whole pizza. im only 55KG. and not getting fatter. I burn through s*** heaps fast. Im 5 ft 11.5" as far as i know.

last edited by A_W at 18:07:41 28/Oct/05
Xy
" SPOOK: im trying to get in shape for summer (so i can wear the purple thong on the beach"

*Shudders*
matey, u know its the new hawtness
also, i just found a new way to get skinny

i just bought our bdo tickets and they were like 240 for two
i wont be eating for a few days

last edited by Spook at 18:46:46 28/Oct/05
When i lived with mates it wouldn't be unusual for me to have 2 footlongs and the majority of a large pizza for dinner.

How many s***S did you take a day?

last edited by gimpy at 19:19:49 28/Oct/05
A_W
i guess 3 or 4. hah.
yea but it takes you 5 hours just to cook the dam meal, no wonder u gotta eat heaps, make up for the half day you just lost

im 187cm(6foot something?) 98.4kg
im totally not fat, im huge

last edited by Fuknukle at 19:49:32 28/Oct/05
Gol
Anyone want to lose body fat can ask me on msn, for a small fee of course. I'll give you the tools but it'll be up to you to apply them, so naturally the fee will be small.
A_W
Sif pay for it. It's thier basic human right to be able to lose weight if they want.
Anyone want to lose body fat can ask me on msn, for a small fee of course. I'll give you the tools but it'll be up to you to apply them, so naturally the fee will be small.

I may be reading this wrong, but are you saying you have a small tool ?
Gol
=) Goodluck buddy, I sincerely wish you the best of luck in losing the gut.

Edit: Yes, yes I am. Maynard would not be happy.

last edited by Gol at 21:19:47 28/Oct/05
i'm gonna be skinny as a twig when i come back from iraq in 3 months :(

Why you going there?

Terrorist training? :P
Agent_99: I don't play a musical instrument so I guess I'm out of the running :(

The only pipe he plays now, is the flesh pipe. His own flesh pipe.
spook nigga please! if your gonna skip meals dont skip brekky. skipping brekky puts your body into fat storage mode, it thinks food is hard to come by so it stores energy, making it more likely to put on weight. eat brekky cause it kick starts your metabolism into energy burning mode so your body won't put any (as much) on.

also in 2 weeks im starting my super-ultra-mega put on weight diet/exercise regime. funny how peeps always want what other people have -.-
Gol
Post it up taggs please.
eh do you want me to post my sexy-cool diet exercise plan or are you saying im "posting it up"... I hope the first cause I don't know what the second means :(
Maybe try some HIIT (high intensity interval training).

It's the one where u sprint as hard as u can for like 10secs, then walk for 10sec, then sprint 10sec etc.

Makes u feel ill pretty quick :)

Whether ur trying to gain or lose weight, all would benefit from doing some weights.

a_W if u reallt eat a s***load and only weigh 55kg at that height u may have a thyroid disfunction. Easily checked and treated if u do. If u wanted to put some weight on that is...
Holy s***, thread explosion. There is no online site sorry, youll have to ring and ask :P (OMG PEOPLE!)

I can eat 2 foot of subway, easily, and I could eat a pizza and garlic bread in one sitting, nasty stuff I know.

Im approx 6'1 in height.

Never felt so damn hungry before :P

darius
most people think that dieting and eating properly should be complicated when it shouldnt ... energy in, energy out as simple as that really
korbs
most people think that dieting and eating properly should be complicated when it shouldnt ... energy in, energy out as simple as that really

how does this explain people with fast metabolisms who can stuff themselves and never gain a kilo ? I think theres more to it than the old energy in/energy out equation.
darius
yeah there is obviously but to keep it simple thats one rule you should look at first , most people these days are so overweight becuase they eat WAY more than they really need, eg they eat about 3 times they really should for the day
Whether ur trying to gain or lose weight, all would benefit from doing some weights
I find this kinda amusing, because I see at the gym huge fat guys doing the same exercises with the same weights that the skinny girls trying to get 'toned' and the skinny guys trying to get huge.
How many s***S did you take a day?
several. Usually one big one and a few clean snaps later on!
I gotta get into that routine thing Obes was talking about. My problem is I'll be good and doing exercise and going the gym for a few weeks, then I'll hit a patch where I'm really busy at uni and doing lots of work on assignments and put off going to the gym, telling myself "Ah, I'm too busy today, I'll go tomorrow". Then before I realise it its been 2 or 3 weeks and I haven't gone to the gym and I have to start again from scratch =\

I eat reasonably well, and I dont eat a f***load, but I have a ridiculously slow metabolism so the exercise thing is really important for me. Just can't get into the routine of doing it regularly enough though.
I reckon they should make a show...

The Biggest Gainer!

And like have all these skinny computer geeks trying to bulk up. And instead of having food everywhere, they'd starve them. Oh yeah! And prizes for immunity challenges could be a 8 week cycle of creatine and protein shakes and stuff.

hahaha, I'd SO go on it!
A_W
Ideally, like to triple weight Stez. And shape it along the way with extensive body building training. Double weight at least. But all that's time & money not on hand right now. Might checkout some options in a few weeks.

Who besides Ace actually BB's here?
I did bb'ing for a while, as I had a good mate who competes training with me.

Went from about 72kg to 90kg in a year or so. Stopped doing it tho. cbf + surgery + injuries etc. So now im floating at a comfortable 83kg, tho im tall so im only normal size i guess. Might get back into it after exams and try and work back to 90kg over the holidays.

It's all a money+motivation thing. Eating so much (healthy) food gets very tedious and time consuming. And money consuming.

A_W I'd really recommend getting a blood test to have your thyroid checked, and everything else. It's free and they only have to take 1 sample. Cos if there is a prob then ur not gonna be able to gain weight very easily. I had a prob and until i realised it and had it ammended, gaining weight was so damn hard.

This should probably be in a new thread. It will inevitably turn into a e-bodybuilding war of self-proclaimed experts tho :)
Gol
nt from about 72kg to 90kg in a year or so

I wonder how much was actual muscle. I can eat like a fat f*** too and gain 40kgs in a year.

Why undermine his efforts?

72 -> 90 kgs in a year is pretty amazing. I'd be surprised if that was possible without roids, but sure, it's possible.

Here's a tip, if he's bb'ing, it's safe to assume it's muscle gain. You burn LOTS of calories lifting and just holding muscle.

I got totally into bb'ing for 2 years. Now I just can't be f***ed and have accepted the fact I'll never be huge. But it was one of the best experiences I've had in life. I have all the best advice in the world, but I just can't do it anymore because I don't care. It's about desire, and I don't have the desire. I just don't see the point in spending so much time and energy trying to look like someone else wants me to look. If I was supposed to look that way, My genetic make up would be different and I probably would have all the other amazing qualities my friends and I appreciate.

Yeah, I'm drunk.
caffeinebear
Hey Stinky
It says OMGSTFU

You got the "f" wrong ;)
Gol
72 -> 90 kgs in a year is pretty amazing. I'd be surprised if that was possible without roids, but sure, it's possible

No, it is not possible to put on ~40lbs of lean muscle mass in 1 year, even on roids. If it was, Stez, I'll be your agent/trainer and you can compete in the Mr Olympia contest in about 4 years. The chances of having genes like genes like that are astronomical, so large you can safely discount anyone claiming to have mega-gains as bulls***, or they got fatceps.

Just a little perspectice, it's taken Ronnie Coleman, 8 time and current My Olympia, to gain around 170lbs of LBM is more than 20 years of lifting. Granted, your gains slow down as you go along, but he uses some serious roids as well coupled with his awesome genetics.

Why does this post seem like a personal attack =(

Why undermine his efforts?

Cause' I'm soooooo bored
Cypress
At the start of the thread Obes put in the best info. "Motivation will get you stated. Habit will keep you there". I go to the gym at least 3 times per week. I use to weight over 100kg and now I'm 80kg, I'm 6' and fit. The key is getting into the habit of eating less or getting into a exercise regime. Once you're into it you'll feel guilty if you break it, that alone will keep you going.
Gol, it was a little more complicated that. And i guess it was more like 18months I don't really remember.

Few things though.

firstly, I did bodybuilding pretty hardcore and dedicated for a few years before that, but couldnt really put on weight. I couldnt work out why. Turns out I had a medical problem. But altho I wasn't putting on weight i was still getting good training under my belt.

Secondly, I went overseas and lost a couple of kilos. I was about 74 normally then came back at 72, so im kinda cheating with that 2kg. Then after treating my problem, weight really piled on. But to be honest i only hit 89kg, i didn't think people would make such a big deal out of me saying 90 tho.

So we'll call it 74kg - 89kg. 15kg in 12-18months or thereabouts (i dont remember). And I was skinny to begin with so it's not like i went from being average to OOGE.

And yeah my bf% probably went up a bit, but u get that when u wanna put on weight. I wasn't really fat tho, fattest I've been is probably like 15-16% bf.

U can never put on purely lean muscle. Well u can, but better to put on a *bit* of fat with it cos ull just grow better. I can shed it easily anwyay.

Meh enough about me. I'm just psyched about getting back into it after exams!
Hey Stinky

It says OMGSTFU

You got the "f" wrong ;)

Hmmm...what's that about??

I started to lose weight, then I fell pregnant. Now I am just going to let myself go and bounce back after bub is born.

Breastfeeding is the best form of weightloss.

last edited by Kat at 15:35:15 30/Oct/05
letting yourself go is dangerous and should only be considered by married women
I started to lose weight, then I fell pregnant. Now I am just going to let myself go and bounce back after bub is born.

Breastfeeding is the best form of weightloss.

Hey Kat, how much weight do you put on when you fall pregnant? I'm not looking to fall pregnant anytime soon, but I'm just curious (serious question guys, so don't be nobheads).
it depends if you squeeze his penis before he ejaculates or not agent 99
Hey Kat, how much weight do you put on when you fall pregnant? I'm not looking to fall pregnant anytime soon, but I'm just curious (serious question guys, so don't be nobheads).

First time

Pre - 73kilos
At Birth - 81kilos
Post Birth - 71kilos

Second time
Pre - 76kilos

^
lol, wrong thread Persay :). Yeah, I don't know much about premature ejaculation treatments (can't say I've ever had a premature ejaculation before ;) ), that's why I only said "apparently". Thanks for the info though.

last edited by Agent 99 at 16:09:06 30/Oct/05
So this is your SECOND child out of wedlock?

Heh.
Aww how cute.. Stez can count
breast feeding is so hawt

i cant wait for petal to shower me in milk
bub will be lucky to get a feed at all yo
Yzaerg
I hear eating lettus uses up more energy digesting it then the lettus itself.
1kg per month is a realistic weight gain, gol.
can't say I've ever had a premature ejaculation before ;)

so what you're saying is that you have ejaculated ... that's HAWTE!
Gol
1kg per month is a realistic weight gain, gol.

Of pure muscle and no fat? Negative.

Thanks for clearing that up Stez, cheers.
Yeah, of course it's not "pure" muscle but you can put on 1kg of mass per month keeping your bf% pretty much constant.
well, constant-ish. you gotta put on fat to put on muscle. that why body builders do bulking and cutting in phases.
Gol
Yeah and Stez didn't say anything like that, which was why I questioned so bleh leave it be.

yeah im the same .

5"11 last time i measured myself and 69 kg

I'm a heavy smoker and barely eat anymore
A_W
I'm a heavy smoker.

This is your major problem right there.
Yzaerg
http://img466.imageshack.us/img466/547/goaway6pw.gif