Topic: what do you do for a living?
mdma
Just wondering what you doodles do for a crust, and how you got there. Uni? tafe? workin hard? :)

Im just finishing up an I.T. traineeship, and its interesting to hear some stories.
im 18, currently working as a runner for a customs broker. Its great fun and i love it, get to meet plenty of great people out and about. I basically drive around all day (in a nice and shiny pajero) and deliver documents and pick up documents as well as freight. I got there via an add on a website :D
im 20. I am a year away from finishing a bachelor of business degree majoring in management and e-business.

I currently work at the Brackenridge Tavern behind the bar - i am also the go-to man there. It just pays for uni costs and drinking money. Life gets pretty boring if you don't have some fun.
what is goto man

edit: 20 tutor math to kids from my highschool and some first years at UQ

last edited by Persay at 19:39:30 16/Oct/05
21 turning 22 on christmas eve :p

currently working at WebCentral as a Level 2 Technician, looking to other places in the company though, looks like a great place to work through the ranks. Got there through a recruitment agency, got the job because i was a gamer :p

half way through my part time IT degree at qut, taking my time :p
The go-to man is known for doing every random job that might pop up. When you work in a fairly large hotel, there is alot of random things that need doing, maintenance type jobs. Do not worry yourself to much about it.
I'm 36, work in IT as an Admin with an Online Casino + I do some Oracle reporting for same. About to undergo Red Hat Certified Engineer
I'm presently about to commence week 2 of Holidays =)
rodo|phe
Currently 2nd Year BSc Environmental Health... work at Bunnings to pay the bills until I graduate, I am a checkout ninja there and it is boring as all f*** but for the time being it is fine - easy and pays $$.

In the past (in no particular order) I was a fitter and turner, studied IT at TAFE and have done too many dodgy casual jobs.
I'm 23, work at Mincom in the city as Tech Support (phone and email).
computer porgrammer
I work for hutchison doing support and maintainance to one of their provisioning systems for 3 and orange.

Currently defered but will be going back soon to spherion to finish some certs.
xot
im 35 and im a doctor specialising in skin cancer/dermatology

last edited by xot at 19:37:34 16/Oct/05
=-Firefrog-=
Im 22, and sell computers, and computer related accessories, hoorah! I work with a great bunch of people, get to play with all the new IT toys, and am rich in disposable income because of it. Now if only we didn't have to deal with customers, it really would be perfect ;p

This is basically the result of me focusing my HS on IT, doing IT at TAFE, and then deciding I didnt actually want to work in IT, and currently cant be bothered figuring out wtf else to do with myself :p
Imperial
I'm an apprentice printer, going into my 3rd year next friday.
24, Victorian Marketing Manager for a QLD Based Property Developer.
25, web designer.

working from home ftw.
^^ Strex, bein a manwhore don't count mate ;P
IFBB Professional Body Builder,

also started my own business recently called zub electrical...

and im a taste tester at kfc.
"I'm here to design, ze web..."
currently working at WebCentral as a Level 2 Technician, looking to other places in the company though, looks like a great place to work through the ranks. Got there through a recruitment agency, got the job because i was a gamer :p

I was there for 4yrs, went from Lvl2 -> Lvl3 - > Lvl3 Team Lead -> Presales.. awesome stuff and a great company to work for.

I'm 23, work at Mincom in the city as Tech Support (phone and email).

Me too, except I'm 25 and in the server team.

last edited by TicMan at 20:21:48 16/Oct/05
I polish ticman's boots and basically do my best to act as his bitch
mdma
tung did you have any qualifications when you started work with webcentral. i wanna work with black men like you.

strex do you work freelance or for a company? did you goto uni?

acetame can you post pics of your delts?
mdma, nope. Basically i knew some general stuff, years experience of gaming and general tinkering (i didnt have any code knowledge or web design knowledge, but i was able to pick it up pretty quickly) and they were happy with that. 2-3 weeks of some basic training and i was thrown in, and for my first time working in a call centre/help desk environment i didnt do too bad :p

in a couple of weeks i'll be working more on the harder problems rather than first level phone support, thats just to get me into it.

ticman, cool, i dont know where i really want to be, but looking at corp sales atm, but things could change :p
pillsy
The go-to man is known for doing every random job that might pop up.

"hey lachie some redneck had a miscarriage in the toilet, go get the plunger"
Men pay me ... to give them pleasure.
im 21, quit harveys 3 weeks ago.
mate rang me 2 weeks after i quit and told me to come in i start the next day.
so i know work at ipswitch council. tech support looking after their 1000 pcs/laptops all using novell so its simple as.
such an awesum place to work. $19/hr so im happy as.
mdma
get me a job tung :(

full time: i work for the QPS in the electronics dept. (cal. and repair of law enforcement devices).

part time: army (surveillance and target acquisition).

yea Tung i was offered corp sales at webcentral but i really wanted to get out of sales.
also they told me you worked there and i was like no way, aint no big black nigga gonna corner me in the bathroom ;)
i run my family company. sort of like arrested development. except there's no funny bits.
mdma
is your dad in jail
Programmer/Tech/Sales Rep shiz/Managing stuff n things.

I got there by a fluke - my Dad taught programming at a tertiarly level while I was growing up. Me - I gave away computers when I was 21 and if not for my little bro travelling to Qld and talking me back into them (heh.. a copy of quake sealed the deal) I'd never bothered.

By day I build/repair workstations and servers. The new MS Windows Media Centers are a lot of fun. Why doesn't everyone have a 42" LCD??? :P

By night I work for my father doing mundane IT s*** for him. It pays well, but coding isn't my favourite way to spend my time.

My plan is to run my own PC Retail biz. It's complex, it's hectic, it's fast-paced, it keeps me so busy that I may just stay out of trouble :P
22, furniture finisher apprentice, spray 2 pac kitchens n shopfitting gear. Fairly boring, pays bills.
ticman, cool, i dont know where i really want to be, but looking at corp sales atm, but things could change :p

Your only looking at Vesna :D
I'm 20 and i'm nearly finished my first year in an advanced diploma of civil engineering at southbank tafe, the course changes next year and i should come out with an 'associate degree', then onto qut to do a degree in civil engineering.

to pay the bills i work with my dad as a painter, which is what i did the last 2 years when i finished school and didn't know what i wanted to do.

ps. i'm looking for a casual job doing whatever, if anyone can hook me up
Economics student @ uq / call centre bitch <-- awesome money for 0 qualifications + blatent cv lying + doing absolutly nothing at work
Strik3r
21, studying full time finishing up my 2nd year of B. IT @ Griffith Gold Coast.

have worked part time as a DJ for 4 years now and also work for a small I.T. company down here on the coast doing tech support/repairs/installs.
I play guitar... study guitar... and teach guitar ($$).

Simple life :D
i co-ordinate online insurance fraud
so i know work at ipswitch

MWHAHAH
AAHAHAHAHAHAH!!!

=-Firefrog-=
My plan is to run my own PC Retail biz. It's complex, it's hectic, it's fast-paced, it keeps me so busy that I may just stay out of trouble :P

I'd say keep me in mind, but you know just how slack my work ethic is :D
I work at the woolworths distribution centre on a fork/ride on palletjack loading the trucks for Linfox. Easy job, long f***ing hours (60 or 72 a week - 12 hour days) and you clear roughly $1200 a week.
Will be changing to casual when uni gets closer.

Ps. at QUT Gardens - deferred for a semester - go back march or whenever.

last edited by ctd at 20:58:08 16/Oct/05
Irhabi
23, work as a database developer part time, study at QUT full time.

last edited by Irhabi at 21:00:48 16/Oct/05
Farseeker
18..studying Digital Design, sys admin part time at a couple of businesses, and contractual web programming stuff on the side. generally far too much than i can handle
19 going on 20 new years eve :)

apprentice chef

last edited by smart at 21:05:04 16/Oct/05

Currently work for John Howard. Do his Paper work and what not, its alot of writing.

When i come back from Overseas, i plan to do my electrian appr.
nightstalker
22, cobol programer
wrong thread :)

last edited by smart at 21:13:11 16/Oct/05
so i know work at ipswitch

MWHAHAH
AAHAHAHAHAHAH!!!
haha yea funny thing is my first day went round all the food places in the area and none of em have etfpos!? finally found a subway which does so back to my old subway days at indro :)

i live in moorooka, between archifield and annerley, just jump straight on the motorway and there in 20 minutes.

my first day i was asking people if its safe to park outside hahaha

last edited by Fuknukle at 21:20:19 16/Oct/05
Pingu
Yet another QUT I.T student. Hoping for a desk job in the future that pays good (must have air conditioned office/cubicle).
mdma

my first day i was asking people if its safe to park outside hahaha

haha. are most of them locals?
actually it was evan that made me realise how awesome that job could be... i always wanted to be a network admin/consultant but looking at the linux netops, i dont think im quite qualified for that :p

the whole spending money on clients thing sounds cool, but yeah i guess ill have to see where my strengths lie through this. its kinda crazy that within 2 months of working here my ideal job has kinda been turned upside down by the reality of the industry :p
I'm studying at QUT, doing Applied Science
yea fully mdma, like prolly 5 of the hundeads arnt heh
hey fuk, congrats on the job. Gollum works @ iTEL which provides ICC with a lot of their services ( Internet and a bunch of telephony ). You should hunt him down @ lunch time around the ipswich mall...
I have two part time jobs, one as a Researach Assitant and the other for a Usability company. When I finish honours I plan on getting one full time job at either of those two places :D
I'm a helpdesk engineer/support analyst for a company called IT Lab in central london.

It's pretty cool, great views of the city, real laid back environment, interesting and challanging work every day. Steep learning curve.
KungFuCamel
24, 25 next week... Team Manager at AAPT in their residential Internet technical support department.

Tung: say Hi to Blake and Tony Mullen for me :D
Yarris
I'm 24 and in my last semester of Occupational Therapy at UQ. I work part-time at Robin's Kitchen selling pots and pans to old ladies.
riot'us
22, ASP.NET/C#/CSS code monkey for Visual Eyes. Those of you who go to uni might have used our 'CareerHub' job board web dealy.

last edited by riot'us at 01:03:52 17/Oct/05
20, dragon-riding space ninja.

All silliness asside, I'm a uni student studying Languages and Applied linguistics. I work for centrelink. They send me a form every couple of months to fill out. I worked at Woolworths for 3 years, and that was teh sucketh.

I'm gonna get a job after Christmas. Can anybody hook a fellow QGLer up ^_^?
that would be really handy training if ever we have a totally anal thread about what a vowel is, and whether english IS harder to learn than chinese.
I'd buy cookware from you any day Yarris.
Studying Business @ QUT, adding BLaws to that next year.
Work front end @ coles springfield.
Work IT support @ general admin duties at Dads work (electrical subbies)
28yo and am a php coder at an onlne company based in the city. Been there 3.5 years now, have shares in the company and have been offered even more options, which is cool cos it's the best company to work for. :)
paveway, you got a forklift ticket? if so, holla at me'

storeman type job, for a small tea/coffee company at northgate, also running errands and s*** in the company vehicle. easy easy work

burga86@ hotmail.com

I'm a Software Engineer, but just quietly, I'd rather just potter around the house while my wife brings in the phat loot ;)
actually it was evan that made me realise how awesome that job could be

That guy talks so much s*** it's not funny, I wouldn't even believe the time of day he'd give me off his watch.
I am a mum
People pay me money to code and stuff and being an all round nice guy.
nah i don't burgz, but i'm sure it's not difficult.

i sorta want just weekend work, or night time s***, or real flexible time during the day
Viper119,

Did you know someone at the company already or did you find the job somewhere from AU? Reason I ask is im starting too look for work in the UK to move over there but Im not having a lot of luck :/

Where did you start looking?
Yarris
haha thanks Khel.
Yeah really need full time work at the mo' min 38hrs a week ..doing anything (except dong werk) pref Northside, am hardworking, able to do shifts

Burgz?

last edited by sLaps_Forehead at 10:06:43 17/Oct/05
korbs
24, awesome job doing web design/support at QUT (OLT system)
icewyrm
What is/how do you get an IT traineeship? And is it a worthwhile endeavor? I started an it degree at uni, but found uni disagreeable in various respects, eventually dropping out altogether. Doing a tech support job at said uni atm, currently looking for something worthwhile to spend my time on.
I'm a Software Engineer, but just quietly, I'd rather just potter around the house while my wife brings in the phat loot ;)

Change wife to girlfriend and its the same for me (med FTW).

last edited by Thundercracker at 10:19:59 17/Oct/05
21, Sound Engineer (mostly freelance). Mainly system tech or monitor mix for bands & festivals around QLD and NSW and some recording projects on the side. Just signed onto a new TV show which is in pre-production which will take up most of my 2006 calander :)
angelblade

concreter

-_-;;
1. Taxi Mechanic
2. Computer Techo for Global

Both mad jobs. PS i save ~70% of what i earn cos i don't need the money!
Why do I work? I love work!
I work in an operating theatre complex... moving equipment, beds, patients both concious and unconcious... You name a body part, i've seen it poked, prodded, cut apart and bleeding...

theatre assistant i think i'm called now

PS i save ~70% of what i earn cos i don't need the money!
Should i email you my bank details so you can send it to me?? Ps try moving out dood or maybe you can buy yourself a life with all that PHAT LEWT LAWLS (oh and its a dirty troll so don't get angry k thx)

last edited by Boxhead at 12:35:34 17/Oct/05
brett
Network Engineer
Moved to Sydney for work in July, moving back to Brisbane in a few years once i've got some 'big city' experience and a few years at a large company.
Deathwalker
18, did a course in music industry - business at the start of this year, at the moment just working at a bottle-o.

Next year doing a course in Music Industry - Technical Production, basically aiming to be doing around the same stuff as Squarky D is doing at the moment.

20, just turned second year refrigeration apprentice
26, quake god
mdma
What is/how do you get an IT traineeship? And is it a worthwhile endeavor? I started an it degree at uni, but found uni disagreeable in various respects, eventually dropping out altogether. Doing a tech support job at said uni atm, currently looking for something worthwhile to spend my time on.

gave me a year of experience.. which will hopefully lead to a job :P the tafe qualifications you get arnt all that good.. but the experience was good. id recommend.
Eds: I knew someone here, and they got me the job.

Sespite that, theres s***loads of IT jobs around here, you just have to be proper qualified, say 2-3 years experience minimum, decent qualifications etc.

It helps to know someone, but if your good you should be able to find something without too much trouble.
riot'us

Who would've thought that users of a games forum would have such nerdy jobs haha. (myself included)
hUON

Does one just answer a newspaper ad to get that job Boba? :)
I'm a systems engineer. I'm a jack of all trades and an expert in more than most.

Been using computers heavily since I was 5 years old so it was a natural progression and it's why my scope is quite wide.

I pretty much do it for the money.
I'm 32, 15 years into my trade as a woodmachinest and joiner. Building a house part time... Life is sweet !!!!
well i think i have the least paying and s***est job here i am 22 and i am a storeperson for a hearing aid company making s***all money!!!

Want a new JOB!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Kat: he asked what you do for a living not what you do to leech off ours.

last edited by fpot at 19:33:30 17/Oct/05
21 - 8 months ago and prior to was Nightfill Manager for Woolworths
- last 6 months working out west at Cecil Plains cotton gin (feeding wires to bale cotton) piss easy good money
- past fews weeks been plastering with my brother thinking bout starting an apprenticeship
BA@UQ lolartslol
Part time delivery @ Domino's - flexible assed hours, lots of fun to thrash their cars, $4.50 pizza, some cool people, worst pay ever ($9.90/hour for the lose)
Starting new job on Wednesday @ GE Finance in collections. ($17.something/hour ftw)
TiT : Crystalaid ?
got security licence too and done some shifts to boring assed for me....
waste of money (licence)
20 - Spare Parts Interp for a Machinery shop here in my home town. Very gay, i hate it, i never wanted the job i hate this town.

I was studing IT Network Engineering / Sys admin @ southbank tafe but got lazy and stopped going one day, did nothing for a year and a half, got kicked outta my house in brisbane and now back here with mum.

Im my own worst enemy :<
...runner for a customs broker
sounds like a code word for drug mule :P
thx Stinky :)
Gollum works @ iTEL which provides ICC with a lot of their services
hah awesum, yea ive heard alot about iTEL since being there lol :P
x-yled
i partially work at the same place as burgz, different company though, although i dont get to do the driving around, when i am actually there i get to drive the forklift, and mess around with a nice new ibm eserver x226 server, plus other fun stuff like unloading and repacking imported gear and the likes

also yeah 18, and one year into a double degree bachelor business bachelor information systems majoring in accounting w/ my cpa and also i think my major on the IS side of things is accounting information systems

got the job because my parents knew the owners of the company from way back

last edited by x-yled at 23:12:29 17/Oct/05
Steele
Deathwalker - Music Business course

Where did you do this & was it any good?
B@ssM@n
24...electrical engineer (doing mostly power systems & controls work). Great $$$ in the industry (definately worth the 4 years hard time @ uni) & awesome work.
18, multimedia @ southbank tafe. Work at central station news agent and about to start as a storeman for pps =)
^ you working last thursday night?
nah dont work thursday nights, have tafe
amyescence
- ex checkout chick for BiLo [hated it, but good from a customer service perspective, I suppose].
- due to start at IBM as helpdesk office type, January 2 next year.
- considering uni [online, perhaps] in web design or somesuch.
- due to start at IBM as helpdesk office type, January 2 next year.
yea they're wanting a few atm, trying to get harvey norman people aswell, basicly anyone in retail i suppose. $22/hr

but its public help desk, which i just cant do anymore.
half of your time in techbay at harveys can be phone tech support, most(notice i didnt say all) indians and asians are just absolutely a waste of time and smartness of the brain. they drain your very soul
pARODY
I'm 27 and a network engineer / network security analyst / level 3 support at Origin Energy.
i'm doing my CCNA and GIAC at the moment.
Lunch

Administrator for a construction company. Also do all their IT related stuff, which means I get to browse qgl during the day and it looks like I'm working to everyone else.
Amaya
24 - IT Consultant/Business Analyst specialising in Software Quality Management and Process Engineering - Particularly the ISO15504 and ITIL frameworks.

I won't lie it's taken me a lot of hard work, time and money to get where I am career wise including 4 years of university (and subsequent insane HECS costs), the time and energy required to achieve first class honours and a number of commercial certifications for the specialisations I work in as well as the experience to get to where I am career wise. That said I'd recommend putting in the effort to improve your career, I earn a lot more than most people my age and I enjoy what I do, even if it is often stressful, it's certainly all been worth it.
I'd rather be earning less money and have a stressless/ free job.

money isn't everything, my health is.
amyescence

Agreed.
Lunch
Alot of people get enjoyment/quality of life through their job. its up to the individual to find happiness in different ways I guess, and 1 of them can be work success.

I dont think that could ever be me though. I'm too lazy :)
darius
which university did you study at Amaya /
actually, money is pretty darn good.
21, also a uni student (currently studying Science and planning on going into Medicine or Physiotherapy afterwards), work at Suncorp Stadium at the football/soccor from time to time, and tutor.

Also, agree with Suhaib and Amyescence (sp?) - money isn't everything...obviously it is important to some extent but I could never do a job JUST for the money.
BTW - don't read too much into the fact that I'd like to study Med...not everyone wants to do it for the money.

last edited by Agent 99 at 16:21:52 24/Oct/05

last edited by Agent 99 at 16:49:37 24/Oct/05
I also vote money.

What do you do? (Sorry, couldn't be bothered scrolling back and seeing if you've already posted).
I vote for money and happiness!

Stinky, what do you do?

last edited by Agent 99 at 16:41:03 24/Oct/05
WhiteWolf
i work at action for 11.* an hour. i got here by not finishing year 10.

i hate it, i have been working there 2 months and i really want a change in job, the first couple of weeks where fine, but now that the challange has gone, i find it so boring and crap. im definantly not a customer service person.

i would much prefer a job with the same pay yet that actually challanges me. even if it means uber stress and s*** hours.

last edited by WhiteWolf at 16:51:44 24/Oct/05
i work at action for 11.* an hour. i got here by not finishing year 10.

i hate it, i have been working there 2 months and i really want a change in job, the first couple of weeks where fine, but now that the challange has gone, i find it so boring and crap. im definantly not a customer service person.

i would much prefer a job with the same pay yet that actually challanges me.

You know, you can always change that e.g. go to TAFE, or, if you want to go to uni, go to TAFE and do a certificate in preparation for uni then go to uni, or go do an apprenticeship/traineeship or something.
WhiteWolf
i have gone to tafe for IT, and done the pre-aprentiship for electrical enginearing.

im currently saving for a car so i can get an apprenticeship being a sparky. except apprenticeship wages are s*** for the first couple of years.
Mymatsu
37 - U/G Sparky $51 p/h
Mymatsu add us on msn dude. wanna discuss some things with you.

killernong@hotmail.com

there is no such thing.
mdma
can i add you to suhaib... its always good to have contacts in the underworld.
19, (20 in november)

gonna have a Bachelor of Science within a year

not sure where to go to after that, obviously something other than a scientist (maybe pharm, med, dent, forensics)

currently work at a hospital doing ECG's

as well as promo stuff whenever it pops up (just finished one campaign for pepsi max)

dont worry.... there's no sugar
currently work at a hospital doing ECG's

How did you get that job? Looking for another job atm, preferably in a hospital.
i know some ppl in the business :-p

money doesn't buy happiness, but it makes it easier.
big muscles buys happiness
mymatsu from GU?
Stinky, what do you do?

Network admin for a game dev company. pays the bills, keeps me amused, win++.
Stinky also repairs Subaru's
Mymatsu
Finished an Engineering tafe course got to my appy and desided it was a a hunk of s***. now im working at a bottle-o just to feed my addiction. next year prossibly going to tafe again to study art.
PopeJohnPaul

Second year student paramedic - good pay, easy job
Stinky also repairs Subaru's

No I break them and then smile sweetly at my clever friends who can fix them for me :)
I train dolphins.

But in my spare time I work as a software programmer.
Hell_Fire
In reply to gimpy (#89) about:

I'm a jack of all trades and an expert in more than most.

Been using computers heavily since I was 5 years old so it was a natural progression and it's why my scope is quite wide.

Sounds like what I am, 19, looking for work, been around computers since 1-2 years old, is pretty much all I do.

Do have some casual work at a carwash nearby for some pocket money for now, but really want a engineer/administrator job.
Amaya
Darius:

Griffith - I also taught a couple of subjects so you may remember me if you attended. I'd highly recommend the GU Bachelor of Software Engeneering course, and it has great reputation in the industry, particularly if you want to go into the process/quality arena.

There's an SE degree at UQ but it's not accredited with the Engineering association and from all accounts is nowhere near as good.
Bj

Thats what all the broke niggas say :P

I couldnt live with myself if I never worked and just sat around all day with nothing to do. I work fkn hard, and love coming home knowing ive done something with my day and can relax after a nice cold shower.

That and having the money to buy whatever the f*** I want :)
Amaya
IMHO a level of stress and hardwork is entirely justified and worthwhile so long as you feel accomplished in what you do and enjoy it or enjoy the benefits enough to outweigh the anxiety. When I have a completely stress free job I feel amazingly bored and restless, I like my job to be challenging which tends to come with a level of stress. And besides... there's the added bonus of having the money to relieve the stress anyway (better holidays, more luxury goods etc).

You have to balance, there's no point having a good paying job if you don't have time to enjoy the money, but I'd rather have a hard job and reap the benefits than an easy one and feel like I wasn't getting anywhere.

Sup brett.

I'm hardly broke :)
And i also agree with you, I'd rather work hard then use my brain and get stressed out. but thats just me.

Can't wait to come back from overseas and to start my apprenticeship, gonna hammer it, and start my own business.
Rips#
I'm in 4th year Software Engineering at UQ and as far as I know, it's accredited with Engineers Aus and the Aus Computer Society. I recently secured a part-time job working in QA for a games development company. I don't think it really matters where you go to get your SE degree. In my interview, I got the impression that they hold any 4 year SE degree in high regard for those kind of positions (testing and production).
bonsai_boy
1st year of a Bachelor of Music - Majoring in Classical Piano at The Queensland Conservatorium, hopfully branching into teaching (Drama, Film amd TV, Music etc)

Picked up an application form for the Casino a few days ago, and ill see how that goes ...
money isnt everything..

spoot makes up for the rest though..

in other news i missed out on my gold freq flier card by 1 flight :(

StopShootingMe
I'm a seafarer, Merchant Navy.

I'm still training, will be a Second Mate next year.

Our responsiblities include - acting as a vector for exotic venerial diseases (also Bubonic Plague), getting thrown out of bars/countries, and sometimes moving goods around.

At the moment I'm in an internet cafe in Pohang, South Korea (one of about a trillion net cafes here), having arrived on a ship carrrying coal from Gladstone. I'm bored of this country already.

get in on some Brood Wars LAN Axn dude!!!!
Bj
you say money aint everything? find out when your f***ing broke, love wont get you on the bus
what if your lover is the bus driver and they let you on for free?
Or you make love to the bus driver?

You know, 'Live by the Book'.
Bj
what if your lover is the bus driver and they let you on for free?

Then you prob got one really ugly partner that cant drive for peanuts :P
20 - Admin Coordinator for QLD branch office of national IT community organisation - specifically social enterprise company - PC refurbisher/IT support and help-desk.

Going on 18 months. Yey for Joseekers.

Jabroney, can you tell me how I may come to know such people in the business? :P

Also, what subjects are u taking? Curiousity.

Cheers :).

last edited by Agent 99 at 10:28:47 26/Oct/05
I'm 40 & I draw pictures.
darius
amaya, probably not, im at the Griffith Campus on the Gold Coast ... its just that you sounded like you were taught by Renata Sitte one of the lecturers on Softare Engineering
you draw pictures? illustrations? or what?
Amaya
*chuckle* No no; but I was a bit of a hanger on to the Software Quality Institute and ended up working there for a bit as a graduate. Mostly spent time with Don Abel, Geoff Dromey, Terry Rout, Angela Tuffley et al.

We recently had a meeting with the accreditation board again where they invited a lot of the graduates back to talk about our working experience and how it related to the course, what we retrospectively wished they'd changed etc. I was interested to note that a vast majority of graduates from my year are now working in a specialised management or quality consulting role - it's a nice niche to abuse if you like that kind of work.

You really do end up with a particular flavour of speech/terminology when you do any particular profession for any length of time so most software engineers sound much the same.
wetwired: electronics drafting & general cadd type stuff.

Jabroney, can you tell me how I may come to know such people in the business? :P. I'm looking for another part-time/casual job atm.

Also, what subjects are u taking? I'm doing Science too - just wondering if I know you...

Cheers.

last edited by Agent 99 at 12:51:01 27/Oct/05
any good at concept art demon? :)
Some Fat Bastard
Jenny Craig Consultant, LOL.

Was a Senior IT Consultant/Business Analyst in 1999 after being in IT since 1979. Started Below0 in 1999, sold it in 2004. Now am Director of privately owned transport logistics software/services company with 7 staff. Am looking for another .NET/SQL Server developer very shortly, probably around next month or Xmas.

If you have what it takes, that is, you are good at software development, extremely cheap and easy to exploit then you are the person we are looking for, LOL. j/k
^^ what language? I'm looking around for some C# .NET work at the moment.
any good at concept art demon? :)

depends what sort of concept i spose :P~ i used to do a lot of fantasy type art with pen & ink ages ago but sorta lost the drive for it. the stuff i do for work is not very artistic.. more technical. the majority (say 80%) of my work is printed circuit board layout.
Some Fat Bastard
Thundercracker, send me some details of yourself to this email snichol@futurefleet.com.au we can go from there.
ah, I'm just looking for someone to do some concept for a mod-like project fantasy, but not traditional "orcs and knights" fantasy
darius
ah i've met you a few time fat bastards ... you arent fat now though are you?

as for me, well in about a month as long as i pass my uni subjects ill be looking for full time work in the IT field, been mostly an IT admin / consultant for the past 5 years while at uni and my degree's been all about software development so i think ill stick to what i know better of the two which is the it admin / consultancy
Some Fat Bastard
I have actually never been fat. The tag stems from my Q3 days on Urban Terror. Whenever you fragged someone it would say your tag fragged another tag, like "XYZ shotgunned ABC". So I changed my nick so it would say "Some Fat Bastard shotgunned ABC". It used to make me laugh so much (very small humour threshold).

Darius,

Send me some details. We actually may need someone in Admin/Consultancy soon too. To deploy and manage SQL Servers and Web Servers. Also these roles will be exposed to a lot of GPS technologies.

The roles in our company are quite fluid. One day you may be developing software (high and low level), the next day, consulting a company re: IT and GPS solutions, the next may involve discussing technical specifications with overseas electronics manufacturers or electrical engineers re: product definition, interfaces and feature sets etc.

Scholastic Quals and age are not important. What is important, is attitude and aptitude.

Next year is to be a big year and we are looking at least doubling the staff numbers, so the earlier you get in the higher you will be in the food chain.

As I said earlier this won't happen till late next month/Xmas time. One of our partners is going to Las Vegas, USA next week for 3 weeks holiday and we won't be doing anything till they get back.
darius
ok cool ill organise some details to send, apart from that as long as i pass my uni exams next week ill be able to quit my current job(s), then probably stick around QLD for a month or two to either work for Dad's ISP or pick up some job locally and if nothing comes up ill take off for sydney / dubai / london. been to dubai twice and london once and it looks exciting over there, few QGL'rs in london too and have gave me a few tips
NaBeL|MuSe
Im 22, and sell computers, and computer related accessories, hoorah! I work with a great bunch of people, get to play with all the new IT toys, and am rich in disposable income because of it. Now if only we didn't have to deal with customers, it really would be perfect ;p

This is basically the result of me focusing my HS on IT, doing IT at TAFE, and then deciding I didnt actually want to work in IT, and currently cant be bothered figuring out wtf else to do with myself :p

man thats me all over, except without the job bit.
Anono

i win when you save.
IT Admin / IS Manager.
Phase
Moved down to melbourne about a year ago for work for a Software Development firm based on paperless office systems (Document Management & a Web based business cycle management product)
My position basically consists of various roles such as
Internal Systems Engineer / IT Consultant / Business Workflow Consultant.
Its pretty cool, I basically started out as your regular IT Consultant for a small IT Business on the coast which basically involved me fixing problems, now i create solutions for business's which is abit more rewarding and easier to sleep at night :P

funky
property executive in the retail management division of a property solutions company
A_W

Big title there Funky.