zectbumo
I just read this article about an Australian politician who complained about being called "mate" by one of the security guards. They have banned them from using the word. How un-Australian!
http://news.ninemsn.com.au/article.aspx?id=58378 The only way I can see mate as being offensive is if you said something like "mate your a wanker". What pisses me off is that people forget the Aussie culture. People go on and on about other peoples cultures and traditions yet they overlook our own. We have a great culture that only real Australians would understand. For example - The nod of respect when you walk into a pub full of blokes. You nod to greet the other patrons and to say I am one of you. This doesn't happen in the same way anywhere else. This is unique to Aussies. Like when you buy something from the shop and the person at the counter says "do you want a bag for that" and you reply "She'll be right mate". Your showing that your an Aussie. We are not fussy people and don't make drama's. This is the Aussie way! Like when you go out shopping with your girlfriend and you carry the bags for her. You do it because your an Aussie! That's what Aussies do! Just take a walk down the mall and have a look at all the tourists and see how many men carry the bags for their partners. Not bloody many. Our culture may not have the finesse as some but we do have culture and traditions and people should NEVER forget it. We are Aussies and you should all be proud of it! The politician who complained should be ashamed of themselves and removed from parliament. If your a true Aussie then you will understand exactly what I am saying. . |
| #0 01:48pm 19/08/05 |
sLiNky
That sucks. Seriously. Next they are going to ban it in victoria, then everwhere else. f*** that politician is screwed up. someone take a gun to his head for me?
| #1 01:55pm 19/08/05 |
0z
bloody wankers they are :P last edited by 0z at 13:58:09 19/Aug/05 |
| #2 01:58pm 19/08/05 |
korbs
before you start getting too upset, read the news today. The decision has already been overturned.
The overzealous instruction, issued yesterday, warned security staff and attendants against using the term when dealing with the public or members of parliament. |
| #3 02:00pm 19/08/05 |
zectbumo
Good! It bloody well should too!
| #4 02:03pm 19/08/05 |
sLiNky
Good someone hasn't lost their bloody mind.
| #5 02:03pm 19/08/05 |
ppl are being so bloody conservative its disgusting. its like we're going backwards to 1950 instead of forwards
| #6 02:15pm 19/08/05 |
SkrWrs
Good thing we've got you two around to tell us exactly what is and isn't Australian!
| #7 02:16pm 19/08/05 |
Like when you go out shopping with your girlfriend and you carry the bags for her. You do it because your an Aussie!Souds to me like you do it because you're pussy whipped. |
| #8 02:17pm 19/08/05 |
zectbumo
No. I'm just not weak and feeble.
| #9 02:20pm 19/08/05 |
wolfieee
How absurd, maybe the politician was having a bad day?
| #10 02:23pm 19/08/05 |
Souds to me like you do it because you're pussy whipped. Get a gf and then come back to us.... |
| #11 02:24pm 19/08/05 |
skrwrs for the win!
| #12 02:25pm 19/08/05 |
Get a gf and then come back to us....I'm glad you're happy with your gf fireblood but please dont get all high and mighty on me because of your one in a life time gf who could've easily been one of the other various... girlies.. that have tried to get a bit of foreign stick in them, by me. It's all good though i'm sure your gf doesn't mind you being her bitch and carrying her bag around for her, since obviously she's the one wearing the pants in that relationship, mate. last edited by Booyah at 14:50:32 19/Aug/05 |
| #13 02:50pm 19/08/05 |
Greazy
The only way I can see mate as being offensive is if you said something like "mate your a wanker". From our good friend google: To breed a dog and bitch. And from Dictionary.com: v. intr. There are many ways the word 'mate' can offend someone. last edited by Greazy at 14:48:37 19/Aug/05 |
| #14 02:48pm 19/08/05 |
Polly was prolly an immigrant anyway...
| #15 02:44pm 19/08/05 |
I hate it when people call me mate.
g'day mate I ain't your f***en mate, don't call me mate |
| #16 02:53pm 19/08/05 |
i insist people call me "brah"
| #17 02:57pm 19/08/05 |
0z
so much anger whoop, darkside suits you Mate. :) |
| #18 03:16pm 19/08/05 |
booyah doesn't have gf's they're servants and should be seen (eyes only) and not heard.
| #19 03:35pm 19/08/05 |
How does one act unaustralian? is there a rule book. Do I have to say mate all the time or else am I New Zealand or something? Ray Martin will tell me what it means he says it all the time
| #20 03:52pm 19/08/05 |
fuken too right m8, was e fair dinkum? thats a right bloody outrage that is
| #21 03:53pm 19/08/05 |
struth! fair suck of the sav, thats flamin' ludicrous.
| #22 03:58pm 19/08/05 |
zectbumo
There is no point looking up the word "mate" in Google and pretending that it would be used in any context that is described by those definitions. We all know what is meant by it and we all know that it is not used to offend.
The politician most likely has a gross superiority complex and felt insulted that he was treated the same way as everyone else. I am sure he would much rather be called sir. Actions like carrying shopping bags for your girlfriend are what separate the men from the boys. If you need your girlfriend to help you carry the bags then who is the pussy? If you can’t be man enough to at least offer to carry a few shopping bags then maybe your girlfriend is more of a man then you. Now you don't need to say mate to every person you meet to be an Aussie but if you live in Australia then don't complain when someone gives you our traditional greeting. |
| #23 05:22pm 19/08/05 |
SkrWrs
Wow, not only able to cleanly define an entire culture based on the use of a word, but posessed of a wit so sharp you can categorise someones actions based on a reported incident of which you have no knowledge.
GG. |
| #24 05:50pm 19/08/05 |
zectbumo
Those are very silly comments. I did not by any means define our entire culture by the use of the word mate and I have as much knowledge of this incident as anyone else who expresses their opinions based on what they read or see in the news. To say I have no knowledge of it is silly.
You are not Australian are you? |
| #25 05:56pm 19/08/05 |
Hahaha yep, thats right zect. Whoever doesn't agree with you is un-Australian. Jesus-f***ing-christ, carrying some shopping bags doesn't make you a man or a boy, get over yourself kiddo.
| #26 06:31pm 19/08/05 |
SkrWrs
I was born and bred here, but why does that mean I have to use words like mate, bloke and g'day? Are you saying it somehow makes me less "Australian" not to use those words?
Putting aside for the moment the fact that I don't really hold any great attachment to the place, why should I? I mean you're saying that just because I was born on a continent I should feel some kind of pride for it? It's not something that I've had a choice in, so what difference does it make? Why should that associate me with a set of words, or even a way of life? I'm proud of what I have done in the world, not the fact that I happened to be born on a particular rock. |
| #27 06:33pm 19/08/05 |
zectbumo
There is no use twisting words around. I didn't say it made you a man I said that is what men do and I can guarantee your not Australian born either "kiddo".
I didn't think this thread would attract so many sensitive people. Obviously there are some sensitive race issues here. |
| #28 06:41pm 19/08/05 |
Actions like carrying shopping bags for your girlfriend are what separate the men from the boys. If you need your girlfriend to help you carry the bags then who is the pussy? If you can’t be man enough to at least offer to carry a few shopping bags then maybe your girlfriend is more of a man then you.No one said anything about not offering to help carry shopping bags. Actions like carrying shopping bags for your girlfriend are what separate the men from the boys.haha ok yeah if that's where you like to excel in life by letting a woman make a man out of ya then you win i give up. last edited by Booyah at 18:46:00 19/Aug/05 |
| #29 06:46pm 19/08/05 |
zectbumo
As I said SkyWrs -
Now you don't need to say mate to every person you meet to be an Aussie but if you live in Australia then don't complain when someone gives you our traditional greeting. |
| #30 06:44pm 19/08/05 |
zectbumo
That's good Booyah, your on the right track now with the giving up part.
| #31 06:46pm 19/08/05 |
Obviously there are some sensitive race issues here.Hi spidz. |
| #32 06:47pm 19/08/05 |
WhiteWolf
er, in the real world we are nice to girls. we do nice things for them, ie carry bags etc. this doesn't mean that we are "pussy whipped" it simply means that we are nice people and are willing to help someone who we care about in some small way. your a f***ing selfish jerk if your not willing to do the occational nice thing for your girl.
i have no problem with someone calling me "mate", i don't normally use it unless with close friends, and even then hardly ever. i can understand how someone might take offence to it. but banning it from parlement house is f***ing stupid! |
| #33 06:48pm 19/08/05 |
SkrWrs
In some sub-cultures of Australia, "c***" is considered an appropriate greeting, should I use that to addresss say, a Supreme Court judge in a hearing?
| #34 06:48pm 19/08/05 |
I mean you're saying that just because I was born on a continent I should feel some kind of pride for it? It's not something that I've had a choice in, so what difference does it make? Why should that associate me with a set of words, or even a way of life? True, simply being born on a piece of rock doesn't instantly give you a cultural background. But, being raised on that rock in a unique lifestyle does, or at least it should have, unless you have been totally antisocial during your upbringing. That being said, if you have travelled the world extensively, and I have you will find out that Australia and Australians have a HUGE reputation for being an easy going bunch, enjoying one of the worlds best locations and a relaxed friendly lifestyle envied my many many people. More often that not people from other countries will comment on how friendly and relaxed we are and indeed that is what draws them to us. Likewise our language is both colourful (to say the least) and also relaxed and friendly. Words like, g'day and mate are just things that evovled from our early days. Language is as much a part of a culture than anything else, its a part of what defines us. A person of high social (and political stature) should be shown simple respect and in tht context I dont think the security guard should have called him 'mate', however later that weekend if they met at the footy in a non-work situation I think the guard has every right to call anyone he see's there a mate. Wasn;t there some studpid English pollie some years ago who took offence that every barmaid in the UK will call you 'love'? and also tried to have it outlawed. last edited by Psycho! at 18:56:18 19/Aug/05 last edited by Psycho! at 18:56:33 19/Aug/05 |
| #35 06:56pm 19/08/05 |
SkrWrs
What gives you the right to call someone anything at all if they don't appreciate it??
I'd put it to you that some politician didn't hand down the directive, it would've been done by PSS management after receiving a complaint, that's not the fault of the politician, who has as much right as anyone to choose the way in which he's addressed. |
| #36 06:57pm 19/08/05 |
Thank you psycho, game, set, match.
| #37 06:59pm 19/08/05 |
This happened in the same building where f***witted politicians and their bureaucrats make laws supposedly for our best interests. I suppose PSS thought 'when in Rome, do what the Romans do'. difference is its alot harder to unf*** the laws Canberra dream up. |
| #38 07:00pm 19/08/05 |
In some sub-cultures of Australia, "c***" is considered an appropriate greeting, should I use that to addresss say, a Supreme Court judge in a hearing? Of course not, even though you and I both know most of them are!! :P |
| #39 07:10pm 19/08/05 |
0z
In some sub-cultures of Australia, "c***" is considered an appropriate greeting heh thats my culture! Mate comes around says "Hey Man." I say "Sup c***." :D |
| #40 07:15pm 19/08/05 |
zectbumo
I think in certain circumstances a person may expect a greeting that implies higher respect but on the other hand I don't think the politician should feel insulted because he did not receive the words expected especially from someone who may not even realize the absolute difference in meaning.
In other words the security guard would most likely see the words "mate" and "sir" as equally respectful and may even see mate as being more respectful. I definitely don't think the politician has any right whatsoever to object to the use of it within parliament as this is a personal preference and that is no doubt part of the reason it was overruled today. The word “c***” may be acceptable in some cultures but only in the presence of those people within that particular culture. The word “mate” has been used by people in parliament ever since there has been a parliament and it has become acceptable. That is the difference. Drawing an analogy between “c***” and “mate” is wrong because c*** is used by only very few people in comparison to the word mate which is a standard way of greeting throughout Australia. You obviously cannot compare the two. |
| #41 07:19pm 19/08/05 |
SkrWrs
So you're saying that nobody has the right to choose how they should be addressed? If you live somewhere, you should adopt the customs of that place and be called whatever those people decide to call you?
It has nothing to with respect, and everything to do with what you want to be called, a politician doesn't have the power to hand down a directive like this, but they do have the right to choose how they wish to be addressed. This directive was sensationalist, and probably handed down by some management group somewhere. The correct response would have been for security staff to stop addressing that politician as "mate". Real speculation starts here: I'd hazard a guess that the politician had actually probably made that request, but what is someone going to do when you ask them specifically not to do something when they think that thing is completely inane and ridiculous? That's right, they're going to do it all the more. That's what leads to directives like this coming down. |
| #42 07:24pm 19/08/05 |
who gives a f*** you whinging c***s, makes me sick that there is people who would be offended to be called mate by an honorable man.
| #43 07:29pm 19/08/05 |
zectbumo
No I am not saying that nobody has the right to choose how they should be addressed? I don’t even know how you could conclude that from what I have posted?
I am saying that no one has the right to ban a word that we have been using for decades to greet people with just because they feel it is not respectful enough for them. If the politician in question doesn’t like it then that is his choice and opinion and he should make it known but he hasn’t got the right to say what is right or wrong for everyone else. That is the simplest I can put it. Spoon understands! |
| #44 07:33pm 19/08/05 |
mate is everywhere... politicians are supposed to represent us but now they are not even allowed to use australian vernacular.
just goes to show they are becoming more out of touch every day. last edited by infi at 22:37:35 19/Aug/05 |
| #45 10:37pm 19/08/05 |
Australia is a multicultural society
The most Australian thing you can do is let people say whatever they like |
| #46 10:48pm 19/08/05 |
maxe wins. also zect loves cawwwwwwk
| #47 01:33am 20/08/05 |
hUON
There of course are some situations where the term mate can be offensive.
Like a copper arresting someone... person: Hey, go easy mate. copper: I'm not your mate... In my opinion, mate has two distinct meanings 1. As an informal, impersonal way of addressing an equal (like at the pub or at work) 2. As a term of endearment reserved for your closest friends In other words, mate can always be used to replace impersonal forms of address (ones that don't involve the other persons name or title) like 'hey you' or 'excuse me mister' or 'hey there' or the like, but can only be used to replace personal forms of address (ones that do involve the other persons name or title) like 'sir' or 'your honour' or 'mister michaels' or 'steve' when the person is a close friend. To do so when the person is not a close friend will frequently cause offence (like in the copper example above). I would say that in the parliament example, the staffer was using the word mate as an impersonal address (like 'there ya are mate' instead of 'there you go') and the MP interpretted this as instead being a personal address (like 'there ya are mate' instead of 'there you go, mister conroy') and thus took offence. I am sure that many people can recall being offended by someone (particularly tourists, who don't understand the proper usages and thus do offensive things to our vernacular all over the place) using the word mate inappropriately. That said, it is a bit rich and dare I say it unaustralian to make such a fuss about it (as it clearly was not said to be deliberately offensive). As maxe said, the most australian thing to do is let people say what they like. edit: fixed my bad grammar last edited by hUON at 12:36:46 20/Aug/05 |
| #48 12:36pm 20/08/05 |
Maxe wins, zect wins, and the other guy is unaustralian.. how can you not feel any sense of pride for your own country. Stop soaking in your own sorro and go live in the US or something.
| #49 12:42pm 20/08/05 |
person: Hey, go easy mate. Im curious hUON why you used that as an example,had trouble with the police? I come across alot of police in my job and call them mate all the time and never had a problem,guess i wasn't on the wrong side on the law. Off topic too but WOOT....hit 1000 posts!!!! |
| #50 02:24pm 20/08/05 |
You're still 14 posts behind on the qgl forums, mate.
As long as they dont ban the words "ya mum" then i'm happy. last edited by Booyah at 14:52:07 20/Aug/05 |
| #51 02:52pm 20/08/05 |
hUON
Not in trouble with the cops :)
Just an example of when it might be inappropriate to use a familiar term of address. Not saying that you can't call police mate, just that when someone is being arrested, it might be offensive to use a familiar term. Honest truth is it was the first thing that came into my head. (Another victim of L&O and CSI :/ ) Kind of like how other familiar terms of address like honey, sweetie, sugar etc might be inappropriate at certain times. |
| #52 05:24pm 20/08/05 |
I LIKE CALLING GIRLS SWEETIE PIE.
| #53 05:39pm 20/08/05 |
You're still 14 posts behind on the qgl forums, mate. Working on the Booyah....wasnt sure whether i take it from QGL or the AGN total. |
| #54 02:05am 21/08/05 |
As a consumer, I always like it when someone in a store calls me 'mate' - just because I'm in there shopping I don't think gives me the right to expect to be called 'sir'. I'd rather they save their energy in this sort of thing and use it to actually help me out.
Anyone whining at a security guard for calling him mate was obviously having a bad day, or has some major personal issues where they think they're above that thing, in my opinion. I wonder if that politician realises that those security guards are, in no small way, putting their ass on the line in their job to protect them, and that perhaps the respect should be the other way around? |
| #55 11:43am 21/08/05 |
Well...as a security guard...i once had a woman go off at me too when i called her Maam (sp?).I cant remember exactly what i was talking to her about,but she became quite uppity and rude and she said she was no Maam.I appologized and in the nicest way asked her how would she likes to be addressed,she responded "with my name"...how i was to know this i have no idea,so i just shrugged my shoulders and walked away.I guess its just some people look down upon certain "working people" and expect to be treated differantly.
Now ive hit 1000!!! |
| #56 02:43pm 21/08/05 |
I work in retail and there is no way I would ever call a customer sir or maam, that's just f***ing wrong...
I guess I might sometimes say maam because you can't really say mate to a woman. |
| #57 10:37am 22/08/05 |
wtf ma8
| #58 11:51am 22/08/05 |
SkrWrs
Ooher, don't call me "unaustralian", whatever connotation that's supposed to carry. Oh dear, I'm from Germany, or France, or maybe Africa, looks like I'm "unaustralian". The rest of the world must really suck, given that they're all unaustralian too.
Sure people in a free society should be allowed to say basically whatever they like, but don't people also have a right to choose how they want to be addressed? On a small scale of course we all do, and I'm saying this politicians complaint was probably on a small scale. Do you really believe that he went round with a poster and nailed it up on every door? A reasonable person would probably have asked the security staff directly the first time, then probably lodged a claim with management of the service. What is it about you people that makes you assume politicians aren't reasonable people? A single politician doesn't have the power to begin a directive like this, so quit blaming the politician concerned and start blaming the management techniques taught in every major university around the country. last edited by SkrWrs at 12:46:10 22/Aug/05 |
| #59 12:46pm 22/08/05 |
A single politician doesn't have the power to begin a directive like this, so quit blaming the politician concerned But a single politician DID start this though. |
| #60 02:03pm 22/08/05 |
I call everyone at work mate and I've never had issues. And also if a couple of chicky babes come in I say, "hey guys", and I've never had any weird looks. I think saying something like, "hello ladies" would make me look like a dumb-ass. Plus I rock anyway, so yeah. Wait! So ner...
8-) |
| #61 02:09pm 22/08/05 |
It comes down to this - again - rights. You securing your rights stamps on my rights and when I fight back for my rights Im taking her rights.
One has a right to chose how they wish to be addressed as a matter of respect. If you have a problem, make it known. "I ....... have a problem being called that, Id prefer if in the future you wouldnt." Ok great. NOT - "I dont like being called this and so now Im going to dictate the elimination of the use of this word in the workplace." Its a coloqial thing, and has never been meant as an expression of disrespect. If someone wants to take it that way then they are being uber rediculous. It comes back to empathy people. It may have been the old preschool 'walking in someone elses shoes' lesson, but its true. Sidebar: This is not a desperate "Why cant we all just get along?!" |
| #62 02:45pm 22/08/05 |
Using the word "mate" to an official personnel in parliament is probably a bit inappropriate and unprofessional, especially if the guard doesn't know who he's talking to i.e. being in a parliament it could've been anyone, international delegate who quite possibly doesn't understand the Australian colloquial terms and obviously some politicians in this case.
I agree with the decision though, having the word "mate" b& is dumb as people should be able to use their own (hopefully sound) judgement to address the person as they see fit – obviously the guard made a fatally wrong choice. Howeer, I think the politician in question is within his rights to protest his being called "mate". After all some people think that they'd earned the "rights" to be called what they think is appropriate. If the guard doesn't know who the minister is he could simply said "there you go minister", or "there you go sir/madam". I'm sure he didn't mean any disrespect but you just never know about some people - most of all political officials who think highly of themselves sometimes. If we're talking about *professional* courtesy, I would have to say the guard in question was far too informal and lack professionalism. Weather the politician in question being "unaustralian" (wtf ever that really mean) for kicking up the stink in this instance, I'll leave that discussions to you people who has your panties in the knot to duke it out. |
| #63 03:07pm 22/08/05 |
I agree with most of Psycho's post except this bit...
A person of high social (and political stature) should be shown simple respect and in tht context I dont think the security guard should have called him 'mate' Why does a polly deserve automatic respect... thats totally backwards! They should be regarded with automatic contempt & suspicion until they can prove themselves worth of some respect imo. Are we not a classless society here in Australia? It annoys me that you have to address a Magistrate "your worship"... like wtf, some s***ty misdemenour court bloke & he is titled as if he is deserving of WORSHIP!?! He's just some bloke doing a job like everyone else. Anachronisms. But saying that everyone has a right to be addressed as they see fit is fukn bollucks too. If I went around telling everyone I want to be addressed as "O Mindless Slaughterer", who'd listen? No one & with good reason! Anyone in Australia that gets upset with being called 'mate' is just a whiny little bitch. |
| #64 03:12pm 22/08/05 |
classless society hah.
if you are any good at remembering details, which as a security guard you would think that would be kinda a job requirement, you would be able to remember the pollie's names. I visit my mate who's an MP down in Canberra a fair bit and the security guards always seem to remember his name OK. i can see the pollie's argument that he ought to receive some respect but at the same time he should just chillax and pretend he's at a BBQ or the pub or something. |
| #65 03:19pm 22/08/05 |
Opec thats bulls*** MATE. Are you implying simply because of the who person is we should adress them as though there some kind of royalty? i have no respect for politicians. The guard can call them whatever he wants, providing it isnt insulting. If someone needs to be called sir/madam or your highness then there full of themseleves. In this case i think we can call a polly mate. Its just a friendly greeting. I would say the guard didnt know him personally. Mate is appropriate.
| #66 03:52pm 22/08/05 |
The key word here is "I" as in "you". I don't care if you don't respect any politicians - obviously this is a personal issue. I'm simply dealing with professionalism in this instance. Perhaps you're in the trade where formality isn't an issue but belive it or not the world doesn't just revolved around you. Other industries, trade, professionals have thier own standard of how thier employees should conduct and behave themselves. After all if you're a soldier you wouldn't dare call a general whom you don't even know (let alone respect) "mate" would you? Regardless of wheather you think your superior officer is a wanker there are protocols to follow - the guard should have known this. Mate is not a professional term to deal people who you don't know, most of all a stuck up politician. If the guard even think about this for a second he'd just address him as "minister" which is this particular person's "correct" title. And you're right the guard *can* call them whatever he want, and we all should be living in a world where everyone's equal but wake up to yourself - free world != dream world. last edited by Opec at 16:12:24 22/Aug/05 |
| #67 04:12pm 22/08/05 |
Your "worship" ? a big f*** that to that ! hell i went to court to appeal for my loss of license and i wasn't addressing the judge by anything except merely answering a few questions with some common respect.
I won the appeal although if he did refuse to grant me my license as a result of not addressing him by "your worship" then i would've told him to suck my royal dick. last edited by Booyah at 17:00:19 22/Aug/05 |
| #68 05:00pm 22/08/05 |
exactly, it is a free world, we should be able to call whoever we want mate. I think you need to pull the pole out of your ass and get use to the fact, ppl call ppl mate. okay mate?
| #69 05:35pm 22/08/05 |
Mate, I think you've got the "free world" mixed up with the "ideal world" - think about it. P.S. I'm not a politician so the word mate doesn't offend me so you can stop embarrassing yourself with lame trolling attempts mmmmmkay. :) |
| #70 05:44pm 22/08/05 |
As far as im concerned I have the freedom to call people mate if i so wish :-).
| #71 05:52pm 22/08/05 |
SkrWrs
So as far as your concerned people don't have the right to choose how they're addressed?
last edited by SkrWrs at 18:04:25 22/Aug/05 |
| #72 06:04pm 22/08/05 |
Were talking about the word mate here, Mate, its harmless, if you have a problem with that move to beverly hills and surround yourself with a 500 foot steel fence to keep out all those "plebs"
| #73 06:07pm 22/08/05 |
SkrWrs
So pretty much anyone who doesn't share your views to a tee is an idiot and not worth bothering about?
| #74 06:21pm 22/08/05 |
Tuco
good one demon does that mean i can call the queen mate?
| #75 09:11am 23/08/05 |
I'm pretty sure I said "anyone in australia" tuco. But call her mate & give her a big phat slap on the arse for all I care mate! She's just some snooty german bint that lives in pommyland to me... I'd call her an equal but we all know the inbreeding of british royals has made their genetics inferior.
| #76 09:17am 23/08/05 |
SkrWrs
So if, by calling a UAE emmisary's wife mate, you caused some kind of international incident that cost the country millions and/or escalated regional tension, that's fine by you?
Don't make statements about how great Australia is and the inferiority iof other countries until Australia has either the political muscle or military might to back it up. last edited by SkrWrs at 13:28:26 23/Aug/05 |
| #77 01:28pm 23/08/05 |
I loved it when Keating touched the queen an the press an other wankers were all "you don't touch royalty" just cause protocol says taht you don't touch the monarch, f*** them, it's an empty figurehead these days. If she actually ruled the British Empire then I'd say "Off with his hand"
f***ing toffs... (also, politicians are a bunch of wankers if you ask me) |
| #78 02:48pm 23/08/05 |
A_W
lol @ British Empire. Canada, Australia (only a formality) , and a collection of poor nations. There is no empire in recent times. It's a shadow of it's former self. If you ask me, it's all American Empire now days. But this is not by conquered territorys, no. well except a few 3rd world countries that have needed natural resources and are conveniantly run by evil dictators. But that's another thread. back on topic. This is a very discreet and covert empire. It's uses bombardment of it's culture rather than weapons to impress it's ideals and ways of life onto others. Just take one look at the flood of s***ty yank TV programming invading us. And thier crappy sayings and language. We obviously have to resist this cultural invasion or run the risk of being a little too much like America. Which would be a horrible outcome. |
| #79 03:04pm 23/08/05 |
| #79 |