Topic: New car advice
Ok, well first off the bat - im after a Dark Blue lancer ~97-99 - auto - 2door.(refrence pic - http://strex.ausgamers.com/lancer_rear.jpg but with a wing) If anyone knows someone who is selling one bloody tell me because they are hard to find!

SO ANYWAY

Ive got a few options up my sleve of where to get this car

- Fleet auctions = cheap but you cant take it to a mechanic for them to get a good look at it

- Private = hard as hell to ask them to get it to a mechanic but at least you can talk them down

- Dealer = Expensive but you get a warrenty

Ive got 10 grand in my hands and i need a bloody car ! Anyone got any ideas as to the best way to source one ?!
do you need anything more thorough than an racq checkup? if not, it doesnt cost much, if you are keen on the car you see, you can pay for it to be done and get the report. otherwise the safety certs are meant to be done within 3 weeks of sale/rego transfer so thats a reasonable look at the car.

otherwise you may as well go through a dealer unless the private seller is prepared to get it checked out by a mechanic of your choice. fleet auctions, i really dont think that as a midpoint between private and dealer its worth it.
bobbly bob prolly selling a few
if you have a genuine interest in a private sale car, usually the seller is prepared to allow you to get it checked out so long as you cover the costs. its no drama for him, (so long as he is assured the mechanic is legit) and if you dont end up wanting the car, he has a written statement that the car is good to go for the next person, and could possibly give you cash for that. we did that when i went looking for my first car, which i ended up buying. had i not, he wouldve paid me half what i paid for the checkup for the statement. so it works out well if they are reasonable.
Buy a jimny, all the cool people own one.
obes you loose !

Cheers tung, Ive heared that RACQ checkups arn't as good as getting the car up on a hoist and really looking into it but i guess that theres only so much you can do without pissing off the seller

last edited by Lowgoz at 12:43:37 18/Aug/05
slap69
If I was you, and I wanted a car that pulled chicks, goes fast, and gets the attention of car enthusiasts everywhere, I'd give serious consideration to buying this car:

http://sold.ausforums.com/x/1536545?agn=thread&id=2339172

Re: new car advice.
well yeah, the racq checkup is basically a rwc with a few extras, if they havent got a rwc or are looking to get one, ask them to go to an ultratune, midas somewhere trusted.

theres two levels of racq checks one is basic, other is thorough. you have to book ahead of time, and organise the owner to get the car to the centre. if you show interest, im sure theyd be happy, so long as the car is gonna bring in a reasonable amount for them :p

if the owner is getting pissed off about you suggesting checkups and stuff, leave it alone. if he isnt selling a bomb, hes a f***ing wanker and doesnt deserve your time.
josh wants a girls car lol!

josh should hvae bought that lancer i told you about, so what if it was white in colour.

anyways, let me make a few phone calls...

what about a holden vectra 1999? $9k mark
Jimny's make your penis bigger.
http://www.boostcruising.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=88868

not sure if its manual or auto.
Boofe
Tung, did u end up finding out why ur VP was chewing up the gas?
nope, havent had ze money to do so, we just dont use it as much atm. im almost definate its a O2 sensor, but it could be a lot of things :( hopefully in a couple of weeks i can get a full service done. but its not like its struggling or anything, just costing a f***load in money. yes i know, to get it done now would save money in the long run but still :(
Wow, josh is actually getting a car!
Or have you been drivin the volvo round?
And you got ya lisence? Been aggesss since i spoke to ya!
Boofe

Yeah after i replaced my 02 sensor my fuel consumption decreased heaps.
matt: Volvo, no rubber left on tyers cus i have to keep proving to people that i can spin the wheelzzz!

suhaib: auto :(

re expensive car: screw you i dont have 16k
http://www.boostcruising.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=88868

not sure if its manual or auto.

oh f*** i just creamed my pants over that. Im guessing its manual due to the racing use of the car
you might be able to get medical help with that
you could try the 'teachers credit union'.

they will search queensland for the car you want and bring it to you. they can sort out insurance/loan/registration/etc etc if need be

amazingly you don't have to be a teacher to get into this
yeah koopz but im guessing i have to be an account holder and im not going to open an account just for them to find me a car !!!
oh f*** i just creamed my pants over that. Im guessing its manual due to the racing use of the car

theres no hope for you at all
Insolence

small capacity, low power engine - check
excessively low and ugly bodykit - check
underbody neons - check
chrome wheels - check
altezza lights - check
heavy stereo - check
monster tacho - check

yep, clearly its been built from the ground up as a purpose built race car...
nissan > mitsubishi
dear lord, what an ugly lancer :(
rofl @ race car comment

im clueless :D
lmnt
i dislike lancers. mainly cause people who have no idea about modding cars watch fast and the furious, buy these and put neons, ice shard ching-ching chromies, evo look a like body kits, tachos and altezza lights to make em look expensive. theres so many of them. they turn heads for all the wrong reasons.

basically lancers can be a good car if you do it right. you can actually get kick ass lancers out there like evos and such.

btw you could probably get an evo4 (same model as that) for about 10k.
thats 4wd 2.0lt turbo. much sweeter deal.
Auto only lisence josh?
yeah i got my licence in under a month from first lesson, only needed 4. COuldn't be f***ed getting manual

im looking at spending 9ish, thanks for the advice on the Evo's, will look into them.

The reason im going with lancers is because they are the only car for 8-9k that actually look reasonable weather they are modded or not
Any advice as to other car types (non turbo, dont need to go fast) that look respectable is appreciated !
-simE.
lancer is not the answwer
well you have a suggestion then?
ive run out. The only reasonable cars for 9k have like 190,000km on them and are 1980's crap
This is what you want:

1992 supercharged AE101 Levin GT Apex

http://lionslair.net.au/wagonboy/My%20AE101%20GT%20Apex/DSCF1063.JPG
http://lionslair.net.au/wagonboy/My%20AE101%20GT%20Apex/DSCF1067.JPG
http://lionslair.net.au/wagonboy/My%20AE101%20GT%20Apex/DSCF1073.JPG

last edited by Booyah at 01:28:36 19/Aug/05
DigitaL
get the lancer, its your style.
Greazy
Get a Jeep, and fit it with some C4. Then drive into the enemys' base and set off the C4.

Its your style.

last edited by Greazy at 02:40:18 19/Aug/05
Hi Digital,
I heared from your ex that you knocked her up and shes now 3 months pregnant - but im sure you know.
I hope you enjoy paying child support from your centrelink because your going to be doing it for the next 20 years.

Its your style :)

Re Booyah

Link to car? if its under 10k ill drive it from WA back here :P

last edited by Lowgoz at 10:20:41 19/Aug/05
http://carpoint.ninemsn.com.au/DesktopDefault.aspx?UsedCarID=1052892&TabID=3328&Alias=carpointau

hm seems like a pretty good deal to me
Tuco
get an auction broker to get one for you
i know 2 dealers so im just tagging along

i just found the Eunos's.. f*** lancers !
auto, 180sx, sr20de, 10k way too much.

josh that lancer was auto fyi, you f***stick.

what lancer was auto? The one on Boost was a manual

i can pick up a nice Eunos which looks cool without having to bodykit the thing
it just sucks because they are a little hard to find in auto lol
suhaib: that's an SR20DET you mongo :) $10K is pretty reasonable for a 180sx with the SR20DET, even if it's an auto!
oh right, pffft still expensive in the world of habibs.
well as ive said before, if i can pick up a car that looks respectable (read: eunos) for 10k then im happy. im not a fan of ultra rice anyway but i dont want a stock lancer which is essentially a womans car

also josh, when you first asked me remember? i said a friend was selling one, auto, new engine, emaculate, fkn cheap, only reason why you didn't buy it was because it was white in colour.
and how is that not a valad reason?
DigitaL
thats alright. and no i dont mind paying for it. at least im not looking at buying a fagget car.

last edited by DigitaL at 11:47:22 19/Aug/05
thats alright. and no i dont mind paying for it. at least im not looking at buying a fagget car.
Kiddies can't live on car stereo parts dude...
but anyway, congratulations on being an unemployed single father on centrelink

Now all you have to do is move to inala and you will have the complete picture
DigitaL
fighting over the net is pointles but on the other hand you have no idea how much money I have and nor do you know my employment situation.

So I heard you like banging pregnant girls. nice..
I dont think it's nice at all... especially when you're poking someone else's baby.
DigitaL
i agree^

note the sarcasam
fighting over the net is pointles but on the other hand you have no idea how much money I have and nor do you know my employment situation.

Don't you get your money from disability pension?
BoDGie
fyi you can get sr20de 180SX.

Just get an SR20DE Silvia.. Probably only about 6000-6500 for an auto.
yeah hes on some sort of mental disability pension - maybe it will get him out of paying child support, who knows

fyi you can get sr20de 180SX.

Just get an SR20DE Silvia.. Probably only about 6000-6500 for an auto.

Cheers, looking in to it now

last edited by Lowgoz at 12:55:58 19/Aug/05
$8k for a CA auto non turbo s13

too easy