I reckon fender, cause it was in Waynes World :) |
| #1 08:01pm 20/02/01 |
haha. I would have expected you to say Gibson cos its in Hackers "Dudes the Gibsons too fast!!". They are both s*** - Get an ESP, PRS or Ibanez you fag :) |
| #2 08:19pm 20/02/01 |
Funkthesis
f*** off anarot you fag. We all know that you can't go past a les paul for tone, and fender usa for instrument build quality. ESP and PRS is ok. And I spose Steve Vai's ibanez gem is pretty good but most of their guitars in our price range are nothing special |
| #3 08:23pm 20/02/01 |
Funkthesis
f*** off anarot you fag. We all know that you can't go past a les paul for tone, and fender usa for instrument build quality. ESP and PRS is ok. And I spose Steve Vai's ibanez gem is pretty good but most of their guitars in our price range are nothing special |
| #4 08:28pm 20/02/01 |
Ahhh testify There's absolutely nothing like a double smackdown Fender |
| #5 08:31pm 20/02/01 |
HEY, ppl are just haing their say Funkthesis. DON'T knock 'em !!! Anyway, he'd know his s*** ! |
| #6 08:38pm 20/02/01 |
Its ok necra - Funkthesis is like my best friend - we are just f***ing with each other :) He knows that I am always right :P |
| #7 08:39pm 20/02/01 |
Well ok then *lowers gun to the ground* |
| #8 08:41pm 20/02/01 |
"Don't shoot that squirrel Pa!! He's ma friend!!" :P |
| #9 08:46pm 20/02/01 |
Aw, that reminds me of ol' yella ! You know that dog :( (Spelling) |
| #10 08:49pm 20/02/01 |
Funkthesis
Yeah. I know how to stir Anarot up and he knows that this is one subject where the knowledge is in my hands |
| #11 08:50pm 20/02/01 |
Haha sif Karl... :P Nah you're right - you play properly so you know what is good and what isn't. I can still tell if guitars are good though. That PRS I played was UNREAL. |
| #12 08:54pm 20/02/01 |
What is it with people and that f***ING movie ol' yeller died when he got the rabies, they just shot the rabid blood-hungry version of ol yeller =) |
| #13 08:55pm 20/02/01 |
Sif you would understand you inner city anal bandit :) |
| #14 08:57pm 20/02/01 |
sif u wouldnt play a BC Rich, i wouldnt play anything else (cept a schlecter or esp maybe) BC Rich OWNS j00 :) |
| #15 09:02pm 20/02/01 |
Sif you don't listen to Slipknot and other gay s***. A virtuoso guitarist would never play a BC Rich. They are just riff guitars. Dimebags Washburn would be ok :) |
| #16 09:07pm 20/02/01 |
yeah cept the cheap dime's totally suck jus cause slipknot use em doens mean they are pure "riff guitars", i played in a jazz band on mine for a while :) looked strange playing jazz&blues on a death looking guitar |
| #17 09:10pm 20/02/01 |
Funkthesis
yeah well it depends what style of music your are going to play. I think BC Rich is pretty useless for anything other than hard rock and heavy metal. That said they're not bad guitars but if you don't want to play anything else then I think you got some serious worries |
| #18 09:10pm 20/02/01 |
I wouldn't say they are in the same class as ESP's and topline Ibanez's and stuff for metal soloing and stuff. Just judging by the best metal guitarists in the world anyway. I would say the Les Paul is the best all round guitar. You can riff out on it, solo on it pretty well and you can also play a bit of jazz on it. |
| #19 09:15pm 20/02/01 |
not really, it's quite versitile spech on my korg ax1000g fx unit :) |
| #20 09:12pm 20/02/01 |
Not if you are looking for a truly authentic sound though. |
| #21 09:16pm 20/02/01 |
*sniff* Ol' Yella was a real dog dammit and they killed him :( Btw Slipknot SUCK ! |
| #22 09:21pm 20/02/01 |
Who the f*** is old yella anyway??? And yes Slip Knot to pretty much suck ass. |
| #23 09:24pm 20/02/01 |
Only like the BEST dog in the world *sniff* and those cold blooded murderer's, they, they *sniff*, they....... |
| #24 09:26pm 20/02/01 |
....patted him and said good doggy then gave him a bone? |
| #25 09:28pm 20/02/01 |
i know buying my stanton decks is also good :D |
| #26 09:28pm 20/02/01 |
You gave him your BONE !! EWWWWW !!! Beastiality !!! |
| #27 09:30pm 20/02/01 |
I'm here to please :P |
| #28 09:30pm 20/02/01 |
kaygen this is a guitar thred not DJ :P what is a "authentic sound" really there isnt much of a difference in sound with most good guitars/pickups |
| #29 09:31pm 20/02/01 |
No it's a sex ed. thread ! "Ask AnaRoT how to present your dick to an animal" |
| #30 09:35pm 20/02/01 |
ROFL too funny necra too funny |
| #31 09:36pm 20/02/01 |
Present it anyway you want to :) Squarky guitars sound heaps different man.... |
| #32 09:41pm 20/02/01 |
well since MOST go thru some sort of effects unit / array the origional sound of the guitar is rarely herd, when i was shopping round for my guitar i played many different brands and models. and i tried to play them on the same amp or close to in every shop i went to, and there wasnt much real difference that would be worth noting. however the feel and response was what varied alot between guitars. |
| #33 09:47pm 20/02/01 |
Maybe all the bands you listen to go through effects all the times but alot of metal bands (mostly older ones) just use guitars like yours through maxxed out Marshall or Mesa amp distortion. Jazz player very seldom use any effects that aren't a feature of the amps and guitars they use. There are huge differences between the sounds of different guitars. I have an Ibanez and my friend has a Jackson, both metal guitars but different styles and they sound totally different. |
| #34 12:51pm 21/02/01 |
if find strats are more comfortable than les pauls. almost any guitar that costs over $2500 sounds good my ibanez isnt very comfy and it s***s me but having a few extra frets over the strat is handy for the fret wanky stuff. and breaking a string on a floating bridge guitar is a pain in the ass cos you cant really finish the song you were playing without it sounding completely f***ed. |
| #35 01:02pm 21/02/01 |
Thats called tuning mate :P Yeah I don't think the question was really concerned with being comfy, more the sound and versitility and stuff. What do you play man> |
| #36 01:07pm 21/02/01 |
yeah but i still think the difference isn't major. any of u guys know where i can get a cheap amp? pref 2nd hand cause i got s*** all cash (400-500max)???? |
| #37 02:08pm 21/02/01 |
Pumped Full Of Pot
go the drums w00t w00t |
| #38 03:29pm 21/02/01 |
All those gay cock-rock metal axes are pieces of s***. If you want a real guitar that has a geniune tone you have to go American Fender or Giboson. The only Axe I'd ever buy is a Jackson Soloist, proividing I could afford it, but don't even point one of those POS Japanese Ibanez' at me. You can f*** around with all those s***ty effects boards and programmable amps but eventually you'll come back and realise the best sound is a Gibson/Fender->tube screamer->Marshall/trace or a boogie. Btw I play an SG '99. |
| #39 03:52pm 21/02/01 |
Umm ok explain to me why some of the best guitarist of all time play IBanez - like Steve Vai, Joe Satriani, John Petrucci etc. I agree that Gibsons have awesome tone (and Fender too i guess if you like that sorta thing....). Have you EVER played a PRS? I played a $5000 one the other day and the tonne was unbelievable. It also played like a DREAM. You can hardly argue with guys like Kirk Hemmett and people like that who play ESP's and stuff. |
| #40 04:14pm 21/02/01 |
With regard the topic, neither one nor the other. Both Fender and Gibson make really nice guitars which have helped define and contribute to many styles for around half a century or more. It's really nice if you can afford to have at least one of each because depending on your mood or the type of stuff you want to play at a given time, you'll want one or the other. And even within brand names the sound varies - take the difference between a tele and a strat or a les paul and an sg for example - the former both Fenders, the latter both Gibsons, yet different enough to warrant buying one of each if you have the money. The Fender strat is pretty versatile which is probably why it's been a big favourite with so many musicians, myself included - but you still can't make a strat really sound like a les paul, and vice versa. It's funny to read the comments of some people - the ones about the true sound of the instrument being lost because of sound effects in particular - nothing could be further from the truth really. Even with pretty heavy distortion you can usually pick the guitar. I've got a 1992 Fender Strat and an old 1970's Gibson SG copy (Emporador - not too bad) and also a cheapie knockaround Yamaha modelled on a strat but I've just ordered a guitar that pretty much blows them all out of the water (as far as I'm concerned) - the prs custom 24 http://www.prsguitars.com/showcase/current/sp_cu24.htm. I have to wait anywhere between 6 weeks and 6 months to have it made and shipped out from the states though :( I've ordered it in the dark cherry sunburst and 10 top flame - should last me a lifetime :) In my eyes, the prs guitars are nicer than gibsons and fenders in almost every aspect, from the quality and sound of the timber through to the electrics and hardware - and especially in the finish. Drop into Allen's music in the queen st mall in brisbane to see how they compare side by side with the others. |
| #41 04:29pm 21/02/01 |
Thats pretty much just like the one I played man :) They are f***ING BEAUTIFUL aren't they? Funkthesis already has a real nice Jackson, he wants to get a classic guitar for the characteristic tone they have. I agree that you can still tell tone when effects are on. The electrics of the guitar and the acoutic properties of its construction have an effect on any sound that is produced by them. |
| #42 04:33pm 21/02/01 |
cobz
while on the topic of fenders..anyone wanna buy a genuine american strat...with hard case name ur price |
| #43 04:52pm 21/02/01 |
yeah, I was in allen's on friday night from 6pm to 9pm playing their floor stock custom 24 :P they sure are magic guitars - I've never been so impatient waiting for something in my life :P I'm replacing my zoom gfx 707 with a boss gt-3 when the prs comes in to do it justice :) |
| #44 04:56pm 21/02/01 |
yeah i've played an ESP and omg they are nice! pity bout the price tags usually. looks like we got a few of guitarists on QGL hey! good s*** |
| #45 05:07pm 21/02/01 |
Maybe we should start a QGL band :P I'm actually a trumpet player but I dabble in guitar a bit as well. Jim - GT3 = schweeeet :) You're gonna have a hell setup man. |
| #46 06:42pm 21/02/01 |
Zombie
I own a BC Rich Warlock cos i just love the look of it But had i $2600 that Les Paul Gothic Series guitar at Allens music would be mine. Its definitely Gibson all the way. Ohh yeah SquarkyD, i have a Marchall Valvestate VS65R amp that im looking to sell if ur interested. |
| #47 09:41pm 21/02/01 |
Zombie
I own a BC Rich Warlock cos i just love the look of it But had i $2600 that Les Paul Gothic Series guitar at Allens music would be mine. Its definitely Gibson all the way. Ohh yeah SquarkyD, i have a Marchall Valvestate VS65R amp that im looking to sell if ur interested. |
| #48 09:44pm 21/02/01 |
yeah i'm interested :) those les paul gothic's are the SWEETEST looking guitar i have ever seen, play very nice too, love em :) zombie ICQ me 17970933 |
| #49 10:16pm 21/02/01 |
That amp would kick ass man. I have a 15watt Marshall and it cains. MY friend has a 100 watt Valve and f***. That thing is defening on about 2/10 volume.... |
| #50 12:20am 22/02/01 |
hilikus
fenders are a good all round guitar... gibson tend to get a nicer solo tone but aren't the most comfortable thing to play... ibanez are good too though if your not prepared to spend heaps on their better/expensive models then forget it i'm usin a fender strat through a 100w marshall valvestate and it f***in kicks, grabbed myself an original crybaby wah pedal too, sounds awesome. |
| #51 03:48am 22/02/01 |
Yeah that would be an awesome setup actually. I just don't like the Strats cos I love the warm beautiful sound of a humbucker. |
| #52 12:16pm 22/02/01 |
marshall amps are limited in thier sound..clean or mud (troll troll) i know quite a few people that have gone off marshall for this reason. i dont like my fender amp really but i broke it a few weeks ago anyway so atm anything sounds better than my amp :( |
| #53 01:15pm 22/02/01 |
I love the sound of the Mesa's - they are so nice. Most people seem to be using them now too. Like
| #54 01:22pm 22/02/01 |
admittedly most of what i play is metallica...and rush..alex lifeson(rush) may not be the best guitarist in the world but the stuff he played in the mid 70s was pretty cool if not bizarre. and i spose ill admit that when i was a long haired git with hair down to my ass i was playing a lot of black sabbath aswell. /me starts humming fairies wear boots... and having a broken amp sucks |
| #55 03:17pm 22/02/01 |
death crush
Assuming you are speaking of the most well known Strat and Les Paul's: Gibson are good for lots of sustain, a nice smooth tone, less pickup noise, and a solid build. I personally think Fender is overrated. Why? Single coil pickups, no angle in headstock, light wood, brittle tone, go out of tune easily. RE: Amps. Marshall were good for a long time but recently they have been cutting many corners in the factory and you'll find most new models will spend far too much time in the repair shop. I don't know much about Mesa's except that they are great for a very distorted and powerful tone. |
| #56 03:31pm 22/02/01 |
hilikus
AnaRoT, you'd prolly like my fender then... cause i was leanin towards gibson due to the humbucker setup till i checked out the standard fat strat and just had to get the mofo http://www.fender.com/electricguitars/strats/standard/images/fatguitar_blk.jpg exactly the same as mine cept i got a lighter coloured fretboard |
| #57 04:54pm 22/02/01 |
Yeah man thats pretty sweet - I like super strats like the guy in Iron Maiden used to play - those things are pretty cool. I agree with you really death crush. I'm not a big fan of the gutless sound you get from Fenders. Gibsons are much warmer and meatier. Freewheelin - Rush is awesome. You ever listen to modern progressive stuff like Dream Theatre? John Petrucci is the most awesome guitar player. |
| #58 05:59pm 22/02/01 |
Funkthesis
It's good to see some intelligent discussion going on. Of course everything is made for a different purpose and I guess it all comes down to personal preference. I do think some brands of guitars are overated or hailed as beasts because well known people play them. You have to take into consideration what is in their setup to acheive their sound also. I used to think it was cool to use lots of effects but since i've been listening to older music my thinking has reversed and now use next to none. I like to hear what I'm really playing with a purer tone. |
| #59 11:48pm 22/02/01 |
Yay Karl!! YOu are finally converting to heterosexuality :) The only effects I like are some Wah, maybe a bit of flange every now and then. And Of Course
| #60 01:46pm 23/02/01 |
and dont forget delay.....dealy.....delay hehe delay rawks |
| #61 05:06pm 23/02/01 |
Yeah delay is pretty cool cool cool cool :P |
| #62 06:55pm 23/02/01 |
Lithios
hey ppls hey jim what are those 707s like ? do the effects compare to stand alone pedals? btw anarot i dont see how you can say gibsons and fenders are s***, they are magnificent guitars ( as wel as prs etc) but the tone they can produce is phenomonal ( scuse my spelling) go listen to some gary moore or stevie ray vaughan and ull be blown away by the awesome sound these guys make (gary moore plays a les paul, srv plays a strat for those of u who dont know) |
| #63 12:15am 24/02/01 |
Umm... I never said they are s***... learn to read buddy. |
| #64 12:55am 24/02/01 |
Lithios
um.. anarot "They are both s*** - Get an ESP, PRS or Ibanez you fag :)" i know that ull probably go edit ur post now. :-) |
| #65 11:33pm 24/02/01 |
I never edit my posts poof. If you could read you would see that I state further down that that was a joke. Go back to school fag. |
| #66 12:47am 25/02/01 |
Pumped Full Of Pot
lol go Anarot dude you tell him : ) |
| #67 01:05am 25/02/01 |
DarkAngel
lol Ibanez owns... hehe |
| #68 01:05am 25/02/01 |
Defcon
well both brands are awsome just depends what type/year guitar you get i worked at a music store for a bit and this guy came in once with a gibson les paul.... collecters item type awsome guitar... and he tried to put these things called razemarks in the neck but instead of using proper pins he used ordinary nails and f***ed a %5000 guitar. i laughed oh back to the point... gibson dont really make cheap guitars they have other companies like epiphone which make replicas (which are exactly the same as original) and those are pretty good. But if you want an authentic gibson, you'd prolly choose it over a fender. Fender are more for beginners (squire) and if you find a good fender its bound to be s***loads of money. Ibanez are awsome mostly for grunge stuff. They got 2 humbuckers which is good but you'll end up paying alot for the brand. it just depends what type of music your planning to play if you dont have much money to spend my recommendation is prolly fender. but if i had a choice it'd prolly be a gibson les paul, gibson SG, or an awsome ibanez |
| #69 02:19am 25/02/01 |
Lithios
dont call me a fag its not like i drive a volvo |
| #70 03:33am 25/02/01 |
defcon, which store did ya work in?? i've prolly harrased u about something b4 :P |
| #71 11:20am 25/02/01 |
Lithios: the 707 is pretty good value, it's great for the price. ~$350 for a s***load of effects, and reasonably configurable too. It's a toy though, when you get down to it. It's served me really well for the past 12 months while I got back into playing again without having to spend a s***load of money right away, but I won't be putting the paul reed smith through it :) I'm only using a yamaha eg-112 at the moment though, so it's no real issue. Defcon: dunno what you mean about epiphones being the same as gibsons! epiphone are to gibson what squires are to fenders, pretty much. And fenders are for beginners!?! Crazy! :P |
| #72 12:09pm 25/02/01 |
Umm yeh Defcon you don't really seem to know what you're talking about.... Like Jim said, "dunno what you mean about epiphones being the same as gibsons! epiphone are to gibson what squires are to fenders, pretty much. And fenders are for beginners!?! Crazy!" Also Ibanez for grunge? PLease!!!! The biggest grunge band of all time - Nirvana - what did Kurt play? Fender.... I think when you say grunge you really mean metal - and that is a huge injustice to the metal genre... Not all Ibanez's have dual humbuckers too. |
| #73 12:20pm 25/02/01 |
Defcon
not all ibanez's have humbuckers i know but the mainstream ones you see everyone buying do and thats what i was talking bout. as for epiphones are to gibsons what squires are to fender..trueish but epiphones cost alot more than squires. and you wouldn't see a person who just started by and epiphone. and i said fenders as in squires are for beginners not true fenders oh one more thing didn't kurt play an acoustic that he turned into and electric |
| #74 04:58pm 25/02/01 |
Every time I've seen Kurt he's been playing a Strat or a Jaguar... Why wouldn't a relative beginner buy an Epiphone? You can get em for $400 - bout the same as a squire from what I've seen.... |
| #75 07:11pm 25/02/01 |
actually that comment of mine was way off, defcon I looked at some epiphones today and they're nowhere near as junky as squires |
| #76 04:55pm 26/02/01 |
Well some Epiphones aren't but there are some seriously cheap ones too - you can't just judge by the ones you looked at. THough I would have to say that even the cheapest Epihpones would be better than the cheapest Squires. |
| #77 04:58pm 26/02/01 |
well my original comment was that epiphones are to gibson what squires are to fender, but if you can get good epiphones as well as cheap ones, unlike squires which (as far as I know) are only cheap, then my original comment was off regardless of whether or not I only looked at good epiphones :) |
| #78 05:48pm 26/02/01 |
Ahh yeah thats true - there are some realy great Epiphones, but yeah from what I've seen/heard most Squires are pretty s***.... |
| #79 12:09am 27/02/01 |
Where did all the other guitar players go? |
| #80 01:35am 27/02/01 |
Axis
a picture of funkthesis the all knowing guitar expert: http://users.bigpond.net.au/hwinwood/karl_formal.jpg |
| #81 01:37am 27/02/01 |
Haha damn he's sechzi :P |
| #82 12:42pm 27/02/01 |
Axis
heheh yes, the gay comunity find him very attractive :P |
| #83 03:29pm 27/02/01 |
Lithios
hehehehe i would agree with the gibson/ epiphone - fender/squire point i played a $600 basic epiphone les paul 100 (bolt on neck, open humbukers, no binding etc) and it played and sounded 10 times better than any squire ive played thats my 2 cents. :-) |
| #84 03:38pm 27/02/01 |
You can't say Karl is gay man.... |
| #85 05:04pm 27/02/01 |