Fast slow roasted Ribeye steak
A bit of a oxymoron of a name for a recipe, but I came across a recipe for an awesome slow roasted Ribeye on the bone that takes about 6 hours of very slow cooking. Looked beautiful, but with a lack of time in the next few weeks there was no chance I'd be able to accomplish that. With this in mind I decided to speed up the slow roast and see how it goes. Turned out really well, roasting the steak gives a really good consistent finish through the steak. I can't wait to slow roast one properly. http://lh6.ggpht.com/username.taken/SLPVSwFTIaI/AAAAAAAAEYg/5DqJUe7tJe4/s400/DSC04081.JPG
1. At about 4pm sneak away from work and buy the ribeye. chuck it next to your desk and remember to take it home with you. http://lh5.ggpht.com/username.taken/SLPUvkWHP2I/AAAAAAAAEXE/djVijI0bwCw/s400/DSC04068.JPG 2. Go home. 3. Infuse garlic into extra virgin olive oil. To do this, roughly chop 2 cloves of garlic and drop into about 1/8 cup of extra virgin olive oil. Discard the garlic before using the oil. Pull apart the rest of the clove and gently press on each clove with your knife until you here it split. http://lh5.ggpht.com/username.taken/SLPUpiyHA-I/AAAAAAAAEW0/0U65HhRzGGw/s400/DSC04065.JPG 4. Salt and pepper the steak, and Rub the garlic infused oil into it. Make a bed in a roasting pan with the garlic cloves. Put the steak on top of the cloves. 5. Bring your oven to 120-140 deg C. ( depends how much time you have ) Monitor the temperature by leaving an oven thermometer in the oven. 6. Insert thermometer into steak and Put on a roasting pan and put into the oven. Turn the steak every 30 mins. This will help the steak get evenly browned. http://lh6.ggpht.com/username.taken/SLPUxyM_Z9I/AAAAAAAAEXM/GhneJvTPRww/s400/DSC04071.JPG 7. When the internal temperature reaches 55deg C (131 F) , remove from the oven and rest uncovered for 10 minutes. By now the look of the steak and the smells will drive you mad with hunger but DO NOT skimp on the resting time! If you want a rare steak, remove from the oven at 50deg. If you want well done, remove at 60deg. http://lh4.ggpht.com/username.taken/SLPU1IxUAYI/AAAAAAAAEXU/EN-VBLM9Mak/s400/DSC04072.JPG 8. Heat oil in a pan until smoking. Sear the steak one side at a time until perfectly caramelized throughout. http://lh6.ggpht.com/username.taken/SLPVDE9uOoI/AAAAAAAAEX0/tAaEXDb9868/s400/DSC04076.JPG 9. Cover in foil and rest for another 20 minutes. Put your serving plates in the oven, and heat to 100deg C. Prepare some side dishes while you wait. 10. Serve one steak per person on the heated plates. Grind pepper on top and eat. http://lh5.ggpht.com/username.taken/SLPVIlJ7vsI/AAAAAAAAEYI/6QnCE-27P18/s400/DSC04078.JPG http://lh6.ggpht.com/username.taken/SLPVSwFTIaI/AAAAAAAAEYg/5DqJUe7tJe4/s400/DSC04081.JPG |
| #0 08:26pm 26/08/08 |
needs pepper corn sauce.
tip a bit of brandy into a hot pan for 30secs add half cup double cream add half cup beef stock add green peppercorns reduce. mmm.. beaut |
| #1 08:34pm 26/08/08 |
another winner
| #2 08:37pm 26/08/08 |
Ohhh I'll have to give this one a whirl, nice work.
How much is that fancy thermometer? I guess you get them at kitchen stores? |
| #3 08:47pm 26/08/08 |
im telling my bitch to cook this immediately
"stinky, cook this immediately" |
| #4 08:49pm 26/08/08 |
sif greazy
needs to be cooked properly thats f***ing disgusting, let alone unhygienic.
| #5 09:05pm 26/08/08 |
nah its fine, you could eat steak raw if you wanted to.
| #6 09:11pm 26/08/08 |
needs to be cooked properly thats f***ing disgusting, let alone unhygienic. It never ceases to amaze me how much of a spectacular c*** you are in threads :D |
| #7 09:13pm 26/08/08 |
Sometimes I wish I liked steaks enough to go to the effort of doing something like this.
| #8 09:20pm 26/08/08 |
If only you put as much effort into actually heating/cooking the meat properly as preparing it.
| #9 10:06pm 26/08/08 |
thats the best way to do it, people who dont like it obviously only eat halal
| #10 10:16pm 26/08/08 |
nah its fine, you could eat steak raw if you wanted to.and many have witness me eat something that for all intents and purposes is basically raw. |
| #11 10:20pm 26/08/08 |
haha f***in soft cocks 'omg it's still raw'
that looks f***ing awesome, perfectly cooked maybe a tiny bit rarer for me in the center i like med rare but would gladly eat that wish i had some skills like this. |
| #12 10:29pm 26/08/08 |
you pretty much only cook meat and two vege.
i am unimpressed. |
| #13 10:39pm 26/08/08 |
Help I am stuck. I bought steak at 4pm but you didn't mention what time to go home from work????? HELP PLS LOL I AM WAITING.
| #14 10:47pm 26/08/08 |
over cooked :P
| #15 11:01pm 26/08/08 |
So basically you've made a raw meat patty where you've failed to remove the fat and bones and just made it really difficult to eat.
| #16 07:09am 27/08/08 |
needs to be cooked more for me to eat it, I don't like my steak mooing.
| #17 07:16am 27/08/08 |
So basically you've made a raw meat patty where you've failed to remove the fat and bones and just made it really difficult to eat. Yup, that's exactly what I've done, and I wouldn't have it any other way! |
| #18 07:30am 27/08/08 |
the meat is properly cooked as indicated by it's texture
| #19 08:14am 27/08/08 |
I fail at baiting
| #20 08:19am 27/08/08 |
Coochie
you pretty much only cook meat and two vege. Same...ditch the veg. |
| #21 09:35am 27/08/08 |
wow u really must have lots of time on ur hands if ur taking pictures and writing essays to every dinner that u make.
| #22 10:37am 27/08/08 |
Nice write up stinky - unlike other party poopers I'm always happy to see a new way I can be creative in the kitchen.
| #23 10:40am 27/08/08 |
slightly too rare for my pref, but looks super delicious regardless! i've gotta go find some food now...
I got up early this morning to put together an irish stew in our crockpot...gonna come home to a delicious slow cooked lamb stew, hell yeah :) |
| #24 10:44am 27/08/08 |
hey stinky, do something in a slowcooker!
me and petal love ours to death: we all like busting out currys and stews galore: inspire us! |
| #25 10:45am 27/08/08 |
We have a slow cooker and I'm constatntly disappointed with the results. I think the wife just cooks things for too long. I could never be bothered with it.
But in saying that she has cooked a few winner hearty stew things in it. |
| #26 11:08am 27/08/08 |
I haven't got a slow cooker, I usually use my Le Crusett(sp?) pot in the oven at low temp to do a good stew.
The trick to making a good stew great is to have a chopped mix of rosemary, garlic and lemon zest in a bowl at the table. When you serve it, each person can take a bit (or a lot) and sprinkle it into their stew. It will immediately release some amazing fragrances and boost the flavous of the stew. There's a fancy french name for this, but it evades me right now. Jamie Oliver has some tasty stews that you can do in the slow cooker, google for 'jools favourite stew' and 'andy the gasmans stew' I think they're both in his 'jamie's dinners' book. |
| #27 11:18am 27/08/08 |
There's a fancy french name for this, but it evades me right now.Le Ghey? You don't need to bother chopping garlic up to infuse with olive oil, just whack the clove with the flat of your knife. |
| #28 11:27am 27/08/08 |
that's true, but by chopping it I increased the surface area of the garlic/oil contact which helps it infuse quicker.
| #29 11:35am 27/08/08 |
Don't listen to all the haters stinky! That looks mighty tasty, I'd probably do it slightly more well cooked, but not much (Medium ftw).
Making me hungry....all i have for lunch is a microwave pasta pack...:( I need more time :( |
| #30 11:44am 27/08/08 |
How much is that fancy thermometer? I guess you get them at kitchen stores? I think I paid about $70 for it. It has two probes, one for the meat one for the oven ( smoker actually, but same concept ). It has the main unit, and a secondary wireless unit that you can carry around so you don't need to babysit the oven. |
| #31 11:54am 27/08/08 |
props to the kitchen of stinky :D |
| #32 12:12pm 27/08/08 |
you sir, have butchered a perfectly good steak.
| #33 12:46pm 27/08/08 |
Most steaks have been butchered, except for those weird grow in a tube japanese things.
| #34 02:22pm 27/08/08 |
Hyperslide
Man I am on one of those detox kits ATM and cant eat meat or dairy (highly recommend the detox too guys it really works)
Reading this recipe made me salivate hardcore I havent eaten meat in nearly 2 weeks.... god I want some steak sooooo bad |
| #35 02:33pm 27/08/08 |
how can you recommend anything that involves depriving yourself of steak
| #36 02:35pm 27/08/08 |
Man I am on one of those detox kits ATM and cant eat meat or dairy (highly recommend the detox too guys it really works) |
| #37 02:39pm 27/08/08 |
Detox wtf? Have you had any failed baby making attempts for it to come to that?
| #38 06:12pm 27/08/08 |
I love my slowcooker. Greatest thing ever
| #39 06:26pm 27/08/08 |
I got up early this morning to put together an irish stew in our crockpot...gonna come home to a delicious slow cooked lamb stew, hell yeah :) Am I reading this correctly? Did you leave a stew cooking all day whilst no-one was home?? |
| #40 08:00am 28/08/08 |
Of course, that's what's so great about slow cookers! Using mine today too
| #41 08:09am 28/08/08 |
Yeah they are a low wattage/heat cooker so they can left on for a while. The best part is if something goes wrong the house only burns down slowly. |
| #42 08:37am 28/08/08 |
Detox wtf? Have you had any failed baby making attempts for it to come to that? yer wtf is up with detox... its all a f***ing mind game. "yeah i feel heaps better seeing as i didnt eat meat for 2weeks" f***ing bulls***. I had a mate that did it at work, his was a 3month detox and all he could eat was brown rice and steamed vegies + vitamins.... who the f*** wants to eat brown rice and vegies for 3 months... apart from asians of course |
| #43 09:00am 28/08/08 |
While I have never been on a detox, if you eat healthy, like salad, no fat, no drinking, no suger - you do feel better for it.
So brown rice, vegies and vitamins would give you goodness of carbs, vegies and the vitamins for anything else in meat etc - you would feel better I reakon. |
| #44 09:35am 28/08/08 |
Coochie
So brown rice, vegies and vitamins would give you goodness of carbs, vegies and the vitamins for anything else in meat etc - you would feel better I reakon. Everything besides the protein. I dare say 3 months with zero protein would not be good for you...you'd likely loose a significant amount of muscle. |
| #45 09:51am 28/08/08 |
yellow_feet
Reason: Inappropriate |
#46 10:12am 28/08/08
i just flicked over your post minxy and thought it said, i love a good slow cocking. haha
nice steak stinky, sounds like you should do the same thing with a side of beef as a roast, get some roast vegies involved, colliflower cheese mmmm |
| #47 10:02am 28/08/08 |
That looks awesome, I reckon I'll do it saturday night
| #48 10:05am 28/08/08 |
beef & dairy aren't toxic so you can't 'detox' from them.
| #49 10:08am 28/08/08 |
Coochie
It's a bit hard to lose muscle when the majority on this forum have none to begin with (maxe) Were you bullied by nerds at school? |
| #50 10:10am 28/08/08 |
yellow_feet
#51 11:32am 28/08/08
sounds like you're jealous
| #52 10:14am 28/08/08 |
yellow_feet
#53 11:02am 28/08/08
Everything besides the protein. I dare say 3 months with zero protein would not be good for you...you'd likely loose a significant amount of muscle. All living things have protein including plants (i.e. rice and vegetables). Muscle (meat) has more, but cutting meat out of your diet won't take you to 0 protein intake. |
| #54 10:59am 28/08/08 |
yeah but you have to eat 20kg of mung beans to equate to a mansized steak.
| #55 11:01am 28/08/08 |
yellow_feet
#56 11:28am 28/08/08
Coochie
All living things have protein including plants (i.e. rice and vegetables). Muscle (meat) has more, but cutting meat out of your diet won't take you to 0 protein intake. Ok sorry, a negligible amount of protein. |
| #57 12:37pm 28/08/08 |
You can get as much protein from 1 cup of some vegetables as 100g of meat. It's less, but far from negligible.
| #58 01:47pm 28/08/08 |
nah s*** like mushrooms, lentils, soy, etc. have a pretty high protein content actually.
you could certainly get enough to maintain an average muscle mass without having any meat whatsoever. It's only if you're trying to add significant muscle mass that you need to eat stacks of protein. |
| #59 01:50pm 28/08/08 |
who the fk uses internal temp devices with remote receivers????
can i turn the staek at 53 degrees celcius? |
| #60 03:21pm 28/08/08 |
Coochie
nah s*** like mushrooms, lentils, soy, etc. have a pretty high protein content actually.Yeah sorry I probably was a little hasty in my posting...I completely agree you can get enough protein without meat (I can think of at least one vegetarian pro bodybuilder)....just when I read brown rice and steamed vegetables I'm thinking carrots, brocolli peas and cauliflower....of which I guess peas may have a small proportion of the protein you need. |
| #61 04:28pm 28/08/08 |
Theres this thing I really hated in the morning. Had this bloody coffee machine that used to make alright coffee but used to make a terrible noise. I then divorced her,
| #62 04:29pm 28/08/08 |
Yeah sorry I probably was a little hasty in my posting...I completely agree you can get enough protein without meat (I can think of at least one vegetarian pro bodybuilder)....just when I read brown rice and steamed vegetables I'm thinking carrots, brocolli peas and cauliflower....of which I guess peas may have a small proportion of the protein you need.Rice is like 50% protein. Protein isn't what people miss when they don't eat red meat, it's iron which is important for your blood. When people first turn vego and become really weak and pale, they have a low blood count because they don't have enough iron. Of course you can get iron form god awful vegies like Silverbeat and Spinach but you'd have to be insane to eat that hateful s***. |
| #63 05:04pm 28/08/08 |
Coochie
Rice is like 50% protein. I'm pretty sure this is not correct...and here are a few links (the first couple of Google results) to back up my thoughts: http://www.pechsiam.com/allabout_nutrition.htm http://www.riso.ch/index.cfm?fuseaction=sprachewechseln&id_sprache=4&path=1-285-202 |
| #64 05:11pm 28/08/08 |
nothing wrong with silverbeat and spinach!
also, http://www.google.com.au/search?hl=en&q=good+sources+of+iron&btnG=Google+Search&meta= |
| #65 05:24pm 28/08/08 |
My understanding of statistics is that you simply make them up to suit your argument. Doing research and providing links means you're doing it wrong and your information is therefor invalid.
Silverbeat is the worst goddamned thing ever. It's not even recognised by spellchecker which probably means it doesn't even exist. |
| #66 06:45pm 28/08/08 |
nah it's awesome
when I'm eating it I'm thinking beet but I don't mind spelling it beat |
| #67 06:49pm 28/08/08 |
you don't like awesome stuff like ricotta & spinach puffs for example?!?
| #68 08:20pm 28/08/08 |
Hybr|d
Rice is like 50% protein. Haha. last edited by Hybr|d at 21:21:26 28/Aug/08 |
| #69 09:21pm 28/08/08 |
what the f*** is wrong with spinach, f***in soft
| #70 09:42pm 28/08/08 |
speak of crappy vegeterian diets
http://www.google.com/search?q=high+soy+diet+bad+for+men&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-GB:official&client=firefox-a |
| #71 10:53pm 28/08/08 |
YUMMMMY:) You've made me hungry now, do you do home delivery stinky?
| #72 11:00pm 28/08/08 |
| #72 |