Topic: Bitchin' Brisneyland Pics
There have been some awesome sunsets recently and I've been thinking about going up to Mt Cootha or something to try and take some happy snaps, but this dude beat me to it.

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2101/2368792552_f505e696dc.jpg

I've taken some average ones from Indro and have been meaning to try and get some more; there's some really good vantage points for good pics:

http://trog.qgl.org/site/media/pics/brisvegas/TN_DSC01306.JPG

Anyone else got some good ones? I am trying to impress people about how awesome our city is (its hard when people I'm trying to impress are in Paris/San Fran/etc)
Paris ... easy show them photos of a shower along with the tag line, our people use them.

Brisbane is an oversized country town, complete with main street. Melbourne and Sydney are cities. Honestly I think people who love big cities will struggle to appreciate Brisbane.
holy f*** dude it's like independence day
³dee
except not

whered u get those huge magic mushrooms?!?

That's a f***ing cool picture.
Brisbane is an oversized country town, complete with main street. Melbourne and Sydney are cities. Honestly I think people who love big cities will struggle to appreciate Brisbane.
Thank you Mr Negativity. Why don't you go and run over some puppies!
Wow. I've found so many wall papers for my dual screen monitors from his site. Awesome vote this thread +++++
Thank you Mr Negativity. Why don't you go and run over some puppies!

HAHAHAHA! That made me actually LOL!

Cool cool photo/s!
I used to get epic cloud-views and sunsets from my old house:

http://homepage.powerup.com.au/~boldajis/images/bris.jpg

http://homepage.powerup.com.au/~boldajis/images/bris2.jpg
Its not negative.
Its positive.

Brisbane rocks, all it needs is a ski field in a half a days drive and it'd be perfect. Brisbane being a big country town is a good thing. There isn't a massive concrete jungle. There are parks with barbies, People live in suburbs, not projects. We have super sized malls, Not trendy little strips. And if you need something unusual, you head to the CBD, because that's where it will be. Not to mention great climate, close to reef, surf, bush, rainforest. And its big enough that we have a good range and supply of most stuff. Brisbane is a lifestyle not a picture.

No point getting in a pissing competition with Paris or San Fransico over photos, they have a heap of very famous landmarks that'll look good. And the sort of people that think Paris is home are going to struggle to "get" Brisbane.

We don't have 1000 year old buildings, we don't have the famous architecture, we don't have the fashion set, we don't have the big rollers with their expensive cars, we don't have a broadway, we don't have the round the clock life style. 3am in Brisbane you'll struggle to find a Cafe open. Melbourne you can pop in to a coffee shop get a bit to eat and a good latte before popping off to kmart or woolies to do some shopping. We don't have the massive eat out culture (but I reckon we have a good range of high quality food from all over the place). Big deal, I only want that crap when I am on a holiday anyway.

But some people like all that being around them in walking distance (so they never have to leave there little part of the world except by some very big public transport system with trams and tunnels)... And they aspire to live in big metropolitan cities.

I think people are weird for preferring Sydney or Melbourne. But I can see the differences, and I can realise some people like it.

By the very fact you assumed I was being negative, makes me think you are one of those big city people.

ps. the irony of you trying to sell Brisbane when Southbank is a once in 10 year event... Who knows when the last time you headed out to Wynnum, Shorncliffe, Samford or Sunnybank was.

+ 1 for mentioning Shorncliffe and Samford
seriously obes, stop hatin
Crusty old man
That's a lot of words there Obes. Did you have some time on your hands?
CSIRAC
This pic might not be taken in Brisbane but I thought people might like it. I was quite surprised how well it turned out!

phttp://dump.justwipeit.com/Pics/DSCF0700.JPG

edit: hmm I kinda suck at this HTML thing :( but the link works!

last edited by CSIRAC at 00:19:52 18/Apr/08
paris is a f***en s***hole

roads are gay an cobblestoned
everyone is a prick
gypsie c***s
everyone drives bulls*** citroens and peueueugueooeoeeots
clichy is a bulls*** ghetto suburb and im not ashamed to say i peed in a sink there one night

san francisco they smoke nuff ganja i hear
kos
Agreed, Paris is terrible, easily one of the most, if not the most unpleasant city I've been to.

Brisbane is nice, but it's no Melbourne, it's pretty boring there, but what it does have is location. Also, what's with the all the Coffee Club cafes there? Last time I was there I could have sworn there were more Coffee Clubs in Brisbane than there are Maccas in Australia!
paris ain't perfect but saying it's the worst cuty you've ever been to? haha, what the f***? either you haven't travelled much or exaggeration++
I <3 Melbourne.

If I wansnt in Brisbane, that's where I'd be.
heh, that's funny, and the guy here in Melbourne will tell you he'd rather be in Perth.
seriously obes, stop hatin

you first ...
jadz0r
Here's a link to my flickr set for brisbane. Most of the photos are from around Indooroopilly.
Dirty Jared taking over the thread and pimping his warez
Shorncliffe
Shorncliffe f***ing rocks, head out there on a good day and there's ~100 kitesurfers along that coast, definetely a happening place.
kos
paris ain't perfect but saying it's the worst cuty you've ever been to? haha, what the f***? either you haven't travelled much or exaggeration++

How can you make a comment like that when categorisations like 'worst' are completely subjective? I can assure you I've been to many, many cities and that is my personal opinion. And anyway, I said "most unpleasant" not "worst" (whatever that means).
well your personal opinion is wrong
I agree with taggs, paris is awesome and if you don't like it you're as much of a city elitist as brisbane-hating obes over in the corner there!

I was flicking through my photo collection and while I have lots of Brisbane photos, most of them are taken at the RE and feature various drunk people (mostly family members) so they don't really count.

jadzors photos are pretty awesome though!
Agreed with GP, if I wasn't in Brisbane I'd go to Melbourne and crash with my brother. Only been the once, but I loved it
kos
well your personal opinion is wrong

I'M RUBBER AND YOU'RE GLUE!
no u
Paris is a whole. A Dirty Stinking whole.

If it wasnt for the Tower and the Catacombes it would of been the most boring s*** place I have visited since I have been in Europe.

Edit: Almost forgot about Nudge Parking though. That s*** is cool too. We need that in Brisbane.

last edited by Scooter at 03:38:03 19/Apr/08
paris was teh dirtiest city ive ever been to, filled with rude smoking snobs, forget you paris;

ok, trying to find the website of my flunky at work, he goes out to spots around brissy and takes interesting pix

not conventionally beautiful, but he takes awesome photos

edit, FOUND

http://pipefox.org/

last edited by Spook at 07:54:33 19/Apr/08
heres some i took off the roof of my building

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x56/maxe1/IMG_0603_1280.jpg

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x56/maxe1/IMG_0604_1280.jpg

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x56/maxe1/IMG_0614_1280.jpg
Those Pipfox pics are awesome, that dude has talent!
him and his mates (they take similar style photos) had a photography exhibition not too long ago at southbank

and yer, they all took really interesting photos

something a bit different!
dRanged
well, those are very fresh photos!
http://img166.imageshack.us/img166/8408/img6481rb2.jpg

http://img166.imageshack.us/img166/5507/img6472bz0.jpg

http://img125.imageshack.us/img125/7096/img8766large7fp.jpg

Same picture, different settings

http://img291.imageshack.us/img291/3155/img7558largemg0.jpg

and again

http://img99.imageshack.us/img99/8090/img7568largexl2.jpg

and again

http://img81.imageshack.us/img81/4826/img7579largetf2.jpg

These are from other people

Bribie Island

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3131/2415165329_d34af92756_b.jpg

Trog,

Go here and find everything you will ever need on this subject
I f***ing love Brisbane. As if you'd wanna live anywhere else in the world.
Fnukle
Yea traffic is great, super cheap to rent or buy and the Gamers League has LANs all the time. WOO f*** yea!

Shame everybody knows how great it is here, if they didn't wouldn't be so many people here and it would be even better than it is.
holy s*** those pipefox urban pics are rad! very different side of brisbane.

ps. calling it brisneyland is just as lame, if not lamer, than brisvegas.

trying desperately to think of more ways to annoy strex but I'm coming up short
brisago?