Topic: Old sayings that annoy you!! (or your kids)
crazymorton

drongo

thats my new word

seeing this in another thread just brought back some memories.
i used to drive mav mad with my old sayings/phrases. but then i used to hear him use them. funny how kids start adopting their parents sayings and how some families have there little quirky ones as well. we were also big into TV/Movie phrases where one line is followed by the next as per the script.
The Castle and Little Britain where big with us.
"i want that one"

"dad, jousting sticks" etc etc...

so some oldies and uniquely personal ones that came to mind (and some explanations)
"don't come the raw prawn with me" - he could never remember this one and of course i wouldnt tell him, he always recalled there was a prawn involved.
"why don't you give it a burl" - ha ha...he just didn't like that word burl
"centre console" - we had this weird cupboard set up in my/his bedroom at Ferny hills (some of you might have seen it) with a big centre space that i referred to as....."centre console" so whenever he asked where something was, it was of course in my.......drove him mad that one!
"thats got a bit on it" ahh the old fart saying, usually spoken after i'd locked the car windows and let rip....ha ha ha...i can hear him gagging now...

so let rip if your an annoyer or an annoyee.....
whats out there in the wonderful world of parent hood i wonder?
Nailbomb
My wife's mum often refers to "bad guys", whether someone in a tv show, movie or someone thats made the news for whatever reason as rotters and the wife has to a degree picked it up from her, don't know why that that term s***s me but it does.
my misses mum always says "evidently" I hate that word, and the way she says it.. its like she says it to try and sound smart when she has the education of a 8th grader.

I also hate the way people say... "I done it" or I seen it" instead of 'I did it' or 'I saw it". get some grammar skills ffs.

kinda ot but;
the people that have a constant TV running commentary protruding from their filthy noise hole. just stfu and watch the program and comment through the ad breaks if you must.

last edited by eighty-eight at 17:03:27 17/Mar/08
my grandma calls everyone charlie

crazy old bat
crazymorton
^ shes not a vietnam vet is she?
My father got a plate out of the microwave once, and it was quite a bit hotter than he was expecting and it burnt him so he stands there and points at it and says "Don't hot this plate, it might touch you". I can only assume he was trying to warn us not to touch the plate because it was hot, but from then on, any time anyone went to pick up something hot it became standard practise in my family to warn the person "Don't hot this plate".
Mantis [OSWEC]
porch monkey
The GuVna
People that actually say "lol" in general conversation
Yeah lol in general conversation is just f***ing STUPID!

My Dad has a HEAP of them, but for the life of me I can't remember any atm:(
I hate the word "missus"
one of my mates uses the expression 'all over the place like a mad women's s***' ... when, as australians, we all know the correct colloquialism is 'all over the place like a dog's breakfast'. ;p

it's like saying 'mad as a hatter' rather than 'mad as a cut snake'... sure everyone has heard of alice in wonderland but this is australia m8! arse fukn trailer!@!#! :D
I like stupid aussie/bogan sayings. I collect them.
mad as a hatter > mad as a cut snake

alot of people don't like the term 'c***'

dunno why
Because it makes them think of you paveway
currently I would have to say my pet hates:

1) "I was like ... " at every sentences. This phrase seems to replace "Ummm" at the very beginning of very sentence. Mostly this applies to teeny boppers. But Mid twenties are also using it....

2) "clearly" like eighty-eight some people seem to be using it to emphasis everything that's obvious... at every sentence...
I just f***ing hate it when my missus interrupts movies to ask me questions that are answered by the movie itself like 5 seconds later.

IE. "Why is he doing that"
"Ohh is that why he did that"

GRRR
lol obes

also

i love australian colloquial speak. or strine if you will.

my favourites are things like whenever someone tells me there's something wrong with their PC, i'll say 'alright, lets go have a butchers' as in a butchers hook, or look.

flat out like a lizard drinking is another favourite, as is mad as a cut snake.

i also love adding the old english 'said the bishop to the actress' to certain comments people make to turn them into innuendo.

as for old sayings that annoy me? there aint too many. i don't like 'full up to dolly's wax' i suppose.

the fiancee will on the very odd occasion say 'full as a goog' which i explained to her that i'm pretty certain that has racial connotations behind it.

'ticking over like a gold watch' is probably my favourite of all

last edited by Mr Hardware at 17:46:13 17/Mar/08
'full as a goog' is about eggs so if you hate eggs, then it could be racist.
goog is an egg... ie. big and round.
i stand corrected
that good old aussie twang. gawd i hate it.
"orrrr yeah she scrubs up alright, wouldnt kick her outta bed for fartin"
the fiancee will on the very odd occasion say 'full as a goog' which i explained to her that i'm pretty certain that has racial connotations behind it.

Your mother never made you googie eggs and toast?!?!
Kath and Kim.

'nuff said.
I don't like any proverbs or sayings that people use in arguments, like as if to say... the fact that it is a saying makes it true and applicable. Like parents who say "if you don't have something nice to say, dont say anything at all" - what? that doesn't explain or justify anything... I also don't like it when anyone argues "it's called X" as if to say because there is a word for it, it must be real.
³dee
for some reason my general farewell is now "cheerio" instead of "cya"
Kath and Kim. 'nuff said.
+1
I really HATE it when people ask me how i'm going. I wake up and someone asks me how I'm going I want to punch them in the face, what the f***? You can see I'm alive so I must be ok f***wit why ask me?

I also hate it when f*****s get the saying "I couldn't care less" wrong and say "I could care less" I also want to punch them in the face.
well stop talking about it and do it
people that say "literally" get f***ed.

omg i'll literally die if i don't get those shoes.. i should carry razors and say do me a f***ing favor.

yer that ticks me off :D
³dee
I'm literally going to die if that car hits me with 20,000 joules of kinetic energy man!
mscactus
The one that I don't understand is "Have you ever danced with the devil in the pale moon light"? I have no idea whats with that one.

The young fella hates it when I ask "What's that got to do with the price of eggs" and when he whinges that something isn't fair and I say "Neither is a black fellas bum".

³dee
olol
i actually think about s*** i say that would annoy my kids (i dont have any)

like "tape it" when i record a show on harddrive. or film it. kids will be going wtf is "tape"? i guess like when the olds call it a wireless.

"Have you ever danced with the devil in the pale moon light"?

Isn't that a quote by The Joker (asif anyone could top that Joker in any batman movie) from the Original Batman movie?
"Have you ever danced with the devil in the pale moon light"? I have no idea whats with that one.

And neither did Jack Nicholson when he said it in Batman.
mscactus
Thanks for that - these cruel people in my household just laugh at me everytime I ask what it means. Have never seen the original Batman movie so that explains that one.
I used when in rome in totally wrong places after watching anchorman for the fun of it haha.

Other than that I hate:
a) People who mistake supposably for supposedly
b) People who don't know the difference between there, their and they're
c) People who don't know the diference between where, were and we're
d) People who confuse then with than and totally forget that 'than' is a word
e) People in general.
Kilos
I swear to god I will tear the heart out of the next person who refers to a pregnant woman as "Preggers".

gb2woodridge
crazymorton
like "tape it" when i record a show on harddrive. or film it. kids will be going wtf is "tape"? i guess like when the olds call it a wireless.

i still say "lets get a video tonight" even though DVD's have been out for yonks (oh there's another one)
does anyone do that? just an oldies habit i guess.....
I use "going off like a frog in a sock" a bit, and whenever my father comes to melbourne he always makes sure to let me know its "cold as a witch's tit".

I also find myself using "f*** this for a game of soldiers" a lot more recently.
crazymorton
piece of piss for a trained grasshopper

think i got that one from my army days
f***ing oath Pharcyde. +1
f*** that off for a joke is one i've been know to use.
also, "couldn't of" really gives me the s***s. really.
How about happy as a pig in s***? Or the one my father uses more often, happy as a dog with 3 dicks.
sif greazy
god damn anything that has 3 functional dicks would be happy.

oh my god think of the possibilities.
LoneWolf
My little brother always comes out with "going off like a dildo salesman at a lesbian convention".

I am a big fan of rhyming slang, always have been.

Bag of fruit - Suit
Dog and Bone - Phone
Butchers Hook / Butchers / Captain Cook - Look
Etc, etc ....
people that say pacifically instead of specifically.

also hate people that say 24/7/365
Crusty old man
Things that drive my kids nuts.

When they do something clever... "You're not as silly as you are cabbage looking"

When someone asks me to "pass the salt up", I just stick it up in the air.

When my kids ask if I "can" do something I usually reply with "I am more than capable of doing " and then don't do it.

"Dad, come here!" "I am here!"

"Did you learn anything at school today you didn't know before?"

When they come home from soccer/gymnastics/volleyball training or something like that "So, did you win?"
ooh ooh oooh, not a saying but I literally hate people who tap on stuff 24/7/365 especially preggers women. its like there fingers have a mind of they're own OMG
Yeah thats all gold Mantra. One of the many reasons I want to be a father too.

"lets get a video tonight" even though DVD's have been out for yonks
Someone picked me up on that one time and I said
It's still a video
as in video/audio
Just because its not a video tape (VHS, Beta etc) doesn't mean it isn't video.
Now if you'd said video tape... then yeah

Also, My fiancee and i were discussing how you don't actually wind up electric windows

NUMBER ONE PET HATE
When people put but on the end of a sentence
'at least i didn't get caught but'
what the hell is a 'caught but'
also, "couldn't of" really gives me the s***s.

s*** how did i forget that one.
This what I can think of off the top of meh head.

1. 'Well dip me in honey and throw me to the lesbiens'

2. 'That fat c*** has more chins than chinese phonebook'

3. 'Black as a Boree's bum at midnite'

4. 'I could eat a horse between two mattresses'

5. 'I'd f*** a black snake with a festered arse... only if you hold its head'

6. 'That chick is so hot she'd give a Jellyfish a horn!'

7. 'That's about as funny as a dead baby'

8. 'Fair crack of the whip'

9. 'I'd give that honey a poke in the whiskers'

10. 'Horse's hoof' (poof)

11. 'Going for a slash'

12. 'Goin to wrestle the one eyed trouser snake'

13. 'I'd break her pelvis'

14. 'My dick is so big it tries to piss with me'

15. 'f*** a Duck!'

16. 'Got a head like a busted arse'

17. 'Got a head like a fly blown mango'

18. 'Got a head like a smashed crab'

19. 'Got a head like a dropped pie'

20. 'I'm so hungry I could eat the arse out of low flying duck'

... that's it for now.
my dad is a great fan of the saying

trim, taught, terrific and truly tremendous

and i bet some of u old bastards also use this to remember your s***

testicles, spectacles, wallet and watch

also 1 of my favourites

just because there's a goalie doesn't mean you can't score.
When you're about to do something like the vacuuming or whatever...

I'm gonna give the floor a bit of a how's your father with the vacuum.
i've always used how's your father == average
My ol man always had this one joke I thought was quite sad

"How do you get down off an elephant?"
"You don't, you get down off a duck"

Wasn't until years later I heard about down feathers being used in doona's that I finally understood it.
f***ing freaked arse southerners chick I met who brought a feather doona to Nrth Qld....

I remember him doing the ol "spectacle, testicle, wallet an watch" which is how he explained the cross blessing to me so my mum wouldn't go nutz at me at church cause I wouldn't do it.
Zaphod
i'm more annoyed when people misquote the cliched phrases (ie. Kath N Kim do that a lot, it's infuriating in real life!)
crazymorton
ahhh the old "hows your father" what a classic. can apply to most anything really...
yes this old prick recalls testicles, spectacles, etc
got a mate whos good at the ryhming slang
what about those classic aussie bathers the "budgie smugglers" i love that saying.
anyone ever had their "back teeth floating" or needed to "drop the kids at the pool"

Give birth to Webster.
yeah i drop the kids off at the pool every day at work
Splash for cash heh?
thats the one mate
splash for cash.
1. 'Pinch a Loaf'

2. 'Feed the Fish'

3. 'Choke a Darky'

4. 'Lay some Cable'

5. 'Sink a Ship'

and i bet some of u old bastards also use this to remember your s***
testicles, spectacles, wallet and watch

Its not about remembering things.

It was slang used for teaching boys how to do the sign of the cross.
specs, tecticles are obvious. Wallet was kept in the left breast pocket, and your fob watch the right. (My grade 2 RE teacher taught us it ... seriously ... I mean who had a fob watch in the 80s) But it also was used more recently in a movie.. sister act or nuns on the run or something
I believe Austin Powers also mentions it.

How about 'Deep Sea Hanger'

That's where the stool touches the water before it breaks off. It's harder than you think!
Sover
I think another one is "going down the crocodile slide" or something among those lines not 100% sure
My friends in Melbourne say "I'm going to send a package to Werribee" since that's where the sewerage goes down there.

Some mates here got in the habit of referring to s*** as borris - "I'm gona take a Borris", and then there's the obvious after grog bog ~
take the cosby kids down to the river

the FBI has convinced me to release the brown hostages
crocodile mile, drongo
mscactus
You're sailing very close to the wind and You're skating on thin ice are also used quite a bit around here on the 13 year old.
the FBI has convinced me to release the brown hostages

HAHA!
Not an old saying but I hate it when kids say 'SO'. "i SO wouldn't do that!" etc etc.

f***EN DIE c***S>!!@!Q
i hate how 18-19~ year old girls all spk lk ths on tha net, rly fkn annys me
lol sif you speak to 18-19 yo chicks on the net.

yeah, they are really 10year old boys.
This isn't an old saying, but it's still something that annoys me. I've noticed more than more that people are saying "I could care less" instead of "Couldn't care less". That pisses me off, but that is just the odd few stupid people.

But the one phrase that REALLY f***ing pisses me off is when someone says "all but [something]". Like, for instance, to describe a situation that's hopeless, they'll say "it's all but hopeless". That doesn't make any f***ing sense, because that would mean that the situation is anything BUT hopeless.

That's one that gets used everywhere, and it pisses me off that people just accept it. f***heads.
When people do something badly I like to say they do it like old people f*** ala Full Metal Jacket.
That doesn't make any f***ing sense, because that would mean that the situation is anything BUT hopeless.

no

it depends on the emphasis

to say "all but hopeless" flat out means that the situation is every shade of hopeless but hopeless itself. The statement has more emphasis and drama than rounding it all off to hopeless itself, but at the end of the day it still means hopeless

to say "anything but hopeless" is the antithesis, which means its as far from hopeless as you can get.

It's not old, but f*** I hate the word noob
when people say "jealous much?" or similar

don't talk like a seppo
It was slang used for teaching boys how to do the sign of the cross.
specs, tecticles are obvious. Wallet was kept in the left breast pocket, and your fob watch the right.

I keep my wallet in my hand and as for a watch, I haven't worn/carried one with me since school. I just look at the clock on my phone. How do they teach it now?
kos
My all time pet hate is people saying "did you used to?" instead of the gramatically correct "used you?" (pronounced "yoost you?" - because no one ever gets it when they see it written :P)

eg.
"Did you used to play the guitar?" BAD.
"Used you play the guitar?" GOOD!
Haha so much e-Rage and cultural cringing in this thread.

Still, things that irk me somewhat:

- "its" and "it's" being confused
- although not incorrect, using apostrophes in acronyms for plural values (e.g. DVD's)
- people that see you washing your car or mowing your lawn and saying "you wanna do mine while you're at it?"
- SMS language being used outside of SMS (actually, SMS language is fugly as it is)
- people that say "council" when they mean "cancel"
- "when I was your age"
- People who just can't seem to write Blu-ray correctly (e.g. Blueray, BluRay)
- although not incorrect, using apostrophes in acronyms for plural values (e.g. DVD's)
DVDS isn't an acronym :)
True if you uphold the definition that acronyms are only applicable to words that you say, such as "modem," "radar," and "laser"

In any event, "CD's," "DVD's," and "PC's" all look wrong.
you're right fpot, it's an abbreviation, as in: i hope she doesn't have d vd.
DVDS isn't an acronym :)

I write it as DVDs or CDs. No apostrophe.

it depends on the emphasis

to say "all but hopeless" flat out means that the situation is every shade of hopeless but hopeless itself. The statement has more emphasis and drama than rounding it all off to hopeless itself, but at the end of the day it still means hopeless

to say "anything but hopeless" is the antithesis, which means its as far from hopeless as you can get.

Your explanation doesn't make it sound any more sensible to me. It looks to me that you're just substituting the word "all" for "anything," which in this case, both mean pretty much the same thing.
crazymorton
My all time pet hate is people saying "did you used to?" instead of the gramatically correct "used you?" (pronounced "yoost you?" - because no one ever gets it when they see it written :P)

wtf?
do you mean "use to"
i dont get "used you" in this context?
wow
kos, even if that is correct, it's not what society accepts as normal.
i don't think i've ever heard 'used you drive a commodore?' ive only ever heard 'did you used to drive a commodore?'.
"Used you" sounds retarded. I don't care if that's correct, I'm not saying it.
Used you can bit me on the arse, I would sound like a re re if I said that.
yoosta