Gesthemene
So.. I got home from work and found an envelope in the mail..
Turns out my bosses had sent me a Christmas present without telling me.
(abbreviated to prevent boredom) So, basically, my bosses gave me a present which includes access to members-only clubs in various countries, a bottle of single malt whisky (which I collect), and membership to a society that I've been wanting to be a member of for years (but couldn't justify financially). Colour me stoked (and quite possibly drunk for the near future :D) |
| #0 08:22pm 18/12/07 |
lmnt
wow, sweet boss, seems to have put a lot of thought into it!
| #1 08:25pm 18/12/07 |
By collect you mean drink, right?
| #2 08:28pm 18/12/07 |
If you need any help "collecting" it, just let me know :D
| #3 08:34pm 18/12/07 |
Gesthemene
By collect you mean drink, right? I'm on a diet, and am only allowed 1 drink a week.. I don't waste it on s*** like beer.. ;) |
| #4 08:36pm 18/12/07 |
How much makes it hard to justify financially?
| #5 08:38pm 18/12/07 |
Gesthemene
$200 for the first year, $75 each year after that..
It's down significantly from the last time I looked at it, which was in 2003.. it was $450 then. Doable, but at the time, I couldn't justify spending that much on it. |
| #6 08:40pm 18/12/07 |
Here's me thinking it's going to be like $10000 a year or something.
Question: They've obviously paid your entry into the club? Are they paying for your contiuing membership or is the $75 fee up to you to maintain? |
| #7 08:58pm 18/12/07 |
is it possible to get ur 75 bux worth in 1 year?
| #8 09:14pm 18/12/07 |
I've got a bottle of Glenfiddich 30 year scotch. Is that any good as far as scotch goes?
I'm not much of a scotch drinker, and just wondering how it ranks as I got it quite cheap. |
| #9 09:21pm 18/12/07 |
Here's me thinking it's going to be like $10000 a year or something same |
| #10 09:21pm 18/12/07 |
Gesthemene
Dunno Whoop.. doubt it though.. still, $75 is about how much I spend on my phone bill every fortnight.. :) I reckon I'll be able to maintain it..
Also, as for whether I'll get $75 worth out of it, considering that I get invited to tasting evenings every few months, I'd say HELL YES from that alone.. The scotches these guys deal with start at around $150/bottle and go up significantly higher. |
| #11 09:22pm 18/12/07 |
Should've asked for the money, doesn't seem worth $200.
| #12 09:25pm 18/12/07 |
Gesthemene
I've got a bottle of Glenfiddich 30 year scotch. Is that any good as far as scotch goes? Worth probably around $350-400 for the bottle. Personally, I'm not that big a fan of Glenfiddich.. it just tastes too processed for me.. My favourites at the moment are the 18yo Caol Ila, the 1991 vintage Glenrothes and the 10yo Lagavulin :) My girlfriend's father recently gave me a bottle of Chivas Brothers' 21yo Royal Salute.. I'm too scared to open it.. It needs to be worshipped a little first :) |
| #13 09:27pm 18/12/07 |
a bottle of single malt whisky (which I collect) have i got the ebay purchase for you http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MESEX:IT&item=180194048183&_trksid=p3984.cSELL.m315.lVI |
| #14 10:21pm 18/12/07 |
I got a $95 gift card and 2 free movie tickets from Aus Post.
Pretty good considering I'm only doing 6 weeks work. |
| #15 10:41pm 18/12/07 |
StopShootingMe
There's a society for scotch?!
Sitting next to me I have: Bruichladdich 15yo single casking, Allt-A-Bhannie 15yo single casking, Glenfiddich 15yo single malt, The Yamakasi (technically not Scotch) 18yo single malt. The Glenfiddich is just new, I like it, but it is quite soft. I can see how it might seem processed. |
| #16 10:51pm 18/12/07 |
All I have is this (relatively) cheap bottle of jim :(
does whiskey count? |
| #17 10:57pm 18/12/07 |
my tast buds arnt refined enough to tell the difference
although i did score big at a wine tasting.. but it was mostly because of my abilty to bulls*** to people and find out what the mystry wine was on each table.. won about 9 tables out of 13 lolz i had chairs and towels and magnums and free wine and unbrellas coming out everywhere |
| #18 11:03pm 18/12/07 |
I can tell the difference between an $80 of whiskey and a $40 one, but considering I'm just hammering it down to get pissed I can't really justify paying the difference. Whiskey (like most straight spirits) is very much an acquired taste.
| #19 11:38pm 18/12/07 |
Nakor
Also, as for whether I'll get $75 worth out of it, considering that I get invited to tasting evenings every few months, I'd say HELL YES from that alone.. The scotches these guys deal with start at around $150/bottle and go up significantly higher. what point are these tastings if you can only have 1 drink a week? :/ |
| #20 12:22am 19/12/07 |
heh, I've got
1 x 12 y/o Jamieson brewery 'select' custom labled number (read touristy shyte ;P) 1 x 12 y/o Bushmills brewery 'select' custom labled number (read touristy shyte ;P) 1 x 16 y/o Bushmills single malt 1 x 25 y/o Bushmills single malt I don't even drink 'whisky' (the irish dont call it scotch :p) I got suckered in while on the brewery tours, but I will one day own a mcmansion with a bar in it and these will go well there :) |
| #21 08:12am 19/12/07 |
The Yamakasi (technically not Scotch) 18yo single malt. Tell me more? I google but all I get is a bunch of parkour s***. |
| #22 08:51am 19/12/07 |
I am still amazed there is a The Scotch Malt Whisky Society
| #23 09:01am 19/12/07 |
no women allowed
| #24 09:18am 19/12/07 |
StopShootingMe
Lol stinky :)
I mistyped. The Yamazaki, suntory distilleries. And that movie was s*** :) |
| #25 10:20am 19/12/07 |
Gesthemene
I don't even drink 'whisky' (the irish dont call it scotch :p) I got suckered in while on the brewery tours, but I will one day own a mcmansion with a bar in it and these will go well there :) Actually, the Irish call it Whiskey, the Scots call it Whisky (note the lack of an "e" in the spelling). Both of which are derivations of uisge-beatha/uisce-beatha, being the original Scots Gaelic and Irish Gaelic terms for it. "Scotch" is a descriptive label added to make it distinguishable when spoken (unless you're good enough to be able to pronounce whiskey and whisky differently :P) It also has a legislative application much the same as Champagne, Cognac or Bourdeaux, which determines that a beverage cannot be labelled as such, unless it meets strict criteria (most predominantly, that it is actually produced in that region) last edited by Gesthemene at 10:41:17 19/Dec/07 |
| #26 10:41am 19/12/07 |
[O_o]
| #27 11:01am 19/12/07 |
Gesthemene
Yes.. I am a scotch nerd :(
| #28 11:06am 19/12/07 |
mmm, caol isla is a lovely malt. i too have a habit of spending too much on scotch...well, most kinds of booze, but mainly scotch. my birthday present to myself was a bottle of lagavulin distillers edition 1990, from specially selected casks. i tasted it side by side with the standard lagavulin 16yo and by god is it worth the extra 90 dorrah. also have in my cupboard: glenmorangie 10yo, balvenie 1990 port wood cask, talisker 10yo and aberlour 10yo.
there's also a local chapter of the queensland malt whiskey society that meets on the last wednesday of every month at the grand central hotel. $25 per meeting for non members. if i didn't have to close the bar every goddamn night of the week, i'd be there. :( |
| #29 01:05pm 19/12/07 |
Gesthemene
I have a suspicion I may be attending those meetings and skipping my drink the other weeks :)
As for my current collection, here goes: Lagavulin 16yo Caol Ila 18yo Chivas Brothers Royal Salute - Ruby Laphroaig 10yo Glenrothes 1991 vintage Ardbeg 10yo Tamdhu 10yo The Glenlivet 18yo The Glenlivit French Oak Cask Glenmorangie Sherry Wood Finish (like molten caramel!) Glenmorangie 10yo Glenfiddich 15yo Solera Malt Glenfiddich 12yo Hankey Bannister 12yo (hey, it was a gift!) Johnny Walker Black Label (also a gift) I have recently run out of: Cardhu :( Glenmorangie 18yo |
| #30 01:14pm 19/12/07 |
The Glenlivet 18yo My dad had a bottle of that in his cupboard (He drinks maybe 1-2 drinks a year) So I convinced him to crack it open for my Little Bro's 21st (Even though he's a Rum boy) So My Older brother, myself, and 1-2 mates drank the bottle. Dad got 2 drinks out of it too :p Dont feel too bad though; Last christmas, Our rubbish collection fell on Christmas Day... so Dad grabbed 'some old bottle' from the cupboard to give to the Garbo... He handed over a Bottle of Johnny Black >.< So now I drink Dad's good stuff whenever I get the chance. He has heaps of old bottles he gets as gifts from various imployers (He's a Chippie) |
| #31 01:22pm 19/12/07 |
so Dad grabbed 'some old bottle' from the cupboard to give to the Garbo...Yeah Johnny Black is trash I heard so all good then? What is everyone's opinion on Johnny Blue? |
| #32 04:58pm 19/12/07 |
supreme
scotch is the best s*** ever, i just wish i could actually try to get a collection going... but it tastes to good and therefore doesnt usually last too long haha
| #33 04:58pm 19/12/07 |
Gesthemene
Yeah Johnny Black is trash I heard so all good then? Johnny Walker Black isn't trash, but it's a very boring, generic blended malt (meaning, they use multiple different scotches and grain spirits to make it - in the case of JW Black, it's roughly 42 different scotches). Johnny Walker Blue is like Johnny Walker Black, but scaled up. For the price, it's still pretty boring and somewhat generic.. When you consider that they incorporate a 60yo scotch into the mix, it seems somewhat sacriligious :( Also, they've recently changed the recipe for JW Black.. The Heart of the Blend (malt that makes up the greatest portion of the blend) used to be Cardhu, but they've stopped making it now, so they're having to find an alternate source. |
| #34 05:13pm 19/12/07 |
I love my scotch, but not enough yet to start a good collection, however every time I go overseas I help a mate out with his collection. I got him a Glen Livet Archive 21 which tastes like an angel pissing on your tongue, and a 25yo Glen Fiddich. I usually get myself something around the 15year mark, but then drink it over a few short weeks.
| #35 05:19pm 19/12/07 |
I got him a Glen Livet Archive 21 which tastes like an angel pissing on your tongue i never knew drinking scotch could be so hawt!!!!!! |
| #36 05:39pm 19/12/07 |
This thread has made be think about trying scotch.....be like on the movies with the drink of scotch etc!
| #37 06:01pm 19/12/07 |
Gesthemene
Worst thing you could do would be to just try tossing it down straight.
I'd suggest finding a mate who appreciates it (and by that, I mean drinks it neat or with a small amount of water/ice), and ask them to educate you.. It makes it *so* much more enjoyable and gives you a far greater appreciation of what it is you're drinking. |
| #38 06:10pm 19/12/07 |
Slydog
I just got a 10 grand bonus for chrissy from the boss out of the blue... first time ever its not just a box of chocolates and a "thanks for working so hard this year"
| #39 07:59pm 19/12/07 |
Gesthemene
Congrats mate! You must've done some pretty serious work to get that :)
| #40 08:25pm 19/12/07 |
StopShootingMe
Sif put ice in good scotch :(
Water if it's cask strength, sure. And drinking from a tumbler is no good either :) |
| #41 08:55pm 19/12/07 |
Sif put ice in good scotch :( Nah mate, lots of keen scotch/bourbon drinkers will drink it with one or two ice-cubes. Normally let the cubes half melt before drinking. It's supposed to change the taste in a different way to just adding a bit of water, but I'm not a nerd enough to taste the difference. |
| #42 09:07pm 19/12/07 |
StopShootingMe
Really? I was under the impression that room temperature was best, and that warming it a little in the hand helped with the bouquet... I suppose it's a matter of personal preference.
| #43 09:31pm 19/12/07 |
yeh Bushmills is ok. I got a litre of 10yr and a litre of 50 proof absolut vodka for sixty bucks in duty free on my return from Japan. I also snaffled a hipflask of bacardi in to slip under the limit. only half of the bushmills left lol
| #44 10:05pm 19/12/07 |
Gesthemene
Sif put ice in good scotch :( I agree with the sentiments about adding ice to the scotch.. it *should* be drunk at room temperature, but let's not forget that the average "room temperature" in the native climate of Scotland is a damned sight colder than it is here. A few drops of water into a scotch (cask strength or otherwise) really does help bring out the nose and gives the scotch (depending on the individual scotch) a more complex and enjoyable taste and smell. Drinking from a tumbler should only be considered under the following circumstances: 1. It's either a tumbler or you're swigging straight from the bottle 2. All other containers are plastic 3. It's someone else's scotch and they've served it to you. Otherwise, you should really get some Reidel Single Malt Glasses (like these) or some nosing glasses (like these). The other thing to remember, is that there is the perfect way to drink scotch.. and that's however you damned well want. The whole purpose of it is to enjoy it. If people say the "done thing" is to drink it served in a stupidly expensive glass, whilst smoking a cigar in a leather wing-back chair whilst wearing Armani, that's all well and good. But, if you don't enjoy that, or aren't comfortable with it, then there's no way you're going to enjoy the scotch.. Drink it however you want, but if you insist on adding coke to it, please don't do so to anything more refined than JW Black Label.. you'll just be throwing money away as you won't taste the individual characteristics of the scotch. |
| #45 10:28am 20/12/07 |
I got me some waterford crystal whiskey glasses whilst I was over here :)
not sure if you'd class them as a tumbler or not... |
| #46 10:35am 20/12/07 |
Gesthemene
I dunno.. better send them over to me to taste test and I'll let you know ;)
| #47 10:36am 20/12/07 |
No, thats not a tumblder heardy.
I just finished a bottle of glenfiddich 21yo gran reserva, was vnice, and have a special reserve glenlivet 21yo un opened, probably there for xmas day :P. All scotch is good, and you can get just as much out of trying many different 40 - 60$ (glenlivet 12yo, glenfiddich 12yo, Highland park 12yo 3 very different bottles) scotches when you start as you can trying to get into mc callan 15yo's and s*** that start at about 90. just try and find "single" malts. i've found most blends to be better put with dry and just hammered down than actually tasting them. Most of the scothces put out by the suntory distillers are very very awesome. And Lost in translation is an awesome movie and bill murray makes me hot. I always drink scotch with ice, no matter the "age", not a lot, but i personally think it tastes nicer cooled down. |
| #48 01:49pm 20/12/07 |
Gesthemene
Most of the scothces put out by the suntory distillers are very very awesome. And Lost in translation is an awesome movie and bill murray makes me hot. This line confuses me.. I can't tell if you're serious or not.. still, I refuse to drink anything labelled as scotch (note the breach of the labelling legislation - made in Japan != scotch) when it's made by the same company that produces radioactive waste and calls it Midori.. |
| #49 02:06pm 20/12/07 |
I don't believe that on the ACTUAL suntory bottle it's labeled as a scotch.
ANd yes i'm serious, lost in translation rocksit. |
| #50 04:28pm 20/12/07 |
wow, you scotch guys are grade a spankers
| #51 04:33pm 20/12/07 |
Gesthemene
Poor Spook..
Jealous that you'll never be better than a third class anything? :) |
| #52 04:38pm 20/12/07 |
If you've ever had sparkling white and called it champgane you're an even bigger spanker.
| #53 04:47pm 20/12/07 |
Gesthemene
I'd agree with that :)
| #54 04:49pm 20/12/07 |
Yeah but spook didn't bite so it doesn't count :(
| #55 04:56pm 20/12/07 |
StopShootingMe
I have the Yamzaki in front of me, it is billed as "The Yamazaki Single Malt Whisky", nowhere does it describe itself as Scotch.
And I like this one. Not as much as the Highland Park single casking I ran out of months back :) But it is very nice. |
| #56 05:06pm 20/12/07 |
Gesthemene
In that case, I guess they're legal.. sneaky bastards :(
| #57 05:30pm 20/12/07 |
Any
Is there actually a *thing* about scotch like there is about champagne?
Or is it equally bad to eat french fries here in aus? Also whats the go with Bailey's "Irish" Cream? last edited by Any at 17:44:08 20/Dec/07 |
| #58 05:44pm 20/12/07 |
i only drink red wines team, and even them im not a spanker
im quite happy with my 10/15 dollar bottles of red and buy them regularly |
| #59 05:40pm 20/12/07 |
Kilos
On the shelf atm:
Glenmorangie 10y/o Port Wood Finish Cragganmore 12y/o Balvenie Doublewood 12y/o Macallan 12y/o Dalwhinnie 15y/o I f***ing love me some scotch. That present kicks ass. |
| #60 05:55pm 20/12/07 |
Gesthemene
Is there actually a *thing* about scotch like there is about champagne? You mean, is there legislation to protect the "Scotch" label as there is with Champagne? Yes there is. Hence my (ill-informed) disgust with Suntory - now I just think they make s*** booze :P. Also, sorry Spook.. with an attitude like that, you're still a spanker :) |
| #61 06:12pm 20/12/07 |
Ad
Best work Christmas present EVER Can an admin please remove this thread title for: a. failing to deliver b. breach of rules by using excessive caps |
| #62 07:23pm 20/12/07 |
StopShootingMe
The Yamazaki isn't s***, Gesthemene :) Well not in my opinion anyway.
What are the rules for something to be Scotch again? Scottish, aged for no less than three years, and all malt? For those who are curious about single malts I liked this page when I was first looking to try some: http://www.maltmadness.com/ last edited by StopShootingMe at 19:35:07 20/Dec/07 last edited by StopShootingMe at 19:35:29 20/Dec/07 |
| #63 07:35pm 20/12/07 |
Member's Rooms in Edinburgh, London and Switzerland GIVE IT TO ME! im in edinburugh next week, and swissy in feb for boarding! |
| #64 09:53pm 20/12/07 |
same My girlfriend's father recently gave me a bottle of Chivas Brothers' 21yo Royal Salute.. I'm too scared to open it.. It needs to be worshipped a little first :) yeah i got one. and a bottle of johny blue. outside the EU (like egypt) you can get a bottle of johny blue 1ltr for $100us... or £50 :D On the shelf atm: johny blue, chivas regal 21year and glenlivet 15year. of to scotland in a week but all the distils are closed : ( the stuff is so cheap here. last edited by mooby at 21:58:49 20/Dec/07 |
| #65 09:58pm 20/12/07 |
spanker!? anyone who disrespects the spook-man like that needs to be schooled..
| #66 09:58pm 20/12/07 |
mates in town from canda, will be heading here on sunday after we win a poker tourny http://www.saltbar.com/
| #67 10:01pm 20/12/07 |
Gesthemene
aged for no less than three years That's part of it.. the full legal requirements can be found here. Also, spanker!? anyone who disrespects the spook-man like that needs to be schooled.. Feel free to educate me.. my comments are entirely in reaction to his posts in this thread. last edited by Gesthemene at 22:19:43 20/Dec/07 |
| #68 10:19pm 20/12/07 |
| #68 |