hi friends, i missed you all on my 1 week ban.
anyways, got a quick question regarding net banking and whatnot. basically atm im with commonwealth bank. and i have 2 accounts. i get paid all my pay minus 200 bucks into 1 account, and 200 goes into my saving account problem is, the 'saving' account is still accessable via phone banking. i have a bad habit of being s***faced in nightclubs, running out of money, and dipping into my savings account with the ease of a phone call. so my question is.. If i setup another account with a complete different bank, can i have it setup so that my 'savings' account is not really touchable at all? because with another bank wouldn't it take 2-3 working days or whatever for the transaction to go through, hence making my maggot efforts useless!! yes!!! ideas?? will this work? whats the easiest bank to go with to do something like this any advice / bad stories welcome kthxbi |
| #0 05:50pm 15/10/07 |
amyescence
Couldn't you get one of those ING Saver accounts? From what I understand they hook it up to your exisiting one and take a pre-determined amount out at allocated times...?
| #1 05:51pm 15/10/07 |
yeah ING would be the bets idea its what i did, takes quote a few days to get it out and there is no way its reachable when im s***faced as well!
| #2 05:53pm 15/10/07 |
ooo ING sounds good.. how much does it all cost?? yeah so like i dont want to be able to get it from keycard, net banking, or phone banking.
well maybe phone banking is fine but a 3 day clear period on the transaction would be perfect $10000 if i do this next time im out i will forget and QQ IRL heavily when its 430am and i have no more money lool |
| #3 05:59pm 15/10/07 |
ING has zero fees.
I think you can only transfer through Net Banking. You can set up a 'savings plan' where it will direct debit a set amount at a set time interval from a set account. To access your money you have to transfer it back into the account it came from and takes a day or two. When I signed up they gave me a ~$145 credit to start off with :) It was a promotion that they had going at the time. last edited by mission at 18:11:06 15/Oct/07 |
| #4 06:11pm 15/10/07 |
ING. since the original post on here where they paid you $123 for opening, mine has up loads. best idea ever.
| #5 06:12pm 15/10/07 |
Yeah, free money = the s***.
| #6 06:13pm 15/10/07 |
Storm
Yeah that $123 offer was pimp.
Funny story actually. I was applying for a job with ING Direct (as marketing manager for their "personal savings" products) about 2 years ago, and asked about the offer, how its uptake went and all that. The person interviewing me said "yes, quite successful" but wouldn't tell me how many signed up, though they did confirm that they pulled the banner ads from the fairfax sites less than 3 hours into the planned day-long ad buy :P So I'm guessing they coughed up a motza. |
| #7 06:14pm 15/10/07 |
+1 for ING
My spending account is with CBA and it takes 1-2 days before the money will transfer over from ING and be accessible. Plus the interest pwns! |
| #8 06:29pm 15/10/07 |
we still use our ING account which we had all our house deposit savings in, coz ING is so awesome
| #9 06:52pm 15/10/07 |
What sort of returns were you getting with ING? got some 6.15% savings account with Suncorp-Metway at the moment just to store cash in.
| #10 07:00pm 15/10/07 |
I posted that $123 offer :D - yea I like to feel special Jim. ;)
But since then, I have seen the light and gone with a Bankwest Telnet Saver Account. Same sort of account as the ING one, but higher standard rate. They both have an intro rate of 7.00%, but it only lasts till the end of December with ING, it lasts 12 months with Bankwest. Then Bankwest goes to a standard rate of 6.5%, ING is only 6.15% What u gotta watch also, is that even tho there are no fees with these accounts, if the account that u have it linked to has fees for online transactions - u cop fees from that side. So what u want is one of those savings accounts (Bankwest one ftw), linked to a fee free transaction account. Best one is the HSBC online savings account. http://www.hsbc.com.au/1/2/personal/savings/online-account Online Savings Account - Key Features The unlimited EFTPOS means that there is an ATM f***ing everywhere. You can get money out at wololies. Or mcdonalds. Best account ever. |
| #11 07:14pm 15/10/07 |
Twinsen
Get a piggy bank
| #12 08:47pm 15/10/07 |
CBA have an ING type account, but im not sure if it is still available via phone banking or not. either way, im sure if you rang them up you could disable phone banking for your savings account. |
| #13 08:53pm 15/10/07 |
ING $123 was awesome. More people should offer deals like that. They found my price point.
Sure i'll try your s***ty mobile service for a week for $123, no worries. Sure i'll taste the new big mac for $123. Sure i'll use bigpond for 15 minutes for $123. And every now and again the service they are paying me to try will turn out to be good, like ING. |
| #14 10:00pm 15/10/07 |
Ahh I took that $123 and cashed it out!
| #15 10:03pm 15/10/07 |
crazy keed
The unlimited EFTPOS means that there is an ATM f***ing everywhere. You can get money out at wololies. Or mcdonalds. Best account ever. That's wrong. It means fee-free banking on all HSBC ATMS. kreJ |
| #16 10:05pm 15/10/07 |
I have a sub account with my Suncorp account that can only be accessed via the internet.
| #17 11:03pm 15/10/07 |
Skyhawk
yep a vote for suncorp, 6.4% not too shabby, and it's instantly linked via internet banking,
| #18 08:48am 16/10/07 |
Plus no fees on the suncorp sub account is pretty awesome.
| #19 08:55am 16/10/07 |
yeah just get a CBA netsaver, who the f*** uses the phone to do banking anyway
thats what the internets is for, so unless you have some pda phone where you're going to transfer money over the internet while you're out. you can't touch it |
| #20 08:57am 16/10/07 |
develop cirrhosis of the liver due to your excessive drinking.
you will save money when you go into rehab or a coffin because you are too crook or too dead to spend your savings. seriously tho, get some self control. |
| #21 11:18am 16/10/07 |
well aren't you just perfect there mr decaying craps
| #22 11:19am 16/10/07 |
I have an ING savings account, best thing I did. You can net transfer between the accounts, but the moneys not readily accessible when your drunk etc.
Also they have a high interest rate, you can set up direct debits, and they often to deals where whatever you add to your account within a certain time period will be at an increased interest rate. No fees too. Do it. |
| #23 12:57pm 16/10/07 |
well aren't you just perfect there mr decaying craps yes. yes i am. |
| #24 01:45pm 16/10/07 |
incorrect
| #25 02:15pm 16/10/07 |
thought thread title said wanking question.. then realised the warrick capper thread was above it. :D
| #26 02:46pm 16/10/07 |
When you drink, a biproduct called NADH is created. NADH is a regulater of metabolism. It helps maintain the energy balance in your body. So by drinking you produce NADH through out this balance, it is one of the reason you feel like crap in the morning, that and a toxic product, acetylaldehyde, is produced.
The other, much more nasty effect is that NADH is a regulater of Fatty acid metablosim also. Having high NADH levels tells your body not to use the fats in your body. This leads to a build up of fatty acids in your liver. This can clog it up and reduce the blood supply and eventually kill liver cells. Binge drinking is for noobs. |
| #27 02:48pm 16/10/07 |
The unlimited EFTPOS means that there is an ATM f***ing everywhere. You can get money out at wololies. Or mcdonalds. Best account ever. Do you think I can't read my own writing? Unlimited free HSBC ATM transactions ... I realise this... clearly... For your sake, I'll say it without making it a totally confusing riddle. The unlimited EFTPOS means that you can get money out f***ing everywhere. You can get money out at woolies. Or mcdonalds. So in that respect it is LIKE there are ATMs everywhere. Best account ever. f***, was it really that hard to understand. |
| #28 06:56pm 16/10/07 |
Binge drinking is for noobs. getting the Schoolies warning speech ready early are we? |
| #29 07:03pm 16/10/07 |
While these are all good ideas and may even offer you a better savings solution in the long term, I can only reiterate what decayingcorpse said - try utilising some will power and not touch it. If you are already smashed, why do you need to drink more? It's just a waste of money and good booze.
| #30 04:43pm 17/10/07 |
yeah l2drink noob
| #31 05:24pm 17/10/07 |
give me your money i will fight you if you want it back.
| #32 07:50pm 17/10/07 |
i personally think thats the best time to be drinking
| #33 07:58pm 17/10/07 |
cause i feel naked if im in a club and dont have a drink in my hand.. i enjoy writing myself off
btw got ING saver info and s*** in envelope and posting sooN! thanks alot for the help guys! mission and bargain FTW!!!!!!! |
| #34 08:02pm 17/10/07 |
oi mofo, i told you ING was win as well
and then i backed up your "get written off at any cost" attitude as well coz its what id do f*** mission and bargain |
| #35 08:10pm 17/10/07 |
nah, go me.
| #36 10:13pm 17/10/07 |