top_left top_right
bottom_left
Next Event: Unknown | Forum Rules | QGL Website | Event Registration
openFolder AusForums.com
iconwatfolderLineopenFolder LANs
iconwatfolderLineopenFolder QGL
iconwatfolderLineopenFolder QGL Forum
Author
Topic: Rhodes Peninsular Investments ...
Monaro
Posts: 283
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Hey, has anyone heard of Rhodes Peninsular Investments. It is some betting company. More is explained on there web page, www.rhodespi.com.au

To me i seems a little bit sus, just that there are so many people out to try and scam you for your money these days.
What you think?
system
--
r_mazing
Posts: 1164
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Well it may not be a straight out scam...but none the less it is quite retarded.
crazymorton
Posts: 50
Location: Gladstone, Queensland
dodgy....
if you want to punt on two horse races (or anything) just get an online account with one of the many reputable Aussie agencies
http://www.centrebet.com/
http://www.tab.com.au/
hast
Posts: 842
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
three things

a) it is possible
b) there is no way these guys can being doing enough volume or stay in business without signing up false accounts with bookmakers. sharp accounts are eventually found out after they have placed a large enough number of bets and haven't lost money. also, there are faster ways to identify sharp accounts like comparing the odds taken against the closing odds, suspect bet sizes, suspect action like placing bets just before the line changes, betting on known weak lines, etc.
c) money derived from this is clearly not tax free


last edited by hast at 21:58:51 25/Sep/07
Monaro
Posts: 284
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Thanks mate,
Why is it that the money is not tax free? Isnt money won by betting 100% tax free.
hast
Posts: 843
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
a) you are not making the bets yourself. as far as your concerned they are a black box. you put money in and you take money out. if you take out more money than you put in it is income.
b) they are playing a game of chance in a methodical way to make money. casinos pay tax. what they are doing looks suspiciously like being a casino and having bookies as clients. :) this is also a grey area and the tax department will probably only go after people making a living/business out of games of chance. if you are a small time winner at poker at the casino the tax department probably won't care. THIS IS NOT PROPER LEGAL ADVICE.


last edited by hast at 23:08:56 25/Sep/07

last edited by hast at 23:09:33 25/Sep/07
Superform
Posts: 4625
Location: Netherlands
buy BHP like i been saying for years
Monaro
Posts: 285
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
So you guys think its a dodgy company? I noticed the company has an abn number, does that mean anything, like they are registered and the government knows about them or does that mean nothing these days?
step
Posts: 1341
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
does that mean nothing these days?
Ding ding ding we have a winner.
jmr
Posts: 5166
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Nice brochure, but as if you touch your headset when you're using it, phallic grabbing whores
Nitro
Posts: 1275
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland
these guys are around the corner where I work I'll do some on site recon!
natslovR
Posts: 1342
Location: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
if they drive nice cars we'll know it's legit. report back asap so i can give them money too.
Nitro
Posts: 1276
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland
I know there is a young guy with a Ferrari F430 who lives in chevron renaissance and he made his money supposedly with sports betting software.
Monaro
Posts: 286
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
So nitro does it look like a real company? Does it look dodgy? Where are they found.
Monaro
Posts: 289
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Its a scam for sure. Went to the address yesterday. Nothing there.
ninehills
Posts: 1
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
What address were these guys at. I have been contacted by them and I want to hit them with this query.
twat
Posts: 128
Location: UK
It should be tax free, as you have an account with them and will be placing the bets youself (as far as it indicated - you place the bet on their software with their research and they take a commission).

However I cant see how they can find regular instances of where arbitrage exists. The market should have all the same information, and it is very unlikely two bookmakers whether in a different country or not would be that polarised.
hast
Posts: 848
Location: Brisbane, Queensland

and will be placing the bets youself


i don't see where it says this. in the brochure it says 'we trade'.
system
--
Not a new post since your last visit.
New Post Since your last visit
Back To Forum
Advertise with Us | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
© Copyright 2001-2026 AusGamers Pty Ltd. ACN 093 772 242.
Hosted by Mammoth Networks - Australian VPS Hosting
Web development by Mammoth Media.