I'm thinking of getting one of these beasts: http://www.pluscorp.com.au/ConfigurationIntro.asp?ConfigurationID=491 or http://www.pluscorp.com.au/ConfigurationIntro.asp?ConfigurationID=487 Note that the Mach II has two 8800GTX in SLI, but I've never heard of the brand Inno3D.. is the Gamers Edition the overall better PC and last me longer? HALP! |
| #0 09:32pm 30/08/07 |
$5,000 on a pc?
Jebus. |
| #1 09:36pm 30/08/07 |
Bullet Rain
He's still like 8g's behind TK, and he bought his sometime ago.
| #2 09:43pm 30/08/07 |
No offence but I'm not contributing to helping someone spend $5000 on a gaming PC, whether or not they have the money and are willing to spend that much.
That's just wrong, as the final couple of thousand dollars gives you very little noticeable gain. For example you pay $1000-1500 for an expensive DX10 graphics card setup, and then several months later DX10.1 cards become standard and your card will never support those features despite its speed. last edited by parabol at 21:58:47 30/Aug/07 |
| #3 09:58pm 30/08/07 |
coupled with the lnVidia 680i motherboard I wouldn't buy from anywhere that couldn't spell nVidia properly |
| #4 09:56pm 30/08/07 |
Lynx
Good price, the "Stealth IV - Quadro Gamers Edition" comes to $5128 on umart.
Still $5200 for a pc is silly, but if you have the cash, then it's your to spend. |
| #5 10:27pm 30/08/07 |
wouldn't be cheaper to go to MSY or Umart or something?
| #6 11:13pm 30/08/07 |
The 2nd system bundle is a bit weird, Vista Business on a clear cut gaming rig... the mind boggles!
I agree with most, you'd be better off custom speccing the lot exactly how you want it. |
| #7 11:35pm 30/08/07 |
5G!?
are you a smack dealer or something strex? |
| #8 12:06am 31/08/07 |
Parsifal
Strexy baby don't let the nay sayers get to you! Fwiw here's me 2 cents:
Cent 1: For the love of god upgrade the monitor brand. My new Samsung Syncmaster 226 is the s***. Its contrast ratio of 3000:1 and response time of 2ms is much better than the Benq's 700:1 & 5ms. You *will* notice the difference, especially if (when) you play games/movies/DVDs. I can't stress the importance of a good monitor enough, esp when it's part of a $5k+ rig. I got mine from CA as part of a $2,275 system and could not be happier. This from someone who (in the past) considered Samsung an inferior product. 22" BenQ is listed @ $369 versus the Samsung @ $479. The 22" LG has the same specs as the Samsung but can be had for $449. IMO the Samsung has better asthetics/shape but w/e just don't stick with the BenQ. Cent 2: Wtf with the Logitech X-530 speakers? I bought these new 2 1/2 years ago and kinda miss my old Creative Inspire 2.1 as it had much better bass. Something about plastic subwoofers that neuters them. Saw the X-530s on sale in JB HiFi last week for like $75! Not sure what I'd suggest instead. Do you want 2 or 5 channel sound? Surely there are plenty of audio nerds lurking here. |
| #9 01:15am 31/08/07 |
dont get an ultra..
infact just get a card that will get u by until the 9800 or whatever comes out theres not enough games atm to warrant a dx10 gcard also.. umm duel monitors yo.. welcome to 2005 |
| #10 01:30am 31/08/07 |
get 4gb ram
he'll probably claim some of it on tax anyways... personally I wouldn't spend 5k, but each to their own |
| #11 06:27am 31/08/07 |
Take your 5k and go to computer alliance. They will at least build you a system with decent parts, and last time I checked, they spelt nvidia correctly.
You can make out with Koopz while you wait! |
| #12 08:57am 31/08/07 |
You can make out with Koopz while you wait! nah, the lazy f***s on holidays C'mon strexxy, come make out with me instead! Serious, come in an ask for me an I'll see that you get hooked up good an proper like 'mkay :) |
| #13 09:03am 31/08/07 |
Personally, I'd be waiting for Phenom. If you're going to drop 5k on a system, you'd at least want it to be current for a while. Yesterday TheInq released an article claiming that a 3Ghz Phenom & 2x 2900HD's set a new record for 3DMark06. By a significant margin. We know TheInq can lie, but I'd wait 2 months and then consider my options once I know what AMD have.
| #14 09:05am 31/08/07 |
build your own strexy, save some cash
id go msy before the nice boys at ca, but ca if you are feeling rich! |
| #15 09:08am 31/08/07 |
does CA have any rental options on their systems? I am thinking about going this road for taxation reasons..
i've been recommended to that pluscorp site by heaps of people, and even PCworld mag rates their MachII as #1 beast package in aus. i would def customise it to get exactly what i want though, get a samsung monitor like parsifal said. there is no way i would wait for an AMD though, no matter how juicy they reckon it is. yes i know 5.5k is f***loads for a pc, but i need a beast machine so my e-peen can match my irl-peen (which is rougly the size of dongturtle) |
| #16 10:40am 31/08/07 |
i don't think tortie would appreciate being called "dongturtle" (despite the obvious resemblance)
| #17 11:00am 31/08/07 |
i bet it's kinked like that to
| #18 11:06am 31/08/07 |
yep, your mum reckons it really hits the spot.
| #19 11:38am 31/08/07 |
CA has flexirent, but its pretty f***ing dodgy and s***. Your better off just buying the system and depreciating it on tax.
I forgot to get Will to introduce me too you last time I was in Hermi :P Im sure you have dealt with a few of my issues :P |
| #20 11:41am 31/08/07 |
why's flexirent dodgy? i've heard good things about them. tell me some horror stories.
| #21 11:55am 31/08/07 |
CA (used to) have 3 different rental choices, Rentsmart, Flexirent and another one that is their prefered type.
They're all ok if you can claim them as a tax deduction, otherwise they're useless. Since you say you want to claim it as a deduction, I guess you'd go alright. |
| #22 12:44pm 31/08/07 |
Your better off just buying the system and depreciating it on tax. What does that mean - if you tell the tax people you own a computer you get more money? |
| #23 01:53pm 31/08/07 |
Only if you can prove to them that it is used to produce assessable income or it is for study purposes. There are alot of rules in this area so read carefully! |
| #24 01:56pm 31/08/07 |
You can write off a percentage of the system on your tax if you have a need for it at home, such as working remotely etc. Same with internet, phone etc.
| #25 02:13pm 31/08/07 |
u work out the depreciation of your pc thus
%used for work x 40% of total cost of pc for first year %used for work x 30% of total cost of pc for second year etc its a valid expense for anyone that has a pc and uses it for work |
| #26 02:42pm 31/08/07 |
spook explained it better :P
| #27 03:47pm 31/08/07 |
http://www.inno3d.com/products/graphic_card/gf8/8800gts_oc.htm
That's the card I recently bought strecker, I can't comment on whether it's good or not because I don't have the system to support it [edit: AMD 3200x64 1GB OCZ ram]. I chose it based on it's specs and the price - seemed great value for money to me being someone that didn't want to tinker with OC'ing. It's all under warranty so I felt it'd be as good as the next product. The cheapest option really is to build your own machine though - even if you end up swinging a mate 50 bucks to chuck the thing together for ya. Betting there'd be a stack of people you know with PC knowledge if you can't do it yourself =p |
| #28 04:52pm 31/08/07 |
This is just grossly over done really for games. DX10.1 is on the horizon. The 9800 series is going to be released soon. You won't find anything that the 8800 GTX can't run with 1 card on max everything just about any way. Even if I had money to burn I wouldn't get 2x8800GTX's. I reckon just go with a custom system with the same parts minus an SLI motherboard and with 1 8800GTX and personally less HDD space. I reckon invest the savings into a Gigabit switch, 1TB NAS unit with a GB NIC instead or something like that. Also, both the monitors on both systems are complete s*** for a system of such high cost and with such high end components. You'll have a great system which suffers from a s***ty colour panel with bleeding and all sorts of other crapness. With a system like that you'd really want to be looking at something decent like dual 24" screens or a 30"....maybe spend the money saved not going SLI on getting a decent monitor. 2 of the most overlooked parts on PCs....PSU and monitor. Never cut costs on these. |
| #29 05:07pm 31/08/07 |
good advice fellas, thx.
i've always built my own pc's, but those 2 systems were pretty much what i wanted (after a few things got changed out). when is DX10.1 slated for release? what about the 9800 cards? say i got a system on a rental plan from CA, would they swap out a 8800 for a 9800 upon its release (for a fee, then pro rata payments)? i know its the smartest thing just to wait.. but i need it nowz0rz!! |
| #30 05:43pm 31/08/07 |
Lynx
The 9800s are slated for a November release, and should be avalible for the same price as their 8800 counterpart.
Close to 1 teraFLOPS operation For Comparison GeForce 8800 GTS 345.6 Gigaflops GeForce 8800 GTX 518.4 Gigaflops GeForce 8800 Ultra 576.0 Gigaflops (Shader Processing Power) last edited by Lynx at 18:29:26 31/Aug/07 |
| #31 06:29pm 31/08/07 |
Well if you can't wait just buy now. If you wait around for new tech you'll be perpetually waiting for ever :) |
| #32 12:15am 01/09/07 |
Save up another 999 and buy deck you f***ing toss pot.
| #33 12:21am 01/09/07 |
simul
Like everyone else said, decent monitor, decent PSU
Graphics cards I seriously wouldn't bother with a SLI setup, its first generation dx10, I'd just get a 8800GTS and wait for the next gen (which will possibly be a FX -> 6800 jump) And 5000$ too much for a computer? pfft http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1059/1285793797_9d81dcfea9.jpg?v=0 |
| #34 01:47am 01/09/07 |
Whatever floats your boat, people buy ferraris for little noticeable gain, also depreciatios works like: diminishing value methods noobs: Base value x Days held/365 x 200%/assets effective life (base value is the value at the start of each year after depreciation (net value)). The commissioner of taxation recommends 4 years effective life for a pc but u could potential get away with less depending on the circumstances.
$5000 example year 1 5000 x 365/365 x 200%/4 = $2500 year 1 tax deduction year 2 (5000 - 2500) x 365/365 x 200%/4 = $1250 year 2 tax deduction year 3 1250 X 365/365 x 200%/4 = $625 year 3 tax deduction Obviously that keeps on going on but then there is low value pool, low-value assets – assets that are not low-cost assets but which have, under the diminishing value method, been written off to less than $1,000. So once the base value is less than $1000 u can completly right it off so long as you are not depreciating other items, lower vlaue pool is $1000 for all depreciable assets. |
| #35 04:10am 01/09/07 |
And 5000$ too much for a computer? pfft But you do get free shipping. |
| #36 01:03pm 01/09/07 |
I honestly don't get what the big hype is about everyone waiting for the 9800's, catch up people, I have a 9800 Pro sittin in the cupboard for some years now ;)
ps - I don't think that nVidia will call their next gen of cards "9800's" for some reason |
| #37 05:57pm 01/09/07 |
| #37 |