Topic: gym / fitness first / goodlife
épic™
hey lovers,

so im going to start going back to the gym again i think. does anyone here goto fitness first or goodlife? how much does it cost you? please share any horror stories too :) also any tips for getting cheaper membership welcome too kkeke

if i goto fitness first i will prob be going to the one across from garden city so if u go there maybe we can secks?
im almost subscribed to the home gym

can anyone else tell me about their experience in this area also?
fitness first are c***s. they absolutely screwed over a mate of mine who did personal training there and i've heard tonnes of horror stories on other forums about really dodgy s*** they do with memberships & fees etc. apparently they have pretty good equipment but.

my bro and i go to a nice little local gym. $30 each for an hour long work out with a personal trainer. screw fitness first etc. all they care about is the money imo.
goodlife at chermside is good, plus you can use any other one for free.
épic™
please say how much you pay if you goto fitness first cause i was googling and it seams that the amount people pay varies so much - from $30 per month to $85. I'm thinking I will just tell them I have a friend who pays such and such and if i don't get the same deal then i will goto goodlife lol.

simple
Just gota make sure there arnt millions of people going at the same times ull be going. I went to the local zest a few times and manng it was ridiculous how packed it was, u literally had to plan ur workout solely on available equipment. The gym i go to is a bit smaller but theres a friendly bunch of people and even at peak times you can usually still do your full workout.

Mine worked out to be about 10 bux a week, thats a year subscription. Smallish gym no pool, personal training program / once a month personal trainer etc included

last edited by simple at 18:55:01 27/Aug/07
boba
i'm currently going to fitness first and indro and paying $39.95 a fortnight. probably getting ripped off but meh i've never had any probs there, I guess mainly cause I go at 7:30 in the morning so it's never really that busy, although it's starting to pickup now that it's getting warmer
1. Find a place with a power rack
2. Squat
3. Profit??
Langpark PCYC. Cheap as. Not sure about gym equipment though, because I don't use it, I go to boxing & fitness classes.

http://www.langparkpcyc.com/Weights.htm

I goto FF across from garbo, got global membership so i can goto any FF. I'm paying round $60/month.

Only way to get cheaper m'ship is to refer people..

Never heard any bad stories bout FF either..well the only one i know is that i bumped into casa onetime while training and he was checking me out while i was squating.

last edited by German at 19:39:38 27/Aug/07
The gym I used to go to was only ~5 min drive away and even that was too much for me. Half the time I cbf driving there and back.

I spent the money on a benchpress set and some other misc weights and use that every 2 days or so. I get way more out of that than I did going to a public gym.

I can see the benfit of a gym if you want advice from trainers etc or you are some hardcore beefcake that needs the machines to work all different kinds of muscles you can't with basic weights. Seeing my aim is not to become an excessively muscular dude my weights suit me fine.

last edited by rubba-chikin at 19:41:07 27/Aug/07
I'm at FF, Gold membership costs me $60p/m

Toowong is my main club - Squat-rack is always free, so that's awesome, but there's alot of mincing c***s always sitting around on the benches..

I'm quite partial, but there is no better option atm
épic™
do you FF bunnies reckon if i go in and say i want to join for $60 a month they will lol at me or will they roflok me
what gym do you go to simple?

i got the healthworks over at sunnybank, cheap small and friendly people..

plus we run the gym :P

i'm at fitness first robina aka venice beach

lots of annoying strapper propaganda everywhere and gay arse advertising for s***ty products. but overall - good enough equipment, many hot babes and a good crowd.
fitness first is a complete rip and you can get yourself into just as good a gym for heaps less by shopping around a bit.
I pay 32 a f/n for FF but its a student global membership. Comes in handy because I am always out and about, if i am going to a mates place on a fri night I can hit the gym out his way, or can go to gym out near work, or near home :) works well :D
fitness first are c***s. they absolutely screwed over a mate of mine who did personal training there and i've heard tonnes of horror stories on other forums about really dodgy s*** they do with memberships & fees etc.

Yeh... you think members get ripped off... the personal trainers at FF get f***ing screwed over. They have to work pretty hard to make it worth their while. I think it's $2k straight to FF if they want to work as a trainer in the gym.

I'm paying less than $500 per year at UQ gym@St Lucia but I also have to pay for parking sometimes (depending one whether or not I go on the days I have uni anyway).
Yeah I've heard trainers have to pay like $500/week rent to train at FF.
Twinsen
f*** paying a yearly/monthly pay.

Amart All sports have weights, a whole set 2 dumb bells, a bench and 50KG of weights for $100.

for cardio... walk to and fro from the fridge a few times :)
amart weights can only get u so far... if u wanna get serious a gym membership is the way to go,

zest is like 60 bux a month

it used to be 50
but i think they jacked it up

i dont train there anymore

Check out the local of which ever you go to. The goodlife at chermside kicks ass, the good life at morning side is a bit ghetto. Both offer you roaming memberships, which is nice, btu you won't really use it heaps.

That said i've been going to the good life at monringside (only stay there casue it's a 5 minute drive) solidy 3 or 4 times a weeks for 9 months and even at the worst times, (5 - 8pm) you can get your work out done.

I'm paying 65/month
Adolf_H
You suckers are getting RIPPED THE f*** OUT. I'm payin 395 a year
Ripped out??? thats gotta hurt.....
Adolf_H
It sure does when you're paying over 500 for a membership. Just like acetame and co-suckers
Ace seeing you are a gym rat buffman expert, what kind of stuff can you not do with weights at home?

Is it just easier on the machines or is there stuff you just cannot do with free weights? I am not trying to say you are wrong, completely the opposite. I am interested in finding out what the benefits of using profession gym equipment would be.

My goal is not to turn myself into a massive beefcake, its mainly been to strengthen my upper body as I have had 2 clean broken collarbones (both sides) and shoulder surgery from an unrelated accident... so as you can imagine my upper body strength was pretty lacking from all the time spent in recovery.
I read Twinsen's comment then thought exactly what I read Acetame wrote in the next post. I had a year membership at Toowong Fitness Centre which went under... so I invested about $400 into stuff at home. It was good for me to use while I was dieting to lose pudge, and it was good enough for me to get my basic muscle groups from being weak. Eventually though you need more variety and more weights.
Some people prolly can't fit stuff at home. I'd love to have a home gym thing like BH has, but it just wouldn't fit anywhere at my place, unless I was prepared to write off half my living area. My unit is pretty small though, I guess.
goto fernwood ;)
Interestingly we looked at exercise adherence in my sports psych class yesterday. 50% of people will have dropped out of exercise routines after just 6 months... but it's very common to have drop outs in the first few weeks. Nothing surprising there...

And again nothing ground breaking, but to give yourself the best opportunity to stick with a program follow these three basic steps:
Pick a gym that is very close and accessible.
Pick an exercise regime that you enjoy and start slowly.
Pick any time of the week to go - don't wait for set times if you have nothing else to do.

From some of the stories that were told in our class yesterday I would even suggest considering the option of paying more for a personal trainer - some of them actually are effective in keeping you going for a long period of time, which is more important than just the work they do with you in the hour each week.
My advice, before paying for a gym, would be:

1) Make a commitment to do 10 pushups a day (or 20, or whatever you feel comfortable doing). Keep ramping it up as you get stronger.

2) If you're still doing pushups every day at the end of, say 4-6 weeks, then start thinking about which gym you want to go to.

This is what I've done, several times, to make sure I'm mentally in the right place to be going to the gym. I always cop out, too, so I'm glad I haven't spent $x00 yet :)
Skyhawk
I use a home gym, If I had a training partner obviously a home gym wouldnt be good enough, however there are many exercises you can do with just a bench, (stick to compound exercises)
If u have a power rack, olympic bar, adjustable bench, and of course weights, u could do a lot at home.

However unless u had a cool setup it'd be pretty boring and lonely.
I have a tunes PC setup downstairs with all the weights, crank up some loud angry music and push some reps out :)
Morgan
Depending on your goals, You can do heaps with calisthenics at home.

A simple routine of a few sets of push ups, sit ups, and squats is good for basic all round strength. It won't make you any bigger though.

As billy said, A lot of people stop doing exercise within 6 months. Trog hit the nail on the head with seeing if you can stick at something simple for 4-6 weeks.

The "I don't have time" excuse is never valid. go to www.rosstraining.com and get his never gymless book. Short & sweet.. damn good..

Diet and resting patterns are the things people need to clean up the most though.

Just a Q, for the people here. Do you train to get bigger + cut/aesthetics? or do you train for a sport/athleticism?

~MR
Skyhawk
for me, I'm trying to fill up areas of lose skin from weight loss
from my experience its been heaps better going to the gym with my bro than when i was going on my own. we compete with each other to see who can last the longest/do most reps. also my bro is better at some exercisers than me, and im better at other ones. when you see someone doing a exercise your not good at it motivates you to keep on trying until you get better at it.

hell when i was going on my own i was very slowly gaining strength because i would usually give up and starting complaining instead of pushing on. but since my bro started with me we have both added 30kilos to our deadlift and 10 kilos to our clean and press in the last month.

one of the personal trainers has a nice motto:

"If you have time to complain, you have time to train."

last edited by ravn0s at 12:00:56 29/Aug/07
Life's too short to be small.
BrenAce
I just signed up at Goodlife for $708 for a year upfront, which includes everything at all branches bar the Wintergarden. The salesperson wanted me on $30/fortnight x 26 = $780/year and wouldn't initially offer me a discount for paying a year upfront. Hello? Liquid assets anybody?

last edited by BrenAce at 13:50:42 29/Aug/07
lawls

I vaguely remember from some unit I did at uni, that you have to do something 23 (or some number around there) times before its a routine.

Once its a routine, you will feel bad when you don't follow it.
Skyhawk
Southbank tafes $210 a year is starting to look too good now
My reasons for weights training are moreso for the sports side of things. I play ice hockey and that revolves pretty heavily around upper body strength/coordination when shooting/checking, lower body for skating obviously.

I used to ride BMX s***loads until a little while back so my legs are fairly strong and can keep up alright.

However After caining my shoulders doing stupid s*** on bikes I was left pretty weak and needing to rebuild my upper body. So that is the primary goal right now.
Morgan
gw skyhawk, you're obviously pretty dedicated..

Life's too short to be small.

Life's too short to worry about being small :P
Skyhawk
thanks champ, Yeah I am, been doing this for what 1 year 4 months now
rubba

hmmm, training at home is so f***en boring, and u get unmotivated very fast. and too many distractions at home.

when you're at a gym, you are there for one reason alone, to take care of business.

any equipment u can by at amart all sports is super ceded 10 fold at any gym, gym weights are just heaps better, the bench's are alot more solid, you need to get a wide range of exercises, free weights and also machines,

having a mirror to check your form and s***, its all essential

the issue with gyms, is the f***en price...

Tattersalls Club, Queen St Mall.

$300, all the top notch equipment, a 25 heated indoor pool, sauna, spa, steam room and locker rooms with laundered towels etc.
^ Probably no chics but.. why go :P
actually, its one of the few places chicks are allowed within the club.

But I don't go to the gym to gawk at chicks
Acetame ftw. Again he just summed up what I was thinking.

Brenace I think you're getting ripped off.... that's hardly a discount for paying up front. What a crock of s***.
If I spend 6 hours or so a week at a place to exercise I'd rather it be nice and have everything I need.

To set up everything I would want at home would mean a s***load of dumbells ($$$) power rack, adjustable bench, maybe a flat bench, olympic bars, dip station?? It goes on.
The reason I love going to the gym is because I get to focus on myself for an entire hour. Clear your mind, think of nothing but what you need to do to grow. If you're gym has mirrors and a diverse range of heavy weights, don't bother paying extra for it to be pretty.
I enjoy doing a good jog on treadmill or hardarse workout on cross trainer and have a hottie training in front..keeps me goin..